Red Line All The Way Down My Newly Installed Plasma! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 01-30-2013, 04:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mustangman77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TC-P60GT50.
Installed today.

I dont think the red line was there from the start when they installed it today but it is definitely there now.
Here are some pics to look at.
Can anyone tell me what this is?

Is this T.V. going to have to be returned?
This is my first Plasma and I was worried something would happen.
Now it does on my FIRST day? WTF?

Should I have just stuck with LCD?


mustangman77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 01-30-2013, 04:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeterLewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Unplug the tv for about 20 minutes and if it reappears after turn on return asap..Dont think too much about it and return it..

That red line should not be there...

BTW the VT50's are going for dirt cheap, now is the time to exchange.

Samsung 60F8500
Panasonic 55GT30
Panasonic BDT310
PS3 (PS4 coming soon)
Sony STR-DG1000 AVR
Mirage Omnisat V2 7.1 set up with Energy S10 Sub
PeterLewis is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 01-30-2013, 04:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mustangman77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just ordered this last week and got it installed today.

Unfortunately the VT is still out of our range, or else we would have gone with it when we ordered last week hehe.
Is this kind of thing common with plasma?

Should I have just gone with LCD?
I had the settings turned to low contrast (45) and low brightness (50) for watching it during break in... so I was taking precautions.
Nothing but regular TV was watched. HD channel with no bars.

Again I am uncertain if the red line was there when they installed it or not.
Can someone educate me on what this is as well?

Thanks.
mustangman77 is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 01-30-2013, 05:34 PM
Senior Member
 
swizzchard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
i dont think this has to do with the specific tv technology - just luck of the draw...run the IR wipe and see if you notice it as the white spans across the screen. it may just go away but again - exchange for another one is my vote.
swizzchard is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 01-30-2013, 05:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mustangman77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But this is not IR is it?
mustangman77 is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 01-30-2013, 06:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mustangman77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And if it is IR then it does have something to do with the specific tv technology.....since IR is something that Plasma screens have problems with over other tv technologies. I mean you are kinda contradicting yourself in saying you don't think its the technology but to run the swipe hehehe.
I appreciate the help.

I am just trying to figure out what the hell is going on.
My store is in the process of looking for a replacement. Apparently they do not have any at the local store.
I'd still like to know wtf this is... especially if not IR. I still haven't had a response from anyone on that part.
If anyone knows... it would be greatly appreciated.

On another note... when they installed the TV... they installed a surround sound speaker bar directly under the TV.
They said it would not interfere with anything.
Could that have caused this? Again im not sure if the line was there from the first boot up of the tv or not.
mustangman77 is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 01-30-2013, 06:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 147
It's a bad panel. Get a replacement.

From the service manual:



Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 01-30-2013, 07:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
glum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pale Blue Dot
Posts: 616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mustangman77 View Post

Should I have just gone with LCD?
.

no.

return it and enjoy your new plasma tv.
glum is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 01-30-2013, 08:25 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mustangman77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the help!
The local store did not have one in so they are coming to replace it on Monday.
mustangman77 is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 01-31-2013, 05:35 AM
Senior Member
 
swizzchard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by mustangman77 View Post

And if it is IR then it does have something to do with the specific tv technology.....since IR is something that Plasma screens have problems with over other tv technologies. I mean you are kinda contradicting yourself in saying you don't think its the technology but to run the swipe hehehe.
I appreciate the help.

I am just trying to figure out what the hell is going on.
My store is in the process of looking for a replacement. Apparently they do not have any at the local store.
I'd still like to know wtf this is... especially if not IR. I still haven't had a response from anyone on that part.
If anyone knows... it would be greatly appreciated.

On another note... when they installed the TV... they installed a surround sound speaker bar directly under the TV.
They said it would not interfere with anything.
Could that have caused this? Again im not sure if the line was there from the first boot up of the tv or not.
Was not alluding to it being IR...was merely giving you an opportunity to observe it on cleaner backgrounds. In fact, don't use the ir wipe...use a white slide to see it. The only other reason is to jog the pixels a little bit to see if it goes away....
swizzchard is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 01-31-2013, 11:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
budwich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
It may be a possible loose interconnection of one of the boards for what ever reason. IF it was out of warrantee then the "best shot" would be remove the back and check all connectors to ensure they are well seated. Since it isn't though, a replacement is certainly your best bet. Will you get another with a problem, probably not, but heck "stuff" happens.
budwich is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off