Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 385 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #11521 of 12949 Old 04-22-2014, 05:11 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 170
pieandchips is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11522 of 12949 Old 04-22-2014, 08:32 PM
Member
 
hove131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Can someone tell me what each column in the service menu should read from the factory? Was searching for cal modes and want to make sure I didn't mess with anything else
hove131 is offline  
post #11523 of 12949 Old 04-22-2014, 08:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
KONICA TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clinton, Ma.
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by hove131 View Post

Can someone tell me what each column in the service menu should read from the factory? Was searching for cal modes and want to make sure I didn't mess with anything else


Just do a reset from the service menu..

KONICA TECH is online now  
post #11524 of 12949 Old 04-22-2014, 09:04 PM
Member
 
hove131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post

I put a small fan on back of mine, with cell light at 20 and contrast at 95. Temperature never hits 40, generally in the 35 to 38 degree range. However, I do not have mine wall mounted, so that's probably the big difference. Even when I was breaking my tv, without the fan, it only hit 41 or 42 degrees.

You have only one fan? Where is it located? How did you mount it? USB fan?
hove131 is offline  
post #11525 of 12949 Old 04-22-2014, 09:06 PM
Member
 
hove131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by KONICA TECH View Post


Just do a reset from the service menu..


I don't see a reset option
hove131 is offline  
post #11526 of 12949 Old 04-22-2014, 09:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
KONICA TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clinton, Ma.
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by hove131 View Post


I don't see a reset option


It is at the top of the page as soon as you go into the service mode. You will have to re-enter all your settings again, it will be just like when you took it out of the box. If you had it calibrated it will lose the settings.

KONICA TECH is online now  
post #11527 of 12949 Old 04-22-2014, 09:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10,507
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1427 Post(s)
Liked: 683
Quote:
Originally Posted by hove131 View Post

You have only one fan? Where is it located? How did you mount it? USB fan?

Do a search for Fans in this thread or the other main one, there are more than a few posts detailing owners fan installs wink.gif btw they are external fans smile.gif
Ph8te is online now  
post #11528 of 12949 Old 04-22-2014, 09:37 PM
Member
 
hove131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by KONICA TECH View Post


It is at the top of the page as soon as you go into the service mode. You will have to re-enter all your settings again, it will be just like when you took it out of the box. If you had it calibrated it will lose the settings.

The top column says pixel shift "off"
hove131 is offline  
post #11529 of 12949 Old 04-22-2014, 10:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by hove131 View Post

You have only one fan? Where is it located? How did you mount it? USB fan?

I attached this fan to the top right side big vent facing back of tv. Used just one twist tie. Make sure the fan is blowing air out of tv, not into tv.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002OJN250/ref=oh_details_o07_s01_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
hove131 likes this.
wxman is offline  
post #11530 of 12949 Old 04-22-2014, 10:13 PM
Member
 
hove131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16
What does the pixel shift test do in the service menu? I turned it on but nothing happened
hove131 is offline  
post #11531 of 12949 Old 04-22-2014, 10:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10,507
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1427 Post(s)
Liked: 683
Quote:
Originally Posted by hove131 View Post

What does the pixel shift test do in the service menu? I turned it on but nothing happened

are you in the service menu or the regular user menu. Those are two completely different things.....
Ph8te is online now  
post #11532 of 12949 Old 04-22-2014, 10:29 PM
Member
 
hove131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Service menu... I check my temp and hours there and saw the pixel shift test ...curiosity got best of me...nothing happened when i tried it.... Assuming it just turns pixel shift option on if its off?
hove131 is offline  
post #11533 of 12949 Old 04-23-2014, 07:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 12,556
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 599 Post(s)
Liked: 741
Quote:
Originally Posted by titancrusher1 View Post

Have you guys seen this? So glad i got this TV smile.gif

http://www.cnet.com/news/why-samsungs-f8500-is-the-last-great-plasma-tv/
Yep, well we all new it, now its just confirmed. Except of course we do not know when the last units will be made.......
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #11534 of 12949 Old 04-23-2014, 07:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
KONICA TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clinton, Ma.
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by hove131 View Post

Service menu... I check my temp and hours there and saw the pixel shift test ...curiosity got best of me...nothing happened when i tried it.... Assuming it just turns pixel shift option on if its off?


How did you get there?

KONICA TECH is online now  
post #11535 of 12949 Old 04-23-2014, 12:01 PM
Member
 
hove131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Mute 7-3-7 enter
hove131 is offline  
post #11536 of 12949 Old 04-23-2014, 01:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Dianabol5mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I finally got my 60 yesterday. Going through the motions. So far, looks darker than my 51did. I do have me a buzzer. Sounds like an old crt.

Samsung 60F8500
Samsung 51F8500
LG 55LHX
LG BH200
2 PS3's
Dianabol5mg is offline  
post #11537 of 12949 Old 04-23-2014, 02:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Denniswrly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: N,California
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dianabol5mg View Post

I finally got my 60 yesterday. Going through the motions. So far, looks darker than my 51did. I do have me a buzzer. Sounds like an old crt.
Eco Settings Off ? cell light 15 Contrast 95 or lower is perfect for me amazing PQ...smile.gif

64f8500
oppo bdp-103
Denon avr 1803
Energy speakers
Energy sub
Dual recliner lazyboy
xbox 360
Denniswrly is offline  
post #11538 of 12949 Old 04-23-2014, 02:46 PM
Member
 
frankly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Eindhoven de gekste
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just bought an OPPO 103, same problem both through my onkyo and direct switchwed my MI for the one hat came with th 103, same problem,
ordered some new hdmi cables gona try hem al with another screen and than hook up th Sammy.
Get back with the results

Samsung 51F8500 - Dreambox 7020HD - Onkyo NR TX818 - OPPO 93 - PS3 - EPSON 5910 - KEF 2005 (5.1) QNAP 4 x 2TB
frankly is offline  
post #11539 of 12949 Old 04-23-2014, 03:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
KONICA TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clinton, Ma.
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by hove131 View Post

Mute 7-3-7 enter


This is not the full service menu....

KONICA TECH is online now  
post #11540 of 12949 Old 04-23-2014, 04:00 PM
Senior Member
 
cooknl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: near Amsterdam
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by KONICA TECH View Post


This is not the full service menu....

Look here tells you what you need to get into service menu BUT be carefull you will loose all settings when you get out of it.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1515070/official-samsung-pnxxf8500-bugs-thread
cooknl is offline  
post #11541 of 12949 Old 04-23-2014, 04:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Dianabol5mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 29
My buzzing is very directional. Cannot hear when standing off to the sides of the display. When I am in front watching, thats when it hits me. My 51F8500 had no buzzing. Tonight Im going to try and find a way to direct the sound another way. My pic is awesome and my black levels are superb. I had an F8000 for a couple weeks and I hated when the screen would turn off with an all black screen. Very distracting. Not with this bad boy. Just pure black abyss-like goodness. Im using Standard Mode 16 or 17 cell light, 50 brightness, 97 contrast, 53 color, 15 sharpness. Ill play around with the white balance at a later date.

Samsung 60F8500
Samsung 51F8500
LG 55LHX
LG BH200
2 PS3's
Dianabol5mg is offline  
post #11542 of 12949 Old 04-23-2014, 05:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
KONICA TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clinton, Ma.
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooknl View Post


Look here tells you what you need to get into service menu BUT be carefull you will loose all settings when you get out of it.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1515070/official-samsung-pnxxf8500-bugs-thread


Thanks, I was trying to find out where HOVE131 was so he could go to the service menu to do a reset. I sent him a PM

KONICA TECH is online now  
post #11543 of 12949 Old 04-23-2014, 05:15 PM
Senior Member
 
hpp8140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dianabol5mg View Post

My buzzing is very directional. Cannot hear when standing off to the sides of the display. When I am in front watching, thats when it hits me. My 51F8500 had no buzzing. Tonight Im going to try and find a way to direct the sound another way. My pic is awesome and my black levels are superb. I had an F8000 for a couple weeks and I hated when the screen would turn off with an all black screen. Very distracting. Not with this bad boy. Just pure black abyss-like goodness. Im using Standard Mode 16 or 17 cell light, 50 brightness, 97 contrast, 53 color, 15 sharpness. Ill play around with the white balance at a later date.

Yeah, it's directional. Geez isn't that too bright?

LN55C630
PN64F8500
hpp8140 is offline  
post #11544 of 12949 Old 04-23-2014, 05:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Dianabol5mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by hpp8140 View Post

Yeah, it's directional. Geez isn't that too bright?

No not at all. I think I had brightness at 47 or 48 with my 51. I screw around with my dark settings in the advanced menu when I need to. Depends what movie im watching. I use my WOW disc to get me started, then I tweek it a little. If I can jack up my brightness without losing my inky blacks, im doing it.

Samsung 60F8500
Samsung 51F8500
LG 55LHX
LG BH200
2 PS3's
Dianabol5mg is offline  
post #11545 of 12949 Old 04-23-2014, 08:00 PM
Newbie
 
aficionado914's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As a novice when it comes to streaming and all that stuff, i'd like to say two things i'm doing that require no knowledge.

First, i changed my cable box setting so it shows gray bars instead of black. It's a little thing, but now, when I go the the Listings, it is gray instead of black bars, which i understand is better for 'break in'.

Second is Samsung's own Scrolling. If i go surf the internet in the other room, (like right now) i set the scrolling on, why not, real easy and should get rid of any IR, if there was any to start with, and i think, maybe it's breaking it in.

So, if you're like me and have to play catch up on streaming and downloading and running slides,,,then i think these are two things you can do right out of the box.


Scrolling
Screen Menu > System > Screen Burn Protection > Scrolling
This removes after-images on the screen by illuminating all the pixels on the PDP according to a set pattern. Use this when there are after-images or symbols on the screen, especially when a still image was displayed on the screen for a long time.
The after-image removal function has to be executed for approximately 1 hour to effectively remove after-images. If the after-image is not removed the first time, repeat the process.
Press any button to cancel this process.
aficionado914 is offline  
post #11546 of 12949 Old 04-23-2014, 09:35 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10,507
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1427 Post(s)
Liked: 683
Quote:
Originally Posted by KONICA TECH View Post


Thanks, I was trying to find out where HOVE131 was so he could go to the service menu to do a reset. I sent him a PM

Hopefully you stated and restarted that messing with certain things in the Service Menu can cause some major "damage" to the set that would not be covered under warranty wink.gif . Sometimes I worry about people going in there and just "looking around" and clicking something that looks "interesting". A little opps can ruin a perfectly good TV....There have been some horror stories of people making mistakes that were not easy to come back from (if they were able to at all).
Ph8te is online now  
post #11547 of 12949 Old 04-23-2014, 09:48 PM
Member
 
hove131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16
So I doubt I did any damage as I wasn't in the full service menu as I was in the " mute 7-3-7" menu and all I turned on and off was pixel shift test. I turned it back off so doubt I need to or should do a factory reset of service menu.... Agreed??
hove131 is offline  
post #11548 of 12949 Old 04-23-2014, 09:56 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10,507
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1427 Post(s)
Liked: 683
Quote:
Originally Posted by hove131 View Post

So I doubt I did any damage as I wasn't in the full service menu as I was in the " mute 7-3-7" menu and all I turned on and off was pixel shift test. I turned it back off so doubt I need to or should do a factory reset of service menu.... Agreed??

Yes\no maybe so? from other threads and a quick Google search pixel shift test may be to adjust the timing of the pixel shift function. Since it seems you only had on\off though, I'm not sure what it does. You could nee a factory reset, but you may not need one ether wink.gif hows that for a clear answer smile.gif
Ph8te is online now  
post #11549 of 12949 Old 04-24-2014, 02:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dougofthenorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dianabol5mg View Post

No not at all. I think I had brightness at 47 or 48 with my 51. I screw around with my dark settings in the advanced menu when I need to. Depends what movie im watching. I use my WOW disc to get me started, then I tweek it a little. If I can jack up my brightness without losing my inky blacks, im doing it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hpp8140 View Post

Yeah, it's directional. Geez isn't that too bright?

Set's picture is going to change after break-in hours anyway say after 200+ hours

Diana - congrats! but sorry you got a buzzer - hopefully it's a quieter buzzer like my 2nd set

Does it have the latest FW update??

------------------------
Regards,

Dougofthenorth

www.turtleshelltortue.org RIP
Dougofthenorth is offline  
post #11550 of 12949 Old 04-24-2014, 02:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dougofthenorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by hove131 View Post

So I doubt I did any damage as I wasn't in the full service menu as I was in the " mute 7-3-7" menu and all I turned on and off was pixel shift test. I turned it back off so doubt I need to or should do a factory reset of service menu.... Agreed??

Yep - but as recommended, write down any future tweaks - so you don't get "lost" again smile.gif

------------------------
Regards,

Dougofthenorth

www.turtleshelltortue.org RIP
Dougofthenorth is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off