Need Help With Samsung Plasma - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 04-06-2013, 12:44 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rumpltumpskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hello

i have a 3 year old 43" Samsung that will not turn on. when i plug it in the standby light blinks and there are ticking sounds for a few seconds but then the light goes solid and the controls don't respond on the remote or the TV. the model number is PN43D440A5D. it has been in almost 24 hour use since i bought it.

the warranty is expired and i would like to repair it myself. i opened it up and checked the capacitors but they all looked fine, no bulged tops or leaking fluid. can anyone give me a diagnosis or a link to a service manual please?

thanks
rumpltumpskin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 04-06-2013, 12:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 954
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 123
On this model, it is an X-main or Y-main problem. I've fixed a few of these newer Samsung plasmas, including the PS43D450 (PS=european, PN=north american) which is nearly the same as yours.

The Y-main and X-main are about $30 each.

You will need a digital multimeter, a digital camera and a screwdriver.

Take the back cover off and post pictures here of the overall layout and one of each board. It's been a while since I fixed this one, so I need a little reminder.
tom669 is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 04-06-2013, 02:07 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rumpltumpskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for such a fast response. i'll take the pictures now but i don't know how to post them here.
rumpltumpskin is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 04-06-2013, 02:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 954
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Use the paperclip near the reply window.
tom669 is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 04-07-2013, 03:16 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rumpltumpskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
IMG_2841.JPG 2068k .JPG file
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_2841.JPG (2.02 MB, 99 views)
rumpltumpskin is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 04-07-2013, 03:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 954
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Do you have a digital multimeter?

OK, in the middle of the TV you have the control board, it's the small green board that connects everything together. On it there is an LED that will blink or not.

The X-main and Y-main are on the bottom and top of your image, respectively. They are orange/brown boards.

The grey connectors on them can be disconnected, they are the power connectors.

Power to the set must be disconnected. Unplug the X-main first, leave the white and orange connectors plugged in. See if the same thing happens, and note if the green LED on the control board changes behaviour.

Disconnect power to set again then try with Y-main unplugged (X-main can be left disconnected.)

At this point, you really need a meter to make more tests.
tom669 is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 04-12-2013, 06:46 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rumpltumpskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for the advice but the cost of a multimeter looks to be about the same as a new 42 inch plasma so i have decided not to try and fix the tv myself. samsung's closest certified repair shop is 50 miles away so i'm going to try my luck with a local shop. i'll let ypu guys know what they have to say.
rumpltumpskin is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 04-13-2013, 06:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
budwich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
:-) .... those are either cheap sets or very expensive multimeters that you are looking at. You can pick up a digital multimeter at radio shack for $10-15 most of the time. Good luck either way with your repair journey.
budwich is online now  
post #9 of 17 Old 04-13-2013, 12:13 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rumpltumpskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DOH! the digital multimeters i was looking at were for cars, that's why i thought they were so expensive. in that case i may just try and do the repair myself depending on what the local shops have to say.

if they can do it for less than $50USD i'll just let them but if it is more than that i'll buy the tools to do it myself. after all, i do have 2 flat panels about the same age and if the other one breaks i will be happy to have the experience and equipment to fix it.
rumpltumpskin is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 04-14-2013, 03:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 954
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Well, either way, if you do not decide to repair it, please do not throw it out. So many flat panels (especially Samsung) end up in land fill with easy to repair faults. Sell it on eBay, craigslist or to someone on this forum. The replacement board is usually less than $30.
tom669 is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 04-14-2013, 06:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
budwich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Further to this. Since you have two, you might get lucky in that one can be a "control" especially for the measurements. You can readily see what a "working unit" measures while measuring the "non-working" unit. Might get you to the fault finding quicker / easier. Good luck, be careful around tv electronics.
budwich is online now  
post #12 of 17 Old 04-25-2013, 07:20 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rumpltumpskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have an update. i took the TV to a pro and he said that the X board is bad but samsung cautions that there may be factory defects in both the X and Y boards of this model. he quoted the labor at $70USD and he will install used parts if i bring them to him. can anyone recommend a good retail site or do you think that i would be better off with ebay?

thanks
rumpltumpskin is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 05-12-2013, 06:45 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rumpltumpskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well i thought i had the tv fixed. i got a new x-board off of ebay for $50 and replaced it myself. it was a fairly strait forward process and the tv worked like new afterwards. just now though the problem came back exactly as before. the standby light is on and none of the controls respond. any ideas?
rumpltumpskin is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 05-12-2013, 09:18 AM
Member
 
rockyroad2929's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wish I could help you. I have the same problem. Light blinks and no picture. I was told it was the power board so I'll try to replace it myself. If I have any suggestions or answers for you, I'll let you know.

Maybe you need to replace X & Y board too...

Good luck.
rockyroad2929 is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 05-12-2013, 12:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 954
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 123
After replacing the X board it is essential to update the firmware, if you did not do this you must do so next time.
tom669 is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 05-18-2013, 12:05 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rumpltumpskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i didn't even think driver updates were possible on a tv but that makes sense, thanks man. do you think that might have had something to do with the hardware failure? either way i may buy a y-board further down the line if i notice a real cheap one on ebay and try to fix it again. i'll update then.
rumpltumpskin is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 05-18-2013, 05:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 954
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Yep. Just install the Samsung update from the net. The control board firmware has a bug which is killing the X- and Y-main boards, these TVs are dropping like flies, I feel sorry for anyone who bought one, it will be just like the Samsung capacitors fiasco.
tom669 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off