Official Panasonic S60 Series Discussion Thread - Page 233 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6961 of 7242 Old 05-29-2014, 09:23 AM
Member
 
Zcars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Ontario
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11

I haven't heard of anyone doing this successfully. These ports will only run a thumb drive or a powered hard drive as far as I know (I run both of these without a problem).

Zcars is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6962 of 7242 Old 05-29-2014, 11:10 AM
Member
 
FlynP5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm coming up to 150hrs, been using break-in settings found here and full screen content viewing and I'm trying to decide what calibration method to use.

Method 1:
I only own a GetGray DVD and OPPO 981 DVD Player. If I go this route what basic settings do I leave on in the "Pro Settings Submenu", other than to leave the W/R and Color Detail Adjustments at 0/off

Method 2:
AVS HD 709 - Blu-ray & MP4 Calibration: Can these be put onto a USB thumb drive? I have a PS3 but no way to burn a BR disk. Also have a HTPC (Radeon 6870hd) connected with HDMI.

Method 3:
Use Fairchild99's Settings and tweak by eye. Problem with this is he updates as his panel gets more hours so they might not be the best for me.
FlynP5 is offline  
post #6963 of 7242 Old 05-29-2014, 11:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlynP5 View Post

I'm coming up to 150hrs, been using break-in settings found here and full screen content viewing and I'm trying to decide what calibration method to use.

Method 1:
I only own a GetGray DVD and OPPO 981 DVD Player. If I go this route what basic settings do I leave on in the "Pro Settings Submenu", other than to leave the W/R and Color Detail Adjustments at 0/off

Method 2:
AVS HD 709 - Blu-ray & MP4 Calibration: Can these be put onto a USB thumb drive? I have a PS3 but no way to burn a BR disk. Also have a HTPC (Radeon 6870hd) connected with HDMI.

Method 3:
Use Fairchild99's Settings and tweak by eye. Problem with this is he updates as his panel gets more hours so they might not be the best for me.


Method 2 would be my choice, will your PS3 play an AVCHD disc format ? If so you don't need a blu-ray burner. Yes there is an MP4 version you should be able to burn to a thumb drive.

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Darbee DVP5000
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #6964 of 7242 Old 05-29-2014, 11:30 AM
Member
 
FlynP5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the quick reply, I googled AVCHD disc and it looks like the PS3 will read it, but I will also look at some of our newer computers at work to see if they have BR burners.
FlynP5 is offline  
post #6965 of 7242 Old 05-29-2014, 11:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlynP5 View Post

Thanks for the quick reply, I googled AVCHD disc and it looks like the PS3 will read it, but I will also look at some of our newer computers at work to see if they have BR burners.

The advantage of AVS709 is that the patterns are HD, get grey has SD patterns.

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Darbee DVP5000
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #6966 of 7242 Old 05-29-2014, 03:32 PM
Member
 
MilkManX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: AZ USA
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 25
There is also the Disney WOW Worlds of Wonder disc for calibrations. The advanced section has a ton of cool stuff to help you tweak the display. biggrin.gif
MilkManX is offline  
post #6967 of 7242 Old 05-30-2014, 10:30 AM
Member
 
FlynP5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the help everyone, created a AVCHD disc and followed the easy to follow PDF Patterns Manual. The only difficulty I had was with the contrast, everyone else that posts there settings for the Panasonic Plasma S60 have a Contrast setting around "80", mine came in at "40". I checked and double checked chapters 2 & 3 and they were bang on, like they say every display might be different.
FlynP5 is offline  
post #6968 of 7242 Old 05-30-2014, 11:10 AM
Member
 
FlynP5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ran a calibration using the AVS HD 709 disk, the only thing that jumps out is the Contrast=40, seems low compared to other peoples settings.

Post Calibration Picture Settings
Picture Mode Cinema
Contrast 40
Brightness +4
Color 51
Tint 0
Sharpness 0
Color Temp Warm2
Vivid Color Off
CATS Off
Video NR Off
MPEG NR Off
Pro Settings
Panel brightness : Mid
AGC : 0
Black extension : 0
Color gamut : Normal
Gamma detail adjustment
Gamma : 2.4
Advanced picture
1080p pixel direct : Off
HDMI content type : Off
HDMI/DVI RGB range : Standard
Black level : Light
Screen settings
Screen format : Full
Overscan : Off
H size : Size 1
FlynP5 is offline  
post #6969 of 7242 Old 05-30-2014, 11:55 AM
Member
 
MilkManX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: AZ USA
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Yes mine is at 85. Calibrated with the Disney WOW disc as noted here

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1461177/official-panasonic-s60-series-discussion-thread/6660#post_24507793
MilkManX is offline  
post #6970 of 7242 Old 05-30-2014, 12:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlynP5 View Post

Ran a calibration using the AVS HD 709 disk, the only thing that jumps out is the Contrast=40, seems low compared to other peoples settings.

Post Calibration Picture Settings
Picture Mode Cinema
Contrast 40
Brightness +4
Color 51
Tint 0
Sharpness 0
Color Temp Warm2
Vivid Color Off
CATS Off
Video NR Off
MPEG NR Off
Pro Settings
Panel brightness : Mid
AGC : 0
Black extension : 0
Color gamut : Normal
Gamma detail adjustment
Gamma : 2.4
Advanced picture
1080p pixel direct : Off
HDMI content type : Off
HDMI/DVI RGB range : Standard
Black level : Light
Screen settings
Screen format : Full
Overscan : Off
H size : Size 1

You should be setting with the white clipping pattern so that white clips around 240 or so, you don't need the extra WTW headroom beyond that.

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Darbee DVP5000
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #6971 of 7242 Old 05-30-2014, 12:28 PM
Member
 
FlynP5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just read the same thing on the AVS HD 709 forum, there's not a lot of content that will show above 240 so I'll go home tonight and adjust that.
FlynP5 is offline  
post #6972 of 7242 Old 05-30-2014, 01:12 PM
Senior Member
 
ChadThunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 52
You set the white point with Contrast? do all Viera work like that
ChadThunder is offline  
post #6973 of 7242 Old 05-30-2014, 01:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
xvfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

You should be setting with the white clipping pattern so that white clips around 240 or so, you don't need the extra WTW headroom beyond that.

Interesting, chunon. Though Mascior's disc shows up to 242 on the female image with the palettes. Plus if I remember correctly, Michael Chen may have said some information on some rare films has been up as high as 246/8?...
xvfx is offline  
post #6974 of 7242 Old 05-30-2014, 01:50 PM
Newbie
 
fireforce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zcars View Post
 

I haven't heard of anyone doing this successfully. These ports will only run a thumb drive or a powered hard drive as far as I know (I run both of these without a problem).

Thanks for the replys, I have a few questions if you don't mind me asking.  

 

  1. What size in GB is your powered hard drive and what type of drive is it?
  2. Is your powered drive formatted to FAT32, or will exFAT work too?
  3. Are there any file size limits with the way your powered drive is formatted?
fireforce is offline  
post #6975 of 7242 Old 05-30-2014, 07:35 PM
Member
 
Zcars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Ontario
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11

I connected a LaCie 2TB drive with NTFS formatting. There is no file size limit but I was told drives more than 2TB may have problems.  I have it loaded with mp4 video files and it plays them reasonably well. I did find that the fewer folders you create the better.  The drive has a sleep function so it powers down when not in use so I have it powered and connected all the time.  I also have a basic thumb drive FAT32 connected for downloaded videos, limited to 4GB files. I have no experience with exFAT formats so can't comment on that.

Zcars is offline  
post #6976 of 7242 Old 05-31-2014, 08:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whipit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SGF
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Correct, the drives larger than 2TB aren't readable by these tv's. I have 3 Seagate powered drives, all USB 3.0. The 2TB works fine at 2.0 speeds but the tv can't see the two 3TB drives. My media players see the larger drives without issue(Boxee and Aios) at 3.0 speeds. The tv's player will be more limited to file extensions/codecs than an external player. ExFAT is mainly used on flash drives, I've never used it but I doubt you will find it on a hard drive.
whipit is offline  
post #6977 of 7242 Old 05-31-2014, 08:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by xvfx View Post

Interesting, chunon. Though Mascior's disc shows up to 242 on the female image with the palettes. Plus if I remember correctly, Michael Chen may have said some information on some rare films has been up as high as 246/8?...

Its a compromise always for sure, I would rather give up some rarely used WTW headroom to increase light output. In fact high panel brightness clips at 235 on my set and I have not noticed any adverse affects. It ultimately comes down to personal preference and your viewing environment,.

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Darbee DVP5000
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #6978 of 7242 Old 05-31-2014, 09:12 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,478
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 446
Quote:
Originally Posted by xvfx View Post

Interesting, chunon. Though Mascior's disc shows up to 242 on the female image with the palettes. Plus if I remember correctly, Michael Chen may have said some information on some rare films has been up as high as 246/8?...

And that is probably true, but would you even be able to do notice in motion 248 vs something a bit lower? Watching moving pictures vs still frames are two different things.

DavidHir is offline  
post #6979 of 7242 Old 05-31-2014, 05:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
xvfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidHir View Post

And that is probably true, but would you even be able to do notice in motion 248 vs something a bit lower? Watching moving pictures vs still frames are two different things.

Sadly no. I would not. Even most of the expert calibrators have said this. Plus I remember Doug saying the WTW you'll rarely see if it's there, usually only shows up on blinking metals like microphones or crystals/chandelier type items. I guess thats the reason, since it can measure up to 20ftL higher than your peak 100% white for that bling.

I personally wouldn't know if it hit me. Even peak 235 is incredibly bright.
xvfx is offline  
post #6980 of 7242 Old 05-31-2014, 06:09 PM
Member
 
dmtaub's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 24

Ok, so I can get either a S60 or a UT50, both 50in, at ungodly prices.  They are both display/floor models.  I am going back to check the hours.  The price difference is about $50 between the two (UT is higher)  Any advice?  I'm leaning toward the S, my dad toward the UT (he likes 3d).  Any quick responses would be helpful.  This will be a bedroom tv for me, minimal light when watching.

 

Edited - S60 has 2700 hours, UT50 has 5200 hours, still quite low.  Going to see if I can swing a deal for both and if I can sell a couple of tv's I have on craigslist to make up the difference.  Still waiting for a response.

dmtaub is offline  
post #6981 of 7242 Old 06-01-2014, 04:44 PM - Thread Starter
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmtaub View Post

Ok, so I can get either a S60 or a UT50, both 50in, at ungodly prices.  They are both display/floor models.  I am going back to check the hours.  The price difference is about $50 between the two (UT is higher)  Any advice?  I'm leaning toward the S, my dad toward the UT (he likes 3d).  Any quick responses would be helpful.  This will be a bedroom tv for me, minimal light when watching.

Edited - S60 has 2700 hours, UT50 has 5200 hours, still quite low.  Going to see if I can swing a deal for both and if I can sell a couple of tv's I have on craigslist to make up the difference.  Still waiting for a response.

The S60 is better in every picture quality category. I can't think of a single good reason to pick a UT50 over an S60.
foghorn2 and mailiang like this.

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #6982 of 7242 Old 06-01-2014, 06:56 PM
Senior Member
 
ChadThunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Well the UT50 has faster phosphors which will offer a slightly better gaming performance, but for movies I would be leaning towards the S60 for sure
ChadThunder is offline  
post #6983 of 7242 Old 06-01-2014, 10:03 PM - Thread Starter
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChadThunder View Post

Well the UT50 has faster phosphors which will offer a slightly better gaming performance, but for movies I would be leaning towards the S60 for sure

And there's that 3D thing on the UT50 which i didn't think about (as i have negative-zero interest in 3D so it's not in my thought patterns). The 3D panels are faster than the non-3D panels.

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #6984 of 7242 Old 06-02-2014, 04:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RWetmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brick, New Jersey
Posts: 3,274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post

The S60 is better in every picture quality category. I can't think of a single good reason to pick a UT50 over an S60.

Why? I thought the UT50 was basically the ST50 without the 'Pro Settings' and an anti-glare coating.
RWetmore is offline  
post #6985 of 7242 Old 06-02-2014, 04:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 529
UT50 has 3d if I am not mistaken

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Darbee DVP5000
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #6986 of 7242 Old 06-02-2014, 04:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChadThunder View Post

You set the white point with Contrast? do all Viera work like that

Yes Chad smile.gif
ChadThunder likes this.

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Darbee DVP5000
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #6987 of 7242 Old 06-02-2014, 04:24 PM
Member
 
dmtaub's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 24

UT has 3d, is wifi ready (need the dongle), but lacks the pro settings and anti glare.  According to cnet, about as close to the ST30 as possible

dmtaub is offline  
post #6988 of 7242 Old 06-02-2014, 04:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RWetmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brick, New Jersey
Posts: 3,274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

UT50 has 3d if I am not mistaken

Yes, I meant to say without the 'Pro Settings' and an anti-glare coating. It does have 3D.
RWetmore is offline  
post #6989 of 7242 Old 06-02-2014, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RWetmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brick, New Jersey
Posts: 3,274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

Yes Chad smile.gif

BTW, I see you have the VT60 and the ST60. Is the VT60 really noticeably better than the ST60?
RWetmore is offline  
post #6990 of 7242 Old 06-02-2014, 04:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 529
They are close but the VT has advantages in black level and color accuracy, smoother picture because of better gradation, I would describe the ST60 picture as very good and the VT60 as exceptional(reference). If I hadn't owned a Vt50 prior to the ST60 I would have probably been completed satisfied with the ST. Also the 3d on the VT is superior and also moderate edge in skin tones(more saturated on VT).

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Darbee DVP5000
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P65s60 65 Inch 1080p 600hz Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic 60 Inch Plasma Hdtv Tc P60s60 , Panasonic Tc P55s60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P50s60 50 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic 42 Inch Plasma Hdtv Tc P42s60
Gear in this thread - P42s60 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off