Best Buy Calibration on Panasonic ST50 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 02-03-2013, 10:28 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Doublea34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got my TC P55ST50 calibrated by best buy, at first i thought the colors were kinda meh, but then when i really looked at it i noticed the colors were more realistic. Ive seen stories about how best buy really doesn't do the calibration properly, and i have actually never seen a true calibrated plasma to relate it to. I got the tv calibrated only because when i got the tv i also purchased the bose cinemate 1sr and a ps3, so i was eligible for a bb silver membership and a free geek squad visit. Any way im enjoying the realism of the tv, but because of all the bad rep on bb calibration im wondering if im really getting the best out of it. I would be willing to share the settings if anyone with more experience in this stuff would like to see what it looks like on their tv (though i believe the room has a bit do do with the calibration). But thanks for any input! smile.gif
Doublea34 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 02-03-2013, 10:32 PM
Senior Member
 
highdefav1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: ATL
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Post them up! Would be interested to see what they calibrated the settings to. Every environment is different and everyone's eyes are different.

Did they go into the service menu and change anything too?

I'm guessing the calibrated the Custom setting?
highdefav1 is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 02-03-2013, 10:37 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Doublea34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I posted this without even being home lol, but i can get them up tomorrow. I really didn't think anyone would reply so fast! What exactly do you mean by the service menu? They did go into the pro settings i believe it was... Im pretty new to all this :P and yes they did use the custom setting.
Doublea34 is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 02-03-2013, 10:49 PM
Senior Member
 
highdefav1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: ATL
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Just happened to see your thread and have an ST50 and was curious.

The pro settings are within the custom settings, they are not in the service menu.

The service menu should only really be accessed if you know what you're doing.

I believe for a professional calibration, changes in the service menu are necessary along with the regular picture settings, but I may be wrong.

Anyways, would be interested (I'm sure there are others) to see what a BB calibration has done on your display.

Although, not sure I would go into my service menu and start making changes.
highdefav1 is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 02-03-2013, 11:38 PM
Member
 
demonRR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: detroit, mi
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
as soon as i get my new 55st50 replacement set, and after i do the 200 hr break in wiht the color slides, ill be calling BB to do the calibration as well. also free wiht the Bb silver membership. i used the settings on m old set i got off of cnet. picture was fantastic. so hopefully BB can duplicate that pq or ill put in cnets settings.
demonRR is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 02-04-2013, 02:24 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Doublea34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by highdefav1 View Post

Just happened to see your thread and have an ST50 and was curious.

The pro settings are within the custom settings, they are not in the service menu.

The service menu should only really be accessed if you know what you're doing.

I believe for a professional calibration, changes in the service menu are necessary along with the regular picture settings, but I may be wrong.

Anyways, would be interested (I'm sure there are others) to see what a BB calibration has done on your display.

Although, not sure I would go into my service menu and start making changes.

Ok yea these guys did not go into the service menu... they just stayed in the other.

Quote:
Originally Posted by demonRR View Post

as soon as i get my new 55st50 replacement set, and after i do the 200 hr break in wiht the color slides, ill be calling BB to do the calibration as well. also free wiht the Bb silver membership. i used the settings on m old set i got off of cnet. picture was fantastic. so hopefully BB can duplicate that pq or ill put in cnets settings.

You have a link to those cnet settings? i wouldn't mind testing another persons set up.
Doublea34 is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 02-04-2013, 11:23 AM
Member
 
demonRR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: detroit, mi
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
demonRR is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 02-04-2013, 12:40 PM
Senior Member
 
richardyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
why is calibration still so pricey? with flat screen/digital tv now, they don't have to adjust the convergence anymore, those can be PITA, and you can spend days trying to get it right with the old tube or rear projection TV. nowaday, they just use a meter, and a few clicks here and there, it's done.
richardyc is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 02-04-2013, 12:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
dmaul1114's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
It's always going to be pricey is it's a service for a niche market of videophiles who are buying higher end TVs--i.e. people they know have the money and care enough to pay for professional calibration.
dmaul1114 is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 02-04-2013, 01:27 PM
Senior Member
 
risk235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I posted my settings in the ST50 thread after it was calibrated. The grayscale was done in the service menu.

I came...I saw...I bought an HDTV
PSN ID: dlawso235

risk235 is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 02-04-2013, 02:48 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Doublea34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thanks for that man! I just copied how they had it laid out and put in my own settings. My room was pretty well lit with natural light when they calibrated it... so here it goes.


--Picture menu
Picture mode: Custom
Contrast: +46
Brightness: +94
Color: +50
Tint: 0
Sharpness: +50
Color temp: Warm 2
Color mgmt: Off [grayed out]
C.A.T.S.: Off
Video NR: Off

-- Pro settings submenu
Color space: Normal
W/B high R: +15
W/B high G: 0
W/B high B: +9
W/B low R: +6
W/B low G: 0
W/B low B: +6
Black extension: +5
Gamma adjustment: 2.2
Panel brightness: Mid
Contour emphasis: on
AGC: +7

-- Aspect adjustments submenu
Screen format: Full
HD size: Size 2
H size: [grayed out]
Zoom adjustments: [grayed out]

-- HDMI settings: [no change from default]

--Advanced picture submenu
3D Y/C filter: Off [grayed out]
Color matrix: HD [grayed out]
Block NR: Off
Mosquito NR: Off
Motion smoother: Off
Black level: Dark
3:2 pulldown: Auto
24p Direct in: 60Hz
Doublea34 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P65st50 Plasma Tv , Panasonic Viera Tc P55st50 55 Inch Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off