Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 430 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12871 of 12895 Old 12-14-2014, 12:35 PM
Member
 
beepaj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Tired of being jerked around by Worst Buy who now say the TV will not be delivered until after Christmas. Went to the store and, as it happens, the area manager was there. He told me they "over sold" the F8500 and offered a deal on a 65H7150. Bought it, brought it home & mounted it to the wall. After MANY hours of tweaking, I have it to where I like it but the 3D is absolutely terrible!!! No matter what there is sooo much ghosting, it's impossible to watch. I'm PISSED!

I know the voices in my head aren't real but.... some of their ideas are awesome!
beepaj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12872 of 12895 Old 12-14-2014, 12:44 PM
Senior Member
 
ermghoti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Not cool, Best Buy. I was really on the fence about cancelling the 51 when the 60s turned up on Amazon, but maybe not doing so would have meant no delivery at all?
ermghoti is offline  
post #12873 of 12895 Old 12-14-2014, 01:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Blue Rain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 1,785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by beepaj View Post
Tired of being jerked around by Worst Buy who now say the TV will not be delivered until after Christmas. Went to the store and, as it happens, the area manager was there. He told me they "over sold" the F8500 and offered a deal on a 65H7150. Bought it, brought it home & mounted it to the wall. After MANY hours of tweaking, I have it to where I like it but the 3D is absolutely terrible!!! No matter what there is sooo much ghosting, it's impossible to watch. I'm PISSED!

That's a shame ,plus the 3d on the F8500 is awesome.

Keep watching for stock here
http://www.nowinstock.net/electronic...sions/samsung/

If you are able to snag a f8500 just return the 65H7150. The 51" is still popping up and a few 64". I haven't seen a 60" pop up lately ,but you never know.

Goodluck !

Polk 7.1
Samsung PN60F8500
73" 73738 Mits DLP
Onkyo TX-NR3008
Panasonic AE4000 Projector
Blue Rain is offline  
post #12874 of 12895 Old 12-14-2014, 01:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Blue Rain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 1,785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by ermghoti View Post
Not cool, Best Buy. I was really on the fence about cancelling the 51 when the 60s turned up on Amazon, but maybe not doing so would have meant no delivery at all?
Don't cancel any order from BB or Amazon..hopefully both come thru then you can choose.

If you cancel BB and Amazon cancels then you are screwed.

Polk 7.1
Samsung PN60F8500
73" 73738 Mits DLP
Onkyo TX-NR3008
Panasonic AE4000 Projector
Blue Rain is offline  
post #12875 of 12895 Old 12-14-2014, 02:39 PM
Senior Member
 
ermghoti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 72
I didn't want to get hit with a restocking fee. Best Buy's 51 would have been here ahead of Amazon's 60.

So, best case, I get the 51, leave it in the box. Wait a few days, Amazon's 60 arrives, checks out. Sell NiB to get back the original expenditure. Buyer checks out the 51, it works.

Worst case, all of the above, 51 doesn't sell until the initial return period ends, it then tests bad, I have to deal with a warranty repair, then try to sell a repaired set some months later, while I've been making payments on it all along.

Second best, one pans out, the other doesn't. At that point, a defective set just gets returned, and I give up.

Etc.

I'm pretty risk averse ATM, I bought a fixer-upper that still needs quite a bit of fixing up, and I really don't need a new TV, so if I didn't/don't get one, I'll be much less upset than if I had to deal with two.
ermghoti is offline  
post #12876 of 12895 Old 12-15-2014, 05:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Halimali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Smile

Thank you guys for helping me and answering my many questions.
I have ditched my cabinet setup and now the TV is on a stand and getting ventilation from everywhere. Soon I will add the fan behind the panel using the TV's USB to power it up.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	101
Size:	167.2 KB
ID:	423033  
Keenan likes this.

As of June 2013:
2,712 Bluray movies
1,593 DVD movies
356 bluray+DVD series
1,322 bluray+DVD Anime
Halimali is offline  
post #12877 of 12895 Old 12-15-2014, 06:31 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 213
Halimali

Nice looking setup.
Halimali likes this.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, VideoForge HDMI II, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #12878 of 12895 Old 12-15-2014, 07:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 4,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Halimali View Post
Thank you guys for helping me and answering my many questions.
I have ditched my cabinet setup and now the TV is on a stand and getting ventilation from everywhere. Soon I will add the fan behind the panel using the TV's USB to power it up.
Summer time viewing may get a little warmer during the day if sunshine streams through those windows! Then definitely you'll need the fan.
Halimali likes this.
p5browne is online now  
post #12879 of 12895 Old 12-15-2014, 07:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
Halimali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post
Halimali

Nice looking setup.
Thank you

As of June 2013:
2,712 Bluray movies
1,593 DVD movies
356 bluray+DVD series
1,322 bluray+DVD Anime
Halimali is offline  
post #12880 of 12895 Old 12-15-2014, 07:15 AM
Member
 
trjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Got my PN60F8500 Saturday that was ordered from Amazon at the great price. Checked back of TV and mfg is November 2014. The set is awesome.
EscapeVelocity likes this.
trjam is offline  
post #12881 of 12895 Old 12-15-2014, 09:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Blue Rain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 1,785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Congrats trjam..enjoy your TV !
Blue Rain is offline  
post #12882 of 12895 Old 12-15-2014, 11:43 AM
MoH
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I just got my P64F8500! Used with 2 months of manufacturers warranty left on it! Few questions:
1. The annoying buzzing hum, is there a fix for that yet?
2. Screw for wall mount is an M8 but what length
3. I tried different settings in the forum and they were great! Anyone with good experience for using this as an occasional PC monitor?

Thanks
MoH is offline  
post #12883 of 12895 Old 12-16-2014, 09:11 AM
Member
 
clenathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Help with 1080p

Got this TV last week and I love it but I'm having buffering/playback issues with high bitrate (~13000 kbps) 1080p files.

LAN connected through ASUS wl-520gu (10/100 Mbps LAN)
Server/computer connected to router via Powerline Adapter - can reach download speeds of 30MBp/S so should be fast enough there)
Samsung f8500 60"

Remuxes don't play, and 1080p buffers a lot. Not using the PLEX app for 1080p since it never plays back, but use Samsung's playback via plex server accessed through source menu.

I read the TV LAN is only 10/100 so is that and my router the bottleneck? If so, upgrading my router to higher LAN speed would solve half the equation no? But still have issue with Samsung LAN speed. What about getting a more powerful WLAN router and sending wirelessly to TV? I read TV is 802.11 a/b/g/n so that would imply faster than LAN speeds right? Or I am completely off here
clenathan is offline  
post #12884 of 12895 Old 12-16-2014, 09:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 4,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by clenathan View Post
Got this TV last week and I love it but I'm having buffering/playback issues with high bitrate (~13000 kbps) 1080p files.

LAN connected through ASUS wl-520gu (10/100 Mbps LAN)
Server/computer connected to router via Powerline Adapter - can reach download speeds of 30MBp/S so should be fast enough there)
Samsung f8500 60"

Remuxes don't play, and 1080p buffers a lot. Not using the PLEX app for 1080p since it never plays back, but use Samsung's playback via plex server accessed through source menu.

I read the TV LAN is only 10/100 so is that and my router the bottleneck? If so, upgrading my router to higher LAN speed would solve half the equation no? But still have issue with Samsung LAN speed. What about getting a more powerful WLAN router and sending wirelessly to TV? I read TV is 802.11 a/b/g/n so that would imply faster than LAN speeds right? Or I am completely off here
Right now with many Routers on Sale is a good time to upgrade. Using a RT-N66U upstairs, and a newer D-Link AC1200 downstairs. All devices throughout my 3 story house connect at 5 or the 2.4. I just pick which ever has the higher signal.
Did have to move the ASUS in my wife's loft. The small subwoofer in my wife's sound system was right next to the ASUS, and weakened the signal.
p5browne is online now  
post #12885 of 12895 Old 12-16-2014, 09:50 AM
Senior Member
 
hpp8140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by clenathan View Post
Got this TV last week and I love it but I'm having buffering/playback issues with high bitrate (~13000 kbps) 1080p files.

LAN connected through ASUS wl-520gu (10/100 Mbps LAN)
Server/computer connected to router via Powerline Adapter - can reach download speeds of 30MBp/S so should be fast enough there)
Samsung f8500 60"

Remuxes don't play, and 1080p buffers a lot. Not using the PLEX app for 1080p since it never plays back, but use Samsung's playback via plex server accessed through source menu.

I read the TV LAN is only 10/100 so is that and my router the bottleneck? If so, upgrading my router to higher LAN speed would solve half the equation no? But still have issue with Samsung LAN speed. What about getting a more powerful WLAN router and sending wirelessly to TV? I read TV is 802.11 a/b/g/n so that would imply faster than LAN speeds right? Or I am completely off here
13000 kbps is the limit of 100 Mbps LAN. I recommend a gigabit router and media streaming box/laptop with gigabit Ethernet or copy video to USB drive.
hpp8140 is online now  
post #12886 of 12895 Old 12-16-2014, 09:58 AM
Member
 
toofastgtp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I posted on the owners thread as I am now a owner, but I will update on here.

I ordered the 51" from BB on 12/10 ( just a few days earlier it would not let me) and it was sitting in my living room on 12/13. It was a ship to store, they even allowed me to open it up in store to make sure the screen was not cracked.
EscapeVelocity likes this.

Audio Sensory: Onkyo TXNR828 // JBL S312/S38/SCenter // Power Acoustics PL200.
Video Sensory: Samsung PN51F8500 // Sony BDP350 // Samsung HPT4264.
toofastgtp is offline  
post #12887 of 12895 Old 12-16-2014, 10:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by hpp8140 View Post
13000 kbps is the limit of 100 Mbps LAN. I recommend a gigabit router and media streaming box/laptop with gigabit Ethernet or copy video to USB drive.
That's not true. 13,000 kbps is only 13 Mbps. There should be plenty of bandwidth left on a 100 Mbps LAN.
DanF8500 is online now  
post #12888 of 12895 Old 12-16-2014, 10:25 AM
Senior Member
 
hpp8140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
That's not true. 13,000 kbps is only 13 Mbps. There should be plenty of bandwidth left on a 100 Mbps LAN.
Sorry was thinking KB. Yeah even wireless can handle that. Do you have any other devices using plex to test? I found Plex sever sluggish...especially on windows. I use minidlna on an Asus RT-N16.

Last edited by hpp8140; 12-16-2014 at 10:28 AM.
hpp8140 is online now  
post #12889 of 12895 Old 12-17-2014, 05:22 AM
Member
 
ofird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ofird View Post
I believe that after the current version of YouTube which I have (which should be the latest available) the login information isn't restored every time I launch the application.

I am being asked to enter my credentials each time all over via the activate link.

Is it the same for you?
anyone?
ofird is offline  
post #12890 of 12895 Old 12-17-2014, 05:24 AM
Member
 
ofird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ofird View Post
Is there a way to quickly cast your android screen without having to go into the menu of the TV each time and making it available to casting?

Why isn't it always Casting ready???

It should be a simple process without entering the menu each time, don't you think?
anyone?
ofird is offline  
post #12891 of 12895 Old 12-17-2014, 05:26 AM
Member
 
ofird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 10
when I start the browser application of the smart TV the home page doesn't load automatically until I click "refresh" does it happen the same for you?
ofird is offline  
post #12892 of 12895 Old 12-19-2014, 04:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 4,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by ofird View Post
when I start the browser application of the smart TV the home page doesn't load automatically until I click "refresh" does it happen the same for you?
Try Posting on the Owners Thread
dsskid likes this.
p5browne is online now  
post #12893 of 12895 Old Yesterday, 05:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Hey everyone, I just bought this from BB; trading in my second PN51F5300 that was having major uniformity issues.

This time, I am upgrading instead in the hopes that PN51F8500 will have better uniformity and much better daylight viewing experience. Looking forward to picking this up on Tuesday
Michael Vincent Praino is online now  
post #12894 of 12895 Old Yesterday, 05:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Hey everyone, I just bought this from BB; trading in my second PN51F5300 that was having major uniformity issues.

This time, I am upgrading instead in the hopes that PN51F8500 will have better uniformity and much better daylight viewing experience. Looking forward to picking this up on Tuesday

Edit: mod, double posted for some reason; please delete.
Michael Vincent Praino is online now  
post #12895 of 12895 Old Today, 06:38 PM
Newbie
 
waynesworld12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This may be a stupid question but Ive just started reading about TVs for the first time in a long time. I have not bought a major tv since I built my house 11 years ago and purchased my Hitachi 57 inch Ultravision. Well its time to upgrade and I've been reading LED vs Plasma etc.... I came across this thread about the 8500.

Does the 8500 come in different sizes are is it a specifice size tv.
I see so many tvs at Sams, Wal Mart, Best Buy etc... that look so much better then my old tv but when I make this purchase I want it to be one that I will love for years to come.

Any suggestions?
waynesworld12 is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off