Do plasmas inherently introduce noise into the video? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 Old 03-01-2013, 11:53 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
msgohan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 2,856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I've never owned a plasma, but I've looked at them up close at retailers and gone through all of the menus.

All the 1080p models I'm seeing now don't display a stable picture like an LCD. The pixels vary in value constantly. Once I showed a sales guy what I meant and he tried to claim it was caused by splitting the video too many times. He thought I was crazy for believing that HDMI doesn't degrade by being split.

But anyway, you don't need to look for a split signal to see this. Just pull up a solid-color menu. Obviously these are generated internally in the display's processing and external source problems don't factor in.

Solid blue menus appear to have grainy patterns.

Is this 8-bit dithering? Shouldn't that not impact blocks of solid color, only gradients? At first I thought it was the anti-burn-in tech but I disabled those via the menus.
msgohan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 Old 03-02-2013, 11:50 PM
Senior Member
 
BriscoCountyJr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Thats regular plasma dithering - not meant to be watched up close, view plasmas from 6feet+ distance.
BriscoCountyJr is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off