2013 Panasonic Settings/Issues Thread - Page 97 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2881 of 3497 Old 01-30-2014, 02:36 PM
Member
 
rlb4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeKnobber View Post

Definitely agree. Changing the gamma to 2.2 is a lot better for me in terms of being less dark and more detailed shadow areas.

Is there any downside to changing the gamma from 2.4 to 2.2? I notice that D-Nice and alot of others use 2.4 also.
rlb4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2882 of 3497 Old 01-30-2014, 03:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,535
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 777 Post(s)
Liked: 948
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlb4 View Post

Is there any downside to changing the gamma from 2.4 to 2.2? I notice that D-Nice and alot of others use 2.4 also.
From what I have seen, 2.4 will give you more saturated colors. 2.2 usually seems a little washed out.
eric3316 is offline  
post #2883 of 3497 Old 01-30-2014, 03:25 PM
Member
 
jimreeves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NPR, FL
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlb4 View Post

Is there any downside to changing the gamma from 2.4 to 2.2? I notice that D-Nice and alot of others use 2.4 also.

There's an upside if your cable system crushes blacks. I noticed that with my 65ST60, BD looks great with 2.4 but everything from my Fios STB looked dull, soft and crushed blacks. 2.2 gamma seemed to fix all of that without throwing the color out of whack. Give it a try.

My system 2013-14

Panasonic TC-P65ST60, TH-50PX75U, Pioneer VSX-33, BDP-150, Fios, Yamaha RXV2500-P2200x2, Infinity QLS, M&K V-75x2
jimreeves is offline  
post #2884 of 3497 Old 01-30-2014, 06:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cal1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 2,668
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post

From what I have seen, 2.4 will give you more saturated colors. 2.2 usually seems a little washed out.
I used Gamma 2.0 on my old ST30 instead of the recommended 2.2 and am using 2.2 rather than the dominant choice of 2.4. You are right Eric, in that while 2.2 can open up dark backgrounds and, at times, resolve some facial blotching, it can come at the expense of saturation and contrast. I've found that boosting color and contrast while decreasing brightness to 0 or even below that can somewhat compensate for the washout that you note. Using some Black extension and, especially with Comcast cable, jacking the sharpness up to 70 or so can help when Gamma 2.2 is used. It all comes down to what looks good to you.With Pro 1 and 2 you can always do an instant comparison between the two Gamma settings. With cable, this can get pretty interesting.
Cal1981 is online now  
post #2885 of 3497 Old 01-30-2014, 07:03 PM
Member
 
AudiophileWalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Reston VA
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlb4 View Post

Has anyone tried Silly Sally's pro mode settings and changed the gamma from 2.4 to 2.2? The 2.4 gamma was a little too dark for me so I changed the gamma to 2.2. It brightened it up nicely so now its brightness is similar to Cnet's.
With SillySally's settings for Pro 1 I used 2.2 Gamma and the the Disney WOW disc verified that the 2.2 Gamma was spot on. I found that CNET's settings, with less overall changes, are slightly better than SS settings with 2.2 Gamma. I also changed the Brightness to 54 based on the Spears&muncil High Pluge test. I find this test is better than Low Pluge since most dark scenes have light in them. A July build for a 60VT60.
AudiophileWalt is offline  
post #2886 of 3497 Old 01-31-2014, 12:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,940
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerryh View Post

Hi sillysally. I remember you from the Pioneer 141 thread. Still have mine and had it calibrated by DaWane back in 2010. Now in vacation home I have the 65vt60. I put in his settings and yours. I don't know what to put in for the color detail values for yours. You show (Used a LUT profile 21^3, If you have eecolor box I can E-mail the LUT for these settings [/COLOR]) but I don't have these.

Thanks for your help.

Gerry

Here is a PM reply I sent to another VT60 owner, about what is needed for the color settings.

What the color settings are is a very large over 9240 (21^3) color point profile of the vt60. Normal "color setup" is 6 color points RGBCMY

Most high end displays like the VT60 can't hold and process these large LUT's so you need an external processor/storage box like eecolor.

Most displays use over 1,000,000 to over 3,000,000 colors. So the more colors you calibrate the better and more information your CMS has to work with, giving you more accurate colors including better shading, more depth, ect.

The large profile/LUT like a 21^3 profile/LUT is very cutting edge for home use, so there are only a few of us that have the know how, software and hardware to be able to do this type of calibration.

If you have a eecolor box I can send you the LUT (about 15 MB) that would need to be installed in the eecolor box.

I know this is confusing, so I hope this helps.

ss
sillysally is offline  
post #2887 of 3497 Old 01-31-2014, 04:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,535
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 777 Post(s)
Liked: 948
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillysally View Post

Here is a PM reply I sent to another VT60 owner, about what is needed for the color settings.

What the color settings are is a very large over 9240 (21^3) color point profile of the vt60. Normal "color setup" is 6 color points RGBCMY

Most high end displays like the VT60 can't hold and process these large LUT's so you need an external processor/storage box like eecolor.

Most displays use over 1,000,000 to over 3,000,000 colors. So the more colors you calibrate the better and more information your CMS has to work with, giving you more accurate colors including better shading, more depth, ect.

The large profile/LUT like a 21^3 profile/LUT is very cutting edge for home use, so there are only a few of us that have the know how, software and hardware to be able to do this type of calibration.

If you have a eecolor box I can send you the LUT (about 15 MB) that would need to be installed in the eecolor box.

I know this is confusing, so I hope this helps.

ss
I don't think there are many people here who have those instruments. If they did they would probably be calibrating their own sets it sounds like from the description you give...How about a quick setup with those measly 6 color points for us less fortunate folks. wink.gif

I will say, even without calibrating the CMS your settings have looked the best. My guess is also once setting the CMS colors within the VT60 we might run the risk of actually making the picture worse. I am willing to test that theory. lol
eric3316 is offline  
post #2888 of 3497 Old 01-31-2014, 05:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 353 Post(s)
Liked: 107
I'm thinking of getting an Oppo 103D and I'm curious how or if the Darbee processor effects settings and picture quality?

Panasonic P60VT60 Calibrated by Chad B / Marantz NR-1504 / SVS PC-2000 / Velodyne CHT Front Row / AppleTV 3 / Sony PS4
mbroadus is offline  
post #2889 of 3497 Old 01-31-2014, 06:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
smurraybhm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Down South
Posts: 2,214
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 551 Post(s)
Liked: 681
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post

I'm thinking of getting an Oppo 103D and I'm curious how or if the Darbee processor effects settings and picture quality?

A good source of information for your research would be the Oppo 103D thread - first page has a bunch of info on the player, darbee and chips. There is also a darbee thread under video components which will provide you with feedback/info from owners.

To put it simply it sharpens the picture and to some gives it more depth. The key is the source you feed it must be of high quality, blu-ray or good hdtv feed. Crap in looks like crap out even with the darbee. I highly recommend Oppo and for $100 more than the 103 (which I bought when it first came out) I would get the 103D. Both work well as video processors, so you may find some benefit from just that part too.

Panasonic 60VT60 (cal by DNice)
Denon 5200 w/ Outlaw 2200 Amps (3)
Ascend Acoustics Sierra 2s F/R & Horizon w/ RAAL Center; Sierra 1s Surrounds; DefTech PM1000 Fronts, Ascend HTM-200s Top Middle and PSB S5 Rear Surrounds; Dual SVS subs
Oppo 103; Onkyo HD-DVD; Apple TV & Roku Stick
Atmos arrived on 9/30/2014
smurraybhm is offline  
post #2890 of 3497 Old 01-31-2014, 11:39 AM
Gov
AVS Special Member
 
Gov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NW Burbs of Chgo, IL
Posts: 3,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Did not get any responses in the VT thread, so I thought I would post here on this.

With the panel brightness high being successfully calibrated now, how about a brighter 3D mode? I have Chad B coming out in two weeks and have been using THX modes exclusively for 2D material. For 3D, I have been using a mix of THX 3D and DNice's 3D setting. Both modes look very good on my display, THX appearing slightly brighter. I noticed that in Pro mode with the DNice setting, if I change the AGC from 0 to 1, the picture brightens up considerably without mucking anything else up from what I can tell. I plan on asking Chad B if he could possibly calibrate this 3D mode with the AGC = 1. I would like to have a calibrated day and night mode with 3D as well as 2D.

Has anyone or maybe someone be willing to try this out?

Main HT Room: Panny TC-P65VT60 (calibrated by Chad B), Denon AVR-4311, Comcast X1 DVR, Apple TV3, Sony BDP-S5100, Speakers: Ascend Acoustics Sierra Towers, Sierra Horizon and HTM-200SE, Dual Power Sound Audio XV15 Subwoofers
Basement HT Room: Panny TC-P58V10 (Black Level Restored!), Denon AVR-E300, Comcast X1 STB, Sony BDP-S590, Speakers: Wave Crest Audio HVL-1 (L/C/R), Pioneer SP-BS 22 (Surr) and Power Sound Audio XV15 Subwoofer
Gov is offline  
post #2891 of 3497 Old 01-31-2014, 04:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Robin Bombard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Rutland, Vermont
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post

I'm thinking of getting an Oppo 103D and I'm curious how or if the Darbee processor effects settings and picture quality?

The Darbee video enhancement for 3D is a "must have", just my opinion. The depth enhancements Darbee has on 2D is nice but on 3D content, Darbee knocks it outta the park. Darbee also works pretty good with making 2D to 3D conversion even watchable. smile.gif
Robin Bombard is offline  
post #2892 of 3497 Old 01-31-2014, 04:44 PM
Member
 
LeKnobber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gov View Post

Did not get any responses in the VT thread, so I thought I would post here on this.

With the panel brightness high being successfully calibrated now, how about a brighter 3D mode? I have Chad B coming out in two weeks and have been using THX modes exclusively for 2D material. For 3D, I have been using a mix of THX 3D and DNice's 3D setting. Both modes look very good on my display, THX appearing slightly brighter. I noticed that in Pro mode with the DNice setting, if I change the AGC from 0 to 1, the picture brightens up considerably without mucking anything else up from what I can tell. I plan on asking Chad B if he could possibly calibrate this 3D mode with the AGC = 1. I would like to have a calibrated day and night mode with 3D as well as 2D.

Has anyone or maybe someone be willing to try this out?

Chad has a way of getting 50 fL of brightness out of the ZT, so I'm pretty sure he willl give you a great chance at maximizing the 3D brightness. Lucky you.
LeKnobber is offline  
post #2893 of 3497 Old 01-31-2014, 04:45 PM
Member
 
anoutsos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This may have been discussed before, but I was wondering if anyone has had any problems with sudden picture glitches/wobbles in 3D mode. Recently, I've been noticing that the 3D picture momentarily jerks/shakes when I'm watching a 3D BD. I can almost describe it as a very brief change of the 3D depth. I have all processing turned off. The effect does not occur at particular scenes but seems to happen randomly – but it does happen on average every 2–3 minutes. So far, I've noticed it in two 3D movies but I am pretty sure it was not that obvious before. I have not really changed anything in my set-up recently: I have an Oppo 93 connected to the TV via a Marantz amp.

Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks,
Aris.
anoutsos is offline  
post #2894 of 3497 Old 01-31-2014, 06:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 353 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robin Bombard View Post

The Darbee video enhancement for 3D is a "must have", just my opinion. The depth enhancements Darbee has on 2D is nice but on 3D content, Darbee knocks it outta the park. Darbee also works pretty good with making 2D to 3D conversion even watchable. smile.gif

Thanks!

Panasonic P60VT60 Calibrated by Chad B / Marantz NR-1504 / SVS PC-2000 / Velodyne CHT Front Row / AppleTV 3 / Sony PS4
mbroadus is offline  
post #2895 of 3497 Old 01-31-2014, 06:43 PM
 
SeLfMaDe111985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 99
So I'm SOL the same thing I had on my previous unit still plagues this unit. Is the 8500 that much more inferior to the VT60?
SeLfMaDe111985 is offline  
post #2896 of 3497 Old 01-31-2014, 07:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Robin Bombard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Rutland, Vermont
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post

Thanks!

Well again just my opinion but unless the Oppo is your only video source, I can't understand why anyone would want the 103D instead of a 103 and a standalone Darbee Darblet for all your video inputs? I've only had my Darbee 5000 for a few weeks now, just got my Panny 2D and 3D professionally calibrated a week ago and my DirecTv DVR is my only source but what I've really taken away from my last few weeks experiences is just how much I'm loving 3D at home instead of just in the theaters. Enough so that I now want an Oppo Blu-Ray of my own for 3D movies. DirecTv does have a 3D 1080p movie rental cannel,,, $6.99 a pop. But it won't rival Oppo Blu Ray quality and now that's what I want,,, thanks in part to the Darbee, the other part being the calibration of course. smile.gif
Robin Bombard is offline  
post #2897 of 3497 Old 01-31-2014, 07:20 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,871
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeLfMaDe111985 View Post

So I'm SOL the same thing I had on my previous unit still plagues this unit. Is the 8500 that much more inferior to the VT60?
Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Owners Thread (No Street Price Talk)
htwaits is offline  
post #2898 of 3497 Old 02-01-2014, 08:11 AM
Member
 
Gerryh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Philadelphia area
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post

I don't think there are many people here who have those instruments. If they did they would probably be calibrating their own sets it sounds like from the description you give...How about a quick setup with those measly 6 color points for us less fortunate folks. wink.gif

I will say, even without calibrating the CMS your settings have looked the best. My guess is also once setting the CMS colors within the VT60 we might run the risk of actually making the picture worse. I am willing to test that theory. lol

That is exactly what I am looking for. Without these instruments should I just keep all CMS values at default or should I experiment. Any recommendations would be appreciated.

GH
Gerryh is offline  
post #2899 of 3497 Old 02-01-2014, 01:52 PM
Member
 
LeKnobber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlb4 View Post

Is there any downside to changing the gamma from 2.4 to 2.2? I notice that D-Nice and alot of others use 2.4 also.

No downside at all. Feel free to try anything from gamma 1.8, 2.0, 2.2 and 2.4. The goal is to use what looks best to you, in your environment. 2.4 was way too dark for me.
LeKnobber is offline  
post #2900 of 3497 Old 02-01-2014, 02:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
eaayoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 81
If anyone is looking for a solution to turn off/disable the internal speakers, here's a solution:

Activate Hotel Mode:
1) Hold down Volume Down button on the TV (right side).
2) At the same time, pressing the Input button on the remote three times.
This should put you in Hotel Mode. If not, try again.

Once Hotel Mode is activated complete the following steps:
1) Select the Hotel Mode tab and turn on.
2) Select the Volume tab and reduce to zero.
3) Select the Volume Maximum tab and reduce to zero.
4) Exit Hotel Mode by turning off the TV via the remote control. Don't press the return key to exit as the setting won't take.

When you turn the TV on you should be good.
Works for my ZT but should also work for the ST and VT. Good solution for those using a sound bar or a receiver like myself.
Would've been nice if Panasonic had included this feature via the Menu. But at least there is a solution.

Have placed in the VT and ZT Owners thread as well.
eaayoung is offline  
post #2901 of 3497 Old 02-02-2014, 07:00 AM
Newbie
 
JackMiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Looks like I found another bug in ST60/VT60. It happends especially in dark environment and in dars scenes like "cave" whe you watching a movie with subtitles.

When subtitles appears, whole picture brightness (on ST60) and picture brightness+possibly chroma (VT60) getting mush lower.

It was measured, for example "red coat" with brightness 5cd turned to 4cd when subtitles appeared e.t.c.

It doesnt matter if you subtitles huge or small, bright white or dark gray. In dark environment tv changes to something like flashlight.

Greatly visible in slow motion scenes like "people talking in the cave", but some times its visible in mid and light scenes too.

Happends with any contrast and brightness including 0, in any mode.

Maybe it is known and theres a workaround for it?

P.S. My old 42u30 doesn't have this bug, checked many times. When menu is opened on St/VT60 this bug doesnt occur.

JackMiles is offline  
post #2902 of 3497 Old 02-02-2014, 08:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
hungro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeKnobber View Post

No downside at all. Feel free to try anything from gamma 1.8, 2.0, 2.2 and 2.4. The goal is to use what looks best to you, in your environment. 2.4 was way too dark for me.

Depending what model size you have say example for the ST60 a gamma value setting of 2.6 is actually closer to 2.22 avg gamma. The numbers for the gamma values don't necessarily match what it says. 2.2 gamma in Cinema mode is closer to a 1.82 gamma avg , this is what I measured on my set using a colormeter.
hungro is offline  
post #2903 of 3497 Old 02-02-2014, 08:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
hungro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerryh View Post

That is exactly what I am looking for. Without these instruments should I just keep all CMS values at default or should I experiment. Any recommendations would be appreciated.

I would leave everything at defaults for the most part but change your gamma to 2.6 if you have a ST60 50 or 55 inch, dissable any enhancements, motion smoother off, noise reduction off etc. Use a calibration disk to set up your basic user menu items. Do not change any white balance settings , or gamma calibration, color calibration values without a meter. Copying settiings will more then likely give you a less then accurate image compared to default say Cinema Mode. Dnice's settings which everyone and their dog seeem to recommend only made my set red as hell and avg greyscale error was high. Blacks were red and so where shadows in the picture. They do not work on my set. I calibrated my own ST60 using a meter and calibration software mesaured D'nices settings and were disappointed. Unit to unit variation will make it so that the majority of the settings will not match to your set specially the 2pt white balance, 10pt white balance and 10pt gamma values.
hungro is offline  
post #2904 of 3497 Old 02-02-2014, 11:40 AM
Member
 
molibra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Sorry if this has been answered multiple times, but heres my scenario,-

 

Have a Panasonic s60 65" and x60 50" I use for watching college football. Got both sets in October and have watched them for 12+ hours every saturday since. From what I understand I should NOT do the slides now. Am I good to enter the D-nice settings and consider the TV viewing hours that Ive done a good enough break in period?  Thanks

molibra is offline  
post #2905 of 3497 Old 02-02-2014, 12:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 2,289
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 407 Post(s)
Liked: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by molibra View Post

Sorry if this has been answered multiple times, but heres my scenario,-

Have a Panasonic s60 65" and x60 50" I use for watching college football. Got both sets in October and have watched them for 12+ hours every saturday since. From what I understand I should NOT do the slides now. Am I good to enter the D-nice settings and consider the TV viewing hours that Ive done a good enough break in period?  Thanks

Dnice does not have calibrated settings for any of your Panasonic models. Only ST60/VT/60/ZT60. If you want custom settings for your panel only, they can be found in the S60 thread. No point on doing slides at this point since you are not calibrating or using Dnice settings. Just watch and enjoy, ages the panel the same way, just vary your content.

TV - Panasonic 55GT50 THX, Main Speakers - Klipsch Gallery G28's, Center Channel- Klipsch RC-52, Sub-Klipsch Sub 12, Surround - Klipsch RS-52 II Bluray/Game - HTPC/PS3, Receiver - Onkyo RC-360, HTPC- Intel Core i3, HDMI,Windows 7,XBMC,Bluray,7 TB, Video Processor -Darbee

http://www.avsforum.com/photopost/sh...hp?cat=2236715
Latinoheat is offline  
post #2906 of 3497 Old 02-02-2014, 12:26 PM
Member
 
molibra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

The s60 thread had a link to this thread for the D-nice settings.

molibra is offline  
post #2907 of 3497 Old 02-02-2014, 12:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by molibra View Post

Sorry if this has been answered multiple times, but heres my scenario,-

Have a Panasonic s60 65" and x60 50" I use for watching college football. Got both sets in October and have watched them for 12+ hours every saturday since. From what I understand I should NOT do the slides now. Am I good to enter the D-nice settings and consider the TV viewing hours that Ive done a good enough break in period?  Thanks

Please search for my thread "Burn In & Calibration." Your questions should be answered.
Scott

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5005 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 15" Sub
TiVO Roamo OTA
Scott Oakley is offline  
post #2908 of 3497 Old 02-02-2014, 12:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Oakley View Post

Please search for my thread "Burn In & Calibration." Your questions should be answered.
Scott

Sorry - meant "Break In & Calibration."

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5005 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 15" Sub
TiVO Roamo OTA
Scott Oakley is offline  
post #2909 of 3497 Old 02-02-2014, 03:27 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,871
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by molibra View Post

The s60 thread had a link to this thread for the D-nice settings.
Some people don't understand how to get the most out of D-Nice's settings. The very first step is to start with that same model that D-Nice used.

The settings that D-Nice provided when he started this thread are for the ST60 models. Check post number one.
Latinoheat likes this.
htwaits is offline  
post #2910 of 3497 Old 02-03-2014, 05:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 353 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Did I read in an earlier post that the display gets significantly brighter at 400 hours? I ask because Chad B will be calibrating my display March 1 and I currently have 200 hours and wondering if I should attempt to run the display to 400 hours.

Panasonic P60VT60 Calibrated by Chad B / Marantz NR-1504 / SVS PC-2000 / Velodyne CHT Front Row / AppleTV 3 / Sony PS4
mbroadus is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P55st60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P65st60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P50st60 50 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P60st60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P60vt60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P55vt60 55 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P65s60 65 Inch 1080p 600hz Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic 60 Inch Plasma Hdtv Tc P60s60 , Panasonic Tc P55s60 55 Inch 1080p 600hz Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P50s60 50 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic 42 Inch Plasma Hdtv Tc P42s60
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off