Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 244 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7291 of 12346 Old 05-24-2013, 05:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,032
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by bargervais View Post

The majority of HDTV's function is as follow:
- using the TV's internal digital tuners = 5.1 output
- any other audio input into TV (including HDMI) = 2.0 output
Thats not exactly correct. It should read "any HDMI input to tv = 2.0". You can get 5.1 output via optical from a USB.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7292 of 12346 Old 05-24-2013, 05:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,032
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

First of all, it's not real 5.1. Onkyo and Denon are two where I would expect it. I'll check my manual later. It's not a feature that I would turn on.

I hope someone clears this up while I'm gone. smile.gif
Why would you expect it from them more than any other manufacturer? And if its not real 5.1 then any modern avr can fake 5.1 from 2.0.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #7293 of 12346 Old 05-24-2013, 05:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Slickman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I just put something on order, should be here next week. biggrin.gif
Slickman is offline  
post #7294 of 12346 Old 05-24-2013, 05:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
airgas1998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 42degsN 92degsW
Posts: 2,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

DD can be 2.0. I bet youre not getting 5.1.

wanna bet..biggrin.gif...I get it through my dvr and optical out via ota.

Habit Forming....Wallet Burning Hobby....

64" Samsung F8500 Plasma
55" Samsung B8500 Full Array Lcd
Channel Master Dvr
Onkyo 818
Crown xls-2000
Sony Blu-Ray 790
Svs Ultra Towers/Center, Energy Rc-50 Surround
Svs Pb-13 Ultra Sub
airgas1998 is offline  
post #7295 of 12346 Old 05-24-2013, 06:08 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
The original q was how to get sound from the TVs sources such as Netflix etc. an optical cable does this well without having to use ARC.

[edited - tapacrap typos sorry]
pieandchips is offline  
post #7296 of 12346 Old 05-24-2013, 06:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,032
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by pieandchips View Post

The original q was how to get sound from the TVs sources such as Netdlix etc. an optical cable does this well without having to use ARC.
Yes. I see that you posted that already. smile.gif
And I agree that ARC can be fussy.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #7297 of 12346 Old 05-24-2013, 06:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wizziwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 1,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teknicolor View Post

My TV is about the same. At about 15 ft away it's noticeable, but not terribly so. It's much better than the horrible noise from my previous Samsung E7000 Plasma. It's definitely louder if I get closer to the screen. I tried putting some sound dampening behind the TV, and it didn't seem to help. However, when I put my 1/8 inch screen protect I got to save the screen from my 4 and 6 year old tossing stuff the sound is completely gone. This tells me it's definitely coming from the front the TV which I am guessing is the normal plasma buzz people hear. My previous D7000 was near silent, and my 8 year old 42 inch Panasonic Plasma in my bedroom is also silent, so I was hoping this would be the same.

At this point, I am probably going to keep the TV, but there's a small part of me that thinks I should try getting another one just to see if it will be silent. However, aside from the slight buzzing the rest of the TV is great. It would be a bummer if I get a new one which had less buzzing but other issues (banding, dead pixels, uniformity...etc). I still really like the TV and it's PQ. Great stuff.

Thanks for posting. You're the first person I've seen who's owned all 3 past generations of Samsung high-end plasma. I always assumed they all buzzed about the same but your findings indicate otherwise. Were they all the same screen size? Were they in the same spot and orientation relative to your viewing position? Any other changes in your environment you can think of that could have accounted for the difference in buzz?
Wizziwig is online now  
post #7298 of 12346 Old 05-24-2013, 06:55 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
For those talking about 2.0 channel sound becoming 5.1 channel sound, the old way to mux it was into is Dolby Surround Sound (remember that?!)
Pseudo 5.1 mixed from a stereo source.

Nowadays there are lots of other tricks to try and make 2 channel into something better, but TBH, none of them get you anything near compressed original 5.1.
pieandchips is offline  
post #7299 of 12346 Old 05-24-2013, 07:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,032
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by pieandchips View Post

For those talking about 2.0 channel sound becoming 5.1 channel sound, the old way to mux it is into is Dolby Surround Sound (remember that?!)
Pseudo 5.1 mixed from a stereo source.

Nowadays there are lots of other tricks, but TBH, none of them get you anything near compressed original 5.1.
Dolby Surround Sound is not 2.0 mixed into 5.1. You may be thinking of Dolby Pro Logic. Dolby surround sound is still the standard (along with DTS). But now the latest generation is called Dolby True HD Master Audio. A lossless format.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #7300 of 12346 Old 05-24-2013, 07:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Slickman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 18
The last plasma I had was the Samsung PN50B860, this should be a big improvement from that. My only 2 gripes with that plasma was the black level and screen size. My F8500 should be here some time next week. I'll get Chad to work his magic on it later.
Slickman is offline  
post #7301 of 12346 Old 05-24-2013, 07:22 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Yes yes my terminology getting the better of me again sorry.
Pro Logic I was referring to. We used to call it Dolby Surround.

The VFD icon on the old stereo used to light up 'Dolby Surround Pro Logic' smile.gif

I am aware of the latest formats smile.gif
pieandchips is offline  
post #7302 of 12346 Old 05-24-2013, 07:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bargervais's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay Florida
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Halimali View Post

Thank you my friends for assisting me. I will try the ARC HDMI connection first. So it will be HDMI out from AVR to HDMI 3 in the TV and then allow the ARC option in the receiver. Is there any option in TV that should be enabled?

If this didn't work out I will use the optical cable
hope you worked it out and got it working

My main setup
PN60E8000 Plus evolution 2013Kit + Directv genie + Panasonic 3D blu-ray player + Onkyo TX-NR 818 9.2 Bic F12 subs Onkyo M-5010 2-Channel Amplifier for wides.
MY 10' X 15' DEN
PN51F5500 + Directv Genie + Panasonic 3D blu-ray player + Onkyo TX-NR 737 5.2.2
bargervais is online now  
post #7303 of 12346 Old 05-24-2013, 07:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 146
There's a great movie on Turner Classics Movies (TCM) right now if anyone wants to check their grayscale tracking. It's 'The Loved One.' Yes, that's Robert Morse of Mad Men. Make sure that you turn your Color to zero since Turner has a habit of transmitting B/W without turning of the color and it sometimes causes tinting to occur.

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #7304 of 12346 Old 05-24-2013, 07:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 133
DanF8500 is online now  
post #7305 of 12346 Old 05-24-2013, 08:00 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
pieandchips is offline  
post #7306 of 12346 Old 05-24-2013, 08:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ljmart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: TN / Clwtr FL
Posts: 1,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 172

say whaaaat biggrin.gif

Samsung PN51F8500. Marantz SR5008. Oppo BDP 103D. Sony BDP S5100. Emp Tek E55TIB LR, E5CIB, E55WIB. Sennheiser Momentum. Sennheiser 598.
ljmart is offline  
post #7307 of 12346 Old 05-24-2013, 08:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bargervais's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay Florida
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 56
thanks for clearifying great expanation

My main setup
PN60E8000 Plus evolution 2013Kit + Directv genie + Panasonic 3D blu-ray player + Onkyo TX-NR 818 9.2 Bic F12 subs Onkyo M-5010 2-Channel Amplifier for wides.
MY 10' X 15' DEN
PN51F5500 + Directv Genie + Panasonic 3D blu-ray player + Onkyo TX-NR 737 5.2.2
bargervais is online now  
post #7308 of 12346 Old 05-24-2013, 08:09 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryInRI View Post

There's a great movie on Turner Classics Movies (TCM) right now if anyone wants to check their grayscale tracking. It's 'The Loved One.' Yes, that's Robert Morse of Mad Men. Make sure that you turn your Color to zero since Turner has a habit of transmitting B/W without turning of the color and it sometimes causes tinting to occur.

Larry

smile.gif

It's got lovely grays but seems to be quite soft focus?
Thanks for the tip about TCM.
pieandchips is offline  
post #7309 of 12346 Old 05-24-2013, 08:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 133
^^Yeah, sorry guys! I got a little over excited when I had the option of "Dolby Digital" availble in the digital audio out menu....obviously only Dolby Digital stereo when the source is an stb....but, hey it sure sounds great through my wireless infrared headphones...lol
DanF8500 is online now  
post #7310 of 12346 Old 05-24-2013, 08:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 403
Well, guys, I just wanted to give an update. I will make it brief.

I ended up getting a 65VT60 delivered tonight as it was going to be that display or the F8500 for 2013. I am determined to upgrade this year no matter what.

Once it got dark, I fed the same Blu-ray video feed from an Oppo 103 to the 64F8500 and 65VT60. Yep, I had a mini shootout with both sets side by side seeing the exact same video.

I triple checked the brightness and contrast settings on both displays. I also checked ALL of the other video settings.

I am being as objective as I can as I have no brand loyalty; just looking for the best set for my viewing needs (or wants I should say).

There is absolutely no question the VT60 is for me. The blacks are notably deeper and rock stable on all content - like a vice grip. I was re-playing the same Star Trek scenes I mentioned earlier and a significant difference in my opinion.

I still think the F8500 is a great display and in no way am I trying to knock it. I am just giving you my honest, open opinion (again, dark room impressions although the VT60 still gets pretty bright - but nowhere like the F8500). As a result, I am not going to comment any longer on the VT60 in this thread as I respect this thread as an "F8500". I will still check in time to time as I will still have a general curiosity about the F8500, but the VT60 is without question the display for me.

DavidHir is online now  
post #7311 of 12346 Old 05-24-2013, 08:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by pieandchips View Post

smile.gif

It's got lovely grays but seems to be quite soft focus?
Thanks for the tip about TCM.

That softness is due to the way that TCM scales their stuff. I'm not quite sure what they are doing but there always is a small black border around the picture. It's confusing because when I watch some of the movies that they show from my disk, the quality is superb. The new Lawrence (re-mastered in 4k) is so clear on the Blu-ray and much softer when TCM broadcasts it. confused.gif


Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #7312 of 12346 Old 05-24-2013, 08:47 PM
Newbie
 
KevinTri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm ready to pull the trigger on a 64F8500 as my first plasma. This may be a strange question but will going from a 60" LED to a plasma have a big impact on my electric bill?
KevinTri is offline  
post #7313 of 12346 Old 05-24-2013, 08:47 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidHir View Post

...without question the display for me.

Glad you found the right one!
Dark room Panny for you!
pieandchips is offline  
post #7314 of 12346 Old 05-24-2013, 09:01 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Can the one's in the know recommend a good Foot Lambert light level for semi-dim movie watching?

It's not dark in my viewing environment by any means, there is quite a bit of light around from two 60w bulbs running at 65% by the TV.

45fL is a little too strong.
I'm thinking around 35-40FL ?
pieandchips is offline  
post #7315 of 12346 Old 05-24-2013, 09:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Pie,

I view in a near dark room. There is one incandescent bulb by my chair but it is dimmed to the point of almost being off. In fact, it is so dimmed down that when the A/C kicks in, the bulb may go off because of the momentary power drain. In that environment, I watch at a peak output of no greater than 33 ftL. Higher than that and my eyes get fatigued in a very short time.

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #7316 of 12346 Old 05-24-2013, 09:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,032
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinTri View Post

I'm ready to pull the trigger on a 64F8500 as my first plasma. This may be a strange question but will going from a 60" LED to a plasma have a big impact on my electric bill?
It made no noticeable difference to mine. That was from a 47" full LED.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #7317 of 12346 Old 05-24-2013, 09:40 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,765
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

First of all, it's not real 5.1. Onkyo and Denon are two where I would expect it. I'll check my manual later. It's not a feature that I would turn on.

I hope someone clears this up while I'm gone. smile.gif
Why would you expect it from them more than any other manufacturer?
They are just the two that I have the most familiarity with. Actually, I tend to leave my AVR setup alone except for the volume control. wink.gif
Quote:
And if its not real 5.1 then any modern avr can fake 5.1 from 2.0.
That's right. It's also why some think they are getting 5.1 directly from a external source connected to a TV. I checked and the current Denon AVRs have PLIIx M in Music mode which can drive the six speakers in a 5.1 setup using a stereo input. At least with a Denon, it's very easy to get that result using the remote.

I'm not saying that's what people are hearing, but it's a possibility.
htwaits is offline  
post #7318 of 12346 Old 05-24-2013, 09:49 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,765
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 462
Dan, thanks for the link. That was the information that I hoped someone would find by the time I got back from dinner and some DVR football. smile.gif

If your 5.1 speakers are getting more than stereo under the conditions listed by Samsung, then check your AVR. It may be simulating 5.1 from a 2.0 input.
htwaits is offline  
post #7319 of 12346 Old 05-24-2013, 09:52 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,765
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post

^^Yeah, sorry guys! I got a little over excited when I had the option of "Dolby Digital" availble in the digital audio out menu....obviously only Dolby Digital stereo when the source is an stb....but, hey it sure sounds great through my wireless infrared headphones...lol
I love good headphones. Ask sillysally about his. biggrin.gif
htwaits is offline  
post #7320 of 12346 Old 05-24-2013, 09:58 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,765
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinTri View Post

I'm ready to pull the trigger on a 64F8500 as my first plasma. This may be a strange question but will going from a 60" LED to a plasma have a big impact on my electric bill?
Members with engineering backgrounds have done estimations and while there will be an increase, it shouldn't be enough to worry about. I don't recall exact results, but it seemed to me that the difference was small enough to get lost in the normal variation month to month.
htwaits is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread - Pn51f8500 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off