Official Panasonic VT60/VT65 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 388 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 237Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11611 of 16665 Old 01-25-2014, 03:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 3,357
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 951 Post(s)
Liked: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by kma100 View Post

Question about wall mounting a 60VT60 - I instruction manual says use an M8 screw but when I got one from Home Depot, it was too small a diameter. Has anyone run into this problem? Suggestions?

Most of the time when you buy a wall mount, it comes with universal fasteners. That was the case with mine. If it doesn't , manual states them as you know otherwise it's a few trips to Home Depot if you can't get the right ones the first time , basically eyeball it and thread it by hand first to make sure it's not too long or short. You could be looking at the wrong fasteners in the manual, good luck.

Media room- LG OLED EG9600 4k, Pioneer Elite VSX-90, PS4, Klipsch Gallery G28's, Klipsch Sub 12, Klipsch RS-52 II, Optik HD cable

Living room- Panasonic ST60, onkyo RC-360,HTPC, Klipsch Reference R-62II, Rc52II

Gaming room -Panasonic GT50 THX, PS3, Wii
Latinoheat is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11612 of 16665 Old 01-25-2014, 03:40 PM
Senior Member
 
kma100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hoboken
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Latinoheat View Post

Most of the time when you buy a wall mount, it comes with universal fasteners. That was the case with mine. If it doesn't , manual states them as you know otherwise it's a few trips to Home Depot if you can't get the right ones the first time , basically eyeball it and thread it by hand first to make sure it's not too long or short. You could be looking at the wrong fasteners in the manual, good luck.

Hah. Guess you are right. I am reusing a wall mount from an previous TV. Looks like I need another trip to Home Depot!
kma100 is offline  
post #11613 of 16665 Old 01-25-2014, 03:42 PM
Senior Member
 
kma100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hoboken
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 16
To make things simple - if anyone has wall mounted their TV or plans to, could you let me know what size screw was used? Much appreciated.
kma100 is offline  
post #11614 of 16665 Old 01-25-2014, 03:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,322
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 352 Post(s)
Liked: 185
If anyone is looking for a reference blu ray black level torture disc for their VT60- Best buy has the Prometheus 2 disc bluray/ dvd for $5 smile.gif

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/prometheus-2-disc-blu-ray-disc/6668044.p?ref=199&loc=NKa3hZyYoHA&siteID=NKa3hZyYoHA-f56QBdZHE2NR8OgXtMN9nQ
Chere is offline  
post #11615 of 16665 Old 01-25-2014, 03:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 3,357
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 951 Post(s)
Liked: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chere View Post

If anyone is looking for a reference blu ray black level torture disc for their VT60- Best buy has the Prometheus 2 disc bluray/ dvd for $5 smile.gif

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/prometheus-2-disc-blu-ray-disc/6668044.p?ref=199&loc=NKa3hZyYoHA&siteID=NKa3hZyYoHA-f56QBdZHE2NR8OgXtMN9nQ

One of my favourites, awesome movie if you like Sci-Fi flicks.

Media room- LG OLED EG9600 4k, Pioneer Elite VSX-90, PS4, Klipsch Gallery G28's, Klipsch Sub 12, Klipsch RS-52 II, Optik HD cable

Living room- Panasonic ST60, onkyo RC-360,HTPC, Klipsch Reference R-62II, Rc52II

Gaming room -Panasonic GT50 THX, PS3, Wii
Latinoheat is online now  
post #11616 of 16665 Old 01-25-2014, 04:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
XBR11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 811
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 252 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryInRI View Post

For your reference mode (Pro2) did you request that gamma be calibrated to BT. 1886 or did Chad do that on his own?

Larry

Before Chad started the calibration, I asked him what he thought about the podcast post (in AVS Forum in the Calibration section) about a Hollywood guy saying that most movies now days are mastered to1886.

The bright room setting was not calibrated to 1886.

I trust that Chad did the right thing. Maybe if Chad reads this, he will comment on how it would look the difference between 1886 and whatever the normal choice would be.

_______________________________________________
[Hey, what does that Acronym mean?! Click here to learn.]
XBR11 is offline  
post #11617 of 16665 Old 01-25-2014, 04:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
yellowcanary73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: McKinney,Texas
Posts: 2,691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by FilmReverie View Post

Personally lcd has its place (and I know people where just kidding). But I fell I should say as much as ppasmas kill lcd for films. Lcd is what I use for gaming now. It is nice not having to eorry about image retintion or burn snd I can understand why the average person for this reason would go for lcd over plasma.

But not in the plasma area.
yellowcanary73 is offline  
post #11618 of 16665 Old 01-25-2014, 04:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by XBR11 View Post

Before Chad started the calibration, I asked him what he thought about the podcast post (in AVS Forum in the Calibration section) about a Hollywood guy saying that most movies now days are mastered to1886.

The bright room setting was not calibrated to 1886.

I trust that Chad did the right thing. Maybe if Chad reads this, he will comment on how it would look the difference between 1886 and whatever the normal choice would be.


I know what it would look with the standard 2.2 gamma that almost all professional calibrators use these days. I only asked because I don't recall seeing any other calibration report by him where he used BT. 1886.

WRT some guy saying that most movies made these days use BT 1886: What about the movies made during the last century and more when movies were made without digits -- on celluloid (and before that on nitrate) film? Zhivago, Bonnie and Clyde and Chinatown were made on film. They look terrible with BT.1886.

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #11619 of 16665 Old 01-25-2014, 04:54 PM
Member
 
ReyVGM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16

I have a few questions.

 

I'm going to buy the Onkyo HT-S3500 Home Theater Speaker/Receiver Package and hook it up with my Panny VT60. I have never used a receiver or home theater before. I already researched how to hook up everything, but I'm still not clear on a couple of things.

 

(Note: Due to the TV's inability to transfer 5.1 audio to the receiver if I hook up the game consoles or bluray directly to the TV, I'm going to connect all external devices directly to the receiver and from there, pass an HDMI cable to the TV.)

 

However:

 

1. How do I hook it up so that I hear the TV channels or netflix through the receiver too? Do I have to use an additional Toslink/Optical cable or will that same HDMI cable going from the receiver to the TV also work to transfer the sound from the TV/netflix to the receiver?

 

2. If I want the TV's sound coming from the receiver/speakers, do I have to use the HDMI ARC slot? What exactly is ARC good for?

 

 

Sorry if the questions are stupid, but I don't live in the USA, so I have to order all the necessary cables right away with the receiver.

 

This is going to be my setup: Game consoles + Bluray --> hooked up to the HDMI ports on the Receiver  -->  HDMI cable from the output slot on the Receiver into the input HDMI slot (regular or ARC?) on the VT60.

 

So far so good?

 

*edit* Oh wait, should I even be posting my predicament in this thread?

ReyVGM is offline  
post #11620 of 16665 Old 01-25-2014, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 3,357
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 951 Post(s)
Liked: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReyVGM View Post

I have a few questions.

I'm going to buy the Onkyo HT-S3500 Home Theater Speaker/Receiver Package and hook it up with my Panny VT60. I have never used a receiver or home theater before. I already researched how to hook up everything, but I'm still not clear on a couple of things.

(Note: Due to the TV's inability to transfer 5.1 audio to the receiver if I hook up the game consoles or bluray directly to the TV, I'm going to connect all external devices directly to the receiver and from there, pass an HDMI cable to the TV.)

However:

1. How do I hook it up so that I hear the TV channels or netflix through the receiver too? Do I have to use an additional Toslink/Optical cable or will that same HDMI cable going from the receiver to the TV also work to transfer the sound from the TV/netflix to the receiver?

2. If I want the TV's sound coming from the receiver/speakers, do I have to use the HDMI ARC slot? What exactly is ARC good for?


Sorry if the questions are stupid, but I don't live in the USA, so I have to order all the necessary cables right away with the receiver.

This is going to be my setup: Game consoles + Bluray --> hooked up to the HDMI ports on the Receiver  -->  HDMI cable from the output slot on the Receiver into the input HDMI slot (regular or ARC?) on the VT60.

So far so good?

*edit* Oh wait, should I even be posting my predicament in this thread?


You pretty much have it right. Hook up all your components to receiver via HDMI , than one HDMI cable to TV ARC input. In order to get sound from internet apps you need to enable ARC in your tv and Onkyo. This setup will allow you to get HD sound from Bluray movies too.
If you cannot get ARC to work, simply use an optical cable from TV- receiver. This will give you sound from internet apps such as netflix.

Media room- LG OLED EG9600 4k, Pioneer Elite VSX-90, PS4, Klipsch Gallery G28's, Klipsch Sub 12, Klipsch RS-52 II, Optik HD cable

Living room- Panasonic ST60, onkyo RC-360,HTPC, Klipsch Reference R-62II, Rc52II

Gaming room -Panasonic GT50 THX, PS3, Wii
Latinoheat is online now  
post #11621 of 16665 Old 01-25-2014, 05:43 PM
Member
 
ReyVGM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16

Oh, thanks for the reply!

 

So that HDMI cable going from the Receiver's output into the VT60's HDMI ARC input is all I need to get sound from the TV/Netflix on the receiver/speakers?

 

And in case ARC doesn't work, then I use the optical cable to get the same results right?

 

But, what if ARC doesn't work, do I just connect that receiver HDMI cable on the other HDMI TV input so that I can get the video from my game console/bluray, right?

ReyVGM is offline  
post #11622 of 16665 Old 01-25-2014, 07:37 PM
Member
 
neveralone777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 13
cool.gif
neveralone777 is offline  
post #11623 of 16665 Old 01-25-2014, 07:41 PM
Member
 
cinobyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by neveralone777 View Post


I have the same issue. The dirt on mine is the size of 4 pixels almost in the center of the screen. I can see it from 30 feet away. When watching a movie I forget it's there but then I am reminded with bright scenes or solid color backgrounds which really bring out the dirt speck. I contacted Panasonic and they said it wasn't covered and there was nothing they could do. I would like to know how to fix this and if it can't be fixed I feel I should pursue Panasonic further to resolve the situation. I don't see how this could not be a manufacturer defect. Have you found any more information on this and what should I do to get this fixed? I have a 65VT60 from amazon and they are unable to do a replacement.

Thanks


from another post a few pages back
. You might notice dirt inside the screen up on the glass. You really have to search for it and catch it on the right angle. I suggest you do not go looking for it because there is probably something there. I only noticed it by accident or otherwise would have never scene it. It might even make you think you have a bad pixel if you spot it. You can turn your TV off, and use an LED flashlight to see if it is dirt or a dead pixel. If it is dirt it will show a shadow onto the panel from the light. Again, don't go looking for it but if you spot it, I have had 2 VT60's from different months and both of them have it and others have posted about it is well. I am betting a lot more people have it then they know but have never caught it.

I didnt go looking for it i thought it would drive me crazy... seems like someone mentioned compressed air MAY fix it but i dont rem if that was true or not. i think your stuck with it
cinobyte is offline  
post #11624 of 16665 Old 01-25-2014, 07:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
smurraybhm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Down South
Posts: 3,294
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1283 Post(s)
Liked: 1469
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Oakley View Post

Why don't you guys take this offline. It wastes time and bandwidth.

Speaking only for me I would like to see the numbers SS is requesting and I find this "waste" of bandwidth a lot more informative and a learning opportunity about my display much more so then Eric's favorite discussion of stands smile.gif

By the way I watched Captain Philips this afternoon and would call it a reference disk. No issues in the engine room or other dark scenes. As you said - great movie too. A must buy now or later when the price drops.
LarryInRI and eric3316 like this.

Panasonic 60VT60 (cal by DNice)
Denon 5200 w/ Outlaw 2200 Amps (3)
Ascend Acoustics Sierra 2s F/R & Horizon w/ RAAL Center; Sierra 1s Surrounds; DefTech PM1000s Fronts & Top Middle w/ PSB S5 Rear Surrounds; PSA v1800 & SVS PC12+ Subs
Oppo 103; Onkyo HD-DVD; Apple TV & Roku/Fire Sticks
smurraybhm is offline  
post #11625 of 16665 Old 01-25-2014, 07:49 PM
Member
 
neveralone777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 13
smile.gif
neveralone777 is offline  
post #11626 of 16665 Old 01-25-2014, 07:58 PM
Member
 
cinobyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
yea i couldn't really tell the size of the defect with no reference like a penny or a dime. that sucks hold out a yr sell it and get a new 4k model
cinobyte is offline  
post #11627 of 16665 Old 01-25-2014, 08:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,546
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 778 Post(s)
Liked: 956
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurraybhm View Post

Speaking only for me I would like to see the numbers SS is requesting and I find this "waste" of bandwidth a lot more informative and a learning opportunity about my display much more so then Eric's favorite discussion of stands smile.gif

By the way I watched Captain Philips this afternoon and would call it a reference disk. No issues in the engine room or other dark scenes. As you said - great movie too. A must buy now or later when the price drops.
Hahaha.......I was just about to reply, even though I have no clue what the numbers will mean it would still be more interesting then the stand talk and is definitely more related to the VT60 then a TV stand and people's wood working skills.

Also, the more numbers and charts that get posted the more questions get asked and then a lot more people start to understand what we are looking at.
eric3316 is offline  
post #11628 of 16665 Old 01-25-2014, 08:09 PM
 
SeLfMaDe111985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by neveralone777 View Post


I have the same issue. The dirt on mine is the size of 4 pixels almost in the center of the screen. I can see it from 30 feet away. When watching a movie I forget it's there but then I am reminded with bright scenes or solid color backgrounds which really bring out the dirt speck. I contacted Panasonic and they said it wasn't covered and there was nothing they could do. I would like to know how to fix this and if it can't be fixed I feel I should pursue Panasonic further to resolve the situation. I don't see how this could not be a manufacturer defect. Have you found any more information on this and what should I do to get this fixed? I have a 65VT60 from amazon and they are unable to do a replacement.

Thanks


What's the build date?
SeLfMaDe111985 is offline  
post #11629 of 16665 Old 01-25-2014, 08:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,546
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 778 Post(s)
Liked: 956
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeLfMaDe111985 View Post

What's the build date?
I had an October build and an August build, both had it. On my current August build, I saw a small piece by accident but didn't try to find it again or look for any more. Can't even remember where it was anymore.

What we see here is just a bigger piece of the same issue it looks like. That obviously effects regular viewing. If Panasonic cannot fix it I most definitely would return it.
eric3316 is offline  
post #11630 of 16665 Old 01-25-2014, 08:15 PM
Member
 
neveralone777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeLfMaDe111985 View Post

What's the build date?

October 2013
neveralone777 is offline  
post #11631 of 16665 Old 01-25-2014, 08:18 PM
Member
 
neveralone777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post

I had an October build and an August build, both had it. My current August billed, I caught a small piece by accident but didn't try to find it again or look for any more.

What we see here is just a bigger piece of the same issue it looks like. That obviously effects regular viewing. If Panasonic cannot fix it I most definitely would return it.

With Amazon no longer having any in stock I would have to do a return with no replacement. I got it for very cheap but I may need to revisit the "deals" page and see what people are finding now to see about a replacement if it can't be fixed.
neveralone777 is offline  
post #11632 of 16665 Old 01-25-2014, 08:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
eaayoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by neveralone777 View Post


I have the same issue. The dirt on mine is the size of 4 pixels almost in the center of the screen. I can see it from 30 feet away. When watching a movie I forget it's there but then I am reminded with bright scenes or solid color backgrounds which really bring out the dirt speck. I contacted Panasonic and they said it wasn't covered and there was nothing they could do. I would like to know how to fix this and if it can't be fixed I feel I should pursue Panasonic further to resolve the situation. I don't see how this could not be a manufacturer defect. Have you found any more information on this and what should I do to get this fixed? I have a 65VT60 from amazon and they are unable to do a replacement.

Thanks


I've never noticed dirt in my panels. But, never looked either.
Is this an issue for VT models only? I'm afraid to look closely at my ZT.
eaayoung is offline  
post #11633 of 16665 Old 01-25-2014, 08:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,546
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 778 Post(s)
Liked: 956
Quote:
Originally Posted by neveralone777 View Post

With Amazon no longer having any in stock I would have to do a return with no replacement. I got it for very cheap but I may need to revisit the "deals" page and see what people are finding now to see about a replacement if it can't be fixed.
Did you call Panasonic yet? I would also see if Amazon would work a deal on an F8500.
eric3316 is offline  
post #11634 of 16665 Old 01-25-2014, 08:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
yellowcanary73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: McKinney,Texas
Posts: 2,691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by neveralone777 View Post

With Amazon no longer having any in stock I would have to do a return with no replacement. I got it for very cheap but I may need to revisit the "deals" page and see what people are finding now to see about a replacement if it can't be fixed.

If you want this fixed as I would Panasonic would definitely be responsible for fixing it and I would be taking this to a higher up. What are they going to claim you put the dirt in there. Maybe the assemblers were pissed about them losing their jobs.
yellowcanary73 is offline  
post #11635 of 16665 Old 01-25-2014, 08:28 PM
Member
 
neveralone777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post

Did you call Panasonic yet? I would also see if Amazon would work a deal on an F8500.

I contacted Amazon first to find out all they could do is a return. Panasonic said they were unable to do anything.
neveralone777 is offline  
post #11636 of 16665 Old 01-25-2014, 08:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 2,418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 506 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReyVGM View Post

Oh, thanks for the reply!

So that HDMI cable going from the Receiver's output into the VT60's HDMI ARC input is all I need to get sound from the TV/Netflix on the receiver/speakers?

And in case ARC doesn't work, then I use the optical cable to get the same results right?

But, what if ARC doesn't work, do I just connect that receiver HDMI cable on the other HDMI TV input so that I can get the video from my game console/bluray, right?

And since you are using the Netflix app from the tv you need to make sure the Viera link is communicating with your receiver. Apps button > Viera Link > speaker output > home theater

Panasonic P60VT60 Calibrated by Chad B
Marantz NR-1504
GoldenEar SuperSat 50s
SVS PC-2000
AppleTV 3
Sony PS4
mbroadus is offline  
post #11637 of 16665 Old 01-25-2014, 08:38 PM
Member
 
cinobyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by neveralone777 View Post

I contacted Amazon first to find out all they could do is a return. Panasonic said they were unable to do anything.


that sucks because that sounds like panasonic held no stock for replacements.
cinobyte is offline  
post #11638 of 16665 Old 01-25-2014, 08:40 PM
Member
 
cinobyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReyVGM View Post

Oh, thanks for the reply!

So that HDMI cable going from the Receiver's output into the VT60's HDMI ARC input is all I need to get sound from the TV/Netflix on the receiver/speakers?

And in case ARC doesn't work, then I use the optical cable to get the same results right?

But, what if ARC doesn't work, do I just connect that receiver HDMI cable on the other HDMI TV input so that I can get the video from my game console/bluray, right?

i connect all my devices to my onkyo through hdmi and then my onkyo back to the arc hdmi on my tv and everything works great in both directions no need for any other cables
cinobyte is offline  
post #11639 of 16665 Old 01-25-2014, 09:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 2,418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 506 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by cinobyte View Post

i connect all my devices to my onkyo through hdmi and then my onkyo back to the arc hdmi on my tv and everything works great in both directions no need for any other cables
Quote:
Originally Posted by cinobyte View Post

i connect all my devices to my onkyo through hdmi and then my onkyo back to the arc hdmi on my tv and everything works great in both directions no need for any other cables

Same here but if you use one of the apps and want the sound to come through your avr you'll need to enable Viera link.

Panasonic P60VT60 Calibrated by Chad B
Marantz NR-1504
GoldenEar SuperSat 50s
SVS PC-2000
AppleTV 3
Sony PS4
mbroadus is offline  
post #11640 of 16665 Old 01-25-2014, 09:56 PM
Member
 
cinobyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
can someone point me to a place that gives a description of the settings. i looked and may have missed it. i found all the standards like contrast brightness ect. but the advanced settings i couldn't find much on

its these and a few other of the adv settings im interested in knowing more about

Panel Brightness: Mid
AGC: 0
Black Extension: 0
Color Gamut: Rec.709 or Native
tia
cinobyte is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P65vt60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic , Panasonic Tcp65 65 Inch Vt25 3d Plasma Tv , Panasonic Tc P60vt60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P55vt60 55 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off