Calibration question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 01-22-2013, 11:23 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Brent Arnold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see a lot of XML files with calibration settings. How do you get those settings on your tv? Do you somehow use Calman or some other software to send the settings in??

Thanks in advance!
Brent Arnold is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 01-22-2013, 01:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9,454
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 883 Post(s)
Liked: 541
most of the files are from calibrations using a software\device solution...the device can differ as there are more than a handful of them being used.....There are a number of threads you can look at if you do a search for "calibration" ...or check out the following forum:

http://www.avsforum.com/f/139/display-calibration
Ph8te is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 01-22-2013, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rahzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 147
In most cases, no... you don't need software to apply other people's calibration settings. They are just calibration settings that are usually found in the user picture menu of your particular model. You just change the corresponding settings to match those on the XML files. Sometimes extra controls need to be unlocked using software like ControlCal, but most models have the settings right in the user menu, or sometimes they need to be adjusted in the TVs service menu.

CalMAN, Chromapure or HCFR are programs used in combination with a measuring device/meter (plus test patterns) to actually calibrate displays. They are not required to simply plug in calibration settings.

Just so you know, applying someone else' calibration settings will rarely, if ever be perfect due to panel to panel variations. Sometimes it can make things worse than the best picture preset out of the box.
rahzel is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off