Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 250 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7471 of 12514 Old 05-26-2013, 09:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9,018
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by Halimali View Post

Then exchange the TV
You should have checked the TV when they brought it to you. Unless you got it directly or shipped

Hali,

Hes been given this advice for more than a month now, but seems to ignore it. He seems to be on a "do you see bands" posting bonaza, across multiple forums and facebook wink.gif

While I understand polakis is from Greece where they may do things differently, there are only a few things that can be done. Call Samsung and hope to get a replacement or contact the place of purchase for an exchange....
Ph8te is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7472 of 12514 Old 05-26-2013, 10:04 AM
Senior Member
 
smbsocal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by nfraso View Post

Anyone around Charlotte or Atlanta know if those Magnolia's have these on display? I have a feeling they would tell me they did even if they didn't...

The Best Buy in Mooresville, NC which is about 30 minutes N of Charlotte has a 64" F8500 next to a 60" VT60. Very good setup to compare the two.
nfraso likes this.
smbsocal is offline  
post #7473 of 12514 Old 05-26-2013, 10:15 AM
Member
 
polakis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post

Hali,

Hes been given this advice for more than a month now, but seems to ignore it. He seems to be on a "do you see bands" posting bonaza, across multiple forums and facebook wink.gif

While I understand polakis is from Greece where they may do things differently, there are only a few things that can be done. Call Samsung and hope to get a replacement or contact the place of purchase for an exchange....

I will get a replacement next week. I ask just for statistic reasons...
polakis is offline  
post #7474 of 12514 Old 05-26-2013, 10:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9,018
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by polakis View Post

I will get a replacement next week. I ask just for statistic reasons...

Polakis, the problem with that is the "numbers" you get will be meaningless to anyone but you....The number of people that visit the forums you do and reply saying the do or dont have the band is only a small fraction of those that actually buy the set.I would understand if it was a large number of people (hudreds if ot thousands, but unfortuantely we here are penny in the pucket of overall sales......Much like poles that are not "public" anyone can votes and totally destroy your statistics.....

Happy to hear that you have a replacement coming, hopefuly that one works out better for you smile.gif
Ph8te is online now  
post #7475 of 12514 Old 05-26-2013, 10:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Tony1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

That's a good question Jim. Although the 8500 gets amazingly bright, it's still not quite as bright as an LED.

OTOH, edge lit LEDs have a number of issues that plasmas don't have (of course plasmas have their issues too).

DSE was always something that bugged me and was one of the reasons I returned a Sony 929. I'm amazed at how almost totally absent DSE is on my 8500. I find DSE to be one of the most distracting issues with displays.

Would you say that the F8500 has drastically less DSE than the VT50 or the whole 2012 panny line up in general? I find that the LED i just bought to have less DSE than either of my 2 plasmas..

Panasonic GT50 55"
Pansaonic VT60 60"
Tony1 is offline  
post #7476 of 12514 Old 05-26-2013, 10:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bama29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by crmmoore View Post

So what if you use a Ps3 for Bluray? What should the following settings be:
RGB full range: Full or limited?
Y Pb/Cb Pr/Cr vs RBG?
Y Pb/Cb Pr/Cr Super white: on or off?
Deep Color Gamut: On, auto, or off?

I'm pretty sure that it should be Y Pb/Cb Pr/Cr and not RGB, but there is so much conflicting on the other settings that I can't get a clear answer. Any advice?

crmmoore,

There is a pretty good guide for setup of your PS3 over at the Home Theater Shack Forum and can be located here.

Michael
Bama29 is offline  
post #7477 of 12514 Old 05-26-2013, 10:42 AM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by crmmoore View Post

So what if you use a Ps3 for Bluray? What should the following settings be:...Any advice?

Y Pb/Cb Pr/Cr
Superwhites: On
Deepcolor: Off
pieandchips is offline  
post #7478 of 12514 Old 05-26-2013, 10:48 AM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony1 View Post

Would you say that the F8500 has drastically less DSE than the VT50 or the whole 2012 panny line up in general? I find that the LED i just bought to have less DSE than either of my 2 plasmas..
My Kuro has it also. I don't remember it on the Samsung LNT466F (LCD, the last one I owned for primary viewing), but that model had a backlight from hell (devoid of uniformity), which stood out more.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #7479 of 12514 Old 05-26-2013, 10:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
hifi59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryInRI View Post

Note to those doing calibrations on this set with meters:

Be aware that dropping Contrast that far below about 90 will cause the higher end of the 10 point controls to become ineffective and each of the remaining to cover more than one region. This in turn will increase the iterations required to perform a true calibration. It can be done but plan to spend time determining the relationship between labeled 10 point region and actual region or regions affected.

With Contrast at 60 about half of the 10 point controls will be useless.

Larry

I have noticed that with cell lite at 20 and contrast at 81 to avhieve a desired 35 ftl, using 10 point is a challenge. What I did discover was that if I want to adjust 50ire for example, I would have to go to interval 4 instead do 5 to make te adjustment. Interval 5 affects 60ire and so on. Once o figured that out, getting near perfect grayscale on my sons f8500 was a breeze.
Are you saying that had the contrast been above 90 for example, the 10 pt would have tracked with the proper interval instead of as I described?

If you're talkin, you ain't learnin.
hifi59 is offline  
post #7480 of 12514 Old 05-26-2013, 11:13 AM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Hifi do you have the values? I'd love to see them. I learn a lot that way especially to do with the idiosyncrasies of the set.
pieandchips is offline  
post #7481 of 12514 Old 05-26-2013, 11:59 AM
Newbie
 
Darth F8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have 2 vertical bands on my TV that can be seen when light hits the tv. They are much harder to see when room is dark. I can also make out a vertical band that can be seen from different angles. I'm on TV 3 and I'm retuning this one in a week when I have some time. I will be getting another 64 F8500 since PQ is the best I've seen. The VT and ZT are great for dark rooms or for home-theater systems.
Darth F8500 is offline  
post #7482 of 12514 Old 05-26-2013, 12:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,397
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 424
Unless you guys can see these bands while watching content, I would not worry about it at all.

On my F8500, they are not visible watching any real material.

DavidHir is online now  
post #7483 of 12514 Old 05-26-2013, 12:53 PM
Newbie
 
Darth F8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine are if watching with room shades open and off angle forward facing not visible.
Darth F8500 is offline  
post #7484 of 12514 Old 05-26-2013, 01:01 PM
Newbie
 
Darth F8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10


Darth F8500 is offline  
post #7485 of 12514 Old 05-26-2013, 01:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bargervais's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay Florida
Posts: 1,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth F8500 View Post

I have 2 vertical bands on my TV that can be seen when light hits the tv. They are much harder to see when room is dark. I can also make out a vertical band that can be seen from different angles. I'm on TV 3 and I'm retuning this one in a week when I have some time. I will be getting another 64 F8500 since PQ is the best I've seen. The VT and ZT are great for dark rooms or for home-theater systems.

how do you return TV after TV do they just take them back without question i don't understand

My main setup
PN60E8000 Plus evolution 2013Kit + Directv genie + Panasonic 3D blu-ray player + Onkyo TX-NR 818 9.2 Bic F12 subs Onkyo M-5010 2-Channel Amplifier for wides.
MY 10' X 15' DEN
PN51F5500 + Directv Genie + Panasonic 3D blu-ray player + Onkyo TX-NR 737 5.2.2
bargervais is online now  
post #7486 of 12514 Old 05-26-2013, 01:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Pinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth F8500 View Post

Mine are if watching with room shades open and off angle forward facing not visible.]

Not seeing any on my 51F8500..
funny not 10 minutes after reading your post a nice pure white screen popped up on ep.1 of the Netflix's New Arrested Development series so I paused and snapped a shot with my cell phone..

Pinger is offline  
post #7487 of 12514 Old 05-26-2013, 01:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinger View Post

Not seeing any on my 51F8500..
funny not 10 minutes after reading your post a nice pure white screen popped up on ep.1 of the Netflix's New Arrested Development series so I paused and snapped a shot with my cell phone..

How is your tv mounted in your cabinet? It doesn't look like you have it on its stock stand....maybe it's an optical illusion in your pic....nice, white screen!!!
DanF8500 is online now  
post #7488 of 12514 Old 05-26-2013, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9,018
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth F8500 View Post

Mine are if watching with room shades open and off angle forward facing not visible.

Darth at what distance are those pictures taken? They look awfully close to the TV.....It has been established that you may see the filter come into play if you are 3ft or closer and on an angle.......Im trying to decipher that last part of your sentence....so are they visable during normal content (not slides) or is it only during slides and full white\color screen content...
Ph8te is online now  
post #7489 of 12514 Old 05-26-2013, 02:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifi59 View Post

I have noticed that with cell lite at 20 and contrast at 81 to avhieve a desired 35 ftl, using 10 point is a challenge. What I did discover was that if I want to adjust 50ire for example, I would have to go to interval 4 instead do 5 to make te adjustment. Interval 5 affects 60ire and so on. Once o figured that out, getting near perfect grayscale on my sons f8500 was a breeze.
Are you saying that had the contrast been above 90 for example, the 10 pt would have tracked with the proper interval instead of as I described?

Yes, that's exactly what I am saying. The ten point controls should track perfectly at the highest reasonable Contrast setting -- about 94. As the Contrast is reduced, the ten point tracking starts shifting just as you described. The Cell setting does not cause this problem. However, as Cell is reduced, the threshold where ABL kicks in also is reduced. But with this TV and its very bright capability, reducing the Cell should have no really visible effect on ABL.

I suggest that you set the Contrast at 90 or greater and reduce Cell to get the max output that is comfortable to you. The calibration will go much easier for you.

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #7490 of 12514 Old 05-26-2013, 03:44 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
^ I found, by trial and error, that it worked easier for me to tweak either side by a notch, before going in full bore on the level that I was supposed to tweak (if that makes any sense smile.gif ).
pieandchips is offline  
post #7491 of 12514 Old 05-26-2013, 04:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by pieandchips View Post

^ I found, by trial and error, that it worked easier for me to tweak either side by a notch, before going in full bore on the level that I was supposed to tweak (if that makes any sense smile.gif ).

Pie,

Using a screen like this helps determine where the 10 point is working. This one is from Chad B.




Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #7492 of 12514 Old 05-26-2013, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 3,693
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 489
In Chromapure I calibrate GS in the Gamma module with the mid point (65%, 75%, etc.) options enabled. For example, adjust the level 7 control and see what happens at 60, 65, 70, 75, and 80% for a good understanding of what the display is doing.

Hiya from Manchester, TN. 800 down, 800 to go. smile.gif

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
buzzard767 is online now  
post #7493 of 12514 Old 05-26-2013, 05:02 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
^ smile.gif

How's the TV in the room doing? biggrin.gif
pieandchips is offline  
post #7494 of 12514 Old 05-26-2013, 05:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Moonchilde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by pieandchips View Post

Y Pb/Cb Pr/Cr
Superwhites: On
Deepcolor: Off

But superwhite shows content below 16 and above 235.

BTW, I double checked the HDMI Black Level setting today. On low, it is definitely crushing black. On normal, it isn't, and you can still see the full range such as white 236 to 255. I personally don't think this setting has anything to do with RGB limited or full range. I think it just adjusts the gamma to a degree maybe changes it to a different curve. It may be a setting you'd look into to calibrate for deeper blacks, but again you'd be correcting a gamma curve so you may end up defeating it anyway and might have an easier time calibrating for normal.

Something of note: PC mode will not allow YCBR ranges beyond 235 or below 16. In PC mode, However, I can create an image with a 235 white background and 255 white text and make out the difference. Really, really weird. YCBR will also float the blacks, but going into menu and moving the brightness slider down 1 notch and back up a notch will pop the image back to how it usually looks.

Could someone else test this? If it's a repeatable bug, then I'd like to report it.

In PC mode:

Step 1. Set PS3 to RGB for DVD/BD content.
Step 2. Load up the 5% grayscale step pattern from Get Gray
Step 3. Hit triangle, go to AV settings, change the output to YCBR.

Notice the image pops up in brightness.

Step 4. Hit menu on your remote, go to brightness, and change it by a step.

Notice the image resets to it's normal setting.
Moonchilde is offline  
post #7495 of 12514 Old 05-26-2013, 05:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moonchilde View Post

But superwhite shows content below 16 and above 235.

BTW, I double checked the HDMI Black Level setting today. On low, it is definitely crushing black. On normal, it isn't, and you can still see the full range such as white 236 to 255. I personally don't think this setting has anything to do with RGB limited or full range. I think it just adjusts the gamma to a degree maybe changes it to a different curve. It may be a setting you'd look into to calibrate for deeper blacks, but again you'd be correcting a gamma curve so you may end up defeating it anyway and might have an easier time calibrating for normal.

[snip]


The sole purpose of the HDMI Black Level is to adjust the TV to accept and display properly either a 16-235 or 0-255 input. That's all.

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #7496 of 12514 Old 05-26-2013, 05:11 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Larry hi smile.gif

How do I use that? /confused, sorry.
pieandchips is offline  
post #7497 of 12514 Old 05-26-2013, 05:14 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryInRI View Post

The sole purpose of the HDMI Black Level is to adjust the TV to accept and display properly either a 16-235 or 0-255 input. That's all.

Larry

Yes agreed, after a lot of research lol. Also, Superwhites do 'something' that helps take any color 'smearing' out of pure white, so I read somewhere before (can't find reference) so it does help for 16-235.
pieandchips is offline  
post #7498 of 12514 Old 05-26-2013, 05:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by pieandchips View Post

Larry hi smile.gif

How do I use that? /confused, sorry.

If you mean the chart, simply put it on the screen and increase the green in the individual 10 point controls. You'll see exactly where the range or ranges show up.

Here is a jpeg of the chart for you to download.
gamma-10 pt.jpg 25k .jpg file

Larry
Attached Images
File Type: jpg gamma-10 pt.jpg (24.6 KB, 25 views)
LarryInRI is offline  
post #7499 of 12514 Old 05-26-2013, 05:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 3,693
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by pieandchips View Post

^ smile.gif

How's the TV in the room doing? biggrin.gif

Horrible little CRT. Watching Sprint Cup but have to go to bed soon as I'll be doing my own racing on Interstate 24 early tomorrow. eek.gif

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
buzzard767 is online now  
post #7500 of 12514 Old 05-26-2013, 05:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
Pinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post

How is your tv mounted in your cabinet? It doesn't look like you have it on its stock stand....maybe it's an optical illusion in your pic....nice, white screen!!!

Thanks Dan, love the whites on this TV..
I have it wall mounted with a Articulating wall mount. (Sanus XF228), .
Pinger is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread - Pn51f8500 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off