Official Panasonic VT60/VT65 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 370 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11071 of 15007 Old 01-20-2014, 02:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
FilmReverie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: The Grid
Posts: 652
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReyVGM View Post

I'm too lazy to check what model you were talking about, but I was talking about the VT60. In my instructions, page 11 (Attaching the pedestal to TV) it clearly shows that the Plastic Cover is the 3rd step.

1st step is to attach the Bracket to the base, 2nd step to screw the bracket to the base, 3rd step is to attach and screw the plastic cover to the bracket & base, 4th step is to place the TV on top of the Base/Bracket/Plastic cover, 5th step is to screw the TV to all of that.

There's absolutely no way to screw the plastic cover AFTER you have placed the TV on the base because it doesn't even let you lock it into place if the TV is already there. On the VT60 that is.

I have a 65vt60. I think I was unclear though it was the last base piece I would have put on before attaching to the tv. Hopefully that makes sense. So I have indeed connected as you have written (though I don't rekember a click). Also I am a known worrier about new things so I doubt there is an issue but there is that worrier aspect to myself that keeps running 'what ifs'.

Thankyou everyone for all advice given. I shall post tommorow with what Panaonic says (and I think I shall check the base screws and unnatach and reatach the stand tomorrow if they say there should be absolutly no angle. For know though I am going to distract myself with a movie).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
FilmReverie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11072 of 15007 Old 01-20-2014, 04:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2,796
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 653
Quote:
Originally Posted by FilmReverie View Post

You mean the one you put on last that only has one bolt correct? If so it is on an screwed up nice and tightly.

edit: grabbed a photo of the back.

*
On my 65VT60, that one little screw that you put into the bottom plastic piece, I used it to screw into the little hole in the center top of the stand which looks like you have nothing in it. Are you not able to put a screw in that hole on the 60"? Screwing in the plastic piece will offer absolutely no support and has been discussed here as just cosmetic. When I attached the TV to the stand, the first screw I put in was that little one in the top center and it stabilized the entire TV.
eric3316 is online now  
post #11073 of 15007 Old 01-20-2014, 04:44 AM
Senior Member
 
fullerms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys,

I am calibrating my TV (Its an Asian model 65VT60) using DNICe's settings and could not find the following parameters. Can someone guide me please?

agc 0
blackext 0
c.a.t.s. Off
videonr Off
motionsmr Off

Can someone help me out on this?

and btw, is it possible to rename the picture settings? I used Pro1 for the ISFnight settings, but would like to rename it. Is that possible?
fullerms is offline  
post #11074 of 15007 Old 01-20-2014, 04:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2,796
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 653
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullerms View Post

Hi guys,

I am calibrating my TV (Its an Asian model 65VT60) using DNICe's settings and could not find the following parameters. Can someone guide me please?

agc 0
blackext 0
c.a.t.s. Off
videonr Off
motionsmr Off

Can someone help me out on this?

and btw, is it possible to rename the picture settings? I used Pro1 for the ISFnight settings, but would like to rename it. Is that possible?
Those settings would be correct.
eric3316 is online now  
post #11075 of 15007 Old 01-20-2014, 05:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryInRI View Post

Does that sketch show a tilt up or a tilt down? biggrin.gif Any tilting will put stress on the mount. You want the center of gravity to go right though the connecting structure

Mine is perfectly vertical.

Larry

Mine too.

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5005 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 15" Sub
TiVO Roamo OTA
Scott Oakley is offline  
post #11076 of 15007 Old 01-20-2014, 05:54 AM
Senior Member
 
fullerms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post

Those settings would be correct.

I cant find them redface.gif
fullerms is offline  
post #11077 of 15007 Old 01-20-2014, 05:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post

On my 65VT60, that one little screw that you put into the bottom plastic piece, I used it to screw into the little hole in the center top of the stand which looks like you have nothing in it. Are you not able to put a screw in that hole on the 60"? Screwing in the plastic piece will offer absolutely no support and has been discussed here as just cosmetic. When I attached the TV to the stand, the first screw I put in was that little one in the top center and it stabilized the entire TV.

Does anyone look at owners manuals anymore? Here it is for all three sizes of the VT. You will find a picture with numbers for mounting the TV to its stand:

http://service.us.panasonic.com/OPERMANPDF/TCP55VT60.PDF

Scott

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5005 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 15" Sub
TiVO Roamo OTA
Scott Oakley is offline  
post #11078 of 15007 Old 01-20-2014, 06:36 AM
Senior Member
 
XBR11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
A couple of years ago I got a free calibration from BB on a tv I bought from them. I only had it done because it was free. The 2 geek guys they sent didn't seem to fully know what they were doing, and what they did wasn't very useful. But hey, free is free. And every now and then while reading posts on AVS Forum I read where someone else said they got a free calibration from Best Buy. (One guy even said that the guy who came out was ISF certified and spent 4 hours there.)

Is a free calibration one of BB's regular offers (like free shipping and pickup) on tvs of a certain size or price, or is it only offered by BB now and again? IF this is a standing offer that BB makes then some people that can not afford a pro might want to try a free calibration.
XBR11 is offline  
post #11079 of 15007 Old 01-20-2014, 06:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2,796
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 653
Quote:
Originally Posted by XBR11 View Post

A couple of years ago I got a free calibration from BB on a tv I bought from them. I only had it done because it was free. The 2 geek guys they sent didn't seem to fully know what they were doing, and what they did wasn't very useful. But hey, free is free. And every now and then while reading posts on AVS Forum I read where someone else said they got a free calibration from Best Buy. (One guy even said that the guy who came out was ISF certified and spent 4 hours there.)

Is a free calibration one of BB's regular offers (like free shipping and pickup) on tvs of a certain size or price, or is it only offered by BB now and again? IF this is a standing offer that BB makes then some people that can not afford a pro might want to try a free calibration.
They used to offer it if you spent a certain amount of money there per year but they got rid of the free calibration with their new rewards program.

As far as if it's free I will take it. Sometime free is not always better. If someone who does not know what they are doing comes out to calibrate your TV, you might as well just use someone else's settings or in the case of the VT60, THX Cinema mode. If the calibration doesn't achieve better results then what you already have it really is just a waste of your time.
repete66211 likes this.
eric3316 is online now  
post #11080 of 15007 Old 01-20-2014, 06:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2,796
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 653
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Oakley View Post

Does anyone look at owners manuals anymore? Here it is for all three sizes of the VT. You will find a picture with numbers for mounting the TV to its stand:

http://service.us.panasonic.com/OPERMANPDF/TCP55VT60.PDF

Scott
I don't see what you are getting at here?
eric3316 is online now  
post #11081 of 15007 Old 01-20-2014, 06:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2,796
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 653
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullerms View Post

I cant find them redface.gif
Sorry, I didn't realize what you were saying. lol

I am not by my TV but they are in different spots. some are right in the first screen of the setting menu if you scroll down and I believe the others are in the first level of the pro settings or whatever it's called. I would not be surprised if your model is different than the US model though and might not have everything we do.
eric3316 is online now  
post #11082 of 15007 Old 01-20-2014, 07:05 AM
Member
 
tt08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi, I am trying to turn the orbiter to OFF to run the slides as in the instructions suggested. But the Orbiter on the VT60 is ON and grayed out. How do I turn it off? Or I can
just run the slides for 100 hours with Orbiter ON? TIA.
tt08 is offline  
post #11083 of 15007 Old 01-20-2014, 07:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2,796
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 653
Quote:
Originally Posted by tt08 View Post

Hi, I am trying to turn the orbiter to OFF to run the slides as in the instructions suggested. But the Orbiter on the VT60 is ON and grayed out. How do I turn it off? Or I can
just run the slides for 100 hours with Orbiter ON? TIA.
Put the TV in custom mode and change the orbitor to auto. You are probably in a THX setting I am assuming.
eric3316 is online now  
post #11084 of 15007 Old 01-20-2014, 08:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I had my 60VT60 delivered last week and I noticed that Best Buy's delivery guys did not attach the bracket cover. I wasn't concerned until the discussion here about how the pedestal is attached so went to check and noticed that one of the screws has broken off. The stand seems to be fine but I'm concerned that I will not be able to remove the stand if I wish to mount the TV on the wall. Is there a way to get the screw out without destroying the stand? I'm thinking about calling Best Buy and having them come back and replace the screw.

mbroadus is offline  
post #11085 of 15007 Old 01-20-2014, 08:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post

I had my 60VT60 delivered last week and I noticed that Best Buy's delivery guys did not attach the bracket cover. I wasn't concerned until the discussion here about how the pedestal is attached so went to check and noticed that one of the screws has broken off. The stand seems to be fine but I'm concerned that I will not be able to remove the stand if I wish to mount the TV on the wall. Is there a way to get the screw out without destroying the stand? I'm thinking about calling Best Buy and having them come back and replace the screw.


If it was me, I'd have BestBuy come back out and make it right whatever it took. You paid a lot of money and you shouldn't have to live with a broken screw.

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5005 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 15" Sub
TiVO Roamo OTA
Scott Oakley is offline  
post #11086 of 15007 Old 01-20-2014, 08:39 AM
Member
 
ReyVGM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16

Here's how mine looks:

 

*

ReyVGM is offline  
post #11087 of 15007 Old 01-20-2014, 08:46 AM
Member
 
fkenyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Utah
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I could be wrong, but I believe what you are seeing as a broken screw is actually a screw that comes up from the bottom. The 4 screws that attach the tv to the stand are intact. Also the little plastic cover that you are missing is purely decorative and provides no structural support.
fkenyon is offline  
post #11088 of 15007 Old 01-20-2014, 09:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by fkenyon View Post

I could be wrong, but I believe what you are seeing as a broken screw is actually a screw that comes up from the bottom. The 4 screws that attach the tv to the stand are intact. Also the little plastic cover that you are missing is purely decorative and provides no structural support.

You may not be able to see it but I can see where the screw head snapped off and the drill bit hit the pedestal and scratched it. I wonder if I can unscrew it with vice grips?
mbroadus is offline  
post #11089 of 15007 Old 01-20-2014, 09:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pdawg17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cali
Posts: 1,787
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by FilmReverie View Post

I have just noticed that my tv on the stand has a slight angle to it. Is this normal?

I did a quick draw up to give an idea of the angle. It is probably a bit less then below but still.


Mine tilts back slightly. Drove me nuts so put 3 felt pads under back of stand to straighten it out.

What screws that are part of the base should I check?
pdawg17 is offline  
post #11090 of 15007 Old 01-20-2014, 09:55 AM
Member
 
ISUeclipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ISUeclipse View Post

So I've had my VT60 for about a week now and I noticed that if I set the motion smoother on Mid or High I'll experience some motion judder from time to time. It happens more frequently when I'm streaming video like Netflix.

Is there a way to resolve this?

Anybody? ^
ISUeclipse is offline  
post #11091 of 15007 Old 01-20-2014, 09:59 AM
Newbie
 
Drewborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just refused delivery of a P60VT60 due to a cracked screen from Amazon. Heartbreaking... Debating about digging deeper in the pocketbook or waiting for OLED a couple of years down the road.
Drewborn is offline  
post #11092 of 15007 Old 01-20-2014, 10:09 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post

You may not be able to see it but I can see where the screw head snapped off and the drill bit hit the pedestal and scratched it. I wonder if I can unscrew it with vice grips?

Looks like they put the cover screw in before the cover.

You should be able to back that screw out considering there is quite a bit of screw to grab and the screw itself isn't very long.
DLF54927 is offline  
post #11093 of 15007 Old 01-20-2014, 10:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drewborn View Post

Just refused delivery of a P60VT60 due to a cracked screen from Amazon. Heartbreaking... Debating about digging deeper in the pocketbook or waiting for OLED a couple of years down the road.

Oh man!
mbroadus is offline  
post #11094 of 15007 Old 01-20-2014, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2,796
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 653
Quote:
Originally Posted by ISUeclipse View Post

Anybody? ^
No one here uses motion smoothing. That's why we own plasmas!
Scott Oakley likes this.
eric3316 is online now  
post #11095 of 15007 Old 01-20-2014, 10:52 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,397
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 424
I cannot stomach motion smoother or the soap opera effect. However, with 3D, motion smoother on weak can be 'okay' sometimes when motion appears somewhat hitchy and the soap opera effect becomes less noticeable at this point at least at times.

DavidHir is offline  
post #11096 of 15007 Old 01-20-2014, 11:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2,796
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 653
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidHir View Post

I cannot stomach motion smoother or the soap opera effect. However, with 3D, motion smoother on weak can be 'okay' sometimes when motion appears somewhat hitchy and the soap opera effect becomes less noticeable at this point at least at times.
Actually, on the ST60 you had to turn motion smoother on for the 3D to be watchable although they might have fixed that by now.

But yes, I think it serves a different purpose when viewing 3D. To watch 2D on mid or high, just eww.

Anyway, to answer the original post, motion smoother does not make anything smooth despite what it's called. I would rather deal with some judder on slow panning scenes then any of the negative effects activating it introduces.

Best advice is to shut it off.
eric3316 is online now  
post #11097 of 15007 Old 01-20-2014, 11:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,397
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post

Actually, on the ST60 you had to turn motion smoother on for the 3D to be watchable although they might have fixed that by now.

But yes, I think it serves a different purpose when viewing 3D. To watch 2D on mid or high, just eww.

Anyway, to answer the original post, motion smoother does not make anything smooth despite what it's called. I would rather deal with some judder then any of the negative effects activating it introduces.

Best advice is to shut it off.

It's funny though, even on 3D sometimes I don't like. It almost just depends on the content and motion in the movie.

Yes, definitely keep it off on 2D. I cannot see how anyone can tolerate it.

DavidHir is offline  
post #11098 of 15007 Old 01-20-2014, 11:50 AM
Member
 
BohemioVic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11

I had to pick mine up 3 weeks ago today at the distribution center in Perth Amboy, NJ. After that I checked again and there weren't any left to pick up from the distribution center. I'm from Clifton, NJ and I got tired of searching everywhere.... I guess I got lucky.. Just keep searching around. Have you tried Sears?

BohemioVic is offline  
post #11099 of 15007 Old 01-20-2014, 12:02 PM
Senior Member
 
JPowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drewborn View Post

Just refused delivery of a P60VT60 due to a cracked screen from Amazon. Heartbreaking... Debating about digging deeper in the pocketbook or waiting for OLED a couple of years down the road.

See if they'll work out a deal on a Samsung F8500, since all the Panasonics are gone. By the way, how long ago did you order?
JPowers is offline  
post #11100 of 15007 Old 01-20-2014, 12:36 PM
Senior Member
 
XBR11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
rolleyes.gif

I'm real scared that my VT60 will develop stress fractures during the Superbowl!!! What do you all suggest I do to pre-mitigate this?

What with Denver Broncos florescent orange versus the Seattle Seahawks neon green, the bright tv lights bouncing off the snow and the resultant deep shadows, the screaming crowd, and the endless replays, when there is zoom-in on a crucial goal line pileup then the tv screen will develop stress fractures. I don't think this tv was built to withstand category 4 color clashes.

Would it help to add 3 or 4 more layers of bubble wrap around the tv?
Or putting pillows on the floor?
Or adding Bose noise-cancelling sound settings?
Or every few minutes switching channels and watching a recording of the live Sound of Music?
Or adjusting the mode to Vivid and the Contrast to 100, so that tv knows to expect this content?
Or downloading and applying the Hubble original optics settings?
Or pre-coat the screen with Superglue?
Or maybe I can use duct tape in an ingenious MythBusters way?

You got to help me!!!
XBR11 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P65vt60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic , Panasonic Tcp65 65 Inch Vt25 3d Plasma Tv , Panasonic Tc P60vt60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P55vt60 55 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off