2013 Panasonic Settings/Issues Thread - Page 94 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Display Devices > Plasma Flat Panel Displays > 2013 Panasonic Settings/Issues Thread

Plasma Flat Panel Displays

NateTTU's Avatar NateTTU
04:18 PM Liked: 10
post #2791 of 3485
01-18-2014 | Posts: 863
Joined: Sep 2006
Thanks Turbe for taking the time to answer my questions.
sillysally's Avatar sillysally
07:05 PM Liked: 271
post #2792 of 3485
01-18-2014 | Posts: 3,773
Joined: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by NateTTU View Post

Excuse my ignorance, but I was looking to put in sillysallys settings into my 65vt60, but am unclear to what these two things mean and what I should do about them:

Also, are the Dnice settings only available if you have control cal or can I find the actual numbers posted somewhere that I can input manually with my remote?

Thanks,
Nate

I have two sets of settings posted. The top settings are done using BT. 1886, the second set of settings are using Rec 709.

BT. 1886 are designed to come out of black faster than the normal Rec. 709

Yes the recommended setting for a normal calibration is 709 (normal Color Gamut) as opposed to Native (wide Color Gamut) .

The settings I have posted are very easy to input and use, so when i comes to 709 or Native color Gamut I suggest you try both.
Once you have the settings inputted into your VT60 all you have to do to compare the two Color Gamut settings is just input one for the other. There is no need to change any other settings. wink.gif

ss
NateTTU's Avatar NateTTU
08:26 PM Liked: 10
post #2793 of 3485
01-18-2014 | Posts: 863
Joined: Sep 2006
Great, thanks so much SS.
fullerms's Avatar fullerms
02:51 AM Liked: 10
post #2794 of 3485
01-19-2014 | Posts: 318
Joined: Nov 2008
Guys,

My 65VT60 has reached 132 hours with a mixture of watching content (no logos of course) and DNice's slides. I would like to try his settings, but the ones on the first page indicate that the settings are only for the ST60. Can I use the same settings for the VT60 or are they available in a different thread?
p3Orion's Avatar p3Orion
02:57 AM Liked: 41
post #2795 of 3485
01-19-2014 | Posts: 1,278
Joined: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullerms View Post

Guys,

My 65VT60 has reached 132 hours with a mixture of watching content (no logos of course) and DNice's slides. I would like to try his settings, but the ones on the first page indicate that the settings are only for the ST60. Can I use the same settings for the VT60 or are they available in a different thread?

Register on the ControlCAL forums and you can get D-Nice's settings for the VT60.

http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showthread.php?p=6914#post6914

They are in an XML file so it takes a bit more effort to determine what each setting is if you decide to input them manually. Several have used the XML file and successfully input them manually. In lieu of doing it manually, there is a ControlCAL software program that enables you to quickly input the settings by connecting a computer to your VT60. Contact Turbe. I'm sure he'll answer your questions. He's a member on AVS and ControlCAL.
fullerms's Avatar fullerms
03:34 AM Liked: 10
post #2796 of 3485
01-19-2014 | Posts: 318
Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by p3Orion View Post

Register on the ControlCAL forums and you can get D-Nice's settings for the VT60.

http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showthread.php?p=6914#post6914

They are in an XML file so it takes a bit more effort to determine what each setting is if you decide to input them manually. Several have used the XML file and successfully input them manually. In lieu of doing it manually, there is a ControlCAL software program that enables you to quickly input the settings by connecting a computer to your VT60. Contact Turbe. I'm sure he'll answer your questions. He's a member on AVS and ControlCAL.

Thank you for the link, but its an XML file like you said. I have PMed Turbe about controlcal. But in the mean time has anyone managed to translate that XML file into plain text?
eric3316's Avatar eric3316
05:05 AM Liked: 889
post #2797 of 3485
01-19-2014 | Posts: 3,414
Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullerms View Post

Thank you for the link, but its an XML file like you said. I have PMed Turbe about controlcal. But in the mean time has anyone managed to translate that XML file into plain text?
I open the file on my Android device. It opens in a text viewer by default and then can be manually entered into your TV.
fullerms's Avatar fullerms
07:26 AM Liked: 10
post #2798 of 3485
01-19-2014 | Posts: 318
Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post

I open the file on my Android device. It opens in a text viewer by default and then can be manually entered into your TV.

Thanks for the tip. I tried it, but the text still comes up with the brackets and all when I open it on my Android phone frown.gif
eric3316's Avatar eric3316
07:31 AM Liked: 889
post #2799 of 3485
01-19-2014 | Posts: 3,414
Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullerms View Post

Thanks for the tip. I tried it, but the text still comes up with the brackets and all when I open it on my Android phone frown.gif
You will always see the brackets. You can still figure out what goes where though.
davemsc's Avatar davemsc
11:03 AM Liked: 12
post #2800 of 3485
01-19-2014 | Posts: 98
Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by zel View Post

Could it be that the bluray player boots up with a lower resolution output initially?
Have you checked the input signal on the TV when this happens?

I guess it is more pronounced dithering initially which then settles down.

I am about 8 feet away from the 55 inch st60 and for the most part blu rays are ok. I csn still see dithering (or maybe grain) in gray scenes are bright blue sky. When I pause I can still see it but it doesnt move..so is that grain? Its not noticeable really except on skies etc sometimes.

Sorry for all the noob questions but I am new to plasma and just want to make sure the thing works before I cant take it back

Thanks
mailiang's Avatar mailiang
11:10 AM Liked: 358
post #2801 of 3485
01-19-2014 | Posts: 6,896
Joined: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by davemsc View Post

I guess it is more pronounced dithering initially which then settles down.

I am about 8 feet away from the 55 inch st60 and for the most part blu rays are ok. I csn still see dithering (or maybe grain) in gray scenes are bright blue sky. When I pause I can still see it but it doesnt move..so is that grain? Its not noticeable really except on skies etc sometimes.

Sorry for all the noob questions but I am new to plasma and just want to make sure the thing works before I cant take it back

Thanks

Many movie directors introduce film grain for the nuance of it.


Ian
turbe's Avatar turbe
11:23 AM Liked: 89
post #2802 of 3485
01-19-2014 | Posts: 4,436
Joined: Feb 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullerms View Post

I have PMed Turbe about controlcal.

I replied to your PM
davemsc's Avatar davemsc
12:40 PM Liked: 12
post #2803 of 3485
01-19-2014 | Posts: 98
Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by mailiang View Post

Many movie directors introduce film grain for the nuance of it.


Ian
So if it stops moving when paused. .its grain. If not, its dithering?
mailiang's Avatar mailiang
04:32 PM Liked: 358
post #2804 of 3485
01-19-2014 | Posts: 6,896
Joined: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by davemsc View Post

So if it stops moving when paused. .its grain. If not, its dithering?

If you see in lighter content, it's probably grain.


Ian
fullerms's Avatar fullerms
05:27 PM Liked: 10
post #2805 of 3485
01-19-2014 | Posts: 318
Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbe View Post

I replied to your PM

Sent you my details via PM smile.gif
Scott Oakley's Avatar Scott Oakley
08:07 AM Liked: 80
post #2806 of 3485
01-20-2014 | Posts: 672
Joined: Jan 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillysally View Post

These setting are from my 65VT60, using Light Space calibration software for a large Profile of 4913 points. Grayscale/Gamma/Color Temp are done with Calman 5 Pro. Meters used are K10-A and I1Pro 2, Pattern Generator is a Lumagen 2141..

Use at your own risk.
Picture Mode: Pro 1 or 2
Contrast: 64
Brightness:+2
Color: 48
Tint: 0
Sharpness: 0
Color Temp: Normal
Vivid Color: Off
C.A.T.S: Off
Video NR: Off
MPEG NR: Off
Motion Smoother: Off


Pro Settings
Panel Brightness: Mid
AGC: 0
Black Extension: 0
Color Gamut: Rec.709 or Native (I use Native for my large LUT's)

W/B Detail Adjustment
W/B High R:-2
W/B High G: 0
W/B High B:-16
W/B Low R:-1
W/B Low G: 0
W/B Low B:-1

(W/B) More Detail Adjustment
10 W/B R:+21
10 W/B G: 0
10 W/B B:+2

20 W/B R:+16
20 W/B G: 0
20 W/B B:+3

30 W/B R:+12
30 W/B G: 0
30 W/B B :-2

40 W/B R:+3
40 W/B G: 0
40 W/B B:-5

50 W/B R:-3
50 W/B G: 0
50 W/B B:-8

60 W/B R -3
60 W/B G: 0
60 W/B B:-5

70 W/B R:+1
70 W/B G: 0
70 W/B B:-2

80 W/B R:+1
80 W/B G: 0
80 W/B B:+2

90 W/B R: -1
90 W/B G: 0
90 W/B B :-3

100 W/B R:+4
100 W/B G: 0
100 W/B B:+2

Used a LUT profile 21^3,
If you have eecolor box I can E-mail the LUT for these setiings
[/COLOR]

Gamma Detail Adjustment
Gamma: 2.4
(Gamma) More Detail Adjustment
10 Gain:-6
20 Gain:-2
30 Gain:-2
40 Gain:-1
50 Gain: 0
60 Gain: 0
70 Gain: 0
80 Gain: 0
90 Gain: 0
100 Gain: 0

Advance Picture
3:2 PullDown: Auto

HDMI Content Type and auto detailing.
Off

HDMI/DVI RGB Range
Standard (16-235)

Black Level: Light

Screen format, Full
Overscan, Off
H Size, 1
Screen display, On
4:3 side bars Off (for Blu Ray disc)
Pixel orbiter, Auto

ss

These settings are done using ITU-R BT.1886 Color Space, not the normal Rec709 as the above settings are done with.
Use at your own risk.
Picture Mode: Pro 1 or 2
Contrast: 64
Brightness:+2
Color: 48
Tint: 0
Sharpness: 0
Color Temp: Normal
Vivid Color: Off
C.A.T.S: Off
Video NR: Off
MPEG NR: Off
Motion Smoother: Off


Pro Settings
Panel Brightness: Mid
AGC: 0
Black Extension: 0
Color Gamut: Rec.709 or Native (I use Native for my large LUT's)

W/B Detail Adjustment
W/B High R:-2
W/B High G: 0
W/B High B:-17
W/B Low R:+1
W/B Low G: 0
W/B Low B: =2

(W/B) More Detail Adjustment
10 W/B R:+7
10 W/B G: 0
10 W/B B: 0

20 W/B R:+16
20 W/B G: 0
20 W/B B:+10

30 W/B R:+8
30 W/B G: 0
30 W/B B:+1

40 W/B R:+4
40 W/B G: 0
40 W/B B:+1

50 W/B R:-10
50 W/B G: 0
50 W/B B:-12

60 W/B R 0
60 W/B G: 0
60 W/B B:-3

70 W/B R:-1
70 W/B G: 0
70 W/B B:-5

80 W/B R:+6
80 W/B G: 0
80 W/B B:-1

90 W/B R: 0
90 W/B G: 0
90 W/B B -4

100 W/B R:+2
100 W/B G: 0
100 W/B B:+4

Used a LUT profile 21^3,
If you have eecolor box I can E-mail the LUT for these setiings
[/COLOR]

Gamma Detail Adjustment
Gamma: 2.4
(Gamma) More Detail Adjustment
10 Gain: 0
20 Gain: 0
30 Gain: 0
40 Gain: 0
50 Gain: 0
60 Gain: 0
70 Gain: 0
80 Gain: 0
90 Gain: 0
100 Gain: 0

Advance Picture
3:2 PullDown: Auto

HDMI Content Type and auto detailing.
Off

HDMI/DVI RGB Range
Standard (16-235)

Black Level: Light

Screen format, Full
Overscan, Off
H Size, 1
Screen display, On
4:3 side bars Off (for Blu Ray disc)
Pixel orbiter, Auto

ss

Hi, I noticed that both sets of these settings do not include Color Detail Adjustments. Is there a reason?
Thank you, Scott
CatchersDad's Avatar CatchersDad
04:27 PM Liked: 41
post #2807 of 3485
01-20-2014 | Posts: 248
Joined: Dec 2013

Has anyone tried using the Panasonic "TV Remote 2" app to calibrate a VT60?


mbroadus's Avatar mbroadus
04:49 PM Liked: 59
post #2808 of 3485
01-20-2014 | Posts: 1,737
Joined: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by CatchersDad View Post

Has anyone tried using the Panasonic "TV Remote 2" app to calibrate a VT60?

Yes, I've saved several settings in the app.
eric3316's Avatar eric3316
06:46 PM Liked: 889
post #2809 of 3485
01-20-2014 | Posts: 3,414
Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Oakley View Post

Hi, I noticed that both sets of these settings do not include Color Detail Adjustments. Is there a reason?
Thank you, Scott
He explained it in another post of his but I didn't really understand what he was saying. You needed some type of software or hardware if you wanted to use those settings by him. If you search his past posts you should find it in the VT60 section.

He did say if you do not have what was needed to enter those settings to just leave them at zero.

Edit... here's the link...
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1467563/official-panasonic-vt60-vt65-series-discussion-thread-no-street-price-talk/10440#post_24206590
SeLfMaDe111985's Avatar SeLfMaDe111985
09:29 PM Liked: 99
post #2810 of 3485
01-20-2014 | Posts: 1,305
Joined: Dec 2011
What is an LUT? Look up table means what exactly?
buzzard767's Avatar buzzard767
09:43 PM Liked: 976
post #2811 of 3485
01-20-2014 | Posts: 4,122
Joined: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeLfMaDe111985 View Post

What is an LUT? Look up table means what exactly?

LUTBrochure.pdf 335k .pdf file
Attached: LUTBrochure.pdf (335.3 KB) 
CatchersDad's Avatar CatchersDad
10:29 AM Liked: 41
post #2812 of 3485
01-21-2014 | Posts: 248
Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post


Yes, I've saved several settings in the app.

 

Yeah but I'm wondering if anyone has actually tried "calibrating" a VT with this app? It doesn't seem to have any instructions on how to do so or give you any visual examples of what you should be trying to achieve.


colonel7's Avatar colonel7
11:01 AM Liked: 18
post #2813 of 3485
01-21-2014 | Posts: 284
Joined: Jul 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeLfMaDe111985 View Post

What is an LUT? Look up table means what exactly?

You would need to purchase this processor.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1279393/truvue-eecolor-processor
SeLfMaDe111985's Avatar SeLfMaDe111985
11:05 AM Liked: 99
post #2814 of 3485
01-21-2014 | Posts: 1,305
Joined: Dec 2011
Well you guys posting those links is very helpful so thank you but that's just way to much for me to handle lol. But I'm sure I'll look into it because I do like to know every aspect of my TV.
buzzard767's Avatar buzzard767
12:41 PM Liked: 976
post #2815 of 3485
01-21-2014 | Posts: 4,122
Joined: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by colonel7 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by SeLfMaDe111985 View Post

What is an LUT? Look up table means what exactly?

You would need to purchase this processor.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1279393/truvue-eecolor-processor

And you get them from me. Check my signature. smile.gif
fmzip's Avatar fmzip
01:34 PM Liked: 31
post #2816 of 3485
01-24-2014 | Posts: 707
Joined: Aug 2002
I just finished running the D-nice break in slide on my VT60.

I could have sworn I saw his settings posted on here somewhere but all I find with a google search is this and looks like I need some special software of some sort??

http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showthread.php?t=939

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Eager to see this set running for the first time this evening!! smile.gif

What settings are everyone using for their VT-60 after running these slides on page one of this thread? A bit confused as the last set I used D-Nice's slide on, I simply inputted them all manually and was floored with the picture quality . I was assuming I would find his setting listed here as well?
cadett's Avatar cadett
02:53 PM Liked: 85
post #2817 of 3485
01-24-2014 | Posts: 823
Joined: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmzip View Post

I just finished running the D-nice break in slide on my VT60.

I could have sworn I saw his settings posted on here somewhere but all I find with a google search is this and looks like I need some special software of some sort??

http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showthread.php?t=939

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Eager to see this set running for the first time this evening!! smile.gif

What settings are everyone using for their VT-60 after running these slides on page one of this thread? A bit confused as the last set I used D-Nice's slide on, I simply inputted them all manually and was floored with the picture quality . I was assuming I would find his setting listed here as well?

Put it in THX mode & enjoy wink.gif
Robin Bombard's Avatar Robin Bombard
03:16 PM Liked: 40
post #2818 of 3485
01-24-2014 | Posts: 445
Joined: Apr 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmzip View Post

I just finished running the D-nice break in slide on my VT60.

I could have sworn I saw his settings posted on here somewhere but all I find with a google search is this and looks like I need some special software of some sort??

http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showthread.php?t=939

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Eager to see this set running for the first time this evening!! smile.gif

What settings are everyone using for their VT-60 after running these slides on page one of this thread? A bit confused as the last set I used D-Nice's slide on, I simply inputted them all manually and was floored with the picture quality . I was assuming I would find his setting listed here as well?

PM Turbe, ether here or on the ControlCal forum and he can help you out. smile.gif
SeLfMaDe111985's Avatar SeLfMaDe111985
04:03 PM Liked: 99
post #2819 of 3485
01-24-2014 | Posts: 1,305
Joined: Dec 2011
For those running the slides still or can remember, when the bright slides (white/red) came up did the buzz become pretty audible? I'm just curious if the buzz I have is awkward or not. Wen the white slide comes up it buzzes pretty loud but also could be room dimensions and placement of the TV since it's near the wall. I remember my KURO buzzing loud in my room but once moved to a bigger
Environment like the living room
It was a non issue
eric3316's Avatar eric3316
04:06 PM Liked: 889
post #2820 of 3485
01-24-2014 | Posts: 3,414
Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeLfMaDe111985 View Post

For those running the slides still or can remember, when the bright slides (white/red) came up did the buzz become pretty audible? I'm just curious if the buzz I have is awkward or not. Wen the white slide comes up it buzzes pretty loud but also could be room dimensions and placement of the TV since it's near the wall. I remember my KURO buzzing loud in my room but once moved to a bigger
Environment like the living room
It was a non issue
Yes, that is normal. Who cares what the TV sounds like with slides on anyway.
Tags: Panasonic Tc P55st60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P65st60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P50st60 50 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P60st60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P60vt60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P55vt60 55 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P65s60 65 Inch 1080p 600hz Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic 60 Inch Plasma Hdtv Tc P60s60 , Panasonic Tc P55s60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P50s60 50 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic 42 Inch Plasma Hdtv Tc P42s60

Gear in this thread
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3