2013 Panasonic Settings/Issues Thread - Page 79 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2341 of 3486 Old 12-02-2013, 04:47 PM
Member
 
nehmia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robin Bombard View Post

You'll find DNice's ST60, VT60, ZT60 settings here; http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showthread.php?t=939

Thank you, as soon as I posted after searching for awhile.. I stumbled on Larry and your post pointing to that forum. I registered but am still waiting on the activation email.

Panasonic 60VT60 | Denon X2000 | Polk monitor 75T | Polk monitor 25C | Polk monitor 45B
nehmia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2342 of 3486 Old 12-02-2013, 04:51 PM
Member
 
srg914's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robin Bombard View Post


Get a cheap USB card and copy/paste the file with the slides onto the card, plug the card into the ST60 and then press the SD/USB button on the remote to start. At least you unzipped the file first, that was a good start. Hope you'll have the same good fortune as I did by using the slides and DNce's Custom Mode settings. DNice is a Godsend and the AVS naysayers,,, not so much. smile.gif

Thanks!!  Was able to burn slides to dvd but "loading" appears on screen for each slide....guess I'll be beter off with a USB card?

srg914 is offline  
post #2343 of 3486 Old 12-02-2013, 05:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by srg914 View Post

Thanks!!  Was able to burn slides to dvd but "loading" appears on screen for each slide....guess I'll be beter off with a USB card?

Yes, use usb. That loading notice could potentially cause image retention.

PANASONIC VT50 FOR SALE!!!!

Panasonic 60VT60 3DTV
Denon AVR 4311CI
Klipsch F-30 Fronts
Klipsch C-20 Center
Klipsch S-20 Sides
Klipsch B-20 Rears
PA 120 12" Sub
Dune HD Smart D1
PS3 Slim
DirecTV HR34 DVR

jconjason is offline  
post #2344 of 3486 Old 12-02-2013, 05:01 PM
Member
 
srg914's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconjason View Post


Yes, use usb. That loading notice could potentially cause image retention.

Ok...that's what I was thinking...thanks a million!

srg914 is offline  
post #2345 of 3486 Old 12-02-2013, 05:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robin Bombard View Post

You'll find DNice's ST60, VT60, ZT60 settings here; http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showthread.php?t=939

Robin, turbe is recommending using this link: http://www.calibrationforums.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=61

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #2346 of 3486 Old 12-02-2013, 05:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
merrymaid520's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Hey guys,
I probably should have posted this question in here rather than the other thread, anyway......

Using DNICE's settings after following his exact procedure with the slides etc. I really enjoy the picture thus far. All I have done to tweak it was to use the Disney WOW disc for brightness/contrast editing and also changed the red push in dark scenes by adjusting the red low something or other by one unit in the pro settings menu:)

My question is this, I find the cnet settings to give me a little better overall dark scene detail but the rest I don't care for. How can I tweak this without skewing the rest of DNICE's work? Its very close right now so whatever I do it does not need to be more than a unit or two one way or another. Is it a gamma thing or something else?

Suggestions?



Much appreciated!
merrymaid520 is offline  
post #2347 of 3486 Old 12-02-2013, 06:15 PM
Member
 
philz662's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by merrymaid520 View Post

Hey guys,
I probably should have posted this question in here rather than the other thread, anyway......

Using DNICE's settings after following his exact procedure with the slides etc. I really enjoy the picture thus far. All I have done to tweak it was to use the Disney WOW disc for brightness/contrast editing and also changed the red push in dark scenes by adjusting the red low something or other by one unit in the pro settings menu:)

My question is this, I find the cnet settings to give me a little better overall dark scene detail but the rest I don't care for. How can I tweak this without skewing the rest of DNICE's work? Its very close right now so whatever I do it does not need to be more than a unit or two one way or another. Is it a gamma thing or something else?

Suggestions?



Much appreciated!


When first purchased in October I loaded D-nice & Like you found red push & dark detail to be problem.

I made adjustment eliminating push but couldn't  shake black detail loss so I moved onto Cnets for a while then Michael Chens.

Both are great but D-nice settings called out to me a couple days ago so I reloaded making RL adjustment

Ive found after 900 hours D-nice settings much improved black detail loss no longer a problem.


Display : Panasonic 60ST60

Blu-Ray : Sony BDP S5100

HD-DVR : Directv HR24/100

AVR : Pioneer VSX-1020-K 7.1

Speakers : Polk RM6750 5.1

Center Speaker : Polk TL2

 

 
philz662 is offline  
post #2348 of 3486 Old 12-02-2013, 06:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Robin Bombard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Rutland, Vermont
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by merrymaid520 View Post

Hey guys,
I probably should have posted this question in here rather than the other thread, anyway......

Using DNICE's settings after following his exact procedure with the slides etc. I really enjoy the picture thus far. All I have done to tweak it was to use the Disney WOW disc for brightness/contrast editing and also changed the red push in dark scenes by adjusting the red low something or other by one unit in the pro settings menu:)

My question is this, I find the cnet settings to give me a little better overall dark scene detail but the rest I don't care for. How can I tweak this without skewing the rest of DNICE's work? Its very close right now so whatever I do it does not need to be more than a unit or two one way or another. Is it a gamma thing or something else?

Suggestions?



Much appreciated!

You do realize that CNET's picture setting are meant for the Cinema Mode, right? DNice's picture settings are meant for Custom Mode so you can adjust ether Mode without affacting the other. Play all you want with each Picture Mode. smile.gif
Robin Bombard is offline  
post #2349 of 3486 Old 12-02-2013, 07:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robin Bombard View Post

You do realize that CNET's picture setting are meant for the Cinema Mode, right? DNice's picture settings are meant for Custom Mode so you can adjust ether Mode without affacting the other. Play all you want with each Picture Mode. smile.gif

Actually his VT settings are for professional mode. Not custom. smile.gif

PANASONIC VT50 FOR SALE!!!!

Panasonic 60VT60 3DTV
Denon AVR 4311CI
Klipsch F-30 Fronts
Klipsch C-20 Center
Klipsch S-20 Sides
Klipsch B-20 Rears
PA 120 12" Sub
Dune HD Smart D1
PS3 Slim
DirecTV HR34 DVR

jconjason is offline  
post #2350 of 3486 Old 12-02-2013, 07:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Robin Bombard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Rutland, Vermont
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconjason View Post

Actually his VT settings are for professional mode. Not custom. smile.gif

I was thinking he has a ST60. smile.gif
Robin Bombard is offline  
post #2351 of 3486 Old 12-02-2013, 07:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 79
OP might, i don't know. Just wanted to point that out for the benefit of others.

PANASONIC VT50 FOR SALE!!!!

Panasonic 60VT60 3DTV
Denon AVR 4311CI
Klipsch F-30 Fronts
Klipsch C-20 Center
Klipsch S-20 Sides
Klipsch B-20 Rears
PA 120 12" Sub
Dune HD Smart D1
PS3 Slim
DirecTV HR34 DVR

jconjason is offline  
post #2352 of 3486 Old 12-02-2013, 07:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
merrymaid520's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by philz662 View Post


When first purchased in October I loaded D-nice & Like you found red push & dark detail to be problem.
I made adjustment eliminating push but couldn't  shake black detail loss so I moved onto Cnets for a while then Michael Chens.
Both are great but D-nice settings called out to me a couple days ago so I reloaded making RL adjustment
Ive found after 900 hours D-nice settings much improved black detail loss no longer a problem.

At least I'm not the only one:). How much did you adjust the RL level? I think I moved mine by 1. Have you tried any tweaks to regain some black,level detail?
merrymaid520 is offline  
post #2353 of 3486 Old 12-02-2013, 07:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Robin Bombard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Rutland, Vermont
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconjason View Post

OP might, i don't know. Just wanted to point that out for the benefit of others.


Well I was trying to answer merrymaid520's questions for the benefit of merrymaid520. smile.gif
Robin Bombard is offline  
post #2354 of 3486 Old 12-02-2013, 07:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
merrymaid520's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robin Bombard View Post

You do realize that CNET's picture setting are meant for the Cinema Mode, right? DNice's picture settings are meant for Custom Mode so you can adjust ether Mode without affacting the other. Play all you want with each Picture Mode. smile.gif

Yes I do. I have both loaded so I can swap between the two (custom to cinema, back and forth).

I'm looking for adjustments I can make to regain some black detail.

Edit- to clarify, yes I have the ST60, sorry guys;)
merrymaid520 is offline  
post #2355 of 3486 Old 12-02-2013, 08:06 PM
Member
 
philz662's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by merrymaid520 View Post


At least I'm not the only one:). How much did you adjust the RL level? I think I moved mine by 1. Have you tried any tweaks to regain some black,level detail?


I dropped it to 0.....same was the case with Cnets settings which eliminated red push.

Nah no tweaks to Black level detail they look pretty good now ,  I'm thinking its due 900 hours.

D-nice settings look better after some panel age....At least that's what Ive found.

I could be going blind though , I turn 46 years old in 3 hours lol


Display : Panasonic 60ST60

Blu-Ray : Sony BDP S5100

HD-DVR : Directv HR24/100

AVR : Pioneer VSX-1020-K 7.1

Speakers : Polk RM6750 5.1

Center Speaker : Polk TL2

 

 
philz662 is offline  
post #2356 of 3486 Old 12-02-2013, 08:36 PM
Member
 
srg914's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12

Probably a stupid question but is it necessary to run d-nice's slides continuously for 100 hrs?  This set is going in my bedroom and will need to be off during sleep time.  I assume you just need to put 100 hrs. on in total.  Thanks.

srg914 is offline  
post #2357 of 3486 Old 12-02-2013, 08:44 PM
Member
 
philz662's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by srg914 View Post
 

Probably a stupid question but is it necessary to run d-nice's slides continuously for 100 hrs?  This set is going in my bedroom and will need to be off during sleep time.  I assume you just need to put 100 hrs. on in total.  Thanks.


No need to run continuously & yes 100hr in total

kkirsche likes this.

Display : Panasonic 60ST60

Blu-Ray : Sony BDP S5100

HD-DVR : Directv HR24/100

AVR : Pioneer VSX-1020-K 7.1

Speakers : Polk RM6750 5.1

Center Speaker : Polk TL2

 

 
philz662 is offline  
post #2358 of 3486 Old 12-02-2013, 09:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
merrymaid520's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by philz662 View Post


I dropped it to 0.....same was the case with Cnets settings which eliminated red push.
Nah no tweaks to Black level detail they look pretty good now ,  I'm thinking its due 900 hours.
D-nice settings look better after some panel age....At least that's what Ive found.
I could be going blind though , I turn 46 years old in 3 hours lol

Thanks! I'm hoping to see a gradual improvement as well. Happy B day!
merrymaid520 is offline  
post #2359 of 3486 Old 12-03-2013, 10:31 AM
Newbie
 
Skittlesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I may be blind, but where is dnice's settings for the S60? All I see are the ST60's in the op
Skittlesa is offline  
post #2360 of 3486 Old 12-03-2013, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 317 Post(s)
Liked: 554
He never did settings for the S60

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Darbee DVP5000
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #2361 of 3486 Old 12-03-2013, 02:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cyberbri's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 8,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by philz662 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by merrymaid520 View Post

At least I'm not the only one:). How much did you adjust the RL level? I think I moved mine by 1. Have you tried any tweaks to regain some black,level detail?


I dropped it to 0.....same was the case with Cnets settings which eliminated red push.
Nah no tweaks to Black level detail they look pretty good now ,  I'm thinking its due 900 hours.
D-nice settings look better after some panel age....At least that's what Ive found.
I could be going blind though , I turn 46 years old in 3 hours lol

Happy birthday!
Neither of the settings fit your TV because they are for a different TV. Your TV has different areas that need to be adjusted, and using someone else's settings could be making your picture worse in some areas, as evidenced by red push and lack of shadow detail. (See the links in my signature)
cyberbri is offline  
post #2362 of 3486 Old 12-03-2013, 02:20 PM
 
SeLfMaDe111985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 99
My 65VT60 is coming in next week...I see a lot of debate about the slides. I've been a member since 08' I believe and have followed the Dnice since the Pioneer KURO threads. I did use the slides for that and my KURO aged beautifully. Idk if it's from using this method but it's been great. Dnice provides a lot of information we should pay for but he does it for free. So if you question his method don't use them. I had a 60VT60 and just played full screen content. But wanted larger.

Now that the 65VT60 is coming I'm wondering if I should do the slides or not. There really is no proof to show it gives a better PQ. I also wonder if by doing the slides that it is causing some people to get stuck pixels? Just a thought since it is only displaying certain colors instead of an array of content like full screen. Usually I run full screen blu rays for 100hours since I love blu ray movies. But if the slides are the better route I would appreciate some input on which method is better?
SeLfMaDe111985 is offline  
post #2363 of 3486 Old 12-03-2013, 02:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rahzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeLfMaDe111985 View Post

My 65VT60 is coming in next week...I see a lot of debate about the slides. I've been a member since 08' I believe and have followed the Dnice since the Pioneer KURO threads. I did use the slides for that and my KURO aged beautifully. Idk if it's from using this method but it's been great. Dnice provides a lot of information we should pay for but he does it for free. So if you question his method don't use them. I had a 60VT60 and just played full screen content. But wanted larger.

Now that the 65VT60 is coming I'm wondering if I should do the slides or not. There really is no proof to show it gives a better PQ. I also wonder if by doing the slides that it is causing some people to get stuck pixels? Just a thought since it is only displaying certain colors instead of an array of content like full screen. Usually I run full screen blu rays for 100hours since I love blu ray movies. But if the slides are the better route I would appreciate some input on which method is better?
If you plan on using D-Nice's settings, run the slides. If not, it's your choice. There is little to no benefit in running the slides (IMO) if you're not using his settings. Just try to limit black bars as much as possible during the first few hundred hours.

And no, running the slides doesn't cause any issues.
rahzel is offline  
post #2364 of 3486 Old 12-03-2013, 02:30 PM
Member
 
hbkmog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeLfMaDe111985 View Post

My 65VT60 is coming in next week...I see a lot of debate about the slides. I've been a member since 08' I believe and have followed the Dnice since the Pioneer KURO threads. I did use the slides for that and my KURO aged beautifully. Idk if it's from using this method but it's been great. Dnice provides a lot of information we should pay for but he does it for free. So if you question his method don't use them. I had a 60VT60 and just played full screen content. But wanted larger.

Now that the 65VT60 is coming I'm wondering if I should do the slides or not. There really is no proof to show it gives a better PQ. I also wonder if by doing the slides that it is causing some people to get stuck pixels? Just a thought since it is only displaying certain colors instead of an array of content like full screen. Usually I run full screen blu rays for 100hours since I love blu ray movies. But if the slides are the better route I would appreciate some input on which method is better?

No the slides won't help you improve the PQ. There's simply no science in it. The only proven fact is as plasma ages, the color warmth and brightness will decrease but not much.

 

The first 100~200 hours is when plasma TV is most susceptible to IR. That's why it's recommended to run full screen content on it or like here use slides. Different panels have different attributes or quality, even if it's the same model. Even if you run the same slides and setting, the end result may still be different. I'd even say run the slides and copy other people's setting is snake oil at best. TV has to be calibrated on individual bases with meters. When CNET does their TV benchmark, they normally only break in TV for 24 ~ 48 hours to achieve their accurancy. Also what's more important is the perceivable PQ. Sometimes even the "accurate" setting may not be satisfactory to some people. A -2 or +2 in contrast or color isn't noticeable to naked eyes.

 

Running slides surely doesn't hurt and it's a way to break in the TV if you don't want to risk IR. But saying it will improve PQ or improve panel quality is simply not true. It's the same ******** myth as audio equipment break in theory among many audiophiles.

hbkmog is offline  
post #2365 of 3486 Old 12-03-2013, 02:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Robin Bombard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Rutland, Vermont
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeLfMaDe111985 View Post

My 65VT60 is coming in next week...I see a lot of debate about the slides. I've been a member since 08' I believe and have followed the Dnice since the Pioneer KURO threads. I did use the slides for that and my KURO aged beautifully. Idk if it's from using this method but it's been great. Dnice provides a lot of information we should pay for but he does it for free. So if you question his method don't use them. I had a 60VT60 and just played full screen content. But wanted larger.

Now that the 65VT60 is coming I'm wondering if I should do the slides or not. There really is no proof to show it gives a better PQ. I also wonder if by doing the slides that it is causing some people to get stuck pixels? Just a thought since it is only displaying certain colors instead of an array of content like full screen. Usually I run full screen blu rays for 100hours since I love blu ray movies. But if the slides are the better route I would appreciate some input on which method is better?

I find it strange that with your already positive experiences using DNice's slides that you would now question what you've already experienced due to someone else's signature. Unlike yourself, this was my first plasma purchase and like you followed DNice's free advise to the letter except I went for a full 300 hour break-in stint with his slides before even connecting a cable to my Panny. With the highly positive expereinces I've had by doing this and using not only DNice's Custom settings but CNET's Cinema settings with great results, I don't pay much attention to highlighted signatures that pop up every other day in this thread cuz I have no need for this type of negativity. But of course if I was one of the few who didn't have the same positive results that many folks expereince, I would definitely look for answers where ever I could with the anticipation of getting a professional calibration sooner than later and being done with it. smile.gif
Robin Bombard is offline  
post #2366 of 3486 Old 12-03-2013, 03:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Trojita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So I finished the 100 hours of break in slides.

Used Controlcal and inputted D-Nice's settings. I haven't tested a blu-ray on it yet, and I'm sure it looks phenomenal, but streaming quality stuff looks really bad, worse than my top of the line Sony from 2 years ago (HX929).

I'm guessing that the Panasonic on D-Nice's settings are showing you exactly how bad the streaming quality is, is there any settings I should be using to hide the imperfections? The lighting level on the set on these settings watching a show that should have lighting usually on the characters, looks kind of dull and not bright.

Also is there any good consensus on modes and settings to use for Gaming and Animation/Anime?
Trojita is offline  
post #2367 of 3486 Old 12-03-2013, 03:16 PM
Member
 
hbkmog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trojita View Post

So I finished the 100 hours of break in slides.

Used Controlcal and inputted D-Nice's settings. I haven't tested a blu-ray on it yet, and I'm sure it looks phenomenal, but streaming quality stuff looks really bad, worse than my top of the line Sony from 2 years ago (HX929).

I'm guessing that the Panasonic on D-Nice's settings are showing you exactly how bad the streaming quality is, is there any settings I should be using to hide the imperfections? The lighting level on the set on these settings watching a show that should have lighting usually on the characters, looks kind of dull and not bright.

Also is there any good consensus on modes and settings to use for Gaming and Animation/Anime?

I believe his setting is recommended in dim dark room viewing.

 

A few members have mentioned that using his setting makes the screen dark in normal or bright lighting environment.

hbkmog is offline  
post #2368 of 3486 Old 12-03-2013, 03:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Robin Bombard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Rutland, Vermont
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by hbkmog View Post

I believe his setting is recommended in dim dark room viewing.

A few members have mentioned that using his setting makes the screen dark in normal or bright lighting environment.


I use Ideal-Lume 6000K lighting behind my Panny and also used it for my old Sony CRT. Highly recommended solution for ambiant lighting for your plasma.

http://www.cinemaquestinc.com/ideal_lume.htm
Robin Bombard is offline  
post #2369 of 3486 Old 12-03-2013, 03:55 PM
Member
 
hbkmog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robin Bombard View Post


I use Ideal-Lume 6000K lighting behind my Panny and also used it for my old Sony CRT. Highly recommended solution for ambiant lighting for your plasma.

http://www.cinemaquestinc.com/ideal_lume.htm

This is the one I use:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007TG5EG8/ref=oh_details_o02_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

 

I use it mostly for aesthetics though as I don't have very bright room anyway.

hbkmog is offline  
post #2370 of 3486 Old 12-03-2013, 04:44 PM
Member
 
philz662's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberbri View Post


Happy birthday!
Neither of the settings fit your TV because they are for a different TV. Your TV has different areas that need to be adjusted, and using someone else's settings could be making your picture worse in some areas, as evidenced by red push and lack of shadow detail. (See the links in my signature)


Thanks!

Yes I'm aware that settings don't fit all but they are looking pretty darn good on mine with adjustment made to low red.

My shadow detail is no longer hurting so good on that front.

In January I plan on getting pro calibration applied  , Finding the right person that can fine tune D-nice settings on my display will be a challenge I feel.

Any recommendations for the Hampton Roads VA / VA Beach area?


Display : Panasonic 60ST60

Blu-Ray : Sony BDP S5100

HD-DVR : Directv HR24/100

AVR : Pioneer VSX-1020-K 7.1

Speakers : Polk RM6750 5.1

Center Speaker : Polk TL2

 

 
philz662 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P55st60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P65st60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P50st60 50 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P60st60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P60vt60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P55vt60 55 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P65s60 65 Inch 1080p 600hz Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic 60 Inch Plasma Hdtv Tc P60s60 , Panasonic Tc P55s60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P50s60 50 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic 42 Inch Plasma Hdtv Tc P42s60
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off