Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 440 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 217Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13171 of 13194 Old 01-07-2016, 03:25 PM
Member
 
SlamKeys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomnan24 View Post
One of the first things I did when setting up the TV was turning ECO off but it was, somehow, back on. I turned it off and the problem is gone. Thanks.
I had a similar issue where my custom picture settings were lost, and then found out that using the "service menu" automatically reverts some of your settings back to factory. I used the service menu just to look at a few things without changing any values, but when I restarted the TV all of my picture customizations were lost. However, I don't recall if the ECO setting was reverted too as a result of using the service menu.

Why shouldn't we list our equipment in our signatures? That's weird.
SlamKeys is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13172 of 13194 Old 01-07-2016, 03:32 PM
Member
 
SlamKeys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Is it normal for the "new and improved" smart hub to only have 3 icons instead of 5 now? I turned my TV on last night after not watching it for a few days and noticed immediately at boot that there were only 3 icons where it always had 5 since day one.

It looked more impressive with 5 icons. I know the "social" screen is gone but I don't know what else they changed. The landing screen also has a handful of channel recommendations that look like they have arabic text, so I'm not sure what that is all about either, and I don't want to click on them for fear that the "smart" hub will think that is my preference or something...

Why shouldn't we list our equipment in our signatures? That's weird.
SlamKeys is offline  
post #13173 of 13194 Old 01-11-2016, 02:42 PM
Member
 
MrNews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlamKeys View Post
Is it normal for the "new and improved" smart hub to only have 3 icons instead of 5 now? I turned my TV on last night after not watching it for a few days and noticed immediately at boot that there were only 3 icons where it always had 5 since day one. It looked more impressive with 5 icons. I know the "social" screen is gone but I don't know what else they changed. The landing screen also has a handful of channel recommendations that look like they have arabic text, so I'm not sure what that is all about either, and I don't want to click on them for fear that the "smart" hub will think that is my preference or something...
That was a change announced (ad nauseam) onscreen (if you have a Samsung account) for the past 3 weeks or so. Samsung has been steadily eliminating many of the pointless services this TV originally offered (viewing guide?!), and many apps as well. When I bought the unit, I immediately set it to boot up to live TV, as all that other stuff is so much clutter. Yes, there are only 3 icons now, and I also saw several TV services with Arabic lettering, probably the Al Jazeera version of the Golf Shopping Channel...
(Edit 1/17/16 Al Jazeera just shut down all their US channels, so it's probably not that... LOL)

Last edited by MrNews; 01-17-2016 at 08:50 AM.
MrNews is offline  
 
post #13174 of 13194 Old 04-20-2016, 06:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Warmacblu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Good evening all,

I am experiencing something weird with my F8500 and was wondering if anyone had some suggestions on how to fix it. The television seems to turn itself on at random times throughout the day. It is connected to a Denon X4000 via ARC, so maybe that is the culprit? I haven't tested it out yet, but it should turn itself off after 15 minutes of no signal so this could have happened from the beginning and I would have not known.

Thanks for any advice and please don't hesitate to ask me for more information if necessary.
Warmacblu is offline  
post #13175 of 13194 Old 09-26-2016, 01:07 PM
Senior Member
 
rush2049's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Question for anyone that still reads this thread.

I have the 60" version and am looking at upgrading to LG OLED or one of samsung's quantum dot SUHD sets. What would your all opinion be on where the F8500 falls for picture quality.

I don't want to 'upgrade' to 4k and UHD but have terribly worse picture quality overall. It all boils down to, am I looking at paying another 3 grand or so for the same quality or have prices fallen for comparable tech?
rush2049 is offline  
post #13176 of 13194 Old 09-26-2016, 03:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
9179mhb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Personally, I think you're paying a premium price (e.g. $5K for a OLED65G6P) for a minimal improvement of picture quality. There isn't much content available in native 4K resolution everything else is upscaled. If you want to take advantage of a UHD HT experience you'll also need to replace you're BD player & AVR too.

So it will cost approximately $10K to move from HD to UHD and who knows if the current UHD specs. will be in effect 5 years from now. However, I remember buying my 1st HDTV around 2003 w/2 HD channels to watch, now I have over 100 so perhaps by 2025 UHDTV will be a reality.

Save your money & don't bother upgrading until your current equipment requires replacement.
EscapeVelocity, rush2049 and vavan like this.
9179mhb is offline  
post #13177 of 13194 Old 09-26-2016, 05:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
venus933's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,502
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1752 Post(s)
Liked: 1396
Quote:
Originally Posted by rush2049 View Post
Question for anyone that still reads this thread.

I have the 60" version and am looking at upgrading to LG OLED or one of samsung's quantum dot SUHD sets. What would your all opinion be on where the F8500 falls for picture quality.

I don't want to 'upgrade' to 4k and UHD but have terribly worse picture quality overall. It all boils down to, am I looking at paying another 3 grand or so for the same quality or have prices fallen for comparable tech?
IMO the following PQ attributes will be a downgrade from your plasma from the OLEDs:

1) Motion resolution
2) Video processing
3) Near black detail/banding

Everything else should be the same or better, video processing should only be notable from poorer sources

From FALD LCDs:

1) They’re still transmissive displays!

The only Samsung that has FALD is the KS9800. Sony has the FALD 940D (75” only) and many are smitten with the new Sony Z9D series but the 65” model is priced at $6K . Personally I would only consider the Z9D among LCD televisions. Given your $3,000 or so price range the LG OLED 65B6 (65C6 if 3D is important to you) may be closes to your target especially as we approach the holidays. You're essentially getting the same PQ as the bloated G6.

The 2017 CES is only 3 months away and you can see if LG made any significant strides with their OLEDs, if not get the 65B6 and if so wait till this time next year – The F8500 is still very competitive with SDR content.
EscapeVelocity and rush2049 like this.

LG 65C7
LG 55EG9100 - Bedroom
Vizio SB4051-C0 Soundbar w/wireless Subwoofer
venus933 is offline  
post #13178 of 13194 Old 09-28-2016, 12:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
EscapeVelocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 6,599
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 573 Post(s)
Liked: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrNews View Post
That was a change announced (ad nauseam) onscreen (if you have a Samsung account) for the past 3 weeks or so. Samsung has been steadily eliminating many of the pointless services this TV originally offered (viewing guide?!), and many apps as well. When I bought the unit, I immediately set it to boot up to live TV, as all that other stuff is so much clutter. Yes, there are only 3 icons now, and I also saw several TV services with Arabic lettering, probably the Al Jazeera version of the Golf Shopping Channel...
(Edit 1/17/16 Al Jazeera just shut down all their US channels, so it's probably not that... LOL)
Wait. I like the channel guid for my OTA channels! WTF!

You dont know what you got till its gone...
venus933 likes this.

Epson 8350 / Panasonic AX-200u / Optoma Graywolf 92" / Draper Luma 92"
Samsung 51F8500 / Panasonic P50ST60 / Vizio P502ui-B1E / Sony 50W700B
Sony S790 / Panasonic BDT-220 / Roku 2 XS & Roku 2
Sony NT5 / Samsung F550 / Speakercraft CS3 / Yamaha YAS-105
EscapeVelocity is offline  
post #13179 of 13194 Old 09-29-2016, 04:34 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Test used 64F8500

I broke my plasma and need a replacement. There is used one available locally. What should I look for in the way of faults and problems? Is there a video file that would help in testing the unit out before buying?
bob_958 is offline  
post #13180 of 13194 Old 09-29-2016, 07:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 8,351
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1804 Post(s)
Liked: 1416
I would display an all-white screen and look for signs of burn-in or discoloration (besides the little bit of pink tint that is fairly common) or dead pixels.
Make sure it hasn't been run in "Torch Mode" (contrast and brightness all the way up) for hours at a time.
Good luck.
Michael

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Downloadable FREE demo discs: Demonstration Blu-Ray Discs (Independently Authored)
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
Don't guess, measure: Getting Started With REW: A Step-by-Step Guide
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #13181 of 13194 Old 12-14-2016, 07:26 AM
Member
 
chupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hello. I have a three year old 51 inch 8500. This started yesterday.
It won't turn on using either the touch pad remote or the I.R. remote. But, it will turn off using either remote.
If I unplug it for about a minute and plug it back, it will turn on using the remotes.
Also, It will turn on with the little round power button located behind the I.R. sensor , lower left side back.
I called Samsung and they said it sounds like the I.R. sensor is shot but once it's on, the I.R. remote works fine.
Anybody familiar with this?
chupra is offline  
post #13182 of 13194 Old 12-14-2016, 07:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
muffinmcfluffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Bruno, California
Posts: 1,662
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by chupra View Post
Hello. I have a three year old 51 inch 8500. This started yesterday.
It won't turn on using either the touch pad remote or the I.R. remote. But, it will turn off using either remote.
If I unplug it for about a minute and plug it back, it will turn on using the remotes.
Also, It will turn on with the little round power button located behind the I.R. sensor , lower left side back.
I called Samsung and they said it sounds like the I.R. sensor is shot but once it's on, the I.R. remote works fine.
Anybody familiar with this?
Maybe the IR is more active when turned on than not. For example, if a subwoofer is set to Auto, sometimes it doesn't turn on just because noise starts emitting from the TV... it needs a certain amount of LFE output just to activate (granted, not much). Once it's on, any signal sent to the LFE will play.

I know that's a bad analogy, but that's my only guess there. IR sensor is bad because it can't wake itself up, but once awake then all is good.

Living Room: Samsung PN60F8500 PDP / Anthem MRX 720 / Klipsch RC-62 II / Klipsch RF-82 II (x2) / SVS PC13-Ultra / Sony MDR-7506 Professional / Sony PS3 / DirecTV HR44-500 / DarbeeVision DVP-5000 Darblet / Panamax M5400-PM / miniDSP UMIK‑1 USB
Bedroom: Samsung PN59D7000 PDP / Energy Power Bar Elite Soundbar & SW / Astro A50 / Sony PS4 / DirecTV C41W-500 / DarbeeVision DVP-5000 Darblet / Hauppauge HD PVR 2
Classroom: SMART Board X800 / Yamaha RX-V667 / Insignia NS-B2111 (x2) / SVS SB-2000
muffinmcfluffin is online now  
post #13183 of 13194 Old 12-14-2016, 08:25 AM
Senior Member
 
shadowspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Out of Area
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by chupra View Post
Hello. I have a three year old 51 inch 8500. This started yesterday.
It won't turn on using either the touch pad remote or the I.R. remote. But, it will turn off using either remote.
If I unplug it for about a minute and plug it back, it will turn on using the remotes.
Also, It will turn on with the little round power button located behind the I.R. sensor , lower left side back.
I called Samsung and they said it sounds like the I.R. sensor is shot but once it's on, the I.R. remote works fine.
Anybody familiar with this?


Sounds like you might be starting to get affected by this problem:


Samsung PN64F8500AFXZA Issues with turning on


If that is what's happening to you, deep into that thread is the discovery that the problem is three crummy capacitors on the Y board that lose their oomph over time and need to be replaced by quality capacitors.
shadowspawn is offline  
post #13184 of 13194 Old 12-14-2016, 10:38 AM
Member
 
chupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowspawn View Post
Sounds like you might be starting to get affected by this problem:


Samsung PN64F8500AFXZA Issues with turning on


If that is what's happening to you, deep into that thread is the discovery that the problem is three crummy capacitors on the Y board that lose their oomph over time and need to be replaced by quality capacitors.
wow, thanks for the quick response.
Question. The TV is no longer under warranty. I never opened up the back of any of the 4 plasma displays I've owned. Do you think I'd have any problem buying a board and installing it myself. Is there anything I need to know other than taking out the board and putting the new one in?
chupra is offline  
post #13185 of 13194 Old 12-14-2016, 11:51 AM
Senior Member
 
shadowspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Out of Area
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by chupra View Post
wow, thanks for the quick response.
Question. The TV is no longer under warranty. I never opened up the back of any of the 4 plasma displays I've owned. Do you think I'd have any problem buying a board and installing it myself. Is there anything I need to know other than taking out the board and putting the new one in?



Well, I can't speak for anyone but myself. I could change a board with no problem, it's mostly just screws and ribbon connector(s); but I was an electrician in a past life, and an electronic hobbyist as a teenager.


The issue with swapping a board is that there are no Y boards available from Samsung. They used up all the spare parts pushing out TV's at the end, and few parts are available. The Y board is in especially short supply, although I think a few people have gotten them off eBay, out of F8500's that had cracked panels and etc.


In the thread, a source of the capacitors is identified (I think it was the Mouser parts company), and people have been buying the capacitors and replacing them themselves. I actually bought a couple of sets to put in a drawer in case I ever need them someday.


Having a TV repair shop replace capacitors should also not be very expensive.


But you should have confidence that is the problem before tearing things apart. You "might" be starting to get affected by that problem. There is a LOT of info in that thread.


EDIT: There actually appears to be some boards on eBay now, IF I am interpreting the offerings correctly. If one was to go that route, one would want to take the back off the TV and copy down the part number, and make sure to get that exact part number.

Last edited by shadowspawn; 12-14-2016 at 11:59 AM.
shadowspawn is offline  
post #13186 of 13194 Old 12-14-2016, 12:07 PM
Member
 
chupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowspawn View Post
Well, I can't speak for anyone but myself. I could change a board with no problem, it's mostly just screws and ribbon connector(s); but I was an electrician in a past life, and an electronic hobbyist as a teenager.


The issue with swapping a board is that there are no Y boards available from Samsung. They used up all the spare parts pushing out TV's at the end, and few parts are available. The Y board is in especially short supply, although I think a few people have gotten them off eBay, out of F8500's that had cracked panels and etc.


In the thread, a source of the capacitors is identified (I think it was the Mouser parts company), and people have been buying the capacitors and replacing them themselves. I actually bought a couple of sets to put in a drawer in case I ever need them someday.


Having a TV repair shop replace capacitors should also not be very expensive.


But you should have confidence that is the problem before tearing things apart. You "might" be starting to get affected by that problem. There is a LOT of info in that thread.


EDIT: There actually appears to be some boards on eBay now, IF I am interpreting the offerings correctly. If one was to go that route, one would want to take the back off the TV and copy down the part number, and make sure to get that exact part number.

Thanks. I just checked Ebay and there are some used boards taken from cracked panels etc like you mentioned. I'm about to remove the back of the panel and get all the board #s.
Also started reading the thread you supplied.
One more question please.

So I'll get the part # and see if it's on Ebay. If so I'll buy it and replace it.
Worse case, I'll be out <$100? Right. So there is no chance of me bricking the set if I install the exact same part? Is there?
chupra is offline  
post #13187 of 13194 Old 12-14-2016, 01:20 PM
Senior Member
 
shadowspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Out of Area
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by chupra View Post
Thanks. I just checked Ebay and there are some used boards taken from cracked panels etc like you mentioned. I'm about to remove the back of the panel and get all the board #s.
Also started reading the thread you supplied.
One more question please.

So I'll get the part # and see if it's on Ebay. If so I'll buy it and replace it.
Worse case, I'll be out <$100? Right. So there is no chance of me bricking the set if I install the exact same part? Is there?


Well, there's no guarantees in life. Many boards have been replaced by professionals and by owners, and the TV's worked perfectly afterwards. I've never personally heard of a TV being bricked by swapping in a working, correct board.


But these things have become finicky beasts in recent years. On this page begins the saga of mrfixit58, who replaced the F8500 main board, and the TV never worked quite right after that:


Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Owners Thread (No Street Price Talk)


And there's always the chance of someone selling a bad board, that blows up whatever it gets connected to.


Its' a very personal decision...
shadowspawn is offline  
post #13188 of 13194 Old 12-15-2016, 08:48 AM
Member
 
chupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowspawn View Post
Well, there's no guarantees in life. Many boards have been replaced by professionals and by owners, and the TV's worked perfectly afterwards. I've never personally heard of a TV being bricked by swapping in a working, correct board.


But these things have become finicky beasts in recent years. On this page begins the saga of mrfixit58, who replaced the F8500 main board, and the TV never worked quite right after that:


Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Owners Thread (No Street Price Talk)


And there's always the chance of someone selling a bad board, that blows up whatever it gets connected to.


Its' a very personal decision...

Well I got the Y board number and I can get a used one on Ebay.
Here's what I'll do.
I'll install the new board, it it fixes the problem fine. If not or it adds another problem, I'll remove it and put the old one back in.
I can live with the problem I have now which is only not being able to turn it on with the remotes.
chupra is offline  
post #13189 of 13194 Old 07-28-2017, 05:30 AM
Newbie
 
TTCam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi all, found the thread Samsung PN64F8500AFXZA Issues with turning on but asking here as well just in case.
I have a PN51F8500 just about 4yrs old. Tv was on during midday, heard a loud clap sound and it shut off and wouldn't come back on with the dreaded red blinking light. After inspecting and troubleshooting, powering up with different configurations of the boards connected and disconnected, discovered the problem on the y board. One of the capacitors pretty much exploded (see pic 1)





Can anyone point me to the replacements for these? Or should i just get a "new" y board (see pic 2) saw a couple used/pulled from broken screens on eBay


Absolutely love my plasma and it would suck to have to get rid of it
TTCam is offline  
post #13190 of 13194 Old 07-28-2017, 05:47 AM
Senior Member
 
WVZR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 31
There should be some small print on the capacitor that will allow you to ID it and along with the socket location on the board I'd think you could attempt a repair. I've never looked for a wiring/diagnostic for 51 but it might certainly be out there.

Were it mine I might be inclined to do a repair of what I had in hand than just randomly purchasing a board.

What is the small print and the socket ID on the board?

A local shop might very well be able to advise you.
WVZR1 is online now  
post #13191 of 13194 Old 07-28-2017, 06:02 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 17,407
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1704 Post(s)
Liked: 731
TTCam.....Samsung PN64F8500AFXZA Issues with turning on

Also, if you google Samsung F8500 y board, one of the results has to do with "Jimmy's" which repairs boards.
JimP is offline  
post #13192 of 13194 Old 07-28-2017, 08:03 AM
Newbie
 
TTCam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by WVZR1 View Post
There should be some small print on the capacitor that will allow you to ID it and along with the socket location on the board I'd think you could attempt a repair. I've never looked for a wiring/diagnostic for 51 but it might certainly be out there.

Were it mine I might be inclined to do a repair of what I had in hand than just randomly purchasing a board.

What is the small print and the socket ID on the board?

A local shop might very well be able to advise you.
Thanks for the quick reply, the socket location is C5045. will have to verify the small print on the capacitor. Took the board to a local shop and the tech told me I needed to order 'RJP63K2' to replace the row of capacitors (C5044-C5047) as they all had failed. Searching for it online found these: RJP63K2 but those clearly arent the same so I havent got much faith in the local shop or tech and am fairly confident after reading through the thread that I can probably do this repair myself (once I acquire all the correct information and parts). Searched relentlessly for the service manual and a wiring/diagnostic unfortunately seems the only way to get it is to buy the manual from samsungparts.com for $12

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post
TTCam.....Samsung PN64F8500AFXZA Issues with turning on

Also, if you google Samsung F8500 y board, one of the results has to do with "Jimmy's" which repairs boards.
Thanks Jim, i've pretty much read every post in that thread at least twice, the links posted for replacement capacitors were for 3 capacitors in sequence on the 64F8500 and 60F8500 but as Post 273 stated they aren't the same as the ones pictured on my 51F8500. So I did not want to make any assumption that those three caps are the same as the cap that exploded on my y board. Surely if you read my post in its entirety, I mentioned that I found that thread.....
TTCam is offline  
post #13193 of 13194 Old 07-28-2017, 08:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by TTCam View Post
Thanks for the quick reply, the socket location is C5045. will have to verify the small print on the capacitor. Took the board to a local shop and the tech told me I needed to order 'RJP63K2' to replace the row of capacitors (C5044-C5047) as they all had failed. Searching for it online found these: RJP63K2 but those clearly arent the same so I havent got much faith in the local shop or tech and am fairly confident after reading through the thread that I can probably do this repair myself (once I acquire all the correct information and parts). Searched relentlessly for the service manual and a wiring/diagnostic unfortunately seems the only way to get it is to buy the manual from samsungparts.com for $12
Yeah, what he told you to buy were transistors, not capacitors, lol. Though, looking at the heat sinks right by those caps and the marking on the board of Q502X, those are transistors, which may (or may not) have been damaged, which might be the part number he gave you. However, they might be fine and you just need to replace that cap.

So post the markings you see on the caps in here and I can probably help.


Quote:
Thanks Jim, i've pretty much read every post in that thread at least twice, the links posted for replacement capacitors were for 3 capacitors in sequence on the 64F8500 and 60F8500 but as Post 273 stated they aren't the same as the ones pictured on my 51F8500. So I did not want to make any assumption that those three caps are the same as the cap that exploded on my y board. Surely if you read my post in its entirety, I mentioned that I found that thread.....
Yeah, I've yet to have this issue (thankfully, knock on wood), so I haven't had to investigate this issue really yet, but it's not safe to assume that those 3 caps are the same as the cap that you need to replace.

Samsung 64F8500| OPPO 93| Amazon Fire TV
Samsung 51F8500| OPPO 93| WiiU
Samsung 51F8500| Sony BDP-S360| Xbox One
sickkent is online now  
post #13194 of 13194 Old 07-31-2017, 04:38 PM
Newbie
 
TTCam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hey, remarkably the tech shop was "closed" for the weekend so I only got the y-board back today. Here's a closeup pic of the cap (attached)
Googled those markings and found what looks like to be the replacements for the caps on a PN51F8500 331K 1KV
gonna order a couple swap them myself and report back. fingers crossed that's the only thing that exploded.
Thanks @sickkent and @WVZR1
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg capacitor.jpeg (17.4 KB, 21 views)
sickkent likes this.
TTCam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off