Official Panasonic S60 Series Discussion Thread - Page 234 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6991 of 7199 Old 06-02-2014, 07:43 PM
Newbie
 
crayzieap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Some concerns about my P50S60 that I bought a year ago at Costco. The input signal is starting to randomly lose signal to two separate sources (PS3 and Laptop) and with two separate HDMI cable. Has this happened to any one else? Could this be an issue with my motherboard?

The weird thing is in order to get back the signal, I have to remove the HDMI cable directly away from the source and replug in. If I replug from the back of the TV inputs and not the source, it doesn't do anything and still gives me the blank screen with the no signal message.

I've researched to see if a firmware update would resolve this issue but I don't see anything. Plus judging by the many comments on this forum, I feel like my issue is an isolated one. Is it time to go back to Costco and return this lovely S60 knowing that there probably isn't a replacement anymore since they aren't manufactured anymore?

Any tips and suggestions will help.

Thanks,
Abe
crayzieap is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6992 of 7199 Old 06-02-2014, 08:47 PM
Member
 
showsjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Apologize if "versus" posts are against the rules.

There are a few "New in Box" 50 "S60's at a Sears 60 miles from where I live for about $640. So, probably a little bit over $720 or so after taxes+gas. I can pick up a Samsung 51F5300 for $599 after taxes in town. I'm curious what you guys think is the better deal. Is the S60 a better set than the F5300? Worth the drive and extra $120? The room will be a bedroom with a small window, so not much sunlight in the room.
showsjohn is offline  
post #6993 of 7199 Old 06-02-2014, 08:52 PM
Senior Member
 
ChadThunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

They are close but the VT has advantages in black level and color accuracy, smoother picture because of better gradation, I would describe the ST60 picture as very good and the VT60 as exceptional(reference). If I hadn't owned a Vt50 prior to the ST60 I would have probably been completed satisfied with the ST. Also the 3d on the VT is superior and also moderate edge in skin tones(more saturated on VT).
wow man that sounds nice smile.gif

I never got to see the VT60 outside of dynamic mode but I seen a few of ST50 and ST60s around the place
ChadThunder is online now  
post #6994 of 7199 Old 06-03-2014, 06:17 AM
Senior Member
 
xenon9887's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by crayzieap View Post

Some concerns about my P50S60 that I bought a year ago at Costco. The input signal is starting to randomly lose signal to two separate sources (PS3 and Laptop) and with two separate HDMI cable. Has this happened to any one else? Could this be an issue with my motherboard?

The weird thing is in order to get back the signal, I have to remove the HDMI cable directly away from the source and replug in. If I replug from the back of the TV inputs and not the source, it doesn't do anything and still gives me the blank screen with the no signal message.

I've researched to see if a firmware update would resolve this issue but I don't see anything. Plus judging by the many comments on this forum, I feel like my issue is an isolated one. Is it time to go back to Costco and return this lovely S60 knowing that there probably isn't a replacement anymore since they aren't manufactured anymore?

Any tips and suggestions will help.

Thanks,
Abe

Unfortunately all I can say is that I have no input issues at all. And I have many different sources connected to the set, none of which have ever had losses in connectivity.

I'd say call panasonic, they should be able to send a tech out an replace the board for you.
xenon9887 is offline  
post #6995 of 7199 Old 06-03-2014, 07:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RWetmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brick, New Jersey
Posts: 3,213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by showsjohn View Post

Apologize if "versus" posts are against the rules.

There are a few "New in Box" 50 "S60's at a Sears 60 miles from where I live for about $640. So, probably a little bit over $720 or so after taxes+gas. I can pick up a Samsung 51F5300 for $599 after taxes in town. I'm curious what you guys think is the better deal. Is the S60 a better set than the F5300? Worth the drive and extra $120? The room will be a bedroom with a small window, so not much sunlight in the room.

I have not seen the F5300, but I understand the blacks of the S60 are noticeably better.
RWetmore is online now  
post #6996 of 7199 Old 06-03-2014, 09:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 6,826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by RWetmore View Post

I have not seen the F5300, but I understand the blacks of the S60 are noticeably better.


I've compared both these TV's at Best Buy and spend some time adjusting each set. (drove the salesmen crazy biggrin.gif). Despite it's higher peak brightness, under the lights at BB, I found the S60 to be slightly brighter, with more pop. This was probably due to the lower contrast and higher reflectivity of the F5300.


Ian

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others

mailiang is offline  
post #6997 of 7199 Old 06-03-2014, 09:13 AM
Member
 
dmtaub's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by showsjohn View Post

Apologize if "versus" posts are against the rules.

There are a few "New in Box" 50 "S60's at a Sears 60 miles from where I live for about $640. So, probably a little bit over $720 or so after taxes+gas. I can pick up a Samsung 51F5300 for $599 after taxes in town. I'm curious what you guys think is the better deal. Is the S60 a better set than the F5300? Worth the drive and extra $120? The room will be a bedroom with a small window, so not much sunlight in the room.

S60 all the way.  You get a wifi enabled tv with some apps, better blacks, and a more natural picture.  I would say it is worth the drive.  You will not be disappointed.

dmtaub is offline  
post #6998 of 7199 Old 06-04-2014, 06:01 AM
Senior Member
 
xenon9887's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by showsjohn View Post

Apologize if "versus" posts are against the rules.

There are a few "New in Box" 50 "S60's at a Sears 60 miles from where I live for about $640. So, probably a little bit over $720 or so after taxes+gas. I can pick up a Samsung 51F5300 for $599 after taxes in town. I'm curious what you guys think is the better deal. Is the S60 a better set than the F5300? Worth the drive and extra $120? The room will be a bedroom with a small window, so not much sunlight in the room.

I took a look at the F5300 at Costco this past weekend. The picture did not look good at all, at least in that environment. The lights of the warehouse caused blacks to look light grey (saw a s64 last year in the same costco and don't remember the blacks washing out that much) and the image was rather pixelated looking. I get very close to my tv while it's on all the time and the s60 never looks like that.
xenon9887 is offline  
post #6999 of 7199 Old 06-04-2014, 07:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 519
Quote:
Originally Posted by xenon9887 View Post

I took a look at the F5300 at Costco this past weekend. The picture did not look good at all, at least in that environment. The lights of the warehouse caused blacks to look light grey (saw a s64 last year in the same costco and don't remember the blacks washing out that much) and the image was rather pixelated looking. I get very close to my tv while it's on all the time and the s60 never looks like that.

Was it the 60" ? If so you were probably seeing the Pentile pixel structure. With no AR filter not suprised it washes out under lighting.

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #7000 of 7199 Old 06-04-2014, 07:14 AM
Senior Member
 
ToonMasterTim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by xenon9887 View Post

I took a look at the F5300 at Costco this past weekend. The picture did not look good at all, at least in that environment. The lights of the warehouse caused blacks to look light grey (saw a s64 last year in the same costco and don't remember the blacks washing out that much) and the image was rather pixelated looking. I get very close to my tv while it's on all the time and the s60 never looks like that.

I believe the F5300 lacks an anti-reflective filter. The S64 has one, which others here mentioned was requested for the S60 club version, the S64, to be sold at Costco and Sam's Club. It is the same AR filter found on the ST and VT models IIRC. It does a good job, IMO.

The pixelation you see on the Samsung is due to the PenTile display technology, which is trademarked by Samsung. I don't like it either. I believe this is what some have called, "the screen door effect". And you're right, the Panasonics don't use it, and that is a good thing for my tastes.
ToonMasterTim is offline  
post #7001 of 7199 Old 06-04-2014, 07:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 519
It may be the same filter as the ST but the VT filter is different. I have both the ST and VT.

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #7002 of 7199 Old 06-04-2014, 07:25 AM
Senior Member
 
ToonMasterTim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

It may be the same filter as the ST but the VT filter is different. I have both the ST and VT.

Thanks for the clarification. I couldn't recall. I thought I had read they were the same, but that may have been my mistake or a misunderstanding on the part of the person who wrote it.
ToonMasterTim is offline  
post #7003 of 7199 Old 06-04-2014, 08:03 AM
Senior Member
 
xenon9887's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

Was it the 60" ? If so you were probably seeing the Pentile pixel structure. With no AR filter not suprised it washes out under lighting.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToonMasterTim View Post

I believe the F5300 lacks an anti-reflective filter. The S64 has one, which others here mentioned was requested for the S60 club version, the S64, to be sold at Costco and Sam's Club. It is the same AR filter found on the ST and VT models IIRC. It does a good job, IMO.

The pixelation you see on the Samsung is due to the PenTile display technology, which is trademarked by Samsung. I don't like it either. I believe this is what some have called, "the screen door effect". And you're right, the Panasonics don't use it, and that is a good thing for my tastes.

I specifically checked, it was not pentile. The pixels were in the usual horizontal groups of three subpixels.
xenon9887 is offline  
post #7004 of 7199 Old 06-04-2014, 08:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 519
Interesting perhaps an unintended effect of the pixel redesign in 2013 Samsung models then.

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #7005 of 7199 Old 06-04-2014, 12:40 PM
Member
 
showsjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I've decided to choose the 50" s60 over the Samsung F5300. Can anyone give me the box dimensions for the 50" S60? I'm hoping by some miracle it can fit in my Yaris. Otherwise I may be SOL.
showsjohn is offline  
post #7006 of 7199 Old 06-04-2014, 12:51 PM
Senior Member
 
xenon9887's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by showsjohn View Post

I've decided to choose the 50" s60 over the Samsung F5300. Can anyone give me the box dimensions for the 50" S60? I'm hoping by some miracle it can fit in my Yaris. Otherwise I may be SOL.

I got it home in my old 2001 Civic Coupe. If no one has by the time I get home tonight I will take some measurements for you.
xenon9887 is offline  
post #7007 of 7199 Old 06-04-2014, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RWetmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brick, New Jersey
Posts: 3,213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by showsjohn View Post

I've decided to choose the 50" s60 over the Samsung F5300. Can anyone give me the box dimensions for the 50" S60? I'm hoping by some miracle it can fit in my Yaris. Otherwise I may be SOL.

Don't they deliver? I'd be surprised if it fit in a Yaris.
RWetmore is online now  
post #7008 of 7199 Old 06-04-2014, 01:42 PM
Member
 
showsjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I wish. But its a Sears Hometown Store and they don't offer any delivery. Good news is, the TV is only $475 NIB,so its worth the drive if I can cram it in.
showsjohn is offline  
post #7009 of 7199 Old 06-04-2014, 03:01 PM - Thread Starter
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 490
Quote:
Originally Posted by showsjohn View Post

I've decided to choose the 50" s60 over the Samsung F5300. Can anyone give me the box dimensions for the 50" S60? I'm hoping by some miracle it can fit in my Yaris. Otherwise I may be SOL.

Are you sure it's New in Box? They've been NLA for a long time now, but they have been selling off their returns and store displays.

From Panasonic's website:

Carton Dimensions (W x H x D) 53.0" x 31.4" x 10.0"

http://shop.panasonic.com/shop/model/TC-P50S60?t=specs

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #7010 of 7199 Old 06-04-2014, 03:09 PM
Member
 
showsjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Thanks for the dimensions, appreciate it.

According to their website its "New", I'll call them to confirm. There's several for sale near my area. Some are 549 though.
showsjohn is offline  
post #7011 of 7199 Old 06-04-2014, 03:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RWetmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brick, New Jersey
Posts: 3,213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by showsjohn View Post

Thanks for the dimensions, appreciate it.

According to their website its "New", I'll call them to confirm. There's several for sale near my area. Some are 549 though.

Yes, make sure it's truly new in the box.
RWetmore is online now  
post #7012 of 7199 Old 06-04-2014, 04:26 PM
Member
 
showsjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Well, thats what I get for getting my hopes up. They were either 42", not the 50 as listed, or floor models. Now, I'm at a loss. Guess that only leaves Samsung and LG *shudders*
showsjohn is offline  
post #7013 of 7199 Old 06-04-2014, 05:25 PM
Member
 
jasondjulian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 73

Oh God.. I'm so sorry... 

ChadThunder likes this.

Panasonic TC-P55S60
Sony S5100 BD-Player
RCA 5 disc DVD HTIB for 5.1 Surround
jasondjulian is offline  
post #7014 of 7199 Old 06-04-2014, 05:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RWetmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brick, New Jersey
Posts: 3,213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by showsjohn View Post

Well, thats what I get for getting my hopes up. They were either 42", not the 50 as listed, or floor models. Now, I'm at a loss. Guess that only leaves Samsung and LG *shudders*

Just get the Samsung F5300 and you'll likely be happy.
RWetmore is online now  
post #7015 of 7199 Old 06-05-2014, 06:15 AM
Senior Member
 
xenon9887's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by RWetmore View Post

Just get the Samsung F5300 and you'll likely be happy.

I hope so. That set has never looked good to me, but I have never seen it in any other place than Costco, which is pretty much Plasma hell for picture quality.

I'd love to get a chance to see it properly configured and in a plasma friendly environment and see how it really fares.
xenon9887 is offline  
post #7016 of 7199 Old 06-05-2014, 10:36 AM
Member
 
dmtaub's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 19

I have a 60" LG PB6600.  IMO, much better color and motion than the F5300.  Blacks are slightly better on the F5300, but I don't think you can go wrong with a $700 smart plasma. Fry's is running it for $699 right now.

dmtaub is offline  
post #7017 of 7199 Old 06-05-2014, 11:50 AM
Member
 
showsjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Are you basing that from what you saw in-store or do you own both? I understand the F5300 has a few "features" that have to be turned off to look nice.
showsjohn is offline  
post #7018 of 7199 Old 06-05-2014, 12:00 PM
Member
 
dmtaub's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by showsjohn View Post

Are you basing that from what you saw in-store or do you own both? I understand the F5300 has a few "features" that have to be turned off to look nice.

 

I'm basing this on owning for the past month.  I can post my settings if you go that direction, though they are in the PB6600 thread.  I looked at the two side by side and the 5300 looked washed out and the motion looked unnatural, like they were trying to get the soap opera effect out of it.  And, you do get a full smart and wifi tv out of the lg.  I do not think you will be disappointed.

dmtaub is offline  
post #7019 of 7199 Old 06-05-2014, 01:27 PM
Senior Member
 
xenon9887's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmtaub View Post

I'm basing this on owning for the past month.  I can post my settings if you go that direction, though they are in the PB6600 thread.  I looked at the two side by side and the 5300 looked washed out and the motion looked unnatural, like they were trying to get the soap opera effect out of it.  And, you do get a full smart and wifi tv out of the lg.  I do not think you will be disappointed.

DisplayLag rates the LG at 71ms of input latency, while the Samsung is down at 47ms. 71ms is pretty much un-usable for many around here, even 47 is pretty much pushing it's luck.

This is why I hope Smart TVs die. Who doesn't have at least one other device connected to their TV that can serve most SmartTV functions. All they end up doing is adding latency into the entire system, all while being slow, buggy, and after the model year is over, rarely updated if at all.
xenon9887 is offline  
post #7020 of 7199 Old 06-05-2014, 01:32 PM
Member
 
dmtaub's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by xenon9887 View Post


DisplayLag rates the LG at 71ms of input latency, while the Samsung is down at 47ms. 71ms is pretty much un-usable for many around here, even 47 is pretty much pushing it's luck.

This is why I hope Smart TVs die. Who doesn't have at least one other device connected to their TV that can serve most SmartTV functions. All they end up doing is adding latency into the entire system, all while being slow, buggy, and after the model year is over, rarely updated if at all.

 

I'm not a gamer so input latency doesn't mean much to me... It hasn't impacted any of my normal day to day tv and movies.  I wanted a good value which I think the LG brings.  It was better option than the Samsung for me.  If you are that much of a hardcore gamer, you want an S60 for plasma or a Sony on the LED front.

 

If I could have found a 60" S60 that wasn't double normal price, I would have bought one.  Instead, my next best option was the LG.  A F5300/5500 in the 60" version are pentile displays and horrible value, IMO.  And this is getting way off course.  Isn't this the S60 thread?

dmtaub is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P65s60 65 Inch 1080p 600hz Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic 60 Inch Plasma Hdtv Tc P60s60 , Panasonic Tc P55s60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P50s60 50 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic 42 Inch Plasma Hdtv Tc P42s60
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off