Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 193 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5761 of 12514 Old 05-12-2013, 06:31 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,800
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 467
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimShaw View Post

Help chose

Sony's 65HX950 for $2900.99

or Samsung's 64F8500 at its market price

I am in a quandary and totally need help.
F8500 all the way. I'm not an owner. biggrin.gif

Calibration Resources:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

htwaits is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5762 of 12514 Old 05-12-2013, 06:34 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimShaw View Post

Help chose

Sony's 65HX950 for $2900.99

or Samsung's 64F8500 at its market price

I am in a quandary and totally need help.

As this is the f8500 thread, you may well get biased answers cool.gif
pieandchips is offline  
post #5763 of 12514 Old 05-12-2013, 06:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Damien Inferno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

F8500 all the way. I'm not an owner. biggrin.gif

thats right! and I am an owner biggrin.gif

Samsung F8500 Service menu factory reset and activating cal modes instructions


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Damien Inferno is offline  
post #5764 of 12514 Old 05-12-2013, 06:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,186
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 851
Quote:
Originally Posted by pieandchips View Post

As this is the f8500 thread, you may well get biased answers cool.gif
+2

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #5765 of 12514 Old 05-12-2013, 07:42 PM
Newbie
 
bos617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitchman View Post

I don't have an 8500...yet! smile.gif But, this is normal for how Samsung labels their firmware updates. If it's not letting you download the firmware, then you almost certainly have 1103.1 already installed. It's easy to confirm, just access Support from the TV menu and select 'Contact Samsung'. In the information section, where it lists 'software version', you will see the full name of the firmware that's currently installed.
bos617 is offline  
post #5766 of 12514 Old 05-12-2013, 07:43 PM
Newbie
 
bos617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks pitchman!! Yep 1130.1 is already installed!!
bos617 is offline  
post #5767 of 12514 Old 05-12-2013, 07:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
JimShaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by pieandchips View Post

As this is the f8500 thread, you may well get biased answers cool.gif

I realized that when I placed it here but figured it will still be useful in helping.

8.3 Surround, protected by APC H15 & UPS BC750G
Speakers: SpeakerCraft: 6 AIM8 Fives & 2 TIME Fives used as Wides
Woofers: SVS PB13-Ultra (1), HSU MBM-12 MK2 (2)
Samsung PN64F8500
Oppo 93, Denon 4311CI, Harmony 1100, 9 Noctua cooling fans, Darbee Darblet
JimShaw is offline  
post #5768 of 12514 Old 05-12-2013, 08:04 PM
Senior Member
 
surfmlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by endlessender View Post

The Samsung remote controls both my DirecTV STB and my AVR.

Are you using the built in guide feature of the TV?

My Plasma is a PN51F8500 former 5010fd 8G Kuro owner


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
surfmlb is offline  
post #5769 of 12514 Old 05-12-2013, 08:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Pinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by endlessender View Post

I actually really like the remote for controlling the TVs SmarHub, settings, and apps. If I didn't have a Harmony One I'd probably give it a go as my universal remote.

Pinger, thought I'd point out that I too have a Harmony One, S4 and Asus Transformer in my house. When I read that I couldn't' resist mentioning. smile.gif


Great minds think alike biggrin.gif
Yep I enjoy using the Samsung Remote when in Smart Hub and when adjusting my settings, I just really like the slide action of its touchpad..
You don't fight fires for living too do you. lol
Pinger is offline  
post #5770 of 12514 Old 05-12-2013, 09:04 PM
KOF
Advanced Member
 
KOF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimShaw View Post

Help choose

Sony's 65HX950 for $2900.99

or Samsung's 64F8500 at its market price

I am in a quandary and totally need help.

HX950 is a lovely TV, but I will definitely have to go with F8500. The picture looks more live and contrasty. Sure it lacks some brightness but it's no biggie.

If you're on a budget, I recommend the ST60 over both though. Great bargain TV that's close to the F8500.
KOF is online now  
post #5771 of 12514 Old 05-12-2013, 09:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Slickman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 19
That's the first time I've heard someone say the F8500 lacks brightness.
Slickman is offline  
post #5772 of 12514 Old 05-12-2013, 09:38 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
^Comparatively speaking (LCD-LED can go higher, even though it's rarely, if ever, necessary).
vinnie97 is offline  
post #5773 of 12514 Old 05-12-2013, 10:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
JimShaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by KOF View Post

HX950 is a lovely TV, but I will definitely have to go with F8500. The picture looks more live and contrasty. Sure it lacks some brightness but it's no biggie.

If you're on a budget, I recommend the ST60 over both though. Great bargain TV that's close to the F8500.

Not on a budget. Looking for the best for me.

I received an e-mail that helped make my decision. The e-mail stated (regarding the 950 the I saw with minimal banding that I thought I could live with) that if there is a slight banding with the set at the store, the banding will increase measurable when the set is in the home.

That is not what I want. Therefore, the decision is to stay with the 64F8500.

8.3 Surround, protected by APC H15 & UPS BC750G
Speakers: SpeakerCraft: 6 AIM8 Fives & 2 TIME Fives used as Wides
Woofers: SVS PB13-Ultra (1), HSU MBM-12 MK2 (2)
Samsung PN64F8500
Oppo 93, Denon 4311CI, Harmony 1100, 9 Noctua cooling fans, Darbee Darblet
JimShaw is offline  
post #5774 of 12514 Old 05-13-2013, 04:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,972
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 995 Post(s)
Liked: 1080
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slickman View Post

That's the first time I've heard someone say the F8500 lacks brightness.

I think he meant relative to the 950.

Jim knows my thoughts via our PMs. smile.gif
fiddler11 likes this.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #5775 of 12514 Old 05-13-2013, 07:04 AM
Member
 
fiddler11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok so after trying nearly every other led tv I have decided to try the pn64f8500. I pick it up tonite. 2 questions does the stand come attached? And whats the best way to break in this bad boy to avoid image retention issuse in the future
fiddler11 is offline  
post #5776 of 12514 Old 05-13-2013, 07:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,948
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 602 Post(s)
Liked: 374
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiddler11 View Post

Ok so after trying nearly every other led tv I have decided to try the pn64f8500. I pick it up tonite. 2 questions does the stand come attached? And whats the best way to break in this bad boy to avoid image retention issuse in the future

!:The answer is no youll have to attach it
2) Break in does not avoid or help avoid IR. The Break in is to age phosphers evenly to prepare for calibration. YOu can watch a mix of content for teh 1st few hundred hours and youll be set to go smile.gif
Ph8te is online now  
post #5777 of 12514 Old 05-13-2013, 07:21 AM
Member
 
fiddler11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post

!:The answer is no youll have to attach it
2) Break in does not avoid or help avoid IR. The Break in is to age phosphers evenly to prepare for calibration. YOu can watch a mix of content for teh 1st few hundred hours and youll be set to go smile.gif

Thanks for the reply.
fiddler11 is offline  
post #5778 of 12514 Old 05-13-2013, 07:23 AM
Member
 
fiddler11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anybody complained of any image retention issues on this set. It is going to be used as a htpc. Any tips to avoid having issues?
fiddler11 is offline  
post #5779 of 12514 Old 05-13-2013, 07:26 AM
Member
 
Teknicolor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ken, did you get your F8500 yet? You mentioned you ordered one, but I wasn't sure when it was going to be delivered. Thank you for all the input you have given through out your buying process. It's been very helpful.

I have been so torn between the VT60 vs the F8500, but I think I am leaning toward F8500 for it's versatility. I have been to 6 or so Best Buys to compare the two, and depending on which day I lean one way or another. Each of the Best Buys have different setups, so one TV shines over the other depending on their configuration. My wife tells me to just buy one already. smile.gif
Teknicolor is offline  
post #5780 of 12514 Old 05-13-2013, 07:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,948
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 602 Post(s)
Liked: 374
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiddler11 View Post

Has anybody complained of any image retention issues on this set. It is going to be used as a htpc. Any tips to avoid having issues?

I think there may be one or two users that have an HTPC attached....

Vary your content on the screen not leaving static images on for too long is the best way to avoid IR on any Plasma smile.gif
Ph8te is online now  
post #5781 of 12514 Old 05-13-2013, 07:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,186
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 851
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiddler11 View Post

Has anybody complained of any image retention issues on this set. It is going to be used as a htpc. Any tips to avoid having issues?
Get an LCD. How many dedicated monitors sold are plasma? Theres a reason for that.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #5782 of 12514 Old 05-13-2013, 07:48 AM
Member
 
fiddler11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a set amount of time that an image needs to be on the screen before it is retained. Like 15 mins or something
fiddler11 is offline  
post #5783 of 12514 Old 05-13-2013, 07:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WOLVERNOLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: DUMFRIES, VA USA
Posts: 2,544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiddler11 View Post

Is there a set amount of time that an image needs to be on the screen before it is retained. Like 15 mins or something

Interesting. I have both an Panasonic 50GT50 and a 55ST50. Initially, I could get IR in about 40 seconds on either set...I'd see lines from the Directv channel guide...logos after only brief periods. Keep your brightness and contrast down to modest level for about two weeks, and the IR WILL eventually go away. But I do not think you can avoid it completely based on my two sets. Avoid tickers and the worst logos.
WOLVERNOLE is offline  
post #5784 of 12514 Old 05-13-2013, 08:01 AM
Member
 
fiddler11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

Get an LCD. How many dedicated monitors sold are plasma? Theres a reason for that.

Problem is that every lcd I have seen has some catastrophic deal breaker. 65es8000 horrible vertical banding. 70le857 crazy flashlighting. 65xbr950 same banding as the 65es8000 just harder to see cause of backlighting (and its still $5000 here). But I have read the cnet accidental burn in test and everyone else seams to say that I shoukdnt have any problems with the samsung so im going to try it out. I have 30 days to evaluate it and if I do have any problems I will return it and they can put it in the open box pile beside the other crazy expensive p.o.s. tvs that I have returned.
fiddler11 is offline  
post #5785 of 12514 Old 05-13-2013, 08:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,948
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 602 Post(s)
Liked: 374
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiddler11 View Post

Is there a set amount of time that an image needs to be on the screen before it is retained. Like 15 mins or something

Too many variables to say how much time, as long as you dont do it often and mix up your content youll be fine most likely.....
Ph8te is online now  
post #5786 of 12514 Old 05-13-2013, 08:09 AM
Member
 
fiddler11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post

Too many variables to say how much time, as long as you dont do it often and mix up your content youll be fine most likely.....

Ok thanks. I was thinking of using the "auto hide" on the taskbar and I have an active desktop that changes the picture every 30 secs or so. So how long can people game on this tv for before they see an image retained.
fiddler11 is offline  
post #5787 of 12514 Old 05-13-2013, 08:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
Halimali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiddler11 View Post

Ok thanks. I was thinking of using the "auto hide" on the taskbar and I have an active desktop that changes the picture every 30 secs or so. So how long can people game on this tv for before they see an image retained.

If you use XBMC, download D-Nice slides and put them as the default pictures in the screensaver. So when the system is idle for 1 minute the screensaver starts and that way you would even benefit from the time your system is idle in breaking in the TV

As of June 2013:
2,712 Bluray movies
1,593 DVD movies
356 bluray+DVD series
1,322 bluray+DVD Anime
Halimali is offline  
post #5788 of 12514 Old 05-13-2013, 08:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
JimShaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teknicolor View Post

Ken, did you get your F8500 yet? You mentioned you ordered one, but I wasn't sure when it was going to be delivered. Thank you for all the input you have given through out your buying process. It's been very helpful.

I have been so torn between the VT60 vs the F8500, but I think I am leaning toward F8500 for it's versatility. I have been to 6 or so Best Buys to compare the two, and depending on which day I lean one way or another. Each of the Best Buys have different setups, so one TV shines over the other depending on their configuration. My wife tells me to just buy one already. smile.gif

My wife just last night said the same thing. She also stated that I am obsessing over it.

Boy, she sure doesn't understand!!!!!

8.3 Surround, protected by APC H15 & UPS BC750G
Speakers: SpeakerCraft: 6 AIM8 Fives & 2 TIME Fives used as Wides
Woofers: SVS PB13-Ultra (1), HSU MBM-12 MK2 (2)
Samsung PN64F8500
Oppo 93, Denon 4311CI, Harmony 1100, 9 Noctua cooling fans, Darbee Darblet
JimShaw is offline  
post #5789 of 12514 Old 05-13-2013, 08:22 AM
Member
 
fiddler11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Halimali View Post

If you use XBMC, download D-Nice slides and put them as the default pictures in the screensaver. So when the system is idle for 1 minute the screensaver starts and that way you would even benefit from the time your system is idle in breaking in the TV

Yup good tip any others?
fiddler11 is offline  
post #5790 of 12514 Old 05-13-2013, 08:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,186
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 851
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiddler11 View Post

Is there a set amount of time that an image needs to be on the screen before it is retained. Like 15 mins or something
No. It varies from panel to panel. You will be stuck experimenting and babysitting.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread - Pn51f8500 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off