2013 Panasonic Settings/Issues Thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 3511 Old 04-12-2013, 04:16 PM
Member
 
supermandlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Dulles, VA
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Here are cnets setting (just posted today) if anyone was interested in comparing the two

http://forums.cnet.com/7723-19410_102-590736/panasonic-tc-p55st60-picture-settings/

http://www.scribd.com/doc/135590606/Panasonic-TC-P55ST60-CNET-review-calibration-results
valkenaar and lecheking like this.

There is no TV too BIG, only rooms too small
supermandlb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 3511 Old 04-12-2013, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 172
The report from D-Nice indicates one very good mid-level priced TV. Black level 0.0016 ftL -- I'm impressed. The only small quibble with the ST60 is the lack of secondary color gamut controls. But, even so, it looks like a fine display. It has just moved up on my list of potential purchases this model year.

Larry
dannov likes this.
LarryInRI is offline  
post #63 of 3511 Old 04-12-2013, 06:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
hotskins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryInRI View Post

The report from D-Nice indicates one very good mid-level priced TV. Black level 0.0016 ftL -- I'm impressed. The only small quibble with the ST60 is the lack of secondary color gamut controls. But, even so, it looks like a fine display. It has just moved up on my list of potential purchases this model year.

Larry

this is great news. plus we all know D-nice has the best meter to measure accurate black levels.
hotskins is offline  
post #64 of 3511 Old 04-13-2013, 03:54 AM
Member
 
Pappas3278's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow! Now that's what I call black!

I was using D-Nice's 2012 settings for the past week or two because I felt they were the best custom settings out there at the given time. But there was an obvious "maroon-ish" tint on an all-black scene or background. Well, that color is ancient history now with these 2013 settings. Blacks are black baby!

Huge thanks to D-Nice for taking the time to calibrate and share his results. They really make the ST60 shine.
Pappas3278 is offline  
post #65 of 3511 Old 04-13-2013, 06:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
jh901's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pappas3278 View Post

Wow! Now that's what I call black!



Huge thanks to D-Nice for taking the time to calibrate and share his results. They really make the ST60 shine.

Did you run the slides, etc?

I'm having a hard time accepting that the VT50 is beaten only a model year later by what is now the 3rd model down. That said, I'm happy if this finding is confirmed over and over. Also wondering if the VT60 will have the same PQ but with more "features"? Gotta leave some room for the ZT60 unless we have a disappointment coming.

HT 3.1: Panny BDT 220 | 60" Panny VT60 | Marantz AV7005 | Focal CMS50 (L/R), CMS40 & CMS Sub

Stereo system: Cary Audio 306 SACD Pro | Cary Audio SLP-05 tube line level | Cary Audio SA-200.2 | Focal Diablo Utopia III
jh901 is offline  
post #66 of 3511 Old 04-13-2013, 07:47 AM
Member
 
Pappas3278's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jh901 View Post

Did you run the slides, etc?

I'm having a hard time accepting that the VT50 is beaten only a model year later by what is now the 3rd model down. That said, I'm happy if this finding is confirmed over and over. Also wondering if the VT60 will have the same PQ but with more "features"? Gotta leave some room for the ZT60 unless we have a disappointment coming.

I did run the slides, but only about 50% of the time. The other 50% was while watching HD channels without logos. I ran this combo for the 100 hours.

Tremendous looking picture. But then again, I'm someone who upgraded from a 7 year old LCD. The difference is laughable! smile.gif
Pappas3278 is offline  
post #67 of 3511 Old 04-13-2013, 02:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
hotskins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pappas3278 View Post

I did run the slides, but only about 50% of the time. The other 50% was while watching HD channels without logos. I ran this combo for the 100 hours.

Tremendous looking picture. But then again, I'm someone who upgraded from a 7 year old LCD. The difference is laughable! smile.gif

Invite some of your friends over to see. the more plasmas panny sells, the better hope we have of them not discontinuing them.
hotskins is offline  
post #68 of 3511 Old 04-13-2013, 02:56 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 12,154
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2321 Post(s)
Liked: 1159
Quote:
Originally Posted by jh901 View Post

Did you run the slides, etc?

I'm having a hard time accepting that the VT50 is beaten only a model year later by what is now the 3rd model down. That said, I'm happy if this finding is confirmed over and over. Also wondering if the VT60 will have the same PQ but with more "features"? Gotta leave some room for the ZT60 unless we have a disappointment coming.

How can you have a hard time with that? This happens almost EVERY year......this is especially the case when there is a "jump" rather then a step in the increment of performance......as we get closer and closer to reference there will be less and less to differentiate the sets when it comes down to numbers.....
Ph8te is offline  
post #69 of 3511 Old 04-13-2013, 03:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
hotskins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 42
not sure why jh901 has a hard time accepting it. The St50 outperformed the VT30
hotskins is offline  
post #70 of 3511 Old 04-13-2013, 04:16 PM
mnc
AVS Special Member
 
mnc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Dallas, GA
Posts: 2,261
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 324
D-nice, any chance you will post settings for the S60? I just ordered a 42S60 for the bedroom. Thanks.

NHT speakers, Denon 4520, Panasonic 65VT50, DUAL PSA XS30SE's
mnc is offline  
post #71 of 3511 Old 04-13-2013, 04:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
moshock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnc View Post

D-nice, any chance you will post settings for the S60? I just ordered a 42S60 for the bedroom. Thanks.

Would also like S60 settings, probably picking up a 65" soon, so hopefully he does! smile.gif
moshock is offline  
post #72 of 3511 Old 04-14-2013, 07:41 AM
Member
 
blackdemongsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have a quick question. I just bought my first plasma yesterday which is this model the tc-p50st60. I have been running the slides with the picture mode to custom like Dnice suggest for about 13hrs now. If i wanted to watch regular full screen content should i change my picture mode back to standard or just leave it on custom mode. Thank you
blackdemongsx is offline  
post #73 of 3511 Old 04-14-2013, 08:10 AM
Member
 
supermandlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Dulles, VA
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackdemongsx View Post

I have a quick question. I just bought my first plasma yesterday which is this model the tc-p50st60. I have been running the slides with the picture mode to custom like Dnice suggest for about 13hrs now. If i wanted to watch regular full screen content should i change my picture mode back to standard or just leave it on custom mode. Thank you

There are really two thoughts on this. Some of us say, use the slides for 100 hours without any interruption. ( this is believed to get the best results from D-nice's settings/calibration)

Others say is is okay to run the slides and mix it with TV viewing. ( understanding you might not get the best results from D-nice's settings/calibration)

I think the 2nd one is fine as long as you use the whole screen (no black bars on the top/bottom or left/right of the screen) and limit channels that have their emblem on the screen. ( ESPN, CNN, ext.)

And I would leave the default settings for the 1st 100 hours for everything

There is no TV too BIG, only rooms too small
supermandlb is offline  
post #74 of 3511 Old 04-14-2013, 10:50 AM
Member
 
blackdemongsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by supermandlb View Post

There are really two thoughts on this. Some of us say, use the slides for 100 hours without any interruption. ( this is believed to get the best results from D-nice's settings/calibration)

Others say is is okay to run the slides and mix it with TV viewing. ( understanding you might not get the best results from D-nice's settings/calibration)

I think the 2nd one is fine as long as you use the whole screen (no black bars on the top/bottom or left/right of the screen) and limit channels that have their emblem on the screen. ( ESPN, CNN, ext.)

And I would leave the default settings for the 1st 100 hours for everything
Thanks for the information. Im going to try to go as long as i can with out watching any content buuuuttttt just in case i do. Would it be better to switch during commercials often or zooming in the screen to get the logos out the way. Im actually up to 20 hours right now with the slides playing but im a big Rangers fan and the game starts at 3pm today.
blackdemongsx is offline  
post #75 of 3511 Old 04-14-2013, 11:24 AM
Member
 
supermandlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Dulles, VA
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackdemongsx View Post

Thanks for the information. Im going to try to go as long as i can with out watching any content buuuuttttt just in case i do. Would it be better to switch during commercials often or zooming in the screen to get the logos out the way. Im actually up to 20 hours right now with the slides playing but im a big Rangers fan and the game starts at 3pm today.

I don't think you need to zoom in, if you are watching a game for 3 hours or so, you should be fine. But if you are as OCD as some of us, sure zoom away!

There is no TV too BIG, only rooms too small
supermandlb is offline  
post #76 of 3511 Old 04-14-2013, 12:09 PM
Member
 
vome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been watching this TV for this past 2 weeks for about 3-4 hours a day. Is it too late to do the slides now?
vome is offline  
post #77 of 3511 Old 04-14-2013, 12:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 12,154
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2321 Post(s)
Liked: 1159
Quote:
Originally Posted by vome View Post

I've been watching this TV for this past 2 weeks for about 3-4 hours a day. Is it too late to do the slides now?

Its never too late, but you dont "need" to run the slides, its recommended especially if you want to get the best results from DNice's settings or want to age the phosphers more evenly, but it is not required.....
Ph8te is offline  
post #78 of 3511 Old 04-14-2013, 01:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
jh901's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 68
The slides, per the instructions, MUST be run for the first 100 hours. Theoretically, since D-Nice follows the exact same procedure with his panel, the pixels will break in similarly such that using his calibration settings will result in a similar outcome.

The slides ARE NOT useful for anything else AFAIK (as the instructions more or less warn).


Quote:
Originally Posted by vome View Post

I've been watching this TV for this past 2 weeks for about 3-4 hours a day. Is it too late to do the slides now?

^Yes.

But no worries, hire a certified pro.

HT 3.1: Panny BDT 220 | 60" Panny VT60 | Marantz AV7005 | Focal CMS50 (L/R), CMS40 & CMS Sub

Stereo system: Cary Audio 306 SACD Pro | Cary Audio SLP-05 tube line level | Cary Audio SA-200.2 | Focal Diablo Utopia III
jh901 is offline  
post #79 of 3511 Old 04-14-2013, 02:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rahzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Yes, you must run the slides for the first 100hrs of use, otherwise you might as well not run them.

All displays will 'drift' from use, but sometimes the picture significantly changes in the first 100 hours or so. The purpose of the prep is to age your panel past this initial period, 100% uniformly, using the same method as what D-Nice used for his reference panel to remove as many variables as possible and to ensure optimal results.
Christos142 likes this.
rahzel is offline  
post #80 of 3511 Old 04-14-2013, 02:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JSpectre88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,000
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by vome View Post

I've been watching this TV for this past 2 weeks for about 3-4 hours a day. Is it too late to do the slides now?

Probably not much point, but you can run them in your spare time if you like.

I would go ahead and put D-Nice's setting in anyway though, odds are they look better than what you have.
JSpectre88 is offline  
post #81 of 3511 Old 04-14-2013, 03:13 PM
Member
 
blackdemongsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jh901 View Post

The slides, per the instructions, MUST be run for the first 100 hours. Theoretically, since D-Nice follows the exact same procedure with his panel, the pixels will break in similarly such that using his calibration settings will result in a similar outcome.

The slides ARE NOT useful for anything else AFAIK (as the instructions more or less warn).
^Yes.

But no worries, hire a certified pro.
Talking about hiring a certified pro. How does Best Buy Geek squad do on their calibrations. right now they have it for 205.00. i mean ive been running the slides for over 20+hrs since i got the tv yesterday but my nephew is on his way right now and i know he will want to watch tv while he is here.
blackdemongsx is offline  
post #82 of 3511 Old 04-14-2013, 03:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 12,154
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2321 Post(s)
Liked: 1159
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackdemongsx View Post

Talking about hiring a certified pro. How does Best Buy Geek squad do on their calibrations. right now they have it for 205.00. i mean ive been running the slides for over 20+hrs since i got the tv yesterday but my nephew is on his way right now and i know he will want to watch tv while he is here.

I wouldnt pay for one of the geek squad to many variables when it comes to thier "calibration. Head over to the Display Calibration section of the forums and looks for a pro that is in your area.......
Ph8te is offline  
post #83 of 3511 Old 04-14-2013, 03:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JSpectre88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,000
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackdemongsx View Post

Talking about hiring a certified pro. How does Best Buy Geek squad do on their calibrations. right now they have it for 205.00. i mean ive been running the slides for over 20+hrs since i got the tv yesterday but my nephew is on his way right now and i know he will want to watch tv while he is here.

Most people would have reservations letting BB calibrate their TV for free, let alone paying them. biggrin.gif

Hope that answers your question. wink.gif
JSpectre88 is offline  
post #84 of 3511 Old 04-14-2013, 03:36 PM
Member
 
oldsmoboat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackdemongsx View Post

Thanks for the information. Im going to try to go as long as i can with out watching any content buuuuttttt just in case i do. Would it be better to switch during commercials often or zooming in the screen to get the logos out the way. Im actually up to 20 hours right now with the slides playing but im a big Rangers fan and the game starts at 3pm today.
When I get my 60", I am going to sit it on the floor facing the wall and run the slides for 100 hours straight. I'll leave my current 50" hooked up for viewing till then.
oldsmoboat is offline  
post #85 of 3511 Old 04-14-2013, 04:14 PM
Member
 
blackdemongsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldsmoboat View Post

When I get my 60", I am going to sit it on the floor facing the wall and run the slides for 100 hours straight. I'll leave my current 50" hooked up for viewing till then.
well I convinced my nephew to go watch Jurassic park 3d with me so I think ill be alright. I'm just gonna let it run with the slides over night and all day tomorrow while I'm at work. By Tuesday night ill be right at 100hrs. I can't wait till Tuesday night lol
blackdemongsx is offline  
post #86 of 3511 Old 04-14-2013, 05:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
jh901's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldsmoboat View Post

When I get my 60", I am going to sit it on the floor facing the wall and run the slides for 100 hours straight. I'll leave my current 50" hooked up for viewing till then.

Hey, I like that plan! If all goes well, I'm selling my VT50 to a friend, so I'll hang onto it while the ZT60 sits in another room with the slides running for four days and change. My gf is running the slideshow on an S60 right now. LOL. She's a good sport. Hopefully, D-Nice still intends to post settings for it. I'd have some explaining to do otherwise!


Again, the D-Nice slides are not to be used (according to the man himself) for anything other than the initial 100 hours in preparation for his proposed settings.

HT 3.1: Panny BDT 220 | 60" Panny VT60 | Marantz AV7005 | Focal CMS50 (L/R), CMS40 & CMS Sub

Stereo system: Cary Audio 306 SACD Pro | Cary Audio SLP-05 tube line level | Cary Audio SA-200.2 | Focal Diablo Utopia III
jh901 is offline  
post #87 of 3511 Old 04-14-2013, 05:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 12,154
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2321 Post(s)
Liked: 1159
Quote:
Originally Posted by jh901 View Post

Hey, I like that plan! If all goes well, I'm selling my VT50 to a friend, so I'll hang onto it while the ZT60 sits in another room with the slides running for four days and change. My gf is running the slideshow on an S60 right now. LOL. She's a good sport. Hopefully, D-Nice still intends to post settings for it. I'd have some explaining to do otherwise!


Again, the D-Nice slides are not to be used (according to the man himself) for anything other than the initial 100 hours in preparation for his proposed settings.

Its not taht you cant use them, you just wont get as good of results.....There are many may many people who didnt follow the steps to a T and still go good results. Would they ahve been better if they followed the process, almsot certainly, is there anything wrong with mixing content and slides, no......
Ph8te is offline  
post #88 of 3511 Old 04-14-2013, 05:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wattheF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Question...Would there be any downfall to mounting my 60'' (still hypothetical at this point) on the wall then run the slides 100 hrs.? This way I can keep my old TV on its stand in front of it for use in the meantime.

Is there some reason I should run the slides before mounting it that I'm not thinking about?
wattheF is offline  
post #89 of 3511 Old 04-14-2013, 06:42 PM
Senior Member
 
kopkiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Would be fantastic to get calibration setting for the EU/AUS/NZ models.
Christos142 likes this.
kopkiwi is offline  
post #90 of 3511 Old 04-15-2013, 06:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
jh901's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Hoping for an S60 result soon. D-Nice? You have an estimate on when you'll be posting?

Much appreciated!

HT 3.1: Panny BDT 220 | 60" Panny VT60 | Marantz AV7005 | Focal CMS50 (L/R), CMS40 & CMS Sub

Stereo system: Cary Audio 306 SACD Pro | Cary Audio SLP-05 tube line level | Cary Audio SA-200.2 | Focal Diablo Utopia III
jh901 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P55st60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P65st60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P50st60 50 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P60st60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P60vt60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P55vt60 55 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P65s60 65 Inch 1080p 600hz Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic 60 Inch Plasma Hdtv Tc P60s60 , Panasonic Tc P55s60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P50s60 50 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic 42 Inch Plasma Hdtv Tc P42s60

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off