2013 Panasonic Settings/Issues Thread - Page 114 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3391 of 3413 Old 06-21-2014, 07:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Chere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 51
^^^^^You are a brave soul Not a lot of people here venture into the service menu anymore especially since Panasonic put the usage hours on the main menu itself. Be careful milling about in there.
Chere is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3392 of 3413 Old 06-22-2014, 07:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Put in D-nice's and CNET's settings. Skin tones and colors in general are probably a bit more accurate with CNET's settings, but I like the pop in the colors D-nice's settings provide. Both are outstanding and much better than any built in settings. I had to use True Cinema mode rather than Cinema mode for CNET's settings on my TH-P42ST60W. Most settings are grayed out in Cinema mode.

After some comparing, I think I have settled on CNET's settings, but I appreciate having both. Shadow detail and color accuracy just seems superior with the CNET settings.

Last edited by TheronB; 06-22-2014 at 09:10 PM.
TheronB is offline  
post #3393 of 3413 Old 06-29-2014, 12:24 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
My TH-P42ST60W has developed a stuck red pixel on the lower left corner. It came out right around the 150 hour mark. I am sure it wasn't there before because it sticks out easily on the light D-Nice slides. Hopefully it clears itself up eventually, but I cannot see it during normal viewing. I probably would have never seen it if I had stopped running the slides. I plan to run them often until I reach the 500 hour mark. Luckily I have mellowed with age...I would have been pissed when I was younger.

EDIT - The stuck pixel fixed itself already! WOOT!

Found these settings for the 42" model...
http://www.avforums.com/threads/panasonic-tx-p42st60b-reviewers-recommended-best-settings.1785807/

Very similar end result to the CNET settings but a good bit dimmer. I moved them over to the custom mode as an alternative to my favorite, the CNET settings. I don't need the D-Nice settings any longer...much too red for my taste.

Last edited by TheronB; 07-05-2014 at 10:55 AM.
TheronB is offline  
post #3394 of 3413 Old 07-07-2014, 10:20 AM
Newbie
 
Oyama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a couple of questions in regards to the North American TC-PxxZT60 Reference Settings.

  1. In the Pro Settings I don't see an option for "Normal" under Color Gaumut. What I do see are the following: Native, Rec. 709, SMPTE-C, EBU.
  2. Under the HDMI/DVI RGB Range settings, I don't see an option for "Off". What I see are: Auto, Nonstandard, Standard (16-235).

I would also like to thank D-Nice for sharing his settings. It is very much appreciated!
Oyama is offline  
post #3395 of 3413 Old 07-07-2014, 02:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 4,892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oyama View Post
I have a couple of questions in regards to the North American TC-PxxZT60 Reference Settings.

  1. In the Pro Settings I don't see an option for "Normal" under Color Gaumut. What I do see are the following: Native, Rec. 709, SMPTE-C, EBU.
  2. Under the HDMI/DVI RGB Range settings, I don't see an option for "Off". What I see are: Auto, Nonstandard, Standard (16-235).

I would also like to thank D-Nice for sharing his settings. It is very much appreciated!
Should be rec709 and off refers to hdmi content type .
chunon is online now  
post #3396 of 3413 Old 07-08-2014, 01:31 PM
Senior Member
 
music_to_my_ear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
Should be rec709 and off refers to hdmi content type .
I noticed d-nice has gamma at 2.4 for day mode. Isn't too high for day time viewing? Why Not 2.2 or lower?

Last edited by music_to_my_ear; 07-08-2014 at 01:35 PM.
music_to_my_ear is offline  
post #3397 of 3413 Old 07-08-2014, 02:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 4,892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 448
2.4 is a gamma preset, it actually measures closer to 2.2. It is a starting point for a calibration and then the gamma is adjusted to whatever the target its. My calibrated day mode is 2.2.

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #3398 of 3413 Old 07-08-2014, 04:13 PM
Newbie
 
Oyama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
Should be rec709 and off refers to hdmi content type .
chunon, thanks for your response.

So should I leave the HDMI/DVI RGB Range on its default setting "Standard (16-235)" then?
Oyama is offline  
post #3399 of 3413 Old 07-08-2014, 04:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 4,892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oyama View Post
chunon, thanks for your response.

So should I leave the HDMI/DVI RGB Range on its default setting "Standard (16-235)" then?
It depends in the source but yes for the majority of sources it should be either auto or standard.
chunon is online now  
post #3400 of 3413 Old 07-08-2014, 04:18 PM
Newbie
 
Oyama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
It depends in the source but yes for the majority of sources it should be either auto or standard.
Okay then, thanks for that clarification.
Oyama is offline  
post #3401 of 3413 Old 07-08-2014, 08:18 PM
Senior Member
 
music_to_my_ear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by music_to_my_ear View Post
I noticed d-nice has gamma at 2.4 for day mode. Isn't too high for day time viewing? Why Not 2.2 or lower?
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
2.4 is a gamma preset, it actually measures closer to 2.2. It is a starting point for a calibration and then the gamma is adjusted to whatever the target its. My calibrated day mode is 2.2.
Gotcha...so I can adjust it as needed and it won't affect gamma target?
music_to_my_ear is offline  
post #3402 of 3413 Old 07-09-2014, 01:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,638
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 249
There seems to be some question about what Gamut to choose in are VT60 settings.
Below are three screen shots, the first screen shot is of the Native setting, the second screen shot is of the Rec. 709 setting.
The two screen shots are from my last calibration when I had my VT60 set to Native when running the calibration.
The first screen shot I had my VT60 set to Native.
The second screen shot I had my VT60 set to Rec. 709. This screen shot is just to show the difference in the CIE chart. If I had my VT60 set to Rec. 709 when I ran the calibration the second screen shot would be close to the third screen shot
As you can see the Native Gamut is larger, and larger is usually considered better.
The third screen shot is of my last calibration I did using Gamut setting of Rec. 709 when I ran the calibration.
As you can see not bad, but Green and Cyan miss dead center and slightly higher color errors.

ss
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ColorSpace Native.jpg (284.9 KB, 19 views)
File Type: jpg ColorSpace Rec. 709.jpg (284.6 KB, 14 views)
File Type: jpg ColorSpace when use Rec. 709.jpg (283.0 KB, 15 views)

Last edited by sillysally; 07-09-2014 at 01:49 AM.
sillysally is online now  
post #3403 of 3413 Old 07-09-2014, 03:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 4,892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by music_to_my_ear View Post
Gotcha...so I can adjust it as needed and it won't affect gamma target?

No it affects the gamma. There is no control you can adjust without some effect .
chunon is online now  
post #3404 of 3413 Old 07-09-2014, 08:25 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Do you guys notice a big difference in shadow detail with D-Nice's settings VS CNET's settings? On my TH-P42ST60W (Taiwan model), shadow detail is much better with CNET's at gamma 2.2 and I don't notice any difference in contrast. The red tint to D-Nice's settings is a huge turn off for me as well.
TheronB is offline  
post #3405 of 3413 Old Yesterday, 09:33 AM
Member
 
James Freeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Why the big disclaimer in the first post that these slides are NOT for break-in, when they actually are?

I mainly be watching 2.39:1 movies (blu rays) on my new plasma.
Should I run 100 hours of these break-in slides? If so, can I then watch 4:3 3.39:1 movies without worries?

Last edited by James Freeman; Yesterday at 09:58 AM.
James Freeman is offline  
post #3406 of 3413 Old Yesterday, 09:59 AM
Senior Member
 
NCCaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Freeman View Post
Why the big disclaimer in the first post that these slides are NOT for break-in, when they actually are?

I mainly be watching 2.39:1 movies (blu rays) on my new plasma.
Should I run 100 hours of these break-in slides?
D-Nice only claims that running these slides for the number of hours stated allows you to recreate the same pattern he used of aging the phosphors before applying his settings. (The term "break-in" is often used to running an electronic device for a certain period of time, temperature, etc.) Since all display panels will be different (similar, perhaps for a given model, but different), there is no guarantee that following his procedure and using his settings will result in the same results on your particular TV. He is just giving you the steps to run the same procedure. That is the reason for the disclaimer.

Having said that, I did run his slides for 200 hours on my U.S. model P60ST60 and then watched mainly full screen content for the next couple of hundred hours just to be on the safe side. Initially I kept the contrast set at about 70-80 on the slider just to not push things too hard initially. Many here say that is not necessary, but it did not impact my viewing since I let the slides run overnight and on the weekends and watching full screen content either came directly from the shows or movies I watched or achieved using the various zoom settings. I did not end up even using D-Nice's settings (or any other published settings). I made a few tweaks to the settings and obtained a very good, natural picture for movies and TV. I may dial it in further later on using a disc with test patterns, but for now, I am very happy with it.
NCCaniac is offline  
post #3407 of 3413 Old Yesterday, 10:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whipit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SGF
Posts: 1,407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Freeman View Post
Why the big disclaimer in the first post that these slides are NOT for break-in, when they actually are?

I mainly be watching 2.39:1 movies (blu rays) on my new plasma.
Should I run 100 hours of these break-in slides? If so, can I then watch 4:3 3.39:1 movies without worries?
You can only run 16:9 content without worries. Anything else should be limited to around 15% of usage time. So if you do, do it at your own risk.

I never ran slides on my three plasmas since they are only needed if a Pro calibration is needed quickly. I just setup the pic to my liking and limited black bars/logos a bit when new.

When I received my VT60 I unlocked pro modes, turned up the contrast to 96(most suggest much lower) and made sure pixel orbiter was turned on. In the first week I watched 3 letterboxed movies and put on about 75 hours. I have no lingering problems, your mileage may vary.

One of the things I like to do after watching a compromised screen is to play full screen content for a while before I turn it off. That may seem a little silly but I do that to even out the screen wear while it's still warm.
whipit is online now  
post #3408 of 3413 Old Yesterday, 10:38 AM
Member
 
James Freeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by whipit View Post
You can only run 16:9 content without worries. Anything else should be limited to around 15% of usage time. So if you do, do it at your own risk.
After the 100 hours of break-in????
Can anyone confirm this?
James Freeman is offline  
post #3409 of 3413 Old Yesterday, 11:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whipit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SGF
Posts: 1,407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Just to add: that advise is for the whole life of the tv. It was in previous owners manuals to limit the possibility of IR, IIRC. If you call panasonic it's what they will tell you.

Most here will advise to take it easy on the tv during the first 100 hrs. I ran lots of windowed content on my ST30 for the first year, say 75% and got a little IR from that but now it's all gone since I don't do that anymore. Black areas aren't as bad as bright logos. Full screen content is your friend
whipit is online now  
post #3410 of 3413 Old Yesterday, 02:06 PM
Member
 
Downpresser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought a floor model 55" ST60 a couple months ago and have been very happy with it. Had 2900 hours on it but no burn/IR whatsoever due to Sears having a full-screen loop (good job, Sears!).

I've done next to no tweaking it whatsoever and just have been using it mostly in Cinema mode (I had a GT25 with THX mode and I'm missing that a fair bit). I'm just curious what the general consensus here is for using 'recommended settings' on sets that weren't exactly properly broken-in. I realize this is subjective, just curious about others experiences.

Last edited by Downpresser; Yesterday at 02:14 PM.
Downpresser is offline  
post #3411 of 3413 Old Yesterday, 02:41 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by Downpresser View Post
I'm just curious what the general consensus here is for using 'recommended settings' on sets that weren't exactly properly broken-in. I realize this is subjective, just curious about others experiences.
You don't need a consensus. You can try any posted settings and judge for yourself if there is any improvement in picture quality. The only way to be sure that you're getting the most accurate PQ from you set is to hire one of the professional calibrators here at AVS who have good reputations.
htwaits is offline  
post #3412 of 3413 Old Yesterday, 05:06 PM
Member
 
rlshky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chere View Post
^^^^^You are a brave soul Not a lot of people here venture into the service menu anymore especially since Panasonic put the usage hours on the main menu itself. Be careful milling about in there.

Have I missed something? I don't see the service hours anywhere in the regular menus unless you're talking about the UK models that he was mentioning?
rlshky is offline  
post #3413 of 3413 Old Yesterday, 05:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whipit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SGF
Posts: 1,407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlshky View Post
Have I missed something? I don't see the service hours anywhere in the regular menus unless you're talking about the UK models that he was mentioning?
(Quoted from a previous poster): You can check the hours via the Menu, Help, Version, Status Line 4 (ie: C1350-00000 means 1350 hours are on the TV).
whipit is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P55st60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P65st60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P50st60 50 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P60st60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P60vt60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P55vt60 55 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P65s60 65 Inch 1080p 600hz Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic 60 Inch Plasma Hdtv Tc P60s60 , Panasonic Tc P55s60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P50s60 50 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic 42 Inch Plasma Hdtv Tc P42s60
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off