Official Panasonic S60 Series Discussion Thread - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 7067 Old 04-05-2013, 02:31 AM
Member
 
-Gozer-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I saw that discussion earlier.

I was looking for impressions with this specific model.
-Gozer- is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 7067 Old 04-05-2013, 06:00 AM - Thread Starter
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSpectre88 View Post

I thought Panny was selling the 50S60 for $699, and changed it recently, but I could be wrong.

Nope, it was never that low. It started out at $899, then they revised the MSRP downward to $829. Right now they're knocking another $30 off that MSRP on their online store but that's the lowest i've seen them price this TV.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1451436/official-panasonic-2013-lineup-and-information-thread#post_22820247

http://shop.panasonic.com/shop/model/TC-P50S60

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR605, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #363 of 7067 Old 04-05-2013, 07:24 AM
Newbie
 
psalata's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I was hoping someone could help me. I currently have a 55 inch ST50 in my den. There are windows on the wall opposite the tv and one small one to the right, I also have 4 high hats in the room. The reflection on the tv isn't horrible, it could be better but it could also be a lot worse. I was going to move this tv to another room and get the 65 inch S60 (I don't use 3D so I thought the S60 would be perfect for me). But then I am reading stuff on here about no Anti-Glare filter on the S60. Will the S60 be annoying to have? Should I just get the 65 inch ST60 that has the Infinite Black Pro? Any help is greatly appreciated!
psalata is offline  
post #364 of 7067 Old 04-05-2013, 07:44 AM - Thread Starter
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by psalata View Post

I currently have a 55 inch ST50 in my den. There are windows on the wall opposite the tv and one small one to the right, I also have 4 high hats in the room. The reflection on the tv isn't horrible, it could be better but it could also be a lot worse. I was going to move this tv to another room and get the 65 inch S60 (I don't use 3D so I thought the S60 would be perfect for me). But then I am reading stuff on here about no Anti-Glare filter on the S60. Will the S60 be annoying to have? Should I just get the 65 inch ST60 that has the Infinite Black Pro?

Infinite Black Pro refers to the black filter on the face of the plasma panel and helps determine black levels - it has virtually no bearing on reflections or glare. The Anti-Reflective Filter is completely separate and is what helps reduce reflections and glare. All Plasma TVs have a black filter whether they have an AR Filter or not. The new 2013's are fairly bright and that helps the image punch through ambient light in the room, but in dark scenes the dark areas of the screen will show reflections.

That said, a Plasma without an AR FIlter will obviously be more reflective and more mirror-like than one with an AR Filter. You can go to stores and compare their reflectivity easily. If you can see a window or a light reflected in your ST50's screen now, that reflection will be more defined and more mirror-like on an S60. The ST50's AR Filter "mutes" or softens these reflections so they're not as apparent.

How much that extra reflectivity annoys you depends on your own personal tolerance for such things. Me, i HAVE to have an AR Filter on my TVs.

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR605, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #365 of 7067 Old 04-05-2013, 08:55 AM
Newbie
 
psalata's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks so much! Is the AR filter on the ST60 better than the ST50?
psalata is offline  
post #366 of 7067 Old 04-05-2013, 09:43 AM
Member
 
bamaboy1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
If you are looking for a 65" and worried about the AR Filter, just wait for the S64 club model to come out at Costco/Sams. It is an S60 with the ST60's AR filter. There is some talk about it earlier in this thread if you want a little bit of information.

http://shop.panasonic.com/shop/model/TC-65PS64
bamaboy1234 is offline  
post #367 of 7067 Old 04-05-2013, 11:50 AM
Member
 
gewbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Do we have any idea on pricing on the S64? Would it be similar/same as the S60?
gewbert is offline  
post #368 of 7067 Old 04-05-2013, 01:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
sodaboy581's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Concord, California
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by gewbert View Post

Do we have any idea on pricing on the S64? Would it be similar/same as the S60?
Sam's Club shows the 65" as $1,448

http://www.samsclub.com/sams/65-600hz-plasma-tv-1080p-2-hdmi-wifi/prod9300314.ip

... and that's all I've seen.

Current HT setup:

Samsung UN65F6300 65" LCD HDTV, Polk CS20 Center, 2x Polk Monitor 75T Fronts, 2x Polk TSI300 Backs, Polk PSW110 Subwoofer.

sodaboy581 is offline  
post #369 of 7067 Old 04-05-2013, 05:36 PM
Senior Member
 
gbmannc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Apex, NC
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by sodaboy581 View Post

Sam's Club shows the 65" as $1,448

http://www.samsclub.com/sams/65-600hz-plasma-tv-1080p-2-hdmi-wifi/prod9300314.ip

... and that's all I've seen.

Wow, thats nearly $1000 less than the st60 and it has a AR filter and black filter. Looks like it's just missing 3d and internet stuff, as well as the motion engine and higher end black filter though I doubt you would notice the last 2 too much.
gbmannc is offline  
post #370 of 7067 Old 04-05-2013, 06:27 PM
Member
 
-Gozer-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbmannc View Post

Wow, thats nearly $1000 less than the st60 and it has a AR filter and black filter. Looks like it's just missing 3d and internet stuff, as well as the motion engine and higher end black filter though I doubt you would notice the last 2 too much.

It's listed as only having 1 hdmi input. Weird.

Is the motion smoother config and the motion engine one in the same?
-Gozer- is offline  
post #371 of 7067 Old 04-05-2013, 07:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RWetmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brick, New Jersey
Posts: 3,122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Has anyone who has seen both see any difference between the S60 and the ST60 as far as the 2500 FFD?
RWetmore is offline  
post #372 of 7067 Old 04-05-2013, 07:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
sodaboy581's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Concord, California
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Gozer- View Post

It's listed as only having 1 hdmi input. Weird.

Is the motion smoother config and the motion engine one in the same?
Yeah, you can bet that listing is wrong on that. Just look at Panasonic's official specs. http://shop.panasonic.com/docs/spec-sheet/2013/televisions/s64_series_spec-sheet.pdf

It's really only got 2 HDMI inputs. Still low, but if you've got an AVR, it doesn't really matter.

Current HT setup:

Samsung UN65F6300 65" LCD HDTV, Polk CS20 Center, 2x Polk Monitor 75T Fronts, 2x Polk TSI300 Backs, Polk PSW110 Subwoofer.

sodaboy581 is offline  
post #373 of 7067 Old 04-05-2013, 09:21 PM
Member
 
Golfdad123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Do we know if the S64 will also come in 55 or 60 inch or will it only be in 50 and 65 like the spec sheet? Seems odd they would only list the 2 sizes if they were going to make it in more sizes.
Golfdad123 is offline  
post #374 of 7067 Old 04-06-2013, 12:34 AM
Member
 
tubayj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
RWetmore,

1/600 or the 1/2500 FFD my eyes couldn't tell the diff between the S60 or ST60....both were very smooth and clear. Both sets were luckily next to each other in the BB showroom had deep blacks but the ST60 clearly was brighter and colors seemed more vivid.
I'm waiting for a pro review of the S60 and to see the a S64 at our local Costco.
tubayj is offline  
post #375 of 7067 Old 04-06-2013, 06:32 AM
mnc
AVS Special Member
 
mnc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Dallas, GA
Posts: 1,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Well I might be getting the 42S60 sooner than I thought. My old CRT bedroom TV just died! I'm trying to find the best price and also if anyone knows a store that has one on display. BTW I can't go bigger than 42" because of the space where my TV has to go. Otherwise I would get the 50" since they are basically the same price right now.

Indecision may or may not be my problem.
mnc is offline  
post #376 of 7067 Old 04-06-2013, 04:54 PM
Member
 
Widmark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Just wanted to follow up now that I've had the 42s60 for a couple of weeks.

I totally love it and have no complaints, though it is my first plasma.

On the discussion of price and if bigger is in fact better...my living room is not very large and the couch isn't far from where the TV sits, and there's not much room. A 50" TV would look really big there. 42" hits a total sweet spot for us. It doesn't overwhelm the room but it's perfectly big enough to enjoy watching.

As far as the glare is concerned...my girlfriend had the best answer when I said "if the sun hits at a certain time during the day the TV will be unwatchable". She said "we shouldn't be watching then anyway, we should be working". So that's that. Fact is, the glare was an issue with our CRT as well, and if it's the middle of the day and I need to watch Lawrence of Arabia, I'll close the curtain.

As far as the internet is concerned, I mentioned this before, it may not be cutting edge or have all the features of the ST series, but it's really incorrect to say these are "missing internet". I've got all the major apps and few not so major, I'm streaming youtube from my phone, etc.

Anyway, I haven't done any major calibration or even used any settings as posted here. Put everything in cinema mode, turned off auto-brightness and switched to Warm 1 and I'm pretty satisfied. At some point I may dig deeper into the settings but I have no complaints.
folksnake and acosmichippo like this.
Widmark is offline  
post #377 of 7067 Old 04-06-2013, 09:19 PM
Member
 
hooch1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Harmony remote question.

I saw a post earlier in this thread that said to use U50 since the S60 had not been added to the library. Well when I use U50, right after input selection it goes to a channel like 2 or 3. Any fix for this or maybe another model in the Harmony choices works better?
hooch1 is offline  
post #378 of 7067 Old 04-07-2013, 01:39 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 11,780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 821
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooch1 View Post

Harmony remote question.

I saw a post earlier in this thread that said to use U50 since the S60 had not been added to the library. Well when I use U50, right after input selection it goes to a channel like 2 or 3. Any fix for this or maybe another model in the Harmony choices works better?
Unlikely another model would fix it. They all use the same software. Try removing the command and putting it back. Or try using a different Panasonic model like UT or ST. You can also click "Troubleshoot" and look for anything related to input options.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #379 of 7067 Old 04-07-2013, 11:30 AM
Member
 
Thumpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Love this TV just picked up the TCP65S60 for $1497 at ABT - beautiful picture, much better than the Vizio 65" I took back. I can't complain about much. Yes, the screen is very reflective, but it doesn't bother me much as I don't do a ton of TV watching in the middle of the day, and when I do, the brightness of the picture overcomes the reflection (unless I focus on the reflection itself).

I am having some issues with it locking up my Denon AVR2807 receiver, so I'm trying to work through options. Right now I'm not using the receiver as an upswitcher. Hopefully I can resolve, and then will have no issues at all.
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1466653/new-2013-panasonic-plasma-tc-p65s60-locking-up-receiver
Thumpin is offline  
post #380 of 7067 Old 04-07-2013, 11:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
openwheelracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I did some quick comparison at my local Sears. They had a S60, ST60, and UT50 side by side. Their show room is actually quite dark compared to Bestbuy, so the condition is not terrible (but not great either). The feed was garbage so take this with a grain of salt. The ST60 does stand out with higher contrast (at the same setting) with whitest whites. Overall the ST60 looks fantastic, but the S60 is not far behind. I suspect the S60 has more aggressive ABL which has yellowish tone to the white. Anyway just my observation in the store.
openwheelracing is offline  
post #381 of 7067 Old 04-07-2013, 12:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
fairchild99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by openwheelracing View Post

I suspect the S60 has more aggressive ABL which has yellowish tone to the white.

That can be calibrated out though. wink.gif

Sony 32" EX400 calibrated settings

Panasonic 50" S60 calibrated settings

HTPC/Sony S5100 to Sony HT-CT150 to Panasonic 55" VT60, Sony 32" EX400, Panasonic 50" S60

fairchild99 is offline  
post #382 of 7067 Old 04-07-2013, 06:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StinDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclerunkle View Post

Confirmed with AVJ at high def junkies
http://goo.gl/TbQlH (stupid avs filtering)

Wow, that's a hell of a deal, no need to spend $800 more on the ST for an AR filter. We all know tv manufacturers gimp on the screen filter for the cheap models, when in reality it doesn't cost hundreds of dollars to add them. Nice to see the club companies stand up and demand it at no price increase. And it's confirmed to have the ST60 filter and not some half-assed version. This model might even get to $1000 by black friday. Awesome.
StinDaWg is offline  
post #383 of 7067 Old 04-07-2013, 08:18 PM
Member
 
bamaboy1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Posted today from avjunkie on highdef junkies.com, not what I was wanting to hear...

Quote:
Hello and good morning. Today's bit of news isn't great. Costco 64 series pdp is going to be very very limited run for now. Get them while you can and where you can.
Quote:
I'm talking about the s64 series club model.its very very limited order in select locations on 65".
bamaboy1234 is offline  
post #384 of 7067 Old 04-07-2013, 09:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StinDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by bamaboy1234 View Post

Posted today from avjunkie on highdef junkies.com, not what I was wanting to hear...

buzzkill eek.gif
StinDaWg is offline  
post #385 of 7067 Old 04-08-2013, 05:35 AM
Member
 
hooch1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

Unlikely another model would fix it. They all use the same software. Try removing the command and putting it back. Or try using a different Panasonic model like UT or ST. You can also click "Troubleshoot" and look for anything related to input options.

I tried that but it still doesn't work. The input button does what its supposed to so it seems that its with the selection that there is a problem. Looks like it must use a number button to choose. Like it brings up the input then uses "2" to choose HDMI 1. But instead of going to HDMI 1 the TV goes to channel 2. There probably is a fix for this in one of the myharmony menus so I will keep digging.
hooch1 is offline  
post #386 of 7067 Old 04-08-2013, 06:02 AM
Newbie
 
Looke89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello to everyone! It's my first post on this forum smile.gif.

A couple of days ago I got a Panasonic TX-P42ST60E plasma tv. I'm mainly going to use it to play PS3 games and watch Blu-Ray films. As a total newbie I don't know how to properly set it up to achieve the best possible picture on my PlayStation. I've tried a couple of different modes but they don't look right to me: on Normal, colors are far too vibrant. True Cinema is a little bit too dark and washed out.

I will be grateful for any help.

Cheers, Luke smile.gif
Looke89 is offline  
post #387 of 7067 Old 04-08-2013, 06:38 AM
Member
 
hooch1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Looke89 View Post

Hello to everyone! It's my first post on this forum smile.gif.

A couple of days ago I got a Panasonic TX-P42ST60E plasma tv. I'm mainly going to use it to play PS3 games and watch Blu-Ray films. As a total newbie I don't know how to properly set it up to achieve the best possible picture on my PlayStation. I've tried a couple of different modes but they don't look right to me: on Normal, colors are far too vibrant. True Cinema is a little bit too dark and washed out.

I will be grateful for any help.

Cheers, Luke smile.gif

Most of the research I have done says you should leave the tv on standard the first 100-200 hours before attempting calibration with a plasma. Calibration can be done with Disney WOW bluray.
hooch1 is offline  
post #388 of 7067 Old 04-08-2013, 01:28 PM
Senior Member
 
El Matadurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Gozer- View Post

I saw that discussion earlier.

I was looking for impressions with this specific model.
Sorry to bump, but I too am interested in owner's thoughts on this (no internet review has made any statement on how the S60 does yet...). I'm coming from an ST30 which had very little input lag, and am hesitant on upgrading to an ST60. From what early reviewers are stating, the picture quality is just as good---if not better---than my old ST30. I don't need or want 3D or an internet suite. If the S60 looks great, handles motion well, and most importantly has low input lag, I'm sold.

P.S. First time posting here. How is everybody? smile.gif
El Matadurr is offline  
post #389 of 7067 Old 04-08-2013, 01:59 PM
Member
 
Phatal One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Updated info on the S64's... AVJ says to contact your location (I assume Costco) around June. Supposedly, the reason for the small numbers is that it is being brought in as a test.
Phatal One is offline  
post #390 of 7067 Old 04-08-2013, 02:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 11,780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 821
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Matadurr View Post

Sorry to bump, but I too am interested in owner's thoughts on this (no internet review has made any statement on how the S60 does yet...). I'm coming from an ST30 which had very little input lag, and am hesitant on upgrading to an ST60. From what early reviewers are stating, the picture quality is just as good---if not better---than my old ST30. I don't need or want 3D or an internet suite. If the S60 looks great, handles motion well, and most importantly has low input lag, I'm sold.

P.S. First time posting here. How is everybody? smile.gif
Good to see you here. Are you the same one from HDJ? If so, your knowledge is certainly welcome. I am Bond at HDJ. smile.gif

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P65s60 65 Inch 1080p 600hz Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic 60 Inch Plasma Hdtv Tc P60s60 , Panasonic Tc P55s60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P50s60 50 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic 42 Inch Plasma Hdtv Tc P42s60
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off