Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 388 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11611 of 12270 Old 05-04-2014, 09:11 PM
Member
 
hove131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Only thing that bothers me with the black levels is the letter bars being a dull dark grayish black with a glow. Maybe I'll try some bias lighting
hove131 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11612 of 12270 Old 05-04-2014, 10:26 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 999
Quote:
Originally Posted by fierce_gt View Post

but sadly, the last display I've seen that made me wonder if I left it on was a crt. there's just no way any flat panel(maybe oled will change this, I hope!) could be on and displaying 'black' without me knowing it was on.
No need to hope, it already has. Just a matter of time until more screen sizes arrive.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #11613 of 12270 Old 05-05-2014, 07:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,082
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

No need to hope, it already has. Just a matter of time until more screen sizes arrive.

you need to remember, most ppl don't care until a tech has a hold on the market. oled could get cancelled quick if more companies don't start supporting it, that's what I HOPE doesn't happen.

even though there are a handful of production oled models available today, I have yet to see one locally. and I will NEVER accept that a screen has absolute black before viewing it. that's been promised way too many times to believe anymore without seeing for myself
fierce_gt is offline  
post #11614 of 12270 Old 05-05-2014, 07:23 AM
 
SeLfMaDe111985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by hove131 View Post

Only thing that bothers me with the black levels is the letter bars being a dull dark grayish black with a glow. Maybe I'll try some bias lighting

I own a ZT60 and just got passed my 100 hours and started watching letterbox movies. During the day the filter of the ZT and I'm sure the same can be said for the F8500 with its brightness and filter look fantastic. Dim lights blacks are inky and rich.

Now with lights completely off, fully dark room, night time viewing, popcorn type style viewing...my letterbox bars also exhibit a grayish look to them. Like a certain shade of
Black but not the inky black that I've seen praised so much about both these sets. My content blacks are terrific...but the bars make it seem lighter. I may purchase some
Bias lighting but I should have to since these blacks are suppose to be awesome in their own. I feel I can put bias light behind a LCD and achieve the same affect. Kind of dumb you have to buy bias lighting to get blacks that you read so much glowing reviews about but maybe it got hyped to much. I have a KURO and unfortunately it has the red tint now so it's not a fair comparison.

Idk I'm told that's just the way it is, light is still
Coming through behind those bars so I'm told it's just how TVs are designed and is normal. My letterbox bars are black with bright content on the screen but with low APL (night scenes) they look grayish or glowy. Full screen content is tremendous though.

If you want the blacks that seem to be to hyped on these two sets, then OLED is the answer. But for 65" OLED that's an 8,000$ solution. No thanks
SeLfMaDe111985 is offline  
post #11615 of 12270 Old 05-05-2014, 08:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,158
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 247
I think you may have misinterpreted what people were saying. The "inky blacks" will still have a glow/slight grey tint especially in dark rooms as it is not absolute black. Usually with bias lights it "tricks" the eyes to see darker images then there are actually present since there is a "reference" from light to dark which your eyes become accustom to. In a dark room your eyes will be more sensitive especially with low apl scenes to the "not absolute" black of any set.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
pg_ice likes this.
Ph8te is online now  
post #11616 of 12270 Old 05-05-2014, 08:45 AM
 
SeLfMaDe111985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post

I think you may have misinterpreted what people were saying. The "inky blacks" will still have a glow/slight grey tint especially in dark rooms as it is not absolute black. Usually with bias lights it "tricks" the eyes to see darker images then there are actually present since there is a "reference" from light to dark which your eyes become accustom to. In a dark room your eyes will be more sensitive especially with low apl scenes to the "not absolute" black of any set.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk



This is what bias light does. It makes
Those bars appear darker than they really are in a dark room. But with this those bars will have a glow or grayish tone to them somewhat. That goes for the ZT and F8500. That's at least the information I have been receiving when asked. If it's normal then that's cool with me so I'll add some
Bias light which is also a nice touch as well.
SeLfMaDe111985 is offline  
post #11617 of 12270 Old 05-05-2014, 10:49 AM
Member
 
WantsNWarrants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Woodland Hills CA
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by hove131 View Post

Only thing that bothers me with the black levels is the letter bars being a dull dark grayish black with a glow. Maybe I'll try some bias lighting

Have you checked out
System > Screen Burn Protection > Side Gray
to see if Light or Dark suits your taste?
WantsNWarrants is offline  
post #11618 of 12270 Old 05-05-2014, 11:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by WantsNWarrants View Post

Have you checked out
System > Screen Burn Protection > Side Gray
to see if Light or Dark suits your taste?

That only works with side gray bars with 4:3 material, not the letter box bars on blu ray movies.

"The only reason people get lost in thought is because it's unfamiliar territory"
wxman is offline  
post #11619 of 12270 Old 05-05-2014, 11:51 AM
Member
 
WantsNWarrants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Woodland Hills CA
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post

That only works with side gray bars with 4:3 material, not the letter box bars on blu ray movies.

Good to know. Jeez, I wish I had some way to track all the goodies in these 8500 threads!
WantsNWarrants is offline  
post #11620 of 12270 Old 05-05-2014, 12:02 PM
 
pg_ice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeLfMaDe111985 View Post

If you want the blacks that seem to be to hyped on these two sets, then OLED is the answer.

Semi OT:

Ever heard of Tweaked Kuros ?

you should do something about your red tinted Kuro instead.
you will be surprised what you can get from it.

if you have red tint visible on your Kuro your blacks/reds should be around 0.02 cd/m2
thats almost LCD LED level glow.
my Kuro had blacks at 0.03cd/m2 when i got it last year.

you need to bring the blacks back to the Kuro level.

thats the problem with most untouched Kuros these days.
people forget how they looked when they was new.

Edit: depending of what Kuro you have you should be able to get the blacks down below a standard KRP 500M at 0.00056fL
you will get a contrast ratio atleast 4 times as high as you have now.
no plasma will beat that.
pg_ice is offline  
post #11621 of 12270 Old 05-05-2014, 12:15 PM
 
SeLfMaDe111985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by pg_ice View Post

Semi OT:

Ever heard of Tweaked Kuros ?

you should do something about your red tinted Kuro instead.
you will be surprised what you can get from it.

if you have red tint visible on your Kuro your blacks/reds should be around 0.02 cd/m2
thats almost LCD LED level glow.
my Kuro had blacks at 0.03cd/m2 when i got it last year.

you need to bring the blacks back to the Kuro level.

thats the problem with most untouched Kuros these days.
people forget how they looked when they was new.

Edit: depending of what Kuro you have you should be able to get the blacks down below a standard KRP 500M at 0.00056fL
you will get a contrast ratio atleast 4 times as high as you have now.
no plasma will beat that.

That also costs about 400$ to do, and it is now my fathers TV and he doesn't care about things like that.
SeLfMaDe111985 is offline  
post #11622 of 12270 Old 05-05-2014, 12:20 PM
 
pg_ice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeLfMaDe111985 View Post

That also costs about 400$ to do, .

no it costs around 60$
what Kuro is it?

if you want to continue this Kuro discussion post in this thread
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1361871/official-pioneer-kuro-reddish-tint-problem-thread/2550
the thread is infected so watch it wink.gif
pg_ice is offline  
post #11623 of 12270 Old 05-05-2014, 12:41 PM
 
SeLfMaDe111985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by pg_ice View Post

no it costs around 60$
what Kuro is it?

if you want to continue this Kuro discussion post in this thread
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1361871/official-pioneer-kuro-reddish-tint-problem-thread/2550
the thread is infected so watch it wink.gif

PM sent
SeLfMaDe111985 is offline  
post #11624 of 12270 Old 05-05-2014, 01:04 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 999
Quote:
Originally Posted by fierce_gt View Post

even though there are a handful of production oled models available today, I have yet to see one locally. and I will NEVER accept that a screen has absolute black before viewing it. that's been promised way too many times to believe anymore without seeing for myself
Sure, but those were just marketing statements. There's no need to doubt the actual measurements that have been taken by multiple professional reviewers of production models.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #11625 of 12270 Old 05-05-2014, 01:08 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 999
Quote:
Originally Posted by pg_ice View Post

no it costs around 60$
what Kuro is it?

if you want to continue this Kuro discussion post in this thread
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1361871/official-pioneer-kuro-reddish-tint-problem-thread/2550
the thread is infected so watch it wink.gif
He has the most plebian Kuro you can get, the 5020FD. Pretty sure it will cost him more because he needs an Elite board to be able to access certain features.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #11626 of 12270 Old 05-05-2014, 01:11 PM
Member
 
hove131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Does anybody see a couple of horizontal filter lines while viewing content and slides? They are faint but there. One is on bottom third of set and other is 2/3 up the screen. Pretty obvious during slides and normal content ( views of sky or solid colors during commercials). I'm guessing its the AR filter I'm seeing.
hove131 is offline  
post #11627 of 12270 Old 05-05-2014, 01:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,158
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 247
If you search yes there are those that see them. Most of the time however during normal content they are not noticed. The severity that they can be seen can sometimes be related to the viewing angle.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ph8te is online now  
post #11628 of 12270 Old 05-05-2014, 01:36 PM
 
SeLfMaDe111985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

He has the most plebian Kuro you can get, the 5020FD. Pretty sure it will cost him more because he needs an Elite board to be able to access certain features.

Terrivle word choice..plebian? Come on man you really see me as poor? Lower end model but far from low class
wxman likes this.
SeLfMaDe111985 is offline  
post #11629 of 12270 Old 05-05-2014, 01:42 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 999
Nope, what I stated has nothing to do with the purchaser, but it literally was the cheapest Kuro one could buy before Pioneer announced the exit. I owned a 5020FD for a time and ended up taking a hit when I sold it. I regret that and wish I'd have saved my funds for a few more months to grab the higher end set(s) in the first place.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #11630 of 12270 Old 05-05-2014, 01:44 PM
Member
 
hove131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Here is where I see the filter lines bleeding through....anyone else?

2014-05-05-16-37-56_zpsbqqcz8jm.png
hove131 is offline  
post #11631 of 12270 Old 05-05-2014, 01:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 182
I have the 5020. Better than most plasma's currently on the market. Only regret is I wish I would have got the 6020.

"The only reason people get lost in thought is because it's unfamiliar territory"
wxman is offline  
post #11632 of 12270 Old 05-05-2014, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by hove131 View Post

Here is where I see the filter lines bleeding through....anyone else?

2014-05-05-16-37-56_zpsbqqcz8jm.png

What is your contrast set at? Lower it a few notches, you may be clipping the whites.

"The only reason people get lost in thought is because it's unfamiliar territory"
wxman is offline  
post #11633 of 12270 Old 05-05-2014, 01:49 PM
Member
 
hove131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
95... Lines are perfectly separated and equal distance from bezel...has to be filter. Red arrows are a guess in picture as picture doesn't show it.
hove131 is offline  
post #11634 of 12270 Old 05-05-2014, 01:57 PM
Member
 
hove131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Here is 1 of 2 lines ...look just above middle of screen ... Faint line... ( try to ignore window reflections)

http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e29/jhedro/Mobile%20Uploads/20140505_165312_zpss7iktsyr.jpg
hove131 is offline  
post #11635 of 12270 Old 05-05-2014, 02:02 PM
Member
 
hove131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Photo bucket makes pics look worse ...shows up good in pics on my phone photo gallery
hove131 is offline  
post #11636 of 12270 Old 05-05-2014, 03:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,082
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

Sure, but those were just marketing statements. There's no need to doubt the actual measurements that have been taken by multiple professional reviewers of production models.

there is LESS reason to doubt these claims.

trust me, there's a reason I'm paying more attention to the development of the LG oleds that hardly get talked about outside the oled forums and your posts(haha) than I am about the FALD led models coming out, or Panasonics claim of plasma like quality from their new led's.

but I STILL need to see an example, because while oled CAN produce 'black', I'm not convinced that it must produce 'black'. so it's still possible some production models have corners cut to make prices affordable, and while a 3k oled is awesome, it's not really a dream if it comes with compromised performance
fierce_gt is offline  
post #11637 of 12270 Old 05-05-2014, 05:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2,702
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeLfMaDe111985 View Post



This is what bias light does. It makes
Those bars appear darker than they really are in a dark room. But with this those bars will have a glow or grayish tone to them somewhat. That goes for the ZT and F8500. That's at least the information I have been receiving when asked. If it's normal then that's cool with me so I'll add some
Bias light which is also a nice touch as well.
When I added bias lighting to my Samsung LED, es7500 blacks in a darkened room looked true black. Once you turned off the bias lighting, what an unbelievable difference it made, especially when watching movies that had black bars.

I have not felt the need to use bias lighting on my VT60 because it is good enough for me but if you want darker blacks on your TV get a kit. Even though it is only tricking your eye in what you see, it will not look like you can get any blacker then what it will appear to look like to you when the light is on.

This is the one I used with my LED. You need to choose the one in the drop drown that comes with all the parts. Comes out to a little over $15.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/3528-5M-SMD-Flexible-LED-Strip-Lights-cool-white-IP33-Dimmer-12V2A-Power-/310621089492?pt=US_String_Lights_Fairy_Lights&var=610178518764&hash=item485275aed4
eric3316 is offline  
post #11638 of 12270 Old 05-05-2014, 05:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post

When I added bias lighting to my Samsung LED, es7500 blacks in a darkened room looked true black. Once you turned off the bias lighting, what an unbelievable difference it made, especially when watching movies that had black bars.

I have not felt the need to use bias lighting on my VT60 because it is good enough for me but if you want darker blacks on your TV get a kit. Even though it is only tricking your eye in what you see, it will not look like you can get any blacker then what it will appear to look like to you when the light is on.

This is the one I used with my LED. You need to choose the one in the drop drown that comes with all the parts. Comes out to a little over $15.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/3528-5M-SMD-Flexible-LED-Strip-Lights-cool-white-IP33-Dimmer-12V2A-Power-/310621089492?pt=US_String_Lights_Fairy_Lights&var=610178518764&hash=item485275aed4

Can you cut those strips down to size? 5 meters seems like a lot of lights for a tv.

"The only reason people get lost in thought is because it's unfamiliar territory"
wxman is offline  
post #11639 of 12270 Old 05-05-2014, 05:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,082
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post

Can you cut those strips down to size? 5 meters seems like a lot of lights for a tv.

I'm going to say YES, because when I accidentally put a staple through mine, it stopped all the lights AFTER the staple but not before it. luckily when I removed the staple the rest came back on again, phew.
fierce_gt is offline  
post #11640 of 12270 Old 05-05-2014, 05:56 PM
Member
 
hove131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
hove131 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off