Official Panasonic VT60/VT65 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 175 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5221 of 14745 Old 10-02-2013, 03:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mo949's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 302
the way it worked for me was I bought it online at costco and then used the email receipt to register it directly at the ST site - a rep there helped me through it. You need a copy of your original receipt (electronic is fine) as well as the costco square trade receipt. Coctco personnel are known for not understanding their own ST warranty and incorrectly believe it only applies to costco products.

The way I understood it was you needed to do all this within 60 days of your TV purchase date.
mo949 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5222 of 14745 Old 10-02-2013, 04:32 PM
Member
 
gosas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mo949 View Post

the way it worked for me was I bought it online at costco and then used the email receipt to register it directly at the ST site - a rep there helped me through it. You need a copy of your original receipt (electronic is fine) as well as the costco square trade receipt. Coctco personnel are known for not understanding their own ST warranty and incorrectly believe it only applies to costco products.

The way I understood it was you needed to do all this within 60 days of your TV purchase date.

yea thats what I was thinking I checked some other forums and people got the warrenty from costco without problem even tho they didnt purchase the tv from costco.. I was just wondering costco has 1000+ tv for like 99 bucks while ST has smaller limits and gets much expensive for a TV that costs more than 2000+ lets say they are like 299 for 5 years coverage.. while I got my VT60 for 1460 the price online is 2300 so if I go costcos 1000+ ( 99bucks ) I guess I'm saving a lot of money against straight from ST
gosas is offline  
post #5223 of 14745 Old 10-02-2013, 04:55 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1000
Quote:
Originally Posted by mo949 View Post

the way it worked for me was I bought it online at costco and then used the email receipt to register it directly at the ST site - a rep there helped me through it. You need a copy of your original receipt (electronic is fine) as well as the costco square trade receipt. Coctco personnel are known for not understanding their own ST warranty and incorrectly believe it only applies to costco products.

The way I understood it was you needed to do all this within 60 days of your TV purchase date.
I didn't see that 60-day limitation in the terms and conditions: http://www.costco.com/wcsstore/CostcoUSBCCatalogAssetStore/Attachment/SquareTrade-Terms+Conditions.pdf

I really hope that's not a hidden requirement...as I was intending to buy this service plan for my ZT60 in the near future (before the manuf. warranty expires in June 2014).

EDIT: Nevermind, it's listed on the main product page. I'm sunk: http://www.costco.com/.product.11680336.html frown.gif
vinnie97 is offline  
post #5224 of 14745 Old 10-02-2013, 05:20 PM
Member
 
RFK54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Do you have to be a Costco member to get the square trade 3 year warranty?
RFK54 is online now  
post #5225 of 14745 Old 10-02-2013, 05:23 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1000
For others in the same boat as me, this alternative from Mack can be purchased up to 90 days before the end of the manufacturer's warranty period: TVs under $3700

Almost double the price, but it's probably what I'll be purchasing by March.

The warranties are tiered based on TV price (under $3100, under $2500, and under $2100 for less).
vinnie97 is offline  
post #5226 of 14745 Old 10-02-2013, 08:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mo949's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 302
Yeah bummer, but that still looks good and still reasonable compared to full price warranties - just make sure they promise in home repairs is my only advice about warranties in general for large or indispensable items.
mo949 is offline  
post #5227 of 14745 Old 10-02-2013, 09:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sgooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Space Coast, FL
Posts: 843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by RFK54 View Post

Do you have to be a Costco member to get the square trade 3 year warranty?
No membership required to buy the warranty online, but you will pay a small surcharge (maybe 5%).

When in doubt, do the right thing.
Sgooter is offline  
post #5228 of 14745 Old 10-02-2013, 11:41 PM
Member
 
RFK54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks! Sounds like I'll be getting a costco warranty.
RFK54 is online now  
post #5229 of 14745 Old 10-02-2013, 11:51 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1000
Quote:
Originally Posted by mo949 View Post

Yeah bummer, but that still looks good and still reasonable compared to full price warranties - just make sure they promise in home repairs is my only advice about warranties in general for large or indispensable items.
Definitely, on-site service is one of the perks. smile.gif There's actually a huge thread buried in this forum with a lot of positive experiences chronicled in regards to Mack.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #5230 of 14745 Old 10-03-2013, 05:26 AM
 
SeLfMaDe111985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

^Well, theirs is the only one who covers bad pixels. Had I purchased their coverage, I would have replaced my ZT60 (which developed a faulty pixel 3 months into ownership).

So what did you have to do in order to get the issue fixed? Man I thought pixel problems were usually pronounced on LED...now this is making me triple think the warranty and where i purchase from. I've seen a good handful of people in here with pixel issues. Also making me rethink my plan to just get a bigger s60...ahhhhh.
SeLfMaDe111985 is offline  
post #5231 of 14745 Old 10-03-2013, 09:24 AM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1000
It's unfixed, just have to live with it. It's not visible from my seating distance, but that doesn't prevent my OCD from engaging my eyes to go looking for it. smile.gif
vinnie97 is offline  
post #5232 of 14745 Old 10-03-2013, 12:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 11,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 821
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

It's unfixed, just have to live with it. It's not visible from my seating distance, but that doesn't prevent my OCD from engaging my eyes to go looking for it. smile.gif
Have you tried a good hypnotist. biggrin.gif

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #5233 of 14745 Old 10-03-2013, 01:28 PM
Member
 
gosas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Order Total: $114.31

3 years from Costco via SquareTrade, I hope everything is gonna be alright biggrin.gif
gosas is offline  
post #5234 of 14745 Old 10-03-2013, 02:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 70
I'm surprised people worry about dead pixels (I have one on my 46" and I cannot see it from 8ft viewing distance.)
If you want to fix it, you can increase VSUS from LOW to HIGH in the service mode.
tom669 is offline  
post #5235 of 14745 Old 10-03-2013, 03:37 PM
 
SeLfMaDe111985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 99
People worry because these TVs have a hefty price and for that price there shouldn't be a dead pixel on the screen. And I'm sure it's not that easy with best buy to just exchange I've looked up countless reviews about their warranty and even ex BB employees have stated to buy a squaretrade warranty. And they have also stated it's not as easy to get things covered. Nothing but horror stories mostly. But that's what I came across others may see different.
SeLfMaDe111985 is offline  
post #5236 of 14745 Old 10-03-2013, 04:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mo949's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 302
its not the dead ones, its the ones that are 'stuck' that cause all the disappointment when watching.
mo949 is offline  
post #5237 of 14745 Old 10-03-2013, 04:51 PM
 
SeLfMaDe111985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by mo949 View Post

its not the dead ones, its the ones that are 'stuck' that cause all the disappointment when watching.

Very annoying...surprised that it's present even on today's panels especially plasma. It may come back do to phosphors moving around unlike LED tech where you were told to massage the pixel which never worked (that was years ago idk about now). There's always hope but I'm still surprised to see that there hasn't been anything developed in the TV settings to help these issues but I guess that's just how some things are and some tech can not be fixed just inherent to the technology.
SeLfMaDe111985 is offline  
post #5238 of 14745 Old 10-03-2013, 05:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mo949's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 302
always a problem somehow. I remember with my toshiba 65' crt I would get these spiderwebs on the inside of the screen and I would have to go through hell to get them out eek.gif They would float around and cause the colors to separate around them.
mo949 is offline  
post #5239 of 14745 Old 10-03-2013, 05:13 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1000
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom669 View Post

I'm surprised people worry about dead pixels (I have one on my 46" and I cannot see it from 8ft viewing distance.)
If you want to fix it, you can increase VSUS from LOW to HIGH in the service mode.
Didn't help in my case as you may recall. wink.gif
vinnie97 is offline  
post #5240 of 14745 Old 10-03-2013, 06:25 PM
 
SeLfMaDe111985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by mo949 View Post

always a problem somehow. I remember with my toshiba 65' crt I would get these spiderwebs on the inside of the screen and I would have to go through hell to get them out eek.gif They would float around and cause the colors to separate around them.
Sounds like a Halloween story lol...😱
SeLfMaDe111985 is offline  
post #5241 of 14745 Old 10-03-2013, 06:25 PM
 
SeLfMaDe111985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Hey Mo...do you have any pixel issues?
SeLfMaDe111985 is offline  
post #5242 of 14745 Old 10-04-2013, 12:00 AM
Member
 
gosas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys do you know how do I find the serial number of my VT60? is it at the back of the tv? ( its under my bed and I dont wanna take that beast out to start searching 3am :/ any easy way to find out?
gosas is offline  
post #5243 of 14745 Old 10-04-2013, 07:52 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 11,719
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 395
^^^ On the box and the back of the unit.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconjason View Post

You really need to find a better way to transport it. Find a friend with a truck, van, uhaul, whatever you have to do. And have someone with so it can be held during the drive. If you lay it flat during transport, you're almost guaranteed to crack the screen.
When there is no box around and a person is not hauling it to far, find a friend with a van and hold it the whole way upright against a seat or wall. That's what I do, its the only way to be sure........
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #5244 of 14745 Old 10-04-2013, 08:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sgooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Space Coast, FL
Posts: 843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by gosas View Post

Hey guys do you know how do I find the serial number of my VT60? is it at the back of the tv? ( its under my bed and I dont wanna take that beast out to start searching 3am :/ any easy way to find out?
Still in the box? If yes, then it may be labeled on the side of the box. As an example, my serial # is 10 digits beginning with MK_ _ _.

When in doubt, do the right thing.
Sgooter is offline  
post #5245 of 14745 Old 10-04-2013, 10:07 AM
Newbie
 
KevinBax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Just got my TV and set it up. I am having a problem that when trying to use the internet I get a message that says "This connection is unsecure" And youtube just locks the tv to a white / grey screen. What is going on? I updated to the latest software.

 

KevinBax is offline  
post #5246 of 14745 Old 10-04-2013, 11:12 AM
Newbie
 
KevinBax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

A factory reset after the update fixed the problem for anyone else in that positon. 

KevinBax is offline  
post #5247 of 14745 Old 10-04-2013, 01:59 PM
Member
 
JRonnie7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I'm considering returning my 65VT60 for the 65ST60 for increased brightness. Does anyone have any experience to provide input as to how much brighter the ST60 actually is to the human eye and difference in pic quality? I'm aware of the input lag and 3D issues. Prices listed below including the S64 as a tempting budget model. Thoughts?

65S64 - $1288
65ST60 - $2050
65VT60 - $2400 (purchased)
JRonnie7 is offline  
post #5248 of 14745 Old 10-04-2013, 02:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRonnie7 View Post

I'm considering returning my 65VT60 for the 65ST60 for increased brightness. Does anyone have any experience to provide input as to how much brighter the ST60 actually is to the human eye and difference in pic quality? I'm aware of the input lag and 3D issues. Prices listed below including the S64 as a tempting budget model. Thoughts?

65S64 - $xxxx
65ST60 - $xxxxx
65VT60 - $xxxxx

Price talk isn't allowed in this thread.

Why are you wanting the extra brightness?

PANASONIC VT50 FOR SALE!!!!

Panasonic 60VT60 3DTV
Denon AVR 4311CI
Klipsch F-30 Fronts
Klipsch C-20 Center
Klipsch S-20 Sides
Klipsch B-20 Rears
PA 120 12" Sub
Dune HD Smart D1
PS3 Slim
DirecTV HR34 DVR

jconjason is offline  
post #5249 of 14745 Old 10-04-2013, 02:38 PM
Member
 
JRonnie7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconjason View Post

Price talk isn't allowed in this thread.

Why are you wanting the extra brightness?
Sorry. I didn't realize that.

From what I've read, the VT60 is better suited for darker rooms compared to the ST60. I plan on moving and the TV will probably be located in a room with more windows. I already feel like I have to dim the lights to get the best picture with my current setup.
JRonnie7 is offline  
post #5250 of 14745 Old 10-04-2013, 03:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRonnie7 View Post

Sorry. I didn't realize that.

From what I've read, the VT60 is better suited for darker rooms compared to the ST60. I plan on moving and the TV will probably be located in a room with more windows. I already feel like I have to dim the lights to get the best picture with my current setup.

Have you considered the ZT? Has a better filter at reducing glare than the VT. It is just slightly dimmer due to the more aggressive filter.

PANASONIC VT50 FOR SALE!!!!

Panasonic 60VT60 3DTV
Denon AVR 4311CI
Klipsch F-30 Fronts
Klipsch C-20 Center
Klipsch S-20 Sides
Klipsch B-20 Rears
PA 120 12" Sub
Dune HD Smart D1
PS3 Slim
DirecTV HR34 DVR

jconjason is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P65vt60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic , Panasonic Tcp65 65 Inch Vt25 3d Plasma Tv , Panasonic Tc P60vt60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P55vt60 55 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off