Official Panasonic S60 Series Discussion Thread - Page 245 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7321 of 7349 Old 02-11-2015, 02:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
*UFO*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,606
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 267
After my 60U50 cracked, I am trying to find a suitable replacement. Will the S60 perform similar/better than the U50? Is there an areas of picture quality where the U50 would be better? Also, how much would a 60S60 with 1200 hours on it be worth?
*UFO* is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7322 of 7349 Old 02-11-2015, 03:26 PM - Thread Starter
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,786
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 576
Quote:
Originally Posted by *UFO* View Post
After my 60U50 cracked, I am trying to find a suitable replacement. Will the S60 perform similar/better than the U50? Is there an areas of picture quality where the U50 would be better? Also, how much would a 60S60 with 1200 hours on it be worth?
The 60 series models are sharper/crisper than the 50 series, and IIRC are also brighter with slightly better black levels. My ST60 is a noticeable upgrade over my GT50 in these three categories, FWIW.

What is the seller asking for it? It's hard to put a price on a used 60S60, but personally i'd probably be willing to pay up to $1,000 for it if i was absolutely opposed to buying a new LCD and wanted one last chance at a good Plasma.

Randy
Sony 55W800B, Panasonic TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TiVo Series3 & Premiere, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333 AVR, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #7323 of 7349 Old 02-11-2015, 03:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
*UFO*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,606
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post
The 60 series models are sharper/crisper than the 50 series, and IIRC are also brighter with slightly better black levels. My ST60 is a noticeable upgrade over my GT50 in these three categories, FWIW.

What is the seller asking for it? It's hard to put a price on a used 60S60, but personally i'd probably be willing to pay up to $1,000 for it if i was absolutely opposed to buying a new LCD and wanted one last chance at a good Plasma.
I noticed that the 60U50 is rated 50 watts higher than the 60S60, did they just get more power efficient or is the 60U50 going to be brighter?
*UFO* is offline  
post #7324 of 7349 Old 02-11-2015, 08:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
*UFO*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,606
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Ended up picking up the 60S60. Wow. I thought the 60U50 looked good. The 60S60 is an obvious improvement on every level. Slightly brighter, better blacks, noticeably sharper, better colors, and better motion. The only negative compared to the 60U50 is the size, and I am not a fan of the chrome on the top and bottom. Other than that the S60 will blow any 4k LCD out of the water for dark room viewing.
*UFO* is offline  
post #7325 of 7349 Old 02-12-2015, 07:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RWetmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brick, New Jersey
Posts: 3,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post
The 60 series models are sharper/crisper than the 50 series, and IIRC are also brighter with slightly better black levels. My ST60 is a noticeable upgrade over my GT50 in these three categories, FWIW.

My ST50 was a little brighter with less aggressive ABL than my S60. I also felt its overall video processing was a little better, especially gradation but also motion. The S60 though has better black levels and more refined Pro Settings adjustments and is/was a better bargain overall.
RWetmore is offline  
post #7326 of 7349 Old 02-12-2015, 07:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RWetmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brick, New Jersey
Posts: 3,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by *UFO* View Post
Also, how much would a 60S60 with 1200 hours on it be worth?

I know you already bought it, but I agree it's worth $1000 with only 1200 hours if it's in excellent cosmetic condition with no IR.
RWetmore is offline  
post #7327 of 7349 Old 02-12-2015, 02:29 PM
Senior Member
 
jlsavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Ottawa, Can
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by RWetmore View Post
I know you already bought it, but I agree it's worth $1000 with only 1200 hours if it's in excellent cosmetic condition with no IR.
I have the 60S60 .. at $1000 used is it DEFINITELY a great buy !! It has a hi-end picture quality that belies its modest price.
jlsavs is offline  
post #7328 of 7349 Old 02-12-2015, 02:55 PM
Member
 
MilkManX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: AZ USA
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I still am so happy that I got my p50s60 when I did. This set rocks!!
MilkManX is offline  
post #7329 of 7349 Old 02-21-2015, 10:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
curly21029's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by MilkManX View Post
I still am so happy that I got my p50s60 when I did. This set rocks!!
And I'm happy I got my 65" when I did. I don't know what compelled me to return to this forum after nearly a year away, but my girlfriend is watching the 'Cuse game right now and -- as always -- the S60 isn't failing to impress. I don't miss my Kuros and every time I go to the stores to tinker with the latest 4Ks and OLED I come away so disappointed. A viable replacement just doesn't exist. The LG OLED shows promise to be certain, but I don't know how anyone could tolerate the atrocious motion handling. Woeful judder/blur or nauseating interpolation: pick your poison.

Here's hoping that our televisions last us a good, long time.
mailiang and ToonMasterTim like this.
curly21029 is offline  
post #7330 of 7349 Old 02-21-2015, 02:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cravit8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,555
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 819 Post(s)
Liked: 450
Quote:
Originally Posted by curly21029 View Post
And I'm happy I got my 65" when I did. I don't know what compelled me to return to this forum after nearly a year away, but my girlfriend is watching the 'Cuse game right now and -- as always -- the S60 isn't failing to impress. I don't miss my Kuros and every time I go to the stores to tinker with the latest 4Ks and OLED I come away so disappointed. A viable replacement just doesn't exist. The LG OLED shows promise to be certain, but I don't know how anyone could tolerate the atrocious motion handling. Woeful judder/blur or nauseating interpolation: pick your poison.



Here's hoping that our televisions last us a good, long time.

Same here. I won't be replacing these till they break.
mailiang and MilkManX like this.

PSN: Cravit8
XBL: oOo_Crav_oOo
Cravit8 is online now  
post #7331 of 7349 Old 02-22-2015, 07:15 AM
Senior Member
 
ToonMasterTim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Ditto. Very content with my 65" S64. I don't plan to replace it anytime soon.
ToonMasterTim is offline  
post #7332 of 7349 Old 02-24-2015, 12:23 PM
Member
 
FernandoRocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Question Panasonic S60... front red LED stand-by light... is this normal?

I have a Panasonic S60, 50". Great TV.

But there is something that is bothering me and I just want to know if the functionality of the TV is working properly.

Almost every device in my house has a red stand-by light. Pretty normal stuff. It indicates that your device is Off but it has power so you can turn it On. Once you turn on your device, the red stand-by light turns off.

But on my Panasonic S60 it is backwards! When the TV is Off, the red LED light is off. When I turn on the TV, the red LED light is On!

Is this normal?
FernandoRocker is offline  
post #7333 of 7349 Old 02-24-2015, 12:38 PM
Senior Member
 
dmtaub's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by FernandoRocker View Post
I have a Panasonic S60, 50". Great TV.

But there is something that is bothering me and I just want to know if the functionality of the TV is working properly.

Almost every device in my house has a red stand-by light. Pretty normal stuff. It indicates that your device is Off but it has power so you can turn it On. Once you turn on your device, the red stand-by light turns off.

But on my Panasonic S60 it is backwards! When the TV is Off, the red LED light is off. When I turn on the TV, the red LED light is On!

Is this normal?
Totally normal.
dmtaub is offline  
post #7334 of 7349 Old 02-24-2015, 04:36 PM
Member
 
Alex F.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by FernandoRocker View Post

But on my Panasonic S60 it is backwards! When the TV is Off, the red LED light is off. When I turn on the TV, the red LED light is On!

Is this normal?
Normal.

I put black electrical tape over most of the LED because it is so bright and distracting when watching television.
Alex F. is offline  
post #7335 of 7349 Old 02-24-2015, 05:57 PM - Thread Starter
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,786
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 576
Quote:
Originally Posted by FernandoRocker View Post
I have a Panasonic S60, 50". Great TV. But there is something that is bothering me and I just want to know if the functionality of the TV is working properly. Almost every device in my house has a red stand-by light. Pretty normal stuff. It indicates that your device is Off but it has power so you can turn it On. Once you turn on your device, the red stand-by light turns off. But on my Panasonic S60 it is backwards! When the TV is Off, the red LED light is off. When I turn on the TV, the red LED light is On! Is this normal?
Yes it's normal on the Panasonic TVs, but all of our various LCD TVs also have an LED lit up when the TV is on (10" Haier, 13" Supersonic, 15" Sharp, 19" Insignia & Toshiba, 26" HP, 42" LG, and now a 55" Sony). Some are red, and some are blue or green. But every one of em has it when they're on.

So it seems that it's actually normal for a TV to have an LED lit up when the TV is on. I imagine this is to let you know that the TV is still on if your source device is turned off and the TV's screen is blacked out due to no input signal. My wife often turns the cable box off but not the TV, then when the screen goes black she apparently thinks the TV turned off too.

On the TVs where the LED is overly bright, i cover it with Light Dims:

Sony 2014 W600B,W800B,W850B

_____________________________________

Randy
Sony 55W800B, Panasonic TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TiVo Series3 & Premiere, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333 AVR, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #7336 of 7349 Old 02-24-2015, 08:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 7,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 422 Post(s)
Liked: 397
Post S60 Screen Saver

Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post
So it seems that it's actually normal for a TV to have an LED lit up when the TV is on. I imagine this is to let you know that the TV is still on if your source device is turned off and the TV's screen is blacked out due to no input signal. My wife often turns the cable box off but not the TV, then when the screen goes black she apparently thinks the TV turned off too.
Actually, the S60 has a screen saver that reads no signal when it's not receiving input from a source device.

Ian

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others

mailiang is offline  
post #7337 of 7349 Old 02-24-2015, 08:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cravit8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,555
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 819 Post(s)
Liked: 450
Quote:
Originally Posted by mailiang View Post
Actually, the S60 has a screen saver that reads no signal when it's not receiving input from a source device.

Ian

And man do I love that feature. And it moves to boot.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

PSN: Cravit8
XBL: oOo_Crav_oOo
Cravit8 is online now  
post #7338 of 7349 Old 02-24-2015, 09:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 7,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 422 Post(s)
Liked: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cravit8 View Post
And it moves to boot.
That's why I called it a screen saver.


Ian

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others

mailiang is offline  
post #7339 of 7349 Old 04-10-2015, 10:27 PM
Member
 
Jawzey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quick question for you S60 owners,

I found a TC-P50S60 on my local Craigslist for pretty cheap. Only catch being that one of the boards is apparently faulty and results in a white box being displayed on the screen. Is anybody here familiar with this issue? How major is it? Furthermore, does anybody know which exact part needs to be replaced in order to alleviate this issue? My 42UT50 has really shrunk on me and I'm looking to upgrade, and if this issue isn't too large and the board is easily replaceable, then I'd like to go for this S60. Any input is greatly appreciated!!
Jawzey is offline  
post #7340 of 7349 Old 04-11-2015, 07:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 7,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 422 Post(s)
Liked: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jawzey View Post
Quick question for you S60 owners,

I found a TC-P50S60 on my local Craigslist for pretty cheap. Only catch being that one of the boards is apparently faulty and results in a white box being displayed on the screen. Is anybody here familiar with this issue? How major is it? Furthermore, does anybody know which exact part needs to be replaced in order to alleviate this issue? My 42UT50 has really shrunk on me and I'm looking to upgrade, and if this issue isn't too large and the board is easily replaceable, then I'd like to go for this S60. Any input is greatly appreciated!!
I suggest you post a picture. Also, how cheap is cheap?


Ian

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others

mailiang is offline  
post #7341 of 7349 Old 04-11-2015, 08:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cravit8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,555
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 819 Post(s)
Liked: 450
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jawzey View Post
Quick question for you S60 owners,



I found a TC-P50S60 on my local Craigslist for pretty cheap. Only catch being that one of the boards is apparently faulty and results in a white box being displayed on the screen. Is anybody here familiar with this issue? How major is it? Furthermore, does anybody know which exact part needs to be replaced in order to alleviate this issue? My 42UT50 has really shrunk on me and I'm looking to upgrade, and if this issue isn't too large and the board is easily replaceable, then I'd like to go for this S60. Any input is greatly appreciated!!

Boards can be replaced, the panel cannot.
The only way to find the board number is to take it apart, which I personally would not gamble more than $25 to get it.

PSN: Cravit8
XBL: oOo_Crav_oOo
Cravit8 is online now  
post #7342 of 7349 Old 04-16-2015, 10:27 AM
Newbie
 
HSTRIP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Input Lag

Hi guys,
I'm a gamer who recently bought the 60s60. Just wondering how to set it up for the lowest input lag possible. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks
HSTRIP is offline  
post #7343 of 7349 Old 04-16-2015, 03:25 PM
Member
 
MilkManX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: AZ USA
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by HSTRIP View Post
Hi guys,
I'm a gamer who recently bought the 60s60. Just wondering how to set it up for the lowest input lag possible. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks
Nothing will enhance the input delay or improve it. It has no gamer mode but in my experience its pretty good and offers minimal input delay.
MilkManX is offline  
post #7344 of 7349 Old 04-18-2015, 04:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RWetmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brick, New Jersey
Posts: 3,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by HSTRIP View Post
Hi guys,
I'm a gamer who recently bought the 60s60. Just wondering how to set it up for the lowest input lag possible. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

Just turn all enhancements off. I don't know if it will make any difference, but that's about all you can do. This set has only like 30ms of delay, which is quite good.
RWetmore is offline  
post #7345 of 7349 Old 04-18-2015, 10:00 PM
KOF
Advanced Member
 
KOF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 896
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 135
The S60 does not have a game mode because it doesn't need one to begin with. You can use any kind of settings with your heart's content and still get excellent input lag. (Just stay within 1080p resolution. Scaling does add a few ms) Something I sorely miss whenenver I use my Samsung plasmas. (PC mode blows)
KOF is offline  
post #7346 of 7349 Old 04-25-2015, 08:22 AM
Member
 
Nibis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We got our TC-P50S60 a couple years ago, I got it for 799 at BB. Love the wifi and DLNA, have a little under 1600 hours on it. We use it for our bedroom. So far it's been a great TV

Jim
Nibis is offline  
post #7347 of 7349 Old 04-25-2015, 03:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PRO-630HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Amazon recently had one listed from a dealer in Ohio NIB. The price was originally $1,800, then dropped to $800. I was about to bite when it sold a few hours before even though I felt I was overpaying. Sears sold these on sale for $400 and MSRP was $729 which I never pay. Magically one shows up 6 days later from a dealer in wash. for $2,000. Figure the odds a set that hasn't been readily available since the fall of 2013 showing up 6 days later in another state. That time period should just about cover shipping!! Nothing I hate more than some jacka$$ buying a product just to resell and consumer price gouge!! Dealer also states it is a May 2013 build. If it truly is a NIB factory sealed how would he know this? I own a 65VT60 which I paid $2,700 for back in June 2013 and still have the box. The serial number of the set is no where on the outside of the box just model number and shipping data.


For $2,000 no thanks that is a ridiculous price. Five days ago Frys had the LG EC9300 55in. for $1,500 in store with promo code. Walmart has the 2015 4K M series 43 in. for $600.


I found a used one for $350 a few days ago on E-bay, but it was 950 miles away and local pickup only. I did look for one last spring but they were no where to be found. Settled on a Samsung PN43F4500 for $300. 768 x 1024, but it does have an extensive picture adjustments and a 10 point white balance. But for the right price I would love to find a 42S60.
PRO-630HD is online now  
post #7348 of 7349 Old 04-25-2015, 07:30 PM
KOF
Advanced Member
 
KOF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 896
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by PRO-630HD View Post
Amazon recently had one listed from a dealer in Ohio NIB. The price was originally $1,800, then dropped to $800. I was about to bite when it sold a few hours before even though I felt I was overpaying. Sears sold these on sale for $400 and MSRP was $729 which I never pay. Magically one shows up 6 days later from a dealer in wash. for $2,000. Figure the odds a set that hasn't been readily available since the fall of 2013 showing up 6 days later in another state. That time period should just about cover shipping!! Nothing I hate more than some jacka$$ buying a product just to resell and consumer price gouge!! Dealer also states it is a May 2013 build. If it truly is a NIB factory sealed how would he know this? I own a 65VT60 which I paid $2,700 for back in June 2013 and still have the box. The serial number of the set is no where on the outside of the box just model number and shipping data.


For $2,000 no thanks that is a ridiculous price. Five days ago Frys had the LG EC9300 55in. for $1,500 in store with promo code. Walmart has the 2015 4K M series 43 in. for $600.


I found a used one for $350 a few days ago on E-bay, but it was 950 miles away and local pickup only. I did look for one last spring but they were no where to be found. Settled on a Samsung PN43F4500 for $300. 768 x 1024, but it does have an extensive picture adjustments and a 10 point white balance. But for the right price I would love to find a 42S60.
I know...with LG OLED being so much affordable, it's very hard to justify buying a plasma, not to mention I no longer fear reliability problems with 3rd gen LG OLEDs, the only pro with going plasmas is superior motion performance (and color accuracy, but I really don't care)

I was originally going to purchase the F8500 thinking buying one will cover most of my bases, but ended up with two plasmas solution instead, the Panasonic S60 and the Samsung F5300B, and now looking back, I'm actually more satisfied with two plasmas solution then purchasing the F8500 alone (though it certainly would have covered most of my required basis, such as Nintendo games and anime...oh well.)

Then the unthinkable has happened. My poor 60 inches F5300B has fell and got cracked. I was so mad because I got it for a killer price as well. I paid $599 for a 60 inches one and the price between it and the 51 inches one was insignificant. A...nd pentile was almost a non-issue for me as well, so I really loved it and now I'm heartbroken. Like you, I also bought the F4500A as a replacement but its PQ is nowhere near close to the F5300B, not to mention I'm also severely restricted in terms of resolution. And going from 60 inches to 50/51 inches does suck, oh well...

Now I'm contemplating whether to buy the Panasonic PB2U or the LG OLED. Both are about the same price, so it's really a dilemma. If I go with the OLED, I would lose vastly superior motion performance I got used to plasmas. If I go with the PB2U, I would lose vastly superior contrast ratio because the PB2U's black level is equal to the ST60.
KOF is offline  
post #7349 of 7349 Old Yesterday, 10:33 AM
Newbie
 
OttoKürschner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Well KOF I am here to make the decision harder

There is quite a serious motion bug on all 2011/2012/2013 Panasonics I am sure of that, but I found the VGA port on both my monitors is not bugged, when gaming and such I can now do full camera rotations and the picture stays together like glue and most importantly I can use 32-bit color mode, previously when using digital inputs I had been sending a 16-bit signal to achieve a similar result but you can not "dither down" like you could on old graphics cards so the 16-bit solution was fairly limited in its usefulness, if the PB2 works the same well that would be something that would make me choose the PB2 over a GT60 but its a shame this bug even exists because it is absolutely devastating to picture quality, just to prove this point in my mind I put both monitors side by side and in any direct comparison the VGA makes the digital inputs look like they went through five rounds of video compression.

Funny thing, in the beginning when I bought the monitor I was using VGA exclusively because the RAMDAC in my old graphics card was quite good and would run this monitor up to 125Hz without any hiccups, when I upgraded my PC I went all digital but I didn't immediately notice how badly screwed the picture was until I got my hands on the Panasonic 50PH9 (and then I was reminded what plasma is suppose to look like).

Concerning black level PB2 would be inferior to the ST60 because they do not tint the glass but the contrast is the same or better due to superior light output, you can also set the white level on the fly with the input level control which makes stuff extremely bright but cuts out some levels.. lots of stuff is mastered in a way that these white levels do not even exist so often times I am blasting the white level really high and tuning it down slightly on the next program, it's good having that flexibility.

 
PDPs Panasonic 50PF30, 42PF30, 50PH9 | CRTs Sony Trinitron 21", Philips 36PW9607
OttoKürschner is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P65s60 65 Inch 1080p 600hz Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic 60 Inch Plasma Hdtv Tc P60s60 , Panasonic Tc P55s60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P50s60 50 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic 42 Inch Plasma Hdtv Tc P42s60

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off