Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 169 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5041 of 12337 Old 05-07-2013, 08:39 PM
Member
 
DevItHere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by biotechy View Post

Thanks for the help so far guys. Sharpness at zero, check. I have an Oppo 103 and Dish 722k running into a Denon 4311 and then one HDMI into HDMI 1 on the Sammy. I used to use a Panny VT50 55" and have hung that on a wall in the bedroom now. The VT50 didn't have the "grainy" look on Blu Ray, so that's how I noticed it so quickly. I did turn off all enhancements on the Oppo 103, the Denon I will have to really check over again. Their GUI is not the easiest to navigate for sure. Just making sure that my set is "normal" before return windows closes. Thanks again.

Similar thing on my OPPO biotechy with graininess. I forget the setting on the OPPO, but I had to set the one PQ enhancement setting to as high as it would go (8 I think) then the graininess went away. I think the graininess for me was a lot of dither.
DevItHere is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5042 of 12337 Old 05-07-2013, 08:46 PM
Newbie
 
agressiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post

Did you try to do a factory reset? have you tired to update via USB to the 1103 that was released today?

Its rare that this happens, but it does happen, never a good thing and I m sorry your going through this tyr the above 2 things and if they odnt work call up Samsung suppport to get the issue resolved.

Upgraded to 1103, didn't help. Unplugged for 10 minutes didn't help. Did a factory reset - didn't help. Unplugged for another 10 minutes - presto.

I have a repair request open for next Wednesday so I'll just cancel it if it doesn't break again.
agressiv is offline  
post #5043 of 12337 Old 05-07-2013, 09:19 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,720
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackobots View Post

I tried the screen fit and had the row of pixels on top sometimes, but also on the bottom other times. So, now I have it at 16x9 with no issues.

What is the advantage to screen fit? Am I missing something?
If I have the Samsung terminology right, when you use "screen fit" you are getting a one to one bit map of the HD image exactly as it comes to you. What you see is source noise on the top and bottom of your screen. That usually means SDTV but I suppose you might see it with crappy HDTV. There shouldn't be any with Blu-ray disks.

When you switch to "16x9" the set is doing a small (5%?) amount of over-scan. Over-scan was always built into CRT SDTV sets for that reason. The down side of over-scan it that the image will not be as sharp because less (5%?) source data is mapped into your pixels.

The names for these settings could be better. wink.gif
htwaits is offline  
post #5044 of 12337 Old 05-07-2013, 10:01 PM
Member
 
crmmoore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elvamir View Post

When you go into Picture Size (where you changed it to Screen Fit) you'll see an option just under that for Position. Click it and you'll go to a screen with four arrows, where you can adjust the screen to line it up right and move those wiggles out of frame.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

If I do that, then won't there be a black bar on the bottom that may burn in?
crmmoore is offline  
post #5045 of 12337 Old 05-07-2013, 10:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
Halimali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Glad to hear that many are happy with the update.
Sounds wonderful

As of June 2013:
2,712 Bluray movies
1,593 DVD movies
356 bluray+DVD series
1,322 bluray+DVD Anime
Halimali is offline  
post #5046 of 12337 Old 05-08-2013, 12:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Damien Inferno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

Yeah, I'm actually wondering how much of this is in our head as opposed to reality. It was discussed that perhaps it would cause a brightness drop and now it seems people may have expected that.
A self fulfilling prophecy or perhaps reality?

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2

I think the picture has way better clarity now but I did have to put the cell light up to 20 and the gamma up to +2
This is why I say its not as bright as it was. But who cares the pops are gone and the tv looks better than ever with a few minor adjustments.

Samsung F8500 Service menu factory reset and activating cal modes instructions

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475066/official-samsung-pnxxf8500-owners-thread-no-street-price-talk/2460#post_24101072
Damien Inferno is offline  
post #5047 of 12337 Old 05-08-2013, 01:56 AM
Member
 
griffithstrife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hello Everyone I took the plunge I was scared but figured I would get it sooner or later, after the update was done I did another calibration. The results are below.



A bit different from what I had before but still looks good to my eye but, after I was done calibrating I upped the gamma to plus 2 so I don't know how that will affect the calibration I will check tomorrow though.
griffithstrife is offline  
post #5048 of 12337 Old 05-08-2013, 02:06 AM
Member
 
griffithstrife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I would like to show everyone why I think the f8500 was for me.





No other TV I have seen can go that bright and that dark I know the Sharp Elite came close but it had to many issues for me, I know all TVs have issues including the f8500. But to me this TV represents the best compromise available to someone like me.
griffithstrife is offline  
post #5049 of 12337 Old 05-08-2013, 02:27 AM
Member
 
cooknl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: near Amsterdam
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Can we watch the Shootout in Europe??

If so How???, when , where???

Thx

Rob
cooknl is offline  
post #5050 of 12337 Old 05-08-2013, 03:10 AM
Newbie
 
bonepile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: East coast USA
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does it matter?

I am running my cable box, and Blu Ray player through my Sony A/V receiver and into my 8500. Does it matter if I am using HDMI input #1 or HDMI input #3??

Thanks for answering.

cool.gif
bonepile is offline  
post #5051 of 12337 Old 05-08-2013, 03:50 AM
Member
 
DrFaxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooknl View Post

Can we watch the Shootout in Europe??

If so How???, when , where???

Thx

Rob

Live Shootout Feed:

http://new.livestream.com/accounts/632436/hdtvshootout

The Event will be Live on May 10 & 11, 2013 6:00 pm Eastern Standard Time
DrFaxe is offline  
post #5052 of 12337 Old 05-08-2013, 04:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gmarceau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,080
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oplasmic View Post

I have the 60F8500 and with the latest 1103 update the one thing I seem to notice is the picture seems to me to have more depth to it. Brightness is still there, the blacks MAYBE seem a little darker, but it seems to have a depth to it I didn't notice before. Would that be an improved gamma or greyscale? I'm using the movie mode with slight adjustments which were not changed before the update. Anyone else noticing a depth difference?

It's probably an improvement in ANSI contrast, so the blacks are floating a little less. Other than that, if people are seeing better shadow detail, the mll might be slightly lower.

Usually, the more 3D like the picture seems, the deeper the blacks are and the better the contrast. If it didn't get any brighter...

Anyone used their Darbee on the F8500?

"If you weren't such an ignorant troll, you'd be adorable" -rogo
gmarceau is offline  
post #5053 of 12337 Old 05-08-2013, 05:32 AM
Member
 
cooknl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: near Amsterdam
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrFaxe View Post

Live Shootout Feed:

http://new.livestream.com/accounts/632436/hdtvshootout

The Event will be Live on May 10 & 11, 2013 6:00 pm Eastern Standard Time

Wow Great!!
Just tried the link and all works fine here in Holland. Glad its on the east coast that way we only have a 6 hour difference. So looks like gonna go to bed in the weeeeee small hours of the morning on Saturday and sunday.

Thx DrFaxe........biggrin.gif

Rob
cooknl is offline  
post #5054 of 12337 Old 05-08-2013, 06:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,352
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by bonepile View Post

Does it matter?

I am running my cable box, and Blu Ray player through my Sony A/V receiver and into my 8500. Does it matter if I am using HDMI input #1 or HDMI input #3??

Thanks for answering.

cool.gif

HDMI 3 is the ARC channel, so if your receiver can handle the ARC signal you should always use HDMI 3 from your AVR so that the audio will pass through even when the receiver is off....
Ph8te is online now  
post #5055 of 12337 Old 05-08-2013, 06:48 AM
Senior Member
 
arenaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Eng-er-land
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrFaxe View Post

Live Shootout Feed:

http://new.livestream.com/accounts/632436/hdtvshootout

The Event will be Live on May 10 & 11, 2013 6:00 pm Eastern Standard Time

That'll be midnight where I am, might be a long night eek.gif

Panasonic TXP65VT65B, Samsung BD-C5900, HT-D455, DA-E670, Galaxy S4, Iphone 5, 10.1" Tab 2. SKY HD. Atollo LED light strips, Philips Living Colours Lamp, Harmony One Remote.
arenaman is offline  
post #5056 of 12337 Old 05-08-2013, 06:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmarceau View Post

It's probably an improvement in ANSI contrast, so the blacks are floating a little less. Other than that, if people are seeing better shadow detail, the mll might be slightly lower.

Usually, the more 3D like the picture seems, the deeper the blacks are and the better the contrast. If it didn't get any brighter...

Anyone used their Darbee on the F8500?

This is exactly what I was thinking. I am VERY curious to see the Shootout results with this set compared to the VT60.

DavidHir is offline  
post #5057 of 12337 Old 05-08-2013, 06:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,352
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by arenaman View Post

That'll be midnight where I am, might be a long night eek.gif

BTW you dont ahve to watch it live as they will post videos of the event (both days) after they happen, watching live is much more "rewarding" though and allwas you to be up to the minute with information wink.gif
Ph8te is online now  
post #5058 of 12337 Old 05-08-2013, 07:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
Halimali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrFaxe View Post

Live Shootout Feed:

http://new.livestream.com/accounts/632436/hdtvshootout

The Event will be Live on May 10 & 11, 2013 6:00 pm Eastern Standard Time

Thank you for sharing this
The Shootout will be beneficial to those who want to make a purchase decision. Though I cannot say the same about myself.

As of June 2013:
2,712 Bluray movies
1,593 DVD movies
356 bluray+DVD series
1,322 bluray+DVD Anime
Halimali is offline  
post #5059 of 12337 Old 05-08-2013, 07:29 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,253
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 429 Post(s)
Liked: 571
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidHir View Post


Anyone used their Darbee on the F8500?

This is exactly what I was thinking. I am VERY curious to see the Shootout results with this set compared to the VT60.[/quote]

The picture looks like its got a Darbee built in. :-)

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
Ken Ross is offline  
post #5060 of 12337 Old 05-08-2013, 07:47 AM
Senior Member
 
JRWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmarceau View Post

. . .
Anyone used their Darbee on the F8500?

Yes. Have only watched a few samples after applying FW 1103. No problems.

Darbee added 3D cues make both 2D and 3D images very realistic.

My recent post about my PN60F8500 and Darbee experience here:

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1463454/official-samsung-pnxxf8500-series-discussion-thread-no-street-price-talk/4700_100#post_23282495

Darbee patent disclosure full text information links here:

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1463454/official-samsung-pnxxf8500-series-discussion-thread-no-street-price-talk/4700_100#post_23283772
JRWalker is online now  
post #5061 of 12337 Old 05-08-2013, 07:59 AM
Member
 
jackobots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

If I have the Samsung terminology right, when you use "screen fit" you are getting a one to one bit map of the HD image exactly as it comes to you. What you see is source noise on the top and bottom of your screen. That usually means SDTV but I suppose you might see it with crappy HDTV. There shouldn't be any with Blu-ray disks.

I know this may sound like a really dumb question, but I can't determine how to get the picture to move. I see the arrows, but can't get a pointer to come up so I can click on them. Moving my thumb on the pad doesn't seem to do anything and when I click it, the arrows just go away. What am I doing wrong?
jackobots is offline  
post #5062 of 12337 Old 05-08-2013, 08:02 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 11,813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 439
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #5063 of 12337 Old 05-08-2013, 08:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,352
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackobots View Post

I know this may sound like a really dumb question, but I can't determine how to get the picture to move. I see the arrows, but can't get a pointer to come up so I can click on them. Moving my thumb on the pad doesn't seem to do anything and when I click it, the arrows just go away. What am I doing wrong?

Time for you to upgrade the firmware on your thumbs biggrin.gif
Ph8te is online now  
post #5064 of 12337 Old 05-08-2013, 08:08 AM
Senior Member
 
JRWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

The picture looks like its got a Darbee built in. :-)

That is not my experience. The Darbee DVP 5000 enhancements on my PN60F8500 are as dramatic as the images in the Darbee Gallery http://darbeevision.com/gallery . My comparisons have been made with both Darbee Demo Mode and bypassing Darbee unit altogether.
JRWalker is online now  
post #5065 of 12337 Old 05-08-2013, 08:13 AM
Member
 
jackobots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Halimali View Post

Thank you for sharing this
The Shootout will be beneficial to those who want to make a purchase decision. Though I cannot say the same about myself.

So you've already decided I see...me too, unless the ZT60 knocks everyone's socks off eek.gif
jackobots is offline  
post #5066 of 12337 Old 05-08-2013, 08:20 AM
Member
 
jackobots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post

Time for you to upgrade the firmware on your thumbs biggrin.gif

Yea, yea, yea...I know...user error, but I stiil can't figure it out. You wiseguy you wink.gif
jackobots is offline  
post #5067 of 12337 Old 05-08-2013, 09:09 AM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post

The Darbee makes everything better wink.gif


What is this wizardry you all speak of?! tongue.gif
I have not heard of such a device before.

-Interested......
pieandchips is offline  
post #5068 of 12337 Old 05-08-2013, 09:11 AM
Newbie
 
bonepile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: East coast USA
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post

HDMI 3 is the ARC channel, so if your receiver can handle the ARC signal you should always use HDMI 3 from your AVR so that the audio will pass through even when the receiver is off....

Thanks for that advice. I will leave it exactly where you suggest, and where it is now. Appreciate that advice too. smile.gif
bonepile is offline  
post #5069 of 12337 Old 05-08-2013, 09:33 AM
Senior Member
 
mightymouseusf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by pieandchips View Post

What is this wizardry you all speak of?! tongue.gif
I have not heard of such a device before.

-Interested......

Is this more of your dry humor Pie?
mightymouseusf is offline  
post #5070 of 12337 Old 05-08-2013, 09:40 AM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightymouseusf View Post

Is this more of your dry humor Pie?

No lol. tongue.gif
Seriously. I had not heard of this. I've just been reading up. May order one.
Does this affect grayscale in such a way as to require a new calibration whilst using one?
pieandchips is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off