Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 430 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Display Devices > Plasma Flat Panel Displays > Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk]

Plasma Flat Panel Displays

tylerSC's Avatar tylerSC
07:05 PM Liked: 100
post #12871 of 12896
12-12-2014 | Posts: 4,345
Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by HLdan View Post
Just stay on top of it. Best Buy has been public enemy #1 here lately with them canceling people's F8500 orders after discovering they couldn't get the TV from the manufacturer. Right now, ordering an F8500 from Best Buy doesn't mean a thing until it arrives at your front door. They are letting people place orders, they process the orders, set a delivery date and at the last minute cancel the order, so once again, stay on top of it. Please let us know if things work out.
Apparently certain Best Buy warehouses in select markets have received the rumored December shipment of the F8500, and this should be the last. And if you live in a region serviced by these warehouses then they would allow an order for ship to store pick up. So far, Texas and Ohio regions allowed this option for store pick up when placing an order. And certain Kentucky stores are apparently served by the Ohio warehouse. I have tried other East coast options such as Atlanta but no luck. Perhaps some other regions will also receive a final December shipment.
beepaj's Avatar beepaj
12:35 PM Liked: 15
post #12872 of 12896
12-14-2014 | Posts: 23
Joined: Nov 2001
Tired of being jerked around by Worst Buy who now say the TV will not be delivered until after Christmas. Went to the store and, as it happens, the area manager was there. He told me they "over sold" the F8500 and offered a deal on a 65H7150. Bought it, brought it home & mounted it to the wall. After MANY hours of tweaking, I have it to where I like it but the 3D is absolutely terrible!!! No matter what there is sooo much ghosting, it's impossible to watch. I'm PISSED!
ermghoti's Avatar ermghoti
12:44 PM Liked: 72
post #12873 of 12896
12-14-2014 | Posts: 243
Joined: Aug 2013
Not cool, Best Buy. I was really on the fence about cancelling the 51 when the 60s turned up on Amazon, but maybe not doing so would have meant no delivery at all?
Blue Rain's Avatar Blue Rain
01:15 PM Liked: 32
post #12874 of 12896
12-14-2014 | Posts: 1,785
Joined: May 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by beepaj View Post
Tired of being jerked around by Worst Buy who now say the TV will not be delivered until after Christmas. Went to the store and, as it happens, the area manager was there. He told me they "over sold" the F8500 and offered a deal on a 65H7150. Bought it, brought it home & mounted it to the wall. After MANY hours of tweaking, I have it to where I like it but the 3D is absolutely terrible!!! No matter what there is sooo much ghosting, it's impossible to watch. I'm PISSED!

That's a shame ,plus the 3d on the F8500 is awesome.

Keep watching for stock here
http://www.nowinstock.net/electronic...sions/samsung/

If you are able to snag a f8500 just return the 65H7150. The 51" is still popping up and a few 64". I haven't seen a 60" pop up lately ,but you never know.

Goodluck !
Blue Rain's Avatar Blue Rain
01:19 PM Liked: 32
post #12875 of 12896
12-14-2014 | Posts: 1,785
Joined: May 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by ermghoti View Post
Not cool, Best Buy. I was really on the fence about cancelling the 51 when the 60s turned up on Amazon, but maybe not doing so would have meant no delivery at all?
Don't cancel any order from BB or Amazon..hopefully both come thru then you can choose.

If you cancel BB and Amazon cancels then you are screwed.
ermghoti's Avatar ermghoti
02:39 PM Liked: 72
post #12876 of 12896
12-14-2014 | Posts: 243
Joined: Aug 2013
I didn't want to get hit with a restocking fee. Best Buy's 51 would have been here ahead of Amazon's 60.

So, best case, I get the 51, leave it in the box. Wait a few days, Amazon's 60 arrives, checks out. Sell NiB to get back the original expenditure. Buyer checks out the 51, it works.

Worst case, all of the above, 51 doesn't sell until the initial return period ends, it then tests bad, I have to deal with a warranty repair, then try to sell a repaired set some months later, while I've been making payments on it all along.

Second best, one pans out, the other doesn't. At that point, a defective set just gets returned, and I give up.

Etc.

I'm pretty risk averse ATM, I bought a fixer-upper that still needs quite a bit of fixing up, and I really don't need a new TV, so if I didn't/don't get one, I'll be much less upset than if I had to deal with two.
Halimali's Avatar Halimali
05:25 AM Liked: 50
post #12877 of 12896
12-15-2014 | Posts: 555
Joined: Mar 2013
Thank you guys for helping me and answering my many questions.
I have ditched my cabinet setup and now the TV is on a stand and getting ventilation from everywhere. Soon I will add the fan behind the panel using the TV's USB to power it up.
Attached: image.jpg (167.2 KB) 
JimP
06:31 AM Liked: 213
post #12878 of 12896
12-15-2014 | Posts: 15,557
Joined: Sep 2002
Halimali

Nice looking setup.
p5browne's Avatar p5browne
07:06 AM Liked: 228
post #12879 of 12896
12-15-2014 | Posts: 4,125
Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Halimali View Post
Thank you guys for helping me and answering my many questions.
I have ditched my cabinet setup and now the TV is on a stand and getting ventilation from everywhere. Soon I will add the fan behind the panel using the TV's USB to power it up.
Summer time viewing may get a little warmer during the day if sunshine streams through those windows! Then definitely you'll need the fan.
Halimali's Avatar Halimali
07:06 AM Liked: 50
post #12880 of 12896
12-15-2014 | Posts: 555
Joined: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post
Halimali

Nice looking setup.
Thank you
trjam's Avatar trjam
07:15 AM Liked: 11
post #12881 of 12896
12-15-2014 | Posts: 16
Joined: Nov 2004
Got my PN60F8500 Saturday that was ordered from Amazon at the great price. Checked back of TV and mfg is November 2014. The set is awesome.
Blue Rain's Avatar Blue Rain
09:13 AM Liked: 32
post #12882 of 12896
12-15-2014 | Posts: 1,785
Joined: May 2001
Congrats trjam..enjoy your TV !
MoH
11:43 AM Liked: 1
post #12883 of 12896
12-15-2014 | Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2014
I just got my P64F8500! Used with 2 months of manufacturers warranty left on it! Few questions:
1. The annoying buzzing hum, is there a fix for that yet?
2. Screw for wall mount is an M8 but what length
3. I tried different settings in the forum and they were great! Anyone with good experience for using this as an occasional PC monitor?

Thanks
clenathan's Avatar clenathan
09:11 AM Liked: 10
post #12884 of 12896
12-16-2014 | Posts: 29
Joined: Dec 2007
Got this TV last week and I love it but I'm having buffering/playback issues with high bitrate (~13000 kbps) 1080p files.

LAN connected through ASUS wl-520gu (10/100 Mbps LAN)
Server/computer connected to router via Powerline Adapter - can reach download speeds of 30MBp/S so should be fast enough there)
Samsung f8500 60"

Remuxes don't play, and 1080p buffers a lot. Not using the PLEX app for 1080p since it never plays back, but use Samsung's playback via plex server accessed through source menu.

I read the TV LAN is only 10/100 so is that and my router the bottleneck? If so, upgrading my router to higher LAN speed would solve half the equation no? But still have issue with Samsung LAN speed. What about getting a more powerful WLAN router and sending wirelessly to TV? I read TV is 802.11 a/b/g/n so that would imply faster than LAN speeds right? Or I am completely off here
p5browne's Avatar p5browne
09:25 AM Liked: 228
post #12885 of 12896
12-16-2014 | Posts: 4,125
Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by clenathan View Post
Got this TV last week and I love it but I'm having buffering/playback issues with high bitrate (~13000 kbps) 1080p files.

LAN connected through ASUS wl-520gu (10/100 Mbps LAN)
Server/computer connected to router via Powerline Adapter - can reach download speeds of 30MBp/S so should be fast enough there)
Samsung f8500 60"

Remuxes don't play, and 1080p buffers a lot. Not using the PLEX app for 1080p since it never plays back, but use Samsung's playback via plex server accessed through source menu.

I read the TV LAN is only 10/100 so is that and my router the bottleneck? If so, upgrading my router to higher LAN speed would solve half the equation no? But still have issue with Samsung LAN speed. What about getting a more powerful WLAN router and sending wirelessly to TV? I read TV is 802.11 a/b/g/n so that would imply faster than LAN speeds right? Or I am completely off here
Right now with many Routers on Sale is a good time to upgrade. Using a RT-N66U upstairs, and a newer D-Link AC1200 downstairs. All devices throughout my 3 story house connect at 5 or the 2.4. I just pick which ever has the higher signal.
Did have to move the ASUS in my wife's loft. The small subwoofer in my wife's sound system was right next to the ASUS, and weakened the signal.
hpp8140's Avatar hpp8140
09:50 AM Liked: 28
post #12886 of 12896
12-16-2014 | Posts: 221
Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by clenathan View Post
Got this TV last week and I love it but I'm having buffering/playback issues with high bitrate (~13000 kbps) 1080p files.

LAN connected through ASUS wl-520gu (10/100 Mbps LAN)
Server/computer connected to router via Powerline Adapter - can reach download speeds of 30MBp/S so should be fast enough there)
Samsung f8500 60"

Remuxes don't play, and 1080p buffers a lot. Not using the PLEX app for 1080p since it never plays back, but use Samsung's playback via plex server accessed through source menu.

I read the TV LAN is only 10/100 so is that and my router the bottleneck? If so, upgrading my router to higher LAN speed would solve half the equation no? But still have issue with Samsung LAN speed. What about getting a more powerful WLAN router and sending wirelessly to TV? I read TV is 802.11 a/b/g/n so that would imply faster than LAN speeds right? Or I am completely off here
13000 kbps is the limit of 100 Mbps LAN. I recommend a gigabit router and media streaming box/laptop with gigabit Ethernet or copy video to USB drive.
toofastgtp's Avatar toofastgtp
09:58 AM Liked: 14
post #12887 of 12896
12-16-2014 | Posts: 40
Joined: Nov 2008
I posted on the owners thread as I am now a owner, but I will update on here.

I ordered the 51" from BB on 12/10 ( just a few days earlier it would not let me) and it was sitting in my living room on 12/13. It was a ship to store, they even allowed me to open it up in store to make sure the screen was not cracked.
DanF8500's Avatar DanF8500
10:17 AM Liked: 222
post #12888 of 12896
12-16-2014 | Posts: 1,377
Joined: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by hpp8140 View Post
13000 kbps is the limit of 100 Mbps LAN. I recommend a gigabit router and media streaming box/laptop with gigabit Ethernet or copy video to USB drive.
That's not true. 13,000 kbps is only 13 Mbps. There should be plenty of bandwidth left on a 100 Mbps LAN.
hpp8140's Avatar hpp8140
10:25 AM Liked: 28
post #12889 of 12896
12-16-2014 | Posts: 221
Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
That's not true. 13,000 kbps is only 13 Mbps. There should be plenty of bandwidth left on a 100 Mbps LAN.
Sorry was thinking KB. Yeah even wireless can handle that. Do you have any other devices using plex to test? I found Plex sever sluggish...especially on windows. I use minidlna on an Asus RT-N16.
ofird's Avatar ofird
05:22 AM Liked: 10
post #12890 of 12896
12-17-2014 | Posts: 61
Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ofird View Post
I believe that after the current version of YouTube which I have (which should be the latest available) the login information isn't restored every time I launch the application.

I am being asked to enter my credentials each time all over via the activate link.

Is it the same for you?
anyone?
ofird's Avatar ofird
05:24 AM Liked: 10
post #12891 of 12896
12-17-2014 | Posts: 61
Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ofird View Post
Is there a way to quickly cast your android screen without having to go into the menu of the TV each time and making it available to casting?

Why isn't it always Casting ready???

It should be a simple process without entering the menu each time, don't you think?
anyone?
ofird's Avatar ofird
05:26 AM Liked: 10
post #12892 of 12896
12-17-2014 | Posts: 61
Joined: Nov 2006
when I start the browser application of the smart TV the home page doesn't load automatically until I click "refresh" does it happen the same for you?
p5browne's Avatar p5browne
04:50 PM Liked: 228
post #12893 of 12896
12-19-2014 | Posts: 4,125
Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ofird View Post
when I start the browser application of the smart TV the home page doesn't load automatically until I click "refresh" does it happen the same for you?
Try Posting on the Owners Thread
Michael Vincent Praino
05:41 PM Liked: 9
post #12894 of 12896
12-26-2014 | Posts: 101
Joined: Jun 2014
Hey everyone, I just bought this from BB; trading in my second PN51F5300 that was having major uniformity issues.

This time, I am upgrading instead in the hopes that PN51F8500 will have better uniformity and much better daylight viewing experience. Looking forward to picking this up on Tuesday
waynesworld12's Avatar waynesworld12
06:38 PM Liked: 10
post #12895 of 12896
Yesterday | Posts: 4
Joined: Dec 2008
This may be a stupid question but Ive just started reading about TVs for the first time in a long time. I have not bought a major tv since I built my house 11 years ago and purchased my Hitachi 57 inch Ultravision. Well its time to upgrade and I've been reading LED vs Plasma etc.... I came across this thread about the 8500.

Does the 8500 come in different sizes are is it a specifice size tv.
I see so many tvs at Sams, Wal Mart, Best Buy etc... that look so much better then my old tv but when I make this purchase I want it to be one that I will love for years to come.

Any suggestions?
wxman's Avatar wxman
06:40 PM Liked: 258
post #12896 of 12896
Yesterday | Posts: 1,919
Joined: Apr 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by waynesworld12 View Post
This may be a stupid question but Ive just started reading about TVs for the first time in a long time. I have not bought a major tv since I built my house 11 years ago and purchased my Hitachi 57 inch Ultravision. Well its time to upgrade and I've been reading LED vs Plasma etc.... I came across this thread about the 8500.

Does the 8500 come in different sizes are is it a specifice size tv.
I see so many tvs at Sams, Wal Mart, Best Buy etc... that look so much better then my old tv but when I make this purchase I want it to be one that I will love for years to come.

Any suggestions?
They come in 3 sizes, 51, 60 and 64 inch models.
Dougofthenorth's Avatar Dougofthenorth
04:08 AM Liked: 43
post #12897 of 12896
Today | Posts: 605
Joined: Nov 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by waynesworld12 View Post
This may be a stupid question but Ive just started reading about TVs for the first time in a long time. I have not bought a major tv since I built my house 11 years ago and purchased my Hitachi 57 inch Ultravision. Well its time to upgrade and I've been reading LED vs Plasma etc.... I came across this thread about the 8500.

Does the 8500 come in different sizes are is it a specifice size tv.
I see so many tvs at Sams, Wal Mart, Best Buy etc... that look so much better then my old tv but when I make this purchase I want it to be one that I will love for years to come.Any suggestions?

You will now be hard pressed to even get any sized F8500 model anywhere
as they are becoming/are discontinued
- sadly nothing else now available will even come close to it
Tags: Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv

Gear in this thread
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3