2013 Panasonic Settings/Issues Thread - Page 73 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2161 of 3458 Old 11-15-2013, 12:57 PM
Member
 
elbobo19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got my 65ZT60. How much buzzing is normal? I am running the Dnice slides and I can hear the TV down the hall when it hits the brighter ones.
elbobo19 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2162 of 3458 Old 11-15-2013, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
smurraybhm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Down South
Posts: 1,814
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 477
Return it - that level is not normal. My Kuro was a buzzer, but not that bad, it would get to me from time-to-time - your situation I would not be able tolerate. My VT is virtually silent (ex the fans), lack of buzz was noted by DNice when he did my calibration.

Panasonic 60VT60 (cal by DNice)
Denon 5200 w/ Outlaw 2200 Amps (3)
Ascend Acoustics Sierra 2s F/R & Horizon w/ RAAL Center; Sierra 1s Surrounds; HTM-200s Top Middle and PSB S5 Rear Surrounds; Dual SVS subs
Oppo 103; Onkyo HD-DVD; Apple TV & Roku Stick
Atmos coming soon and Dolby Surround isn't too shabby either.
smurraybhm is offline  
post #2163 of 3458 Old 11-15-2013, 01:36 PM
Member
 
elbobo19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a tech coming to do the fan fix on thursday, hopefully he will be able to do something about the buzz too.
elbobo19 is offline  
post #2164 of 3458 Old 11-15-2013, 03:37 PM
Member
 
vanduse1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just received my 60ST60 this afternoon and started running the slides. On the gray shaded slides I see a single column of pixels on each side (Right & left) that don't match the full screen color. This is only the gray slides and I don't see it on the Blue, Red, etc. Specifically the far right column (last column) pixels are green and the far left (first column) the pixels are purple. Again, this is only on the gray shaded slides.

Has anyone else seen this? Will this go away as the phosphors age? Should I consider this a problem with my panel?
vanduse1 is offline  
post #2165 of 3458 Old 11-15-2013, 03:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whipit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SGF
Posts: 1,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by vanduse1 View Post

I just received my 60ST60 this afternoon and started running the slides. On the gray shaded slides I see a single column of pixels on each side (Right & left) that don't match the full screen color. This is only the gray slides and I don't see it on the Blue, Red, etc. Specifically the far right column (last column) pixels are green and the far left (first column) the pixels are purple. Again, this is only on the gray shaded slides.

Has anyone else seen this? Will this go away as the phosphors age? Should I consider this a problem with my panel?

This is normal. You are seeing the effects at the subpixel level. Think blue>red>green. So it should be lit up blue on the left and green on the right. The blue and red are just mixing to make the purple.
vanduse1 likes this.
whipit is offline  
post #2166 of 3458 Old 11-15-2013, 04:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,225
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 311 Post(s)
Liked: 853
Quote:
Originally Posted by vanduse1 View Post

I just received my 60ST60 this afternoon and started running the slides. On the gray shaded slides I see a single column of pixels on each side (Right & left) that don't match the full screen color. This is only the gray slides and I don't see it on the Blue, Red, etc. Specifically the far right column (last column) pixels are green and the far left (first column) the pixels are purple. Again, this is only on the gray shaded slides.

Has anyone else seen this? Will this go away as the phosphors age? Should I consider this a problem with my panel?
Normal

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #2167 of 3458 Old 11-15-2013, 05:36 PM
Member
 
FiveOhFour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok so i see the post for VT60 settings both here and on the controlcal forums. I had come across the controlcal forum post and the 2013 Settings thread as well but am having some difficulty. I had no issues finding and following the simple directions for the 2012 ST and GT50 units but i am not clear for the 2013 VT60, possibly this is exacerbated by my not having read every single page like i did last year as well.

As for the AVS Forums post. I see in the initial post it mentions the ST/VT/ZT but then in the follow up post that shows the particular settings there is only a ST60 post showing numbers for ST60 and no additional post for the VT60 like i saw last year for example for each model. Are they actually the same, i don't see how they could be but i admittedly am far from as knowledgable as the majority of you.

As for the Controlcal forums post there is a seperate post for the VT60 as i would expect to see but it is just a handul of values and a few files and speaks of needing controlcal software to calibrate. So after running slides download those configuration files and instead of plugging them all in i do it via the software application from a laptop? I'm very computer and technically literate, much more so than i am experienced with displays and calibration. If this is correct i assume many people have done this on here and its pretty much a breeze? Is it not possible to do via remote on the VT60's or is it simply there is so many variables that this makes it much easier?

Thanks so much yet again to all the great people on these forums.
FiveOhFour is offline  
post #2168 of 3458 Old 11-15-2013, 05:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,718
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Its not necessary to use Controlcal, but once you understand how to use CC for the D-Nices posted files then its easier to input those settings using CC.

However it takes about 10 minuets to input those settings in your VT60 manually .

So its up to you, both ways are fairly easy.

ss

"Don't worry be happy"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
sillysally is offline  
post #2169 of 3458 Old 11-15-2013, 06:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 147
RodChester,

Why was this part of the VT60 ControlCAL settings excluded from your listing? The little c in a circle means copyrighted.
Quote:
*** THESE SETTINGS ARE EXCLUSIVELY POSTED HERE AT CALIBRATIONFORUMS.COM / CONTROLCAL.COM AND ARE NOT TO BE POSTED ON ANY OTHER WEBSITE OR FORUM - DO NOT POST/SHARE THE SETTINGS, LINK TO THIS FORUM THREAD INSTEAD - SETTINGS ©2013 D-NICE ***

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #2170 of 3458 Old 11-15-2013, 06:33 PM
Senior Member
 
RodChester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryInRI View Post

RodChester,

Why was this part of the VT60 ControlCAL settings excluded from your listing? The little c in a circle means copyrighted.
Larry

Didn't really see that part of the post. Also, not sure how settings for a TV can be copyrighted. At any rate I have edited my original post to avoid trouble.
RodChester is offline  
post #2171 of 3458 Old 11-15-2013, 06:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by RodChester View Post

Didn't really see that part of the post. Also, not sure how settings for a TV can be copyrighted. At any rate I have edited my original post to avoid trouble.

No it is not fixed. You have to have the author's permission (right) to copy his copyrighted work. rolleyes.gif

Jeez, even human DNA sequences are copyrighted.


Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #2172 of 3458 Old 11-15-2013, 06:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,225
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 311 Post(s)
Liked: 853
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryInRI View Post

RodChester,

Why was this part of the VT60 ControlCAL settings excluded from your listing? The little c in a circle means copyrighted.
Larry
I knew that was coming but I didnt want to be the one to do it.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #2173 of 3458 Old 11-16-2013, 01:29 PM
Newbie
 
beakernz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi Guys, I hope someone can advise me.  I am in New Zealand and just got this set: TH-P50ST60

 

It is this one: http://www.harveynorman.co.nz/tv-and-audio/televisions/plasma-televisions/panasonic-50-full-hd-smart-3d-plasma-tv.html

 

I got a deal on it $300 off listed price.  Anyway, are these "slides" ok to run on my NZ model and apply the following settings?  I just want to do this right as I'm a plasma noob.  If anyone can point me in the right direction, thanks!

beakernz is offline  
post #2174 of 3458 Old 11-17-2013, 08:09 PM
Newbie
 
beakernz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Well, I have kicked off the slides.  just 99.5hrs to go! lol.  It's painful having to wait but I want to do this right.  The TV looks glorious in our living room, I can't wait to start watching blurays on it.  Does anyone have a recommended 2D and 3D bluray that can really show of the panels potential?

beakernz is offline  
post #2175 of 3458 Old 11-17-2013, 08:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rahzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by beakernz View Post

Hi Guys, I hope someone can advise me.  I am in New Zealand and just got this set: TH-P50ST60

It is this one: http://www.harveynorman.co.nz/tv-and-audio/televisions/plasma-televisions/panasonic-50-full-hd-smart-3d-plasma-tv.html

I got a deal on it $300 off listed price.  Anyway, are these "slides" ok to run on my NZ model and apply the following settings?  I just want to do this right as I'm a plasma noob.  If anyone can point me in the right direction, thanks!
Unfortunately these are for the North American panels only. You're better off using True Cinema mode. As for the slides, that's up to you. There's no harm in running them, but there's not much reason to either if you're not using D-Nice's settings.
rahzel is offline  
post #2176 of 3458 Old 11-17-2013, 08:31 PM
Newbie
 
beakernz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rahzel View Post


Unfortunately these are for the North American panels only. You're better off using True Cinema mode. As for the slides, that's up to you. There's no harm in running them, but there's not much reason to run them if you're not using D-Nice's settings.

 

I'm thinking the slides will uniformly age the panel appropriately after 100hrs?  So what you are saying is if I use D-Nice's settings on my model it could come out funky?  To just use true cinema picture mode?  It amazes me that there would be a real difference.  Are the panels from the US and NZ not coming off the same assembly line?  I thought variation in model number would be related more to country identification than hardware/software differences?  Thanks!

beakernz is offline  
post #2177 of 3458 Old 11-17-2013, 08:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rahzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by beakernz View Post

I'm thinking the slides will uniformly age the panel appropriately after 100hrs?  So what you are saying is if I use D-Nice's settings on my model it could come out funky?  To just use true cinema picture mode?  It amazes me that there would be a real difference.  Are the panels from the US and NZ not coming off the same assembly line?  I thought variation in model number would be related more to country identification than hardware/software differences?  Thanks!
The panels are most likely the same, but the TVs sold outside of North America usually have different software and probably small hardware differences. If your set has a 'True Cinema' mode (which is not present on NA models), it is probably more similar to the panels sold in Europe. Plugging in settings from another panel is already not guaranteed to improve the picture... applying them to a panel outside of North America would most likely make the picture worse than the best preset (which is True Cinema on European ST60s).

D-Nice even says this in the first post:
Quote:
Recommended 100 Hour Panel Prep Settings for North American Panasonic TC-PxxS60/ST60/VT60/ZT60 models (ONLY to be used with USB/SD Card Files attached below!!!!!!!!)
rahzel is offline  
post #2178 of 3458 Old 11-17-2013, 08:40 PM
Member
 
2907Laz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by beakernz View Post

I'm thinking the slides will uniformly age the panel appropriately after 100hrs?  So what you are saying is if I use D-Nice's settings on my model it could come out funky?  To just use true cinema picture mode?  It amazes me that there would be a real difference.  Are the panels from the US and NZ not coming off the same assembly line?  I thought variation in model number would be related more to country identification than hardware/software differences?  Thanks!

I'm in Australia and have tried D-nice and CNET's settings and they looked good. I've settled on just using defaults for white balance, gamma, etc. I used Disney wow disc for brightness, contrast and colour. For break in I used a combination of slides and full screen content.

2d discs I would recommend would be Avengers and Pacific Rim. Great PQ and they'll fill the screen.
2907Laz is offline  
post #2179 of 3458 Old 11-17-2013, 08:59 PM
Newbie
 
beakernz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thanks Laz, being a noob I am unfamiliar with the Disney wow disc, I will try to source one.

beakernz is offline  
post #2180 of 3458 Old 11-17-2013, 09:55 PM
Member
 
2907Laz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by beakernz View Post

Thanks Laz, being a noob I am unfamiliar with the Disney wow disc, I will try to source one.

Amazon's probably the easiest place to get it: link
2907Laz is offline  
post #2181 of 3458 Old 11-18-2013, 08:15 AM
Member
 
elbobo19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Both Cnets and Dnice settings were way to dark for my liking. If someone was wearing a black suit it just disappeared, you couldn't see the fabric details at all. Same thing with dark backgrounds, they just weren't there. I am still fine tuning but I think I am going to end with the brightness set between +10 and +20 with gamma at 1.8, and panel brightness set to mid.
elbobo19 is offline  
post #2182 of 3458 Old 11-18-2013, 08:28 AM
Member
 
vahighland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by elbobo19 View Post

Just got my 65ZT60. How much buzzing is normal? I am running the Dnice slides and I can hear the TV down the hall when it hits the brighter ones.
I have the same question as well. For me, it buzzes as much as my old Panasonic P65V10. I received a June 2013 build, but the fan noise is not near as bad as others have described. I was hoping the buzzing would be less than my old set. To me, that's the bigger issue.

If I call Panasonic and tell them about the buzzing, won't they just say that's normal?
vahighland is offline  
post #2183 of 3458 Old 11-18-2013, 08:31 AM
 
SeLfMaDe111985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Is there a proven difference between using full screen content and slides as far as aging the phosphors and pixels evenly or is it all the same?

Do running slides give a better PQ compared to just running full screen content?
SeLfMaDe111985 is offline  
post #2184 of 3458 Old 11-18-2013, 08:37 AM
Member
 
elbobo19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vahighland View Post

I have the same question as well. For me, it buzzes as much as my old Panasonic P65V10. I received a June 2013 build, but the fan noise is not near as bad as others have described. I was hoping the buzzing would be less than my old set. To me, that's the bigger issue.

If I call Panasonic and tell them about the buzzing, won't they just say that's normal?

I called panasonic about the issues and they have a local repair guy coming out Thursday to look at the fan noise and buzzing, he seems to think he can fix the buzzing by changing some screws on the panel. I will post an update after he gets done with it.
elbobo19 is offline  
post #2185 of 3458 Old 11-18-2013, 08:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 501
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeLfMaDe111985 View Post

Is there a proven difference between using full screen content and slides as far as aging the phosphors and pixels evenly or is it all the same?

Do running slides give a better PQ compared to just running full screen content?

The short answer is no, lots of theories etc but outside of prepping for DNice's setting the value is highly debatble.

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #2186 of 3458 Old 11-18-2013, 08:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,225
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 311 Post(s)
Liked: 853
Quote:
Originally Posted by elbobo19 View Post

I called panasonic about the issues and they have a local repair guy coming out Thursday to look at the fan noise and buzzing, he seems to think he can fix the buzzing by changing some screws on the panel. I will post an update after he gets done with it.
That was a common fix for a while. Sometimes it worked and sometimes it didnt. It seems that some of the screws didnt have washers from the factory so they put washers on the ones that dont and make sure that they are all tight.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #2187 of 3458 Old 11-18-2013, 08:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 501
Quote:
Originally Posted by elbobo19 View Post

Both Cnets and Dnice settings were way to dark for my liking. If someone was wearing a black suit it just disappeared, you couldn't see the fabric details at all. Same thing with dark backgrounds, they just weren't there. I am still fine tuning but I think I am going to end with the brightness set between +10 and +20 with gamma at 1.8, and panel brightness set to mid.

You need to look into a calibration disc you are destroying your contrast ratio with settings like that

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #2188 of 3458 Old 11-18-2013, 09:22 AM
Member
 
vahighland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by elbobo19 View Post

I called panasonic about the issues and they have a local repair guy coming out Thursday to look at the fan noise and buzzing, he seems to think he can fix the buzzing by changing some screws on the panel. I will post an update after he gets done with it.
I just scheduled an appt for next Mon.
vahighland is offline  
post #2189 of 3458 Old 11-18-2013, 09:29 AM
 
SeLfMaDe111985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

The short answer is no, lots of theories etc but outside of prepping for DNice's setting the value is highly debatble.

So either way is a good way?
SeLfMaDe111985 is offline  
post #2190 of 3458 Old 11-18-2013, 09:46 AM
Member
 
elbobo19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

You need to look into a calibration disc you are destroying your contrast ratio with settings like that

What is the best one out there?
elbobo19 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P55st60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P65st60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P50st60 50 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P60st60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P60vt60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P55vt60 55 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P65s60 65 Inch 1080p 600hz Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic 60 Inch Plasma Hdtv Tc P60s60 , Panasonic Tc P55s60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P50s60 50 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic 42 Inch Plasma Hdtv Tc P42s60
Gear in this thread - P55st60 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off