Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 247 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7381 of 12759 Old 05-25-2013, 11:16 AM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Halimali View Post

frown.gif Still did not succeed.
After enabling Anynet+ I was able to add my receiver to the devices. Now receiver is one of the options under speaker settings but even when choosing it I still cannot hear the sound.
So whether I choose external speaker or receiver it does not produce any sound for me.

you will also need to set your AMP to 'TV' input mode (or similar depending on the brand - Denon is 'TV').
pieandchips is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7382 of 12759 Old 05-25-2013, 11:17 AM
Senior Member
 
floridaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Palmetto, Florida
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Halimali View Post

frown.gif Still did not succeed.
After enabling Anynet+ I was able to add my receiver to the devices. Now receiver is one of the options under speaker settings but even when choosing it I still cannot hear the sound.
So whether I choose external speaker or receiver it does not produce any sound for me.
Another thing you should check is to make sure the receiver is set on the correct input.
floridaman is offline  
post #7383 of 12759 Old 05-25-2013, 11:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ljmart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: TN / Clwtr FL
Posts: 1,087
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

I can confirm that I too saw no difference in the BO settings. If I had to guess and it's 'stuck', it's stuck in the on position. I don't think we'd be getting blacks this good if it wasn't in the 'on' position. But remember, Kevin Miller measured very small differences in the settings that were only visible on his meter. You couldn't see these subtle changes with your naked eye. It's like 2 panels with very close black levels, you really need a meter most of the time to see the difference. Kevin left it in the Dark Room setting which is where I've left it.

I think it's important to note that he did see a more significant difference with it on & off though.

This is not the only case I've seen where a setting made virtually no observable difference. I think every TV I've owned as one or more settings where you cycle through the variations and you see no difference.

yes the blacks seem very good so i dont really care if its stuck on or off! but as i said right after the last fw update, prior to it i could tell a difference betweem off or darkrm.
glad your enjoying the new addition!

Samsung PN51F8500. Marantz SR5008. Oppo BDP 103D. Sony BDP S5100. EMP Tek E55TIB LR, E5CIB, E55WIB. Sennheiser Momentum. Sennheiser 598.
ljmart is offline  
post #7384 of 12759 Old 05-25-2013, 11:30 AM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
buzz,

Are you going to use windows or APL for your cal next week?
I did a test a few days ago at 88 contrast:

100% white
Contrast 88

Calman Windows
Cell 11 = 27.7 fL
Cell 12 = 29.9 fL

Calman APL Large
Cell 11 = 28.9 fL
Cell 12 = 31.3 fL

There is a measured difference in readings of +/-1-2fL between them.

I wonder if shootout day2 has been released yet?
pieandchips is offline  
post #7385 of 12759 Old 05-25-2013, 11:35 AM
Newbie
 
aortiz40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone had any issues connecting their digital camcorder to their F8500? I have a new Sony HF R42 camcorder and I've plugged it into all the HDMI inputs on the F8500 and can seems to get any playback (TV just says "No Cable Connected"). The videos are AVHD and MP4. I plugged the camcorder into my older Samsung and it worked perfectly. Any suggestions?
aortiz40 is offline  
post #7386 of 12759 Old 05-25-2013, 12:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 4,084
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 437 Post(s)
Liked: 961
Quote:
Originally Posted by pieandchips View Post

buzz,

Are you going to use windows or APL for your cal next week?

I'm planning on using APLs via an Accupel DVG-5000. APLs were recommended by the Shootout calibrators and that's good enough for me. I might not have time to try other patterns anyway as the day is going to be combined with Walleye fishing. The TV owner is a lifelong buddy of mine who lives 10 minutes from me in Naples and an hour away at his, ummmm, Wisconsin "cottage".

Did I tell you I like to fish? This was Wednesday....... lol


Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is online now  
post #7387 of 12759 Old 05-25-2013, 12:39 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
^There are some that heard APL for Panny and Windows or the Samsung. That's why I asked for clarification smile.gif

I thought I heard APL As you did too.
pieandchips is offline  
post #7388 of 12759 Old 05-25-2013, 12:40 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
That's APL for Sammy.

I hate fishing BTW biggrin.gif
pieandchips is offline  
post #7389 of 12759 Old 05-25-2013, 12:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 4,084
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 437 Post(s)
Liked: 961
Quote:
Originally Posted by pieandchips View Post

That's APL for Sammy.

Yep. I took notes.


Quote:
Originally Posted by pieandchips View Post


I hate fishing BTW biggrin.gif

Good thing you weren't with me in my yard on Tuesday then.....


Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is online now  
post #7390 of 12759 Old 05-25-2013, 01:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bargervais's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay Florida
Posts: 1,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 432 Post(s)
Liked: 128
7400 what a great thread

My main setup
PN60E8000 / Directv genie / Panasonic 3D blu-ray Onkyo TX-NR 1030 7.2.4 /Onkyo M-5010 Amplifier for top rear. Bic Acoustech speakers, Bic F12 subs
MY 10' X 15' DEN
PN51F5500 / Directv Genie / Panasonic 3D blu-ray / Onkyo TX-NR 737 5.2.2 Atmos top front Ceiling Speakers
bargervais is online now  
post #7391 of 12759 Old 05-25-2013, 01:08 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Found them referencing the patterns.-
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NMD8cy3SuOI
9:00

Samsung F8500 PDPs are to be calibrated to APL patterns.

Now I think my cal will need another tweak eek.gif
pieandchips is offline  
post #7392 of 12759 Old 05-25-2013, 01:09 PM
Member
 
cdjocp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just wondering how you guys have your tv,wall mounted or on the stand I usually wall mount mine my 65sony was mounted on but that stand that comes with the sammy looks amazing decisions decisions..Its like whats the use of a unique stand if your not going to use it.
cdjocp is offline  
post #7393 of 12759 Old 05-25-2013, 01:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
nfraso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 165
I don't know how Best Buy expects to sell these things.

No ZT, no VT, no F8500 on display. I've got a 3-4hr round trip to either Magnolia to actually see something in person before I purchased.

They even have a big Samsung booth with LEDs, touchscreen notebooks, tablets and phones.

You would think they'd want to upsell 65" ST60's to VT60's at least... but I'm sure Average Joe says, "why the heck do I even want the ST60, it looks the same as this S60". rolleyes.gif
nfraso is offline  
post #7394 of 12759 Old 05-25-2013, 01:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdjocp View Post

Just wondering how you guys have your tv,wall mounted or on the stand I usually wall mount mine my 65sony was mounted on but that stand that comes with the sammy looks amazing decisions decisions..Its like whats the use of a unique stand if your not going to use it.
The stand mount was a must for me. I don't have any wall space in my living room to place a large screen tv. Cable connections on the back of the Sammy are very close to the edge of the panel (lower back right). Keep that in mind if you decide to wall mount it.
DanF8500 is online now  
post #7395 of 12759 Old 05-25-2013, 01:17 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Kevin Miller also said (something I missed live) that he prefers to calibrate to RGB full (0-255).

Comments from the pros?
pieandchips is offline  
post #7396 of 12759 Old 05-25-2013, 01:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bargervais's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay Florida
Posts: 1,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 432 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by nfraso View Post

I don't know how Best Buy expects to sell these things.

No ZT, no VT, no F8500 on display. I've got a 3-4hr round trip to either Magnolia to actually see something in person before I purchased.

They even have a big Samsung booth with LEDs, touchscreen notebooks, tablets and phones.

You would think they'd want to upsell 65" ST60's to VT60's at least... but I'm sure Average Joe says, "why the heck do I even want the ST60, it looks the same as this S60". rolleyes.gif
the average Joe wants the biggest TV they can get for 500 bucks LOL

My main setup
PN60E8000 / Directv genie / Panasonic 3D blu-ray Onkyo TX-NR 1030 7.2.4 /Onkyo M-5010 Amplifier for top rear. Bic Acoustech speakers, Bic F12 subs
MY 10' X 15' DEN
PN51F5500 / Directv Genie / Panasonic 3D blu-ray / Onkyo TX-NR 737 5.2.2 Atmos top front Ceiling Speakers
bargervais is online now  
post #7397 of 12759 Old 05-25-2013, 01:23 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
^ I have the 51 as a 60 won't fit in my cab frown.gif
A 59 would.

I use the stand.
pieandchips is offline  
post #7398 of 12759 Old 05-25-2013, 01:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 4,084
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 437 Post(s)
Liked: 961
Quote:
Originally Posted by pieandchips View Post

Kevin Miller also said (something I missed live) that he prefers to calibrate to RGB full (0-255).

Comments from the pros?

He did? Missed it. Why? It's not that it can't be done but when most content is 16-235 why do it any other way? Each to his own.

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is online now  
post #7399 of 12759 Old 05-25-2013, 01:45 PM
Member
 
Fingolfin269's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: TN
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm interested in the 64" version but do game quite a bit and watch a lot of sports (including hockey). Anyone have an opinion on how this set stacks up in regard to those two?

FYI, I'd be upgrading from a lower end and a bit older model samsung plasma, the 58" B550 if I recall correctly. As long as the gaming and sports viewing quality is at least on par with my current set then I'm definitely good.
Fingolfin269 is offline  
post #7400 of 12759 Old 05-25-2013, 01:46 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Hmm buzz, I think I may have misunderstood.
Please clarify what he means:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NMD8cy3SuOI
07:00
pieandchips is offline  
post #7401 of 12759 Old 05-25-2013, 01:52 PM
Senior Member
 
cooknl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: near Amsterdam
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by nfraso View Post

I don't know how Best Buy expects to sell these things.

No ZT, no VT, no F8500 on display. I've got a 3-4hr round trip to either Magnolia to actually see something in person before I purchased.

They even have a big Samsung booth with LEDs, touchscreen notebooks, tablets and phones.

You would think they'd want to upsell 65" ST60's to VT60's at least... but I'm sure Average Joe says, "why the heck do I even want the ST60, it looks the same as this S60". rolleyes.gif

Yep , but here in Holland they dont even bother with Plasma at all anymore the only thing that sells is the LCD/LED. So they dont stock em or display them at all, yhey will only special order them and then at rediculous prices.

I have only found 1 store that has a F8500 in stock and NO panna's as of yet.

Rob
cooknl is offline  
post #7402 of 12759 Old 05-25-2013, 01:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
caeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Anyone using the F8500 remote for their other devices? E.g. Bluray player, AVR. Is the only way to use the remote via the IR blaster?

Samsung PN60F8500, Panasonic TH-42PD25U/P, Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K, Oppo BDP-93, Aperion Audio 5T&5C, HSU STF-2, PS3, Wii, HTPC, SD Homerun Prime, Ceton Echo
caeguy is online now  
post #7403 of 12759 Old 05-25-2013, 01:59 PM
Senior Member
 
jav1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hi folks, took delivery of an 8500 today, so far with daytime viewing and a few picture tweaks I'm really impressed. I do notice one annyoying thing and that is I am seeing flicker when graphics are being displayed as part of the content. For example when watching PGA golf and a graphic of the scroes are put up, the names and lines of the graphic itself will flicker or maybe a better way to describe it is shimmer. I tried a few picture setting adjustments including cell light and digital clean filter but no change. Anyone else seeing this? Cant say I'm seeing it with general content but haven't watch too much just yet. Firmware is the latest.

Thanks
jav1 is offline  
post #7404 of 12759 Old 05-25-2013, 02:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 4,084
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 437 Post(s)
Liked: 961
Quote:
Originally Posted by pieandchips View Post

Hmm buzz, I think I may have misunderstood.
Please clarify what he means:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NMD8cy3SuOI
07:00

Kevin is calibrating video level (16-235). The gist is that it is desirable for the display to be "able" to show a little outside that range because sometimes you get some content slightly outside the video range. It is, by no means, required, and I doubt it would be important to not see it.

For example, turn up the Brightness control on a very dark scene. Often some extra detail will be viewable. A first reaction might be that this is the correct setting for Brightness because the content is there, but in reality, content is being shown that the director did not intend to be visible. The uninitiated will not realize that the act of increasing Brightness has ruined dynamic range (contrast ratio). Clear as mud? tongue.gif

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is online now  
post #7405 of 12759 Old 05-25-2013, 02:06 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Gotcha.

TYVM smile.gif
pieandchips is offline  
post #7406 of 12759 Old 05-25-2013, 02:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,477
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 446
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzard767 View Post

Send RGB and see if you don't get the Normal/Low option.

Yep, that works.

DavidHir is offline  
post #7407 of 12759 Old 05-25-2013, 02:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wizziwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 1,334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidHir View Post

Using Oppo 103 - sending ycbcr (1080p/60).

FYI, most displays will not let you adjust HDMI black or white level when you input ycbcr. The TV just assumes the levels are 16-235. If you were to change your Oppo to send out RGB, then you would likely get the option to change HDMI black level on the TV. I doubt this will really change anything about the picture either way.

Can you comment on uniformity of the VT60 vs. your F8500? I know some have reported of bands visible on these TV's. You said your F8500 had no buzzing. How about the VT60?

Thanks.
Wizziwig is online now  
post #7408 of 12759 Old 05-25-2013, 02:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 4,084
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 437 Post(s)
Liked: 961
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wizziwig View Post

FYI, most displays will not let you adjust HDMI black or white level when you input ycbcr. The TV just assumes the levels are 16-235. If you were to change your Oppo to send out RGB, then you would likely get the option to change HDMI black level on the TV. I doubt this will really change anything about the picture either way.

It the display is calibrated for, and expecting, video levels and it's receiving PC it will be overdriven and both near black and upper white will be crushed. You need to send the TV what it is expecting and for Blu-Ray and HDTV the answer is Video Level. Perhaps the 8500 can convert correctly but..... Anyway, I can test that.

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is online now  
post #7409 of 12759 Old 05-25-2013, 02:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,560
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1376 Post(s)
Liked: 1488
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzard767 View Post

I'm planning on using APLs via an Accupel DVG-5000. APLs were recommended by the Shootout calibrators and that's good enough for me. I might not have time to try other patterns anyway as the day is going to be combined with Walleye fishing. The TV owner is a lifelong buddy of mine who lives 10 minutes from me in Naples and an hour away at his, ummmm, Wisconsin "cottage".

Did I tell you I like to fish? This was Wednesday....... lol


Not sure what's scarier buzz, you or the fish! biggrin.gif
Ken Ross is offline  
post #7410 of 12759 Old 05-25-2013, 02:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,560
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1376 Post(s)
Liked: 1488
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdjocp View Post

Just wondering how you guys have your tv,wall mounted or on the stand I usually wall mount mine my 65sony was mounted on but that stand that comes with the sammy looks amazing decisions decisions..Its like whats the use of a unique stand if your not going to use it.

Stand mounted for me. The only reason is I don't want the display another 18"-2' away. If the display were 70", I would have wall-mounted. I even asked my wife is she'd mind moving the couch another 2' into the room so we could wall-mount. She'd mind. frown.gif
Ken Ross is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread - Pn51f8500 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off