2013 Panasonic Settings/Issues Thread - Page 28 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #811 of 3453 Old 05-17-2013, 05:00 PM
Member
 
Foolius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD2Blu View Post

I'm curious, do you notice any improvements between your new ST60 and your old VT30 or do you wish you would have kept it? I'm referring to 2D cable, and bluray content

I actually pulled the trigger on the 65VT60 and so far I'm hugely impressed when it comes to blu-ray content. The blacks are incredible on this thing and I'm only using the Cnet settings for now. Normal 2D viewing with cable looks about the same from what I can tell but that might be more to do with my provider than the set and I haven't done any real gaming either other than try to see how 3D games look.

Overall, I'd say I'm happy with the purchase due to the huge improvement to blu-ray content, but I'm bummed about the loud fans and in my opinion, horrible 3D output. I'm kind of confused when many reviews say the 3D has improved but in my opinion, my VT60 is a huge step back compared to my old VT30.
Foolius is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #812 of 3453 Old 05-17-2013, 05:48 PM
Member
 
JonThomasDesigns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foolius View Post

I actually pulled the trigger on the 65VT60 and so far I'm hugely impressed when it comes to blu-ray content. The blacks are incredible on this thing and I'm only using the Cnet settings for now. Normal 2D viewing with cable looks about the same from what I can tell but that might be more to do with my provider than the set and I haven't done any real gaming either other than try to see how 3D games look.

Overall, I'd say I'm happy with the purchase due to the huge improvement to blu-ray content, but I'm bummed about the loud fans and in my opinion, horrible 3D output. I'm kind of confused when many reviews say the 3D has improved but in my opinion, my VT60 is a huge step back compared to my old VT30.

****ing fans lol .. I have a second 65"VT60 in the basement running slides but I have a feeling it's the same fan issues so maybe it's room acoustics and not difference in fans , or I've just had bad luck twice ... I'm thinking about maybe taking the back off and replacing the fans with quiet PC fans , if I thought it would work I would do it
JonThomasDesigns is offline  
post #813 of 3453 Old 05-17-2013, 05:57 PM
Member
 
Foolius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonThomasDesigns View Post

****ing fans lol .. I have a second 65"VT60 in the basement running slides but I have a feeling it's the same fan issues so maybe it's room acoustics and not difference in fans , or I've just had bad luck twice ... I'm thinking about maybe taking the back off and replacing the fans with quiet PC fans , if I thought it would work I would do it

My VT30 was deathly quiet compared to my VT60 in the same location. I decided not push my luck with a replacement in case I ended up with the same problem, or even worse, a defect with the screen. Now I'm starting to reconsider if my set truly has a defect with displaying 3D content.
Foolius is offline  
post #814 of 3453 Old 05-17-2013, 06:02 PM
Member
 
HD2Blu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tampa, Fl.
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foolius View Post

I actually pulled the trigger on the 65VT60 and so far I'm hugely impressed when it comes to blu-ray content. The blacks are incredible on this thing and I'm only using the Cnet settings for now. Normal 2D viewing with cable looks about the same from what I can tell but that might be more to do with my provider than the set and I haven't done any real gaming either other than try to see how 3D games look.

Overall, I'd say I'm happy with the purchase due to the huge improvement to blu-ray content, but I'm bummed about the loud fans and in my opinion, horrible 3D output. I'm kind of confused when many reviews say the 3D has improved but in my opinion, my VT60 is a huge step back compared to my old VT30.

Thanks! I was curious because I have a buddy who owns a VT30 and I wanted to be able to gloat smile.gif
HD2Blu is offline  
post #815 of 3453 Old 05-17-2013, 06:03 PM
Member
 
JonThomasDesigns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foolius View Post

My VT30 was deathly quiet compared to my VT60 in the same location. I decided not push my luck with a replacement in case I ended up with the same problem, or even worse, a defect with the screen. Now I'm starting to reconsider if my set truly has a defect with displaying 3D content.

I was in the same boat because I already had a good 350+ hrs on my first one .. Now I got to start all over frown.gif ... Have you tried 3d setting mode changing the 3d effect to plus 3 ? That seemed to help me
JonThomasDesigns is offline  
post #816 of 3453 Old 05-17-2013, 06:04 PM
Member
 
HD2Blu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tampa, Fl.
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foolius View Post

My VT30 was deathly quiet compared to my VT60 in the same location. I decided not push my luck with a replacement in case I ended up with the same problem, or even worse, a defect with the screen. Now I'm starting to reconsider if my set truly has a defect with displaying 3D content.

That's a shame, I understand not wanting to trade one problem for another. So far, I am one of the lucky ones. I haven't had ANY issues. I hear I fans, no buzz, no screen issues...(knock on wood). If it bugs you enough, it may be worth swapping since others don't have the problem and you didn't experience it in the same room with the VT30?
HD2Blu is offline  
post #817 of 3453 Old 05-17-2013, 06:11 PM
Member
 
JonThomasDesigns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
The fans wouldn't be so bad if they were steady but its the pulsating sound that's driving me bonkers
JonThomasDesigns is offline  
post #818 of 3453 Old 05-17-2013, 07:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Blu_One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: LiVe from the Nation's Capital | Canada
Posts: 1,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

It's probably more like .05%. wink.gif

Hahah yeah most probably is

Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

True, but it's not related to D-Nice's procedure. wink.gif

True, D-Nice simplified it for the average Joe wink.gif

65" PanasonicST60 | Onkyo809 | Oppo103 + 4TB WD HDD
PS4 pre-order | PS3 80GB / 4x USB | 1TB 9865HD | Apple TV3 | Darbee Darblet | AirPort Extreme
5.2 system - 5x Arx A2 + 2x SVS SB12-NSD | Harmony One | Samsung DA-E670
MonsterPower HTS1700 / 2x PRT510 / PRT410 | Monster / Blue Jeans / Emotiva cables
Blu_One is offline  
post #819 of 3453 Old 05-17-2013, 07:16 PM
Member
 
Foolius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonThomasDesigns View Post

I was in the same boat because I already had a good 350+ hrs on my first one .. Now I got to start all over frown.gif ... Have you tried 3d setting mode changing the 3d effect to plus 3 ? That seemed to help me

Plus 3 helps to some extent but I notice it causes some crosstalk issues to appear on UI elements. I guess it's better than there being crosstalk with the main screen.
Foolius is offline  
post #820 of 3453 Old 05-17-2013, 08:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p3Orion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 41
D-nice,

Are you considering changing the slide time to 200-300 hours considering the increased drift of the ST60? Would you then have to do the whole process over yourself since your current settings are for 100 hours?
p3Orion is offline  
post #821 of 3453 Old 05-19-2013, 08:53 PM
Newbie
 
TerryofMPS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My neighbor locked wife and kids in the garage for the 100 hours. Well worth it he says. The wife wanted to watch some dumb soap opera and the kids couldn't get enough of Sponge Bob! Great results he says. He's still worried, he says, that Sponge Bob might get burned into the screen, and he doesn't think he can keep everyone in the garage much longer.
TerryofMPS is offline  
post #822 of 3453 Old 05-19-2013, 08:55 PM
Member
 
scientifix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I had posted this on the main ST60 thread, but didn't see a response. The TV I have in mind is 65ST60 ...

I was thinking when I get my new tv (hopefully very soon) I will just start watching programs on the TV, try out the settings posted here/cnet and tweak it to my liking. I wasn't going to have the patience to run the slides for 4 full days. But from some of the posts here I see another advantage that running the slides accelerates the possibility of discovering an issue, if any, with the TV before the return period.
So those who are replacing their main TV that run the slides keep the tv in a separate location for 4 days so while it is running the slides you can continue to watch TV?
And if I run the slides from the USB flash drive, do I need to change some settings from default so the tv doesn't go offline or start running a screen saver after a while?
scientifix is offline  
post #823 of 3453 Old 05-19-2013, 09:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
tuffluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Got to watch all weekend after running the slides. I used both D-Nice and Cnet settings, and my wife and I both prefer the D-Nice settings. I would be curious to learn of the 3D settings. I just used the D-Nice settings for that, too.
Quote:
Originally Posted by scientifix View Post

I had posted this on the main ST60 thread, but didn't see a response. The TV I have in mind is 65ST60 ...

I was thinking when I get my new tv (hopefully very soon) I will just start watching programs on the TV, try out the settings posted here/cnet and tweak it to my liking. I wasn't going to have the patience to run the slides for 4 full days. But from some of the posts here I see another advantage that running the slides accelerates the possibility of discovering an issue, if any, with the TV before the return period.
So those who are replacing their main TV that run the slides keep the tv in a separate location for 4 days so while it is running the slides you can continue to watch TV?
And if I run the slides from the USB flash drive, do I need to change some settings from default so the tv doesn't go offline or start running a screen saver after a while?

I just put mine in my dining room facing the wall. I got used to the whole process pretty quickly, though sometimes at night my wife asked me why we were throwing a party (the RGB slides lit up the room like a nightclub). I think the 4 day wait is easier than you think, especially if you leave your main TV hooked up and just ignore the Panasonic in the other room. Maybe check on it from time to time to make sure it is running properly.
tuffluck is offline  
post #824 of 3453 Old 05-19-2013, 09:08 PM
Senior Member
 
biggweeziehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Buchanan Michigan
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by scientifix View Post

I had posted this on the main ST60 thread, but didn't see a response. The TV I have in mind is 65ST60 ...

I was thinking when I get my new tv (hopefully very soon) I will just start watching programs on the TV, try out the settings posted here/cnet and tweak it to my liking. I wasn't going to have the patience to run the slides for 4 full days. But from some of the posts here I see another advantage that running the slides accelerates the possibility of discovering an issue, if any, with the TV before the return period.
So those who are replacing their main TV that run the slides keep the tv in a separate location for 4 days so while it is running the slides you can continue to watch TV?
And if I run the slides from the USB flash drive, do I need to change some settings from default so the tv doesn't go offline or start running a screen saver after a while?

I followed the instructions in post one (adjust the settings after you start the slide show) ran the set 100hrs straight on the floor in the computer room while we had another set in the living room
biggweeziehd is offline  
post #825 of 3453 Old 05-19-2013, 10:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
dasanii19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
So I saved the slides on my desktop.. Do I just put these on my flash drive and plug it into my tv and let it run for 300 hours in custom mode?

MY NAME IS SUE!!! HOW DO YOU DO!!!

"I started out with nothing, and I still have most of it."
dasanii19 is offline  
post #826 of 3453 Old 05-19-2013, 10:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Blu_One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: LiVe from the Nation's Capital | Canada
Posts: 1,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by dasanii19 View Post

So I saved the slides on my desktop.. Do I just put these on my flash drive and plug it into my tv and let it run for 300 hours in custom mode?

Just follow the instructions in post #1, page 1.smile.gif

65" PanasonicST60 | Onkyo809 | Oppo103 + 4TB WD HDD
PS4 pre-order | PS3 80GB / 4x USB | 1TB 9865HD | Apple TV3 | Darbee Darblet | AirPort Extreme
5.2 system - 5x Arx A2 + 2x SVS SB12-NSD | Harmony One | Samsung DA-E670
MonsterPower HTS1700 / 2x PRT510 / PRT410 | Monster / Blue Jeans / Emotiva cables
Blu_One is offline  
post #827 of 3453 Old 05-19-2013, 10:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
dasanii19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blu_One View Post

Just follow the instructions in post #1, page 1.smile.gif
So a flash drive? It doesn't say

MY NAME IS SUE!!! HOW DO YOU DO!!!

"I started out with nothing, and I still have most of it."
dasanii19 is offline  
post #828 of 3453 Old 05-19-2013, 10:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Blu_One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: LiVe from the Nation's Capital | Canada
Posts: 1,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by dasanii19 View Post

So a flash drive? It doesn't say

Yeah ! A USB flash drive.. there's USB slots on the TV where the inputs are.. cool.gif

65" PanasonicST60 | Onkyo809 | Oppo103 + 4TB WD HDD
PS4 pre-order | PS3 80GB / 4x USB | 1TB 9865HD | Apple TV3 | Darbee Darblet | AirPort Extreme
5.2 system - 5x Arx A2 + 2x SVS SB12-NSD | Harmony One | Samsung DA-E670
MonsterPower HTS1700 / 2x PRT510 / PRT410 | Monster / Blue Jeans / Emotiva cables
Blu_One is offline  
post #829 of 3453 Old 05-20-2013, 05:18 AM
Senior Member
 
RobBas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
the ST60 seems to be great when it comes to IR, I played Bioshock Infinite this weekend which has 3 static status displays; I got stuck killing a boss so I put in way more hours than intended, afterwards not one sign of IR. On my 2008 Panny with many many many more hours I would always see faint IR that went away, but not with this set. Can't believe a$1499 TV could be so amazing. Still can't get used to the black level either, according to the WOW BD, THX DVD, and the AVS one, my settings are pretty accurate. Still seems like it is crushing a bit or it simply be my untrained eyes are just not used to that level of black.
RobBas is offline  
post #830 of 3453 Old 05-20-2013, 06:07 AM
Member
 
candoan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobBas View Post

the ST60 seems to be great when it comes to IR, I played Bioshock Infinite this weekend which has 3 static status displays; I got stuck killing a boss so I put in way more hours than intended, afterwards not one sign of IR. On my 2008 Panny with many many many more hours I would always see faint IR that went away, but not with this set. Can't believe a$1499 TV could be so amazing. Still can't get used to the black level either, according to the WOW BD, THX DVD, and the AVS one, my settings are pretty accurate. Still seems like it is crushing a bit or it simply be my untrained eyes are just not used to that level of black.

So you don't mind to post up your settings that we can share with your experience. Thanks.

Pana 60ST60, Onkyo TX-NR3009, OPPO BDP-103, Klipsch WF-35, Klipsch WS-24, Klipsch WC-24, Klipsch Reference RW-12d, BIC America DV62si.
candoan is offline  
post #831 of 3453 Old 05-20-2013, 07:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wattheF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 125
60ST60 Setup complete!

Thanks D-Nice for the settings

60ST60
wattheF is offline  
post #832 of 3453 Old 05-20-2013, 07:13 PM
Member
 
HD2Blu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tampa, Fl.
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by wattheF View Post

60ST60 Setup complete!

Thanks D-Nice for the settings

60ST60

Looks awesome! Congrats! Really LOVE the setup with the Ikea shelving!
HD2Blu is offline  
post #833 of 3453 Old 05-20-2013, 07:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
dasanii19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by wattheF View Post

60ST60 Setup complete!

Thanks D-Nice for the settings

60ST60
Baller status!!! smile.gif

MY NAME IS SUE!!! HOW DO YOU DO!!!

"I started out with nothing, and I still have most of it."
dasanii19 is offline  
post #834 of 3453 Old 05-21-2013, 04:22 AM
Senior Member
 
RobBas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by candoan View Post

So you don't mind to post up your settings that we can share with your experience. Thanks.

For games, I use CNET settings with increased contrast and set game mode to ON when playing games. You need the little extra brightness especially in an FPS such as Black Ops2 where campers like to hide in corners. Nothing special, as long as you mix up your viewing and not only do ONE thing, IR should never be a problem. Lots of dated information out there about IR/Burn-in, yeah some panels due to manufacturing may be more susceptible, but like I stated earlier, my 2008 would get IR, and quickly fade with normal usage.
RobBas is offline  
post #835 of 3453 Old 05-21-2013, 05:52 AM
Newbie
 
jrw839's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 50" ST60 is being delivered this afternoon! smile.gif I plan on running the slides for the 100 hours (with brief breaks to catch up on the most recent Game of Thrones and Mad Men, which I don't expect to affect the aging significantly). Unfortunately, we live in a small 1-bedroom apartment, so there isn't an out-of-the-way room where I can put the TV out of sight to run slides, and I'm concerned that the changing lights will be very distracting for the rest of the week. Do you think that if I taped a piece of cardboard over the screen it would have any overheating issues?
jrw839 is offline  
post #836 of 3453 Old 05-21-2013, 06:21 AM
Member
 
Heywould's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrw839 View Post

My 50" ST60 is being delivered this afternoon! smile.gif I plan on running the slides for the 100 hours (with brief breaks to catch up on the most recent Game of Thrones and Mad Men, which I don't expect to affect the aging significantly). Unfortunately, we live in a small 1-bedroom apartment, so there isn't an out-of-the-way room where I can put the TV out of sight to run slides, and I'm concerned that the changing lights will be very distracting for the rest of the week. Do you think that if I taped a piece of cardboard over the screen it would have any overheating issues?

Im not telling you to do anyhting different than Dnice says, I am only saying what I did, I set my TV up where I planned on keeping it, I played with it for a little right out of the box and watched a little tv and other things no more than a little while at a time on each channel or source, I would then run the slides when I wasnt useing it..

When ask people they will tell you to run the slides non stop, I have read quite a few that have run the slides but also used the tv off and on, I can tell you that this is what I did, the TV looks great..it will not hurt anything to do what I am saying.

Please dont take my comments as advice, only stating what I and a few others have done.. its only a TV, it should be enjoyed..

PS> I rand the Slides all night and all day while at work for 4-5 days, never turned to tv off once..
jrw839 likes this.
Heywould is offline  
post #837 of 3453 Old 05-21-2013, 09:14 AM
Senior Member
 
garnettrules21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Would running the Disney WoW pixel flipper achieve the same results as running slides? Or does the flipper not effect the phosphors like slides?
garnettrules21 is offline  
post #838 of 3453 Old 05-21-2013, 09:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Blu_One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: LiVe from the Nation's Capital | Canada
Posts: 1,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by garnettrules21 View Post

Would running the Disney WoW pixel flipper achieve the same results as running slides? Or does the flipper not effect the phosphors like slides?

Not the same thing at all, the Disney Wow pixel flipper is to remove persistent Image Retention, not to 'break in' the panel..

65" PanasonicST60 | Onkyo809 | Oppo103 + 4TB WD HDD
PS4 pre-order | PS3 80GB / 4x USB | 1TB 9865HD | Apple TV3 | Darbee Darblet | AirPort Extreme
5.2 system - 5x Arx A2 + 2x SVS SB12-NSD | Harmony One | Samsung DA-E670
MonsterPower HTS1700 / 2x PRT510 / PRT410 | Monster / Blue Jeans / Emotiva cables
Blu_One is offline  
post #839 of 3453 Old 05-21-2013, 09:49 AM
Senior Member
 
garnettrules21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blu_One View Post

Not the same thing at all, the Disney Wow pixel flipper is to remove persistent Image Retention, not to 'break in' the panel..
Gotcha, thanks.
garnettrules21 is offline  
post #840 of 3453 Old 05-21-2013, 10:18 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,772
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrw839 View Post

Do you think that if I taped a piece of cardboard over the screen it would have any overheating issues?
Check out the number of posts that I've been guilty of. Now multiply that number with any factor you want over twenty. That's about how many posts I've read without running into your card board idea. I think it could lead to over heating the panel but I don't know for sure. I wouldn't recommend a blanket either. wink.gif

If the TV is in your living room with the lights on when you are present it shouldn't be a problem. I used the slides in our living room and wasn't bothered by then when we weren't watching TV. I ran our set for 500 hours non-stop to give it every chance to fail early and it didn't. smile.gif

None of the above is a recommendation. wink.gif
htwaits is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P55st60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P65st60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P50st60 50 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P60st60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P60vt60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P55vt60 55 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P65s60 65 Inch 1080p 600hz Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic 60 Inch Plasma Hdtv Tc P60s60 , Panasonic Tc P55s60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P50s60 50 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic 42 Inch Plasma Hdtv Tc P42s60
Gear in this thread - P55st60 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off