Official Panasonic VT60/VT65 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 427 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 239Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12781 of 16725 Old 02-15-2014, 07:27 PM
Newbie
 
bgreuel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Chad was at my house today and he did a great job. I would recommend to anyone looking for the best possible picture from your tv biggrin.gif
bgreuel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12782 of 16725 Old 02-15-2014, 08:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Semp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I'm going to ask again a similar question that I asked before. How do I get my vt60 default to game mode on when the ps4 is on. It's supposed to occur when hdmi content is set to auto with auto detail settings having game set to on. My friend has my exact set up and his properly sets to game mode on when the ps4 is on. And then back to off when he switched to cable. Both of us use 1 input which is hdmi 2 and run everything through a receiver. I've seen other posters not liking this and turning hdmi content auto to off. I personally want this feature since all I use the ps4 for is gaming.

65VT60+55GT50+Onkyo TX-NR727+Denon AVR-1913+OPPO bdp-103+OPPO bdp-83=Heaven
Semp1 is offline  
post #12783 of 16725 Old 02-15-2014, 08:29 PM
 
SeLfMaDe111985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

He is not done trust me frown.gif

Someone had a brain
SeLfMaDe111985 is offline  
post #12784 of 16725 Old 02-15-2014, 09:04 PM
 
SeLfMaDe111985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Funny how I can post about two other people seeing how the blacks glow and yet I'm still considered irrational. Idk what you people have but my blacks stink. The only good blacks I see is from Avatar so that's only obviously due to the Blu Ray and not the TV. Oh well stuck with it now and paid off. Time to take a bat to the screen maybe the hole I make will be deeper black
SeLfMaDe111985 is offline  
post #12785 of 16725 Old 02-15-2014, 09:13 PM
Gov
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NW Burbs of Chgo, IL
Posts: 3,492
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 183
^^^^^ Maybe it is because you are like a "broken record" and the fact that you are constantly looking for problems. I have an idea, go complain on another forum about it, think of it as a fresh start wink.gif
craigyboy and eric3316 like this.

Main HT Room: Panny TC-P65VT60 (calibrated by Chad B), Denon AVR-4311, Comcast X1 DVR, Apple TV3, Sony BDP-S5100, Speakers: Ascend Acoustics Sierra Towers, Sierra Horizon and HTM-200SE, Dual Power Sound Audio XV15 Subwoofers
Basement HT Room: Panny TC-P58V10 (Black Level Restored!), Denon AVR-E300, Comcast X1 STB, Sony BDP-S590, Speakers: Wave Crest Audio HVL-1 (L/C/R), Pioneer SP-BS 22 (Surr) and Power Sound Audio XV15 Subwoofer
Gov is offline  
post #12786 of 16725 Old 02-15-2014, 09:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,546
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 778 Post(s)
Liked: 956
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeLfMaDe111985 View Post

Funny how I can post about two other people seeing how the blacks glow and yet I'm still considered irrational. Idk what you people have but my blacks stink. The only good blacks I see is from Avatar so that's only obviously due to the Blu Ray and not the TV. Oh well stuck with it now and paid off. Time to take a bat to the screen maybe the hole I make will be deeper black
Sorry, but I don't think anyone really wants to hear it anymore. One day your blacks are blessed, the next day you own the worst TV ever made. The next day your dreams come true again and you own the best TV ever and the ZT is a waste of money. Next day your TV deserves to go in the garbage.

I don't even know what your are trying to accomplish but no one here is going to feel bad for you. I think we are all just ready to move on from this.
Gov likes this.
eric3316 is offline  
post #12787 of 16725 Old 02-15-2014, 09:52 PM
Member
 
XboxJuan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeLfMaDe111985 View Post

Funny how I can post about two other people seeing how the blacks glow and yet I'm still considered irrational. Idk what you people have but my blacks stink. The only good blacks I see is from Avatar so that's only obviously due to the Blu Ray and not the TV. Oh well stuck with it now and paid off. Time to take a bat to the screen maybe the hole I make will be deeper black

I'm one of the guys you quoted about glowing blacks. The main difference between you and I in this respect is I made 1 comment about it, you on the other hand, have probably made 100 in conjuction with everything from questioning the Panasonic engineers ability to make a tv stand strong enough to hold the VT60 weight, to complaining about the fan noise that you can only hear with the tv muted. You always have a new complaint, sometimes I think you're trolling, especially with the " I'm using D-nices VT50 settings on my VT60, why doesn't it look right ? I think I'm going to exchange it for a ZT60" Post. Then came the ZT60 micro fracture comments.

I originally posted that I was surprised to find out that on all black screen, in a dark room the screen glows a bit ( this is my first plasma) . I also stated that with actual content on the screen the blacks look really good.
htwaits likes this.
XboxJuan is offline  
post #12788 of 16725 Old 02-15-2014, 10:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,546
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 778 Post(s)
Liked: 956
Quote:
Originally Posted by XboxJuan View Post

I'm one of the guys you quoted about glowing blacks. The main difference between you and I in this respect is I made 1 comment about it, you on the other hand, have probably made 100 in conjuction with everything from questioning the Panasonic engineers ability to make a tv stand strong enough to hold the VT60 weight, to complaining about the fan noise that you can only hear with the tv muted. You always have a new complaint, sometimes I think you're trolling, especially with the " I'm using D-nices VT50 settings on my VT60, why doesn't it look right ? I think I'm going to exchange it for a ZT60" Post. Then came the ZT60 micro fracture comments.

I originally posted that I was surprised to find out that on all black screen, in a dark room the screen glows a bit ( this is my first plasma) . I also stated that with actual content on the screen the blacks look really good.
Yup, on a full black screen in a fully darkened room the panel will glow. Any VT60 or ZT60 owner will tell you that. It will never appear like the panel is turned off on a full black screen nor does it need to unless you like watching a black slide all night.

Where it shines is when their is other light on the screen, the blacks will appear inky and dark, offer great shadow detail and great contrast levels. That is when black levels count the most. Also, if you have a light with a dimmer on it, just a drop of ambient light in the room will also help with the appearance of black levels. If you want to see blacks even deeper then that, you can then add a bias lighting kit to the back of your TV but I don't really think it is needed with the VT60 just to improve blacks. I have yet to find myself watching any real content saying I wish the blacks were darker.
eric3316 is offline  
post #12789 of 16725 Old 02-15-2014, 10:40 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1014
Quote:
Originally Posted by XboxJuan View Post

I'm one of the guys you quoted about glowing blacks. The main difference between you and I in this respect is I made 1 comment about it, you on the other hand, have probably made 100 in conjuction with everything from questioning the Panasonic engineers ability to make a tv stand strong enough to hold the VT60 weight, to complaining about the fan noise that you can only hear with the tv muted. You always have a new complaint, sometimes I think you're trolling, especially with the " I'm using D-nices VT50 settings on my VT60, why doesn't it look right ? I think I'm going to exchange it for a ZT60" Post. Then came the ZT60 micro fracture comments.

I originally posted that I was surprised to find out that on all black screen, in a dark room the screen glows a bit ( this is my first plasma) . I also stated that with actual content on the screen the blacks look really good.
Exactly, and I'm pretty confident another fellow he's referencing was expecting better blacks based on all the glowing reviews and comments (all of which were subjective impressions, and who knows, he might have been accustomed to Sharp Elite aka FALD level blacks, which would account for his disappointed expectations).

All that being said, there is still room for improvement in black levels because you will surely notice the bars appear visibly brighter on low APL content, so there is something to be said for infinite blacks....OLED come quickly!
vinnie97 is offline  
post #12790 of 16725 Old 02-15-2014, 11:04 PM
Newbie
 
Manic 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I just bought a panasonic vt60 2 days ago.  I went into the service menu (shouldn't have done that - I'm a total noob) to check how many hours were on the tv and I accidently went into to the VSUS menu I think I pressed ok and toggled between test and low.  A white screed did pop up and I got out of it.  I did  not actually change anything.  Now when I turn it off and back on again a purple screen momentarily flickers on.  Could I have permanently screwed my tv??  Please help I am freaking out it only had 14 hours on it.  Best tv EVER and I cant get another one because they dont make them anymore :( I got the last one in the city :confused:

Manic 88 is offline  
post #12791 of 16725 Old 02-15-2014, 11:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 3,460
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1020 Post(s)
Liked: 781
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manic 88 View Post

I just bought a panasonic vt60 2 days ago.  I went into the service menu (shouldn't have done that - I'm a total noob) to check how many hours were on the tv and I accidently went into to the VSUS menu I think I pressed ok and toggled between test and low.  A white screed did pop up and I got out of it.  I did  not actually change anything.  Now when I turn it off and back on again a purple screen momentarily flickers on.  Could I have permanently screwed my tv??  Please help I am freaking out it only had 14 hours on it.  Best tv EVER and I cant get another one because they dont make them anymore frown.gif I got the last one in the city " src="http://files.avsforum.com/images/smilies/confused.gif" style="border-bottom-width:0px;border-left-width:0px;border-right-width:0px;border-top-width:0px;">

I assumed you bought it used? Otherwise why in the world would you go into the service menu to check your hours. Sorry, someone with expertise in the service department can help you out on this one.

Media room- LG 4K OLED EG9600, Pioneer Elite VSX-90, Samsung 4K K8500, Klipsch Gallery G28's, Klipsch Sub 12, Klipsch RS-52 II, Optik HD cable

Living room- Sony 4K 79XBRX900B, Onkyo RC-360,HTPC, Klipsch Reference R-62II, Rc52II,PS4

Gaming room -Panasonic ST60, PS3, Wii
Latinoheat is offline  
post #12792 of 16725 Old 02-15-2014, 11:36 PM
Newbie
 
Manic 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

no not used its brand new

Manic 88 is offline  
post #12793 of 16725 Old 02-15-2014, 11:43 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 26,932
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 901 Post(s)
Liked: 1999
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgreuel View Post

Chad was at my house today and he did a great job. I would recommend to anyone looking for the best possible picture from your tv biggrin.gif
If you could go into more detail about what you like about the experience and changes to your display it might help others who are trying to figure out if a professional calibration would be worth the investment. If you do have other thoughts it would be best to edit this post or put it all in one new post. Then I could link to your comments. Enjoy. smile.gif
htwaits is offline  
post #12794 of 16725 Old 02-15-2014, 11:43 PM
Newbie
 
Manic 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

i went on youtube some guy showed how to check hours r on your tv now i didnt know going into service menu can mess yur tv up damm i dont think i change anthing but how would i know ?

Manic 88 is offline  
post #12795 of 16725 Old 02-15-2014, 11:45 PM
Newbie
 
Manic 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

please anyone what should i do if i call panasonic can they help? 

Manic 88 is offline  
post #12796 of 16725 Old 02-15-2014, 11:52 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 26,932
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 901 Post(s)
Liked: 1999
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeLfMaDe111985 View Post

Funny how I can post about two other people seeing how the blacks glow and yet I'm still considered irrational. Idk what you people have but my blacks stink. The only good blacks I see is from Avatar so that's only obviously due to the Blu Ray and not the TV. Oh well stuck with it now and paid off. Time to take a bat to the screen maybe the hole I make will be deeper black
What the Blu-ray version of Avatar tells us and tries to tell you is that there is nothing wrong with your TV. What you are seeing from other sources tell you that as sources they are not as good as the Blu-ray version of Avatar. Even among Blu-ray disks the quality of blacks and grays and other PQ variables will vary. As long as you persist in defining the problem backward you will get some static from your readers. There are outstanding PQ transfers, there are crappy PQ transfers, and there are PQ transfers that fall everywhere in between.

Think of it this way, there is no source material, no matter how good, that can make a bad TV look good.

Enjoy. smile.gif
htwaits is offline  
post #12797 of 16725 Old 02-15-2014, 11:59 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 26,932
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 901 Post(s)
Liked: 1999
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by XboxJuan View Post

I'm one of the guys you quoted about glowing blacks. The main difference between you and I in this respect is I made 1 comment about it, you on the other hand, have probably made 100 in conjuction with everything from questioning the Panasonic engineers ability to make a tv stand strong enough to hold the VT60 weight, to complaining about the fan noise that you can only hear with the tv muted. You always have a new complaint, sometimes I think you're trolling, especially with the " I'm using D-nices VT50 settings on my VT60, why doesn't it look right ? I think I'm going to exchange it for a ZT60" Post. Then came the ZT60 micro fracture comments.

I originally posted that I was surprised to find out that on all black screen, in a dark room the screen glows a bit ( this is my first plasma) . I also stated that with actual content on the screen the blacks look really good.
Yup, on a full black screen in a fully darkened room the panel will glow. Any VT60 or ZT60 owner will tell you that. It will never appear like the panel is turned off on a full black screen nor does it need to unless you like watching a black slide all night.

Where it shines is when their is other light on the screen, the blacks will appear inky and dark, offer great shadow detail and great contrast levels. That is when black levels count the most. Also, if you have a light with a dimmer on it, just a drop of ambient light in the room will also help with the appearance of black levels. If you want to see blacks even deeper then that, you can then add a bias lighting kit to the back of your TV but I don't really think it is needed with the VT60 just to improve blacks. I have yet to find myself watching any real content saying I wish the blacks were darker.
All plasma displays glow under those circumstances.
htwaits is offline  
post #12798 of 16725 Old 02-16-2014, 12:07 AM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 26,932
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 901 Post(s)
Liked: 1999
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manic 88 View Post

no not used its brand new
So did you think they were cheating you and the set wasn't new? Go to the calibration forum and look for someone with Panasonic service menu experience. Someone like that can tell you how the controls work. There is a chance you didn't change anything. But, now you know why people are discouraged from entering the service menu because the why the controls work can be different and lead to inadvertent changes being made.

Remember that under warranty you report the problem you see on the screen, not some foggy memory of what you might or might not have done with your new TV.
htwaits is offline  
post #12799 of 16725 Old 02-16-2014, 12:15 AM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 26,932
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 901 Post(s)
Liked: 1999
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manic 88 View Post

i went on youtube some guy showed how to check hours r on your tv now i didnt know going into service menu can mess yur tv up damm i dont think i change anthing but how would i know ?
If you did something really bad, you TV would already be a mess. Taking advise from a guy on the Internet is sometimes worth less than what you pay for it. Write down all you remember about where you were when you pressed OK. Then calm down for a few days before you go into the calibration forum and ask for advice. Learn about what most people use as settings for their display is out of the box. There are several things in the user menu that you might want to safely change. The first one might be getting out of either Standard or Vivid Mode, and switching to Cinema or custom mode.
htwaits is offline  
post #12800 of 16725 Old 02-16-2014, 02:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
fluxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 373 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manic 88 View Post

I just bought a panasonic vt60 2 days ago.  I went into the service menu (shouldn't have done that - I'm a total noob) to check how many hours were on the tv and I accidently went into to the VSUS menu I think I pressed ok and toggled between test and low.  A white screed did pop up and I got out of it.  I did  not actually change anything.  Now when I turn it off and back on again a purple screen momentarily flickers on.  Could I have permanently screwed my tv??  Please help I am freaking out it only had 14 hours on it.  Best tv EVER and I cant get another one because they dont make them anymore frown.gif I got the last one in the city " src="http://files.avsforum.com/images/smilies/confused.gif" style="border-bottom-width:0px; border-color:initial; border-left-width:0px; border-right-width:0px; border-style:initial; border-top-width:0px" />


If that's the only place you went to, then you have probably got away with it. You will need the correct VSUS setting, though.

If you have changed any other settings, it becomes more complicated.

You might like to do a reset of all your user settings. That can be done without entering the service menu.

You can also check the number of hours used in the normal user menus. For earlier models service menu access was the only way to check the hours, but this year that has changed.

Good luck.
eaayoung likes this.
fluxo is offline  
post #12801 of 16725 Old 02-16-2014, 05:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Famouss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeLfMaDe111985 View Post

Funny how I can post about two other people seeing how the blacks glow and yet I'm still considered irrational. Idk what you people have but my blacks stink. The only good blacks I see is from Avatar so that's only obviously due to the Blu Ray and not the TV. Oh well stuck with it now and paid off. Time to take a bat to the screen maybe the hole I make will be deeper black
My modified 101fd must be broken since I can still see a glow on an all black screen when the room is pitch black, oh no say it ain't so.eek.gif... Give me a break.

Panasonic TC-P65VT60
Sony BDP-S5100
Elite PRO-101FD
Famouss is offline  
post #12802 of 16725 Old 02-16-2014, 06:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,441
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 291 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoatLocker View Post

It's not you, it's a bug. I had the same issue. Actually, the amazon app was present the first time I looked and when I went to access it, I was prompted to upgrade the VT60's firmware. After the update, the amazon app was gone. Performing a reset on the TV brought the app back.

That makes sense, let me reset both TVs.

Panasonic 65VT60
Denon x7200WA
Oppo BD-103
Klipsch RP-280F / RC-62ii / RS-35 / RS-25
Dual PSA V1800s
kluken is offline  
post #12803 of 16725 Old 02-16-2014, 07:06 AM
Senior Member
 
HKPolkMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19

Is it worth buying a 65" VT60 display floor model that has about 3,350 hours for $2000 (after 20% discount)???


7.2 HT Setup:
***Polk RTIA9 / CSIA6 / FXIA6 / RTIA3**Dual PB-2000**Pioneer SC-1222K**Panasonic 65"VT60**Sony BDP-BX510***
HKPolkMe is offline  
post #12804 of 16725 Old 02-16-2014, 07:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,441
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 291 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoatLocker View Post

It's not you, it's a bug. I had the same issue. Actually, the amazon app was present the first time I looked and when I went to access it, I was prompted to upgrade the VT60's firmware. After the update, the amazon app was gone. Performing a reset on the TV brought the app back.

That was it, reset TV and there it is. Stupid bug. Wonder if I had a calibrated TV if the reset wipes out the calibration?

Panasonic 65VT60
Denon x7200WA
Oppo BD-103
Klipsch RP-280F / RC-62ii / RS-35 / RS-25
Dual PSA V1800s
kluken is offline  
post #12805 of 16725 Old 02-16-2014, 08:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Famouss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by HKPolkMe View Post

Is it worth buying a 65" VT60 display floor model that has about 3,350 hours for $2000 (after 20% discount)???
Up to you as long as it is in good condition, no burn in or dead pixels ect. Can you possibly get them to go any lower? BestBuy sold me a brand new October build 65vt60 for not much more than the one you've been offered, but that was 3 months ago.
HKPolkMe likes this.

Panasonic TC-P65VT60
Sony BDP-S5100
Elite PRO-101FD
Famouss is offline  
post #12806 of 16725 Old 02-16-2014, 08:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by melted View Post

The VT60 pedestal has substantially more sway and movement than my previous plasma sets. It'll start swaying with the slightest vibration or even if I give it at tough look. Would this Premier Mounts stand provide more stability?

http://www.amazon.com/Premier-Mounts-PSD-TTS-Universal-Tabletop/dp/B000BQM6MI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1392506272&sr=8-1&keywords=premier+stand

The answer is "maybe." But the mount the TV came with is specifically engineered for that set and designed to support it safely. Mine doesn't sway like you describe so I would re-check all screws and tighten if necessary.

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5005 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 15" Sub
TiVO Roamo OTA
Scott Oakley is offline  
post #12807 of 16725 Old 02-16-2014, 08:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by JPowers View Post

I have it on my August build VT60. Have you tried a software update?

I have it on my June 2013 build.

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5005 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 15" Sub
TiVO Roamo OTA
Scott Oakley is offline  
post #12808 of 16725 Old 02-16-2014, 08:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Is it worth buying a 65" VT60 display floor model that has about 3,350 hours for $2000 (after 20% discount)???
Quote:
Originally Posted by Famouss View Post

Up to you as long as it is in good condition, no burn in or dead pixels ect. Can you possibly get them to go any lower? BestBuy sold me a brand new October build 65vt60 for not much more than the one you've been offered, but that was 3 months ago.

In my opinion: Hell no, its not worth it. 3300 hours? For $1500 maybe.
HKPolkMe likes this.

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5005 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 15" Sub
TiVO Roamo OTA
Scott Oakley is offline  
post #12809 of 16725 Old 02-16-2014, 08:38 AM
Senior Member
 
amercnchopz34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Mine is an April build date..213 hrs..for same price....


Quote:
Originally Posted by Famouss View Post

Up to you as long as it is in good condition, no burn in or dead pixels ect. Can you possibly get them to go any lower? BestBuy sold me a brand new October build 65vt60 for not much more than the one you've been offered, but that was 3 months ago.
amercnchopz34 is offline  
post #12810 of 16725 Old 02-16-2014, 09:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ou8thisSN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 2,747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 27
So I just got a 55vt60 about a month ago. While I've been really impressed with the picture, the blacks arent 'inky' blacks. They are very, very dark grey, when the lights in the room are completely off. But the black levels of the screen dont match the 'black' of the bezel. However with any sort of light source in the room, the blacks levels look just as good as pitch black. Im just wondering if this is normal? or do you have to calibrate the tv in order to surpass the kuro level blacks? I'm very happy with my tv, but I'm wondering if there's some option or something I need to do to get the black levels everyone is raving about, or is this the best its supposed to be (which is fine too!)?
Ou8thisSN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P65vt60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic , Panasonic Tcp65 65 Inch Vt25 3d Plasma Tv , Panasonic Tc P60vt60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P55vt60 55 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off