Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 412 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12331 of 12345 Old 07-27-2014, 01:16 AM
Member
 
cooknl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: near Amsterdam
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post
Who did your calibration?
It was done by mr. Julian Scott, aka Canary Jules on the avforum in the UK. http://www.avforums.com/
He had to be here in Holland and he had time to do a THX calibration on my 51 F8500.

I am over the moon with the job he did, fantastic.

Rob
cooknl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12332 of 12345 Old 07-27-2014, 05:33 AM
Member
 
saru360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by USMCj View Post
My 2014 made 60f8500 with 2014 sek-2000 evo kit got a software update from ver 1002 to ver 1004 sometime last night.

Anyone know what's new in this version?
Does that evo kit dose anything to PQ, is just for the for the smart tv stuff? i read some people have complained about some bugs with hdmi etc and the tv software freezing sometimes when the evo kit is atached.
saru360 is online now  
post #12333 of 12345 Old 07-27-2014, 11:51 AM
Member
 
USMCj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by saru360 View Post
Does that evo kit dose anything to PQ, is just for the for the smart tv stuff? i read some people have complained about some bugs with hdmi etc and the tv software freezing sometimes when the evo kit is atached.
I've noticed improvements in 3d performance. Overall speed improvements in smart software and also changing channels when watching programming on a over air antenna.

No bugs to report on my end.

But I'm guessing Samsung found some bugs to fix, hence the new firmware my tv got overnight automatically.

When I installed the evo kit, it had firmware 1002 out of the box. Now my tv shows ver 1004. And I had manually checked for a new firmware 2 days prior and nothing was found. So it's new for sure. Just don't know what the changes were.
USMCj is offline  
post #12334 of 12345 Old 07-27-2014, 05:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
igreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Northern California
Posts: 2,750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post
It has a deinterlacer to display 1080i if that's what you're asking. The panel is a 1080p panel. Everything it displays is ultimately converted to 1080p.
Does that compromise the television's performance for 1080i; e.g., DirecTV? Most of the posts refer to picture quality for Blu-Ray. 99% of my watching is DirecTV, and cannot imagine a better picture. But could put the F8500 in my master bedroom if picture quality is less than the Panasonic TH-50PHD7UY. Would not consider buying except for end of production, and desire a HDTV for bedroom also. Thanks!
igreg is offline  
post #12335 of 12345 Old 07-27-2014, 05:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 9,871
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 461 Post(s)
Liked: 507
Quote:
Originally Posted by igreg View Post
Does that compromise the television's performance for 1080i; e.g., DirecTV? Most of the posts refer to picture quality for Blu-Ray. 99% of my watching is DirecTV, and cannot imagine a better picture. But could put the F8500 in my master bedroom if picture quality is less than the Panasonic TH-50PHD7UY. Would not consider buying except for end of production, and desire a HDTV for bedroom also. Thanks!
No, it doesn't. A large percentage of 1080i content is film based and the TV can reconstruct the progressive frames with the film modes. It seems to have a good deinterlacer for true video 1080i as well.
Stereodude is online now  
post #12336 of 12345 Old 07-28-2014, 07:02 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 11,956
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 504
^^^ Correct. Also, the unit will take in all content, no matter what resolution below 1080P, and up converts to 1080P, the native resolution of the TV. No PQ will be lost during this process.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #12337 of 12345 Old 07-28-2014, 11:37 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Glenee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MidWest
Posts: 1,165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooknl View Post
It was done by mr. Julian Scott, aka Canary Jules on the avforum in the UK. http://www.avforums.com/
He had to be here in Holland and he had time to do a THX calibration on my 51 F8500.

I am over the moon with the job he did, fantastic.

Rob
Julian has a great reputation in Europe and the UK. I am sure he did as good of a job as one of our Top Calibrators here in the U.S.
You can try and copy all the settings from other people's TV's but, there's just nothing like a good calibrator getting a hold of the adjustments with his meter's on your TV.
Congratulation's
I am in the Netherlands 2-3 times a year. Maybe we can blow the froth off a couple sometime.

Nothing's Perfect So Stop Expecting It ! Glenee

Glenee is offline  
post #12338 of 12345 Old 08-17-2014, 11:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
music_to_my_ear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by USMCj View Post
My 2014 made 60f8500 with 2014 sek-2000 evo kit got a software update from ver 1002 to ver 1004 sometime last night.

Anyone know what's new in this version?
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
Rising blacks should not be an issue if you have latest FW.
Latest firmware reduces brightness significantly but floating black levels should be fixed
music_to_my_ear is offline  
post #12339 of 12345 Old 08-17-2014, 12:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,475
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 362 Post(s)
Liked: 682
after more than a year and 1600hrs, I got my first instance of IR. something buggered up when I turned off my tv(I didn't have the remote handy, so I just shut it off with the toggle on the back) and at some point during the night it turned back on, unfortunately the last thing I did before turning it off was read AVS forums, so I had that image on screen for as much as 7hrs last night.


I turned on the scrolling for an hr this morning before leaving, and I'm been using it normally ever since(which unfortunately means I've been on avs forums for another 2hrs, haha) but it's super faint anyway right now.


so not so much a story of disaster as much as I'm pretty impressed. I always use screen fit, so no pixel orbiter or anything like that, and it's a pretty nasty image to leave up. while I don't intend on doing that again on purpose, it's nice to know it's so resilient.
wxman likes this.

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1018AH, 5.1 audio
Sources: HTPC(Mediabrowser), PS3, XBOX360, Wii, Sony DVP-CX995V
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is offline  
post #12340 of 12345 Old 08-17-2014, 01:50 PM
Senior Member
 
shadowspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by music_to_my_ear View Post
Latest firmware reduces brightness significantly but floating black levels should be fixed
Has this been verified?

For a while, I've had to put cell light at 20 and contrast at 95 to get the picture that I expect. I used to run it with cell light 16 - 17 and contrast 94.

I thought it was probably just a combination of the phosphors aging after 4+ months of pretty heavy use, plus me becoming acclimated to it (coming from an 8G Kuro).

But your comment made my ears prick up...

Last edited by shadowspawn; 08-17-2014 at 01:54 PM.
shadowspawn is offline  
post #12341 of 12345 Old 08-17-2014, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
I WANT MORE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 'Middle of Nowhere"
Posts: 1,648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by music_to_my_ear View Post
Latest firmware reduces brightness significantly but floating black levels should be fixed
So the calibration is F'd?

Perhaps I misremembered.

I WANT MORE is online now  
post #12342 of 12345 Old 08-17-2014, 03:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
music_to_my_ear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
"decline in overall demand for plasma display panel televisions", that is just not true, they are being discontinued because they could not make a 4K Plasma TV cost effectively . Therefor they could not over charge for new technology . LED is next........ Especially if LG gets there OLED costs down.
4K plasma power requirements would be extremely high...when you have 2x the number of pixels of a 1080p display that need to be powered you're looking at at least 800 watts needed. Avg 60-65" plasmas today use about 300-350 watts of power alone! Throw in 3D and the power requirement will jump even more
music_to_my_ear is offline  
post #12343 of 12345 Old 08-17-2014, 03:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
music_to_my_ear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowspawn View Post
Has this been verified?

For a while, I've had to put cell light at 20 and contrast at 95 to get the picture that I expect. I used to run it with cell light 16 - 17 and contrast 94.

I thought it was probably just a combination of the phosphors aging after 4+ months of pretty heavy use, plus me becoming acclimated to it (coming from an 8G Kuro).

But your comment made my ears prick up...
Its been discussed in this thread already. Chad B reported the ftL some F8500 displays are now getting after the new firmware updates....the lowest I saw was 42 ftL and the highest was around 50-ish ftl. You know, the F8500 was capable of getting up to 80 ftL

Quote:
Originally Posted by I WANT MORE View Post
So the calibration is F'd?
No. Calibration should be the same as before. Just gotta up the cell brightness to get the target
music_to_my_ear is offline  
post #12344 of 12345 Old 08-17-2014, 03:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,783
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by I WANT MORE View Post
So the calibration is F'd?
The latest FW did NOT lower overall brightness of tv. The rumor was that a very early FW update did that. But a few well known calibrators said that was not the case. I do believe Chad stated that his first tv he calibrated produced 70fl, but all after that were in the 40s. He did not believe it was a FW update. The smaller the screen the greater the output. The 64 inch tv will be hard pressed to get above 50fl in movie mode.
fierce_gt likes this.

RIP Robin Williams. Thanks for the laughter.

Last edited by wxman; 08-17-2014 at 03:27 PM.
wxman is offline  
post #12345 of 12345 Old 08-17-2014, 03:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
music_to_my_ear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by fierce_gt View Post
after more than a year and 1600hrs, I got my first instance of IR. something buggered up when I turned off my tv(I didn't have the remote handy, so I just shut it off with the toggle on the back) and at some point during the night it turned back on, unfortunately the last thing I did before turning it off was read AVS forums, so I had that image on screen for as much as 7hrs last night.


I turned on the scrolling for an hr this morning before leaving, and I'm been using it normally ever since(which unfortunately means I've been on avs forums for another 2hrs, haha) but it's super faint anyway right now.


so not so much a story of disaster as much as I'm pretty impressed. I always use screen fit, so no pixel orbiter or anything like that, and it's a pretty nasty image to leave up. while I don't intend on doing that again on purpose, it's nice to know it's so resilient.
Fierece, the IR you're reporting is from your F8500? Or another display?
music_to_my_ear is offline  
post #12346 of 12345 Old 08-18-2014, 09:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,475
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 362 Post(s)
Liked: 682
Quote:
Originally Posted by music_to_my_ear View Post
Fierece, the IR you're reporting is from your F8500? Or another display?
yeah, it was on the f8500, seems to have cleared up now though.

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1018AH, 5.1 audio
Sources: HTPC(Mediabrowser), PS3, XBOX360, Wii, Sony DVP-CX995V
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread - Pn51f8500 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off