Official Panasonic VT60/VT65 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 454 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 238Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-18-2014, 01:45 PM
Member
 
Luis Angel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Southern California
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My regular set up is panasonic vt60 and a ps3 blu ray player... I just updated the firmware on the tv thinking that may do the trick...
Luis Angel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-18-2014, 01:46 PM
Member
 
Luis Angel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Southern California
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok... I wonder if I need a panasonic blu ray player to make it work :/
Luis Angel is offline  
Old 03-18-2014, 01:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jason626's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: illinois
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luis Angel View Post

Other movies work fine...
I have the fastest cables possible... Tried it with multiple blu ray players.. Keep getting a message saying my tv is not 3D compatible...
Has anybody out there played this movie on 3D succesfully?
I even bought 3 more pair of 3d glasses thinking I would be enjoying this tv... This set has been nothing but headaches since I got it...
By other movies do you mean 3d movies or regular 2d bluray?
Is your bluray player going directly to the tv or through receiver?
Jason626 is offline  
Old 03-18-2014, 01:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jason626's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: illinois
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 135
You may need to reset ps3. And tell it you have 3d tv to enable it.
Luis Angel likes this.
Jason626 is offline  
Old 03-18-2014, 01:49 PM
Member
 
Luis Angel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Southern California
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok... It just worked all of a sudden... I played avatar 3D and the player detected a 3D compatible screen... The put the gravity blu ray and it worked... Weird...

Thanks Guys!
Luis Angel is offline  
Old 03-19-2014, 03:31 AM
Member
 
807recordings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 69
I posted a while ago about not finding the 96KHz modes etc. Seems the reason is the German TV I bought is a VTW60 which is slightly different than of course the rest of Europe.
This brings up the question then is there a "really pro" hidden menu and not just the pro settings for pictures?

As I have not been able to find a calibration expert I think I may also invest in a Calman setup. That is if they ever return my last 3 emails back them wink.gif

Still I must say I went back the last few nights as I am on holidays and watched some movies like Blade Runner, Lord of War off the network, and must say I got a few Wow moments on details I never saw before. Especially in Blade Runner in the darker scenes there was so much more colour and spaces I never noticed.

smile.gif
807recordings is offline  
Old 03-19-2014, 08:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,546
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 778 Post(s)
Liked: 956
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post

Anyone play with the Resolution Remaster setting? It is suppose to make the picture clearer. I want to say it makes the picture look sharper on the strong setting but don't know if it is just a placebo effect. By eye I do not see any negative effects from it.

Anyone else want to try and and report back what you find. I know people will say everything needs to be off but that is not the answer I am looking for. wink.gif

Every TV processes a picture differently and maybe Samsungs look sharper sometimes because they have things like this built into their processing features instead of making it user adjustable.

I know people use other devices that enhance the picture that technically would be adding something that isn't there. So this would kind of be the same if it were to improve upon something.
No one is willing to just try this out? What a bunch of chickens! I promise you won't break your panel.
eric3316 is offline  
Old 03-19-2014, 08:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12,925
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1394 Post(s)
Liked: 1080
Eric,

All of those settings typically add artifacts or compromises in order to attempt to look "sharper." I am also very, very sensitive to any kind of artificial sharpening.

With my set being fully calibrated, I try to keep as clean of a signal image I can. YMMV.


DavidHir is online now  
Old 03-19-2014, 10:57 AM
Newbie
 
PnCIa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a question regarding the input lag of the VT60 because i am mainly gaming on it smile.gif
HDTVtest measured the input lag at around 25ms using the CRT method while leaving all extras off.
Does anyone have an idea how many miliseconds the "1080p pure direct" mode adds?
PnCIa is offline  
Old 03-20-2014, 08:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,546
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 778 Post(s)
Liked: 956
So for the pro calibrators or the haters of using other people's settings, do not read further. Everyone else can continue to read.

If people have tried D-Nice's settings and have noticed it to be to dark or muddy and noticing a loss of shadow detail, try resetting the 10pt Gamma all to zero's. I can't tell you how it is going to look on a chart but it will still keep the overall vibe the same just now with a little more brightness and shadow detail that seemed to be getting lost with his settings.

I initially tried changing the gamma to 2.2 but that just ruined the look of everything. Just changing the 10pt gamma to zero's and leaving gamma at 2.4 in my opinion has really improved these settings at least to my eyes. I didn't have much time to test because it was late last night but just got into one of those playing moods with different people's settings. I quickly threw on The Avengers from Netflix and in the short time I viewed it I must say I was pretty impressed.

Will obviously need to watch more content to see if everything else looks good as well. If anyone else tests this out, let me know what you think.....
eric3316 is offline  
Old 03-20-2014, 09:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
ab2ab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 28
^^^ +1

I've tried this with my 2 ST60's & a friends ST60 awhile back. It looked brighter but lost just a tad of that "cinema" look that I like with D-Nice's settings. However, I decided to leave D-Nice's settings as-is but with a few tweaks in color detail on the ST60's, and a brightness & contrast tweak on the ZT60.
ab2ab is offline  
Old 03-20-2014, 09:32 AM
Member
 
avsno0bie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post

So for the pro calibrators or the haters of using other people's settings, do not read further. Everyone else can continue to read.

If people have tried D-Nice's settings and have noticed it to be to dark or muddy and noticing a loss of shadow detail, try resetting the 10pt Gamma all to zero's. I can't tell you how it is going to look on a chart but it will still keep the overall vibe the same just now with a little more brightness and shadow detail that seemed to be getting lost with his settings.

I initially tried changing the gamma to 2.2 but that just ruined the look of everything. Just changing the 10pt gamma to zero's and leaving gamma at 2.4 in my opinion has really improved these settings at least to my eyes. I didn't have much time to test because it was late last night but just got into one of those playing moods with different people's settings. I quickly threw on The Avengers from Netflix and in the short time I viewed it I must say I was pretty impressed.

Will obviously need to watch more content to see if everything else looks good as well. If anyone else tests this out, let me know what you think.....

Definitely will try this tonight when I get home. Already like it with d-nice default settings but a lil more tweak wouldn't hurt. Thanks E!

avsno0bie is offline  
Old 03-20-2014, 09:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,546
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 778 Post(s)
Liked: 956
Quote:
Originally Posted by avsno0bie View Post

Definitely will try this tonight when I get home. Already like it with d-nice default settings but a lil more tweak wouldn't hurt. Thanks E!
Tried playing around with DNICE's daytime settings. I changed the gamma to 2.0 and changed the 10pt gamma settings all to zero. Also changed the brightness level to 4.

I think this might give the picture a little more pop in the daytime and under the lights. I think it actually looked better then the THX bright room.
eric3316 is offline  
Old 03-21-2014, 09:09 AM
Member
 
avsno0bie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post


Tried playing around with DNICE's daytime settings. I changed the gamma to 2.0 and changed the 10pt gamma settings all to zero. Also changed the brightness level to 4.

I think this might give the picture a little more pop in the daytime and under the lights. I think it actually looked better then the THX bright room.

Last night by resetting gamma 10pt. back to zero, imo it might give it a lil bit brightness (very very lil, if any). 

 

Thanks! I'll try changing it to 2.0 and brightness to 4 and see how it is. Any brightness close to THX bright room setting but with pixel orbiter on is a plus. Imo, D-nice is more natural looking than THX bright room.

avsno0bie is offline  
Old 03-21-2014, 09:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,546
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 778 Post(s)
Liked: 956
Quote:
Originally Posted by avsno0bie View Post

Last night by resetting gamma 10pt. back to zero, imo it might give it a lil bit brightness (very very lil, if any). 

Thanks! I'll try changing it to 2.0 and brightness to 4 and see how it is. Any brightness close to THX bright room setting but with pixel orbiter on is a plus. Imo, D-nice is more natural looking than THX bright room.
Make sure to use DNICE's daytime settings and not the night ones. The change in the night settings was not to make the picture much brighter but to try and make it look a little less muddy in the darker tones and bring out some more shadow detail that felt like it was getting lost. It was not meant to really brighten up the picture like the change I mention above with the GAMMA to 2.0 with his day settings.

Also note, a better way to test the results is on a darker scene. You won't notice as much difference on a high APL picture due to the ABL on these TV's but on something dark it was pretty substantial on how much more was brought out from the picture which would definitely be a big deal during daytime viewing.

I also tried messing around with the daytime settings and then switching the panel brightness to high and boy did it get bright but I wasn't able to get a picture that I thought looked good. It might have looked better if I was doing it in an actual bright room at the time but it was nigh time but it definitely got bright. It does seem that the panel has a much louder buzz when using the panel brightness in high. I did notice that the THX bright room also has a louder buzz so wonder if they are using panel brightness high with their settings.
eric3316 is offline  
Old 03-21-2014, 09:35 AM
Member
 
avsno0bie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post


Make sure to use DNICE's daytime settings and not the night ones.

Also note, a better way to test the results is on a darker scene. You won't notice as much difference on a high APL picture due to the ABL on these TV's but on something dark it was pretty substantial on how much more was brought out from the picture which would definitely be a big deal during daytime viewing.

I also tried messing around with the daytime settings and then switching the panel brightness to high and boy did it get bright but I wasn't able to get a picture that I thought looked good. It might have looked better if I was doing it in an actual bright room at the time but it was nigh time but it definitely got bright. It does seem that the panel has a much louder buzz when using the panel brightness in high. I did notice that the THX bright room also has a louder buzz so wonder if they are using panel brightness high with their settings.

IKR, I'm curious if THX bright is set to high in panel brightness that causes more buzz in normal viewing. Other custom settings I used never hear any buzz during normal viewing, only when running white slides.

 

I'm only using DNICE's daytime setting, the night setting was to dark for my liking, nonetheless it's better than stock settings.

 

Is movie like Gravity be good for testing dark scene?

avsno0bie is offline  
Old 03-21-2014, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,546
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 778 Post(s)
Liked: 956
Quote:
Originally Posted by avsno0bie View Post

IKR, I'm curious if THX bright is set to high in panel brightness that causes more buzz in normal viewing. Other custom settings I used never hear any buzz during normal viewing, only when running white slides.

I'm only using DNICE's daytime setting, the night setting was to dark for my liking, nonetheless it's better than stock settings.

Is movie like Gravity be good for testing dark scene?
I would use a movie that has more details in dark scenes, like little nuances. I have been using The Avengers from Netflix. There are some really good dark scenes in there. Of course a blu-ray would be even better.
eric3316 is offline  
Old 03-21-2014, 01:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Iron Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 881
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post

I would use a movie that has more details in dark scenes, like little nuances. I have been using The Avengers from Netflix. There are some really good dark scenes in there. Of course a blu-ray would be even better.

I wouldn't use any Netflix or streamed content. The (extra) compression adds artifacts.

Use Blu-ray content, but use content that has been masterfully graded (which is hard to guess on an uncalibrated screen biggrin.gif) or use specific calibration discs that have dedicated calibration test footage.
ConnecTEDDD likes this.

calibration & profiling solutions: Lightspace, Spaceman, Calman, Argyll, ColorNavigator, basICColor
profiling & calibration workflow tools: Display Calibration Tools
meter: CR-250, Klein K-10 A, i1Pro, i1D3
AVS thread: Lightspace & Custom Color Patch Set & Gamma Calibration on Panasonic 65VT60
Iron Mike is offline  
Old 03-21-2014, 02:47 PM
Newbie
 
evanescence0315's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does anybody that calibrated a 55vt60 know what the black level measured compared to the larger sizes?i want to know because the 60 inch that i had before and had to send back because of issues looked somewhat darker in night scenes.i'm hoping it was just maybe the settings or something.
evanescence0315 is offline  
Old 03-21-2014, 03:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 3,752
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Liked: 1119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Mike View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post

I would use a movie that has more details in dark scenes, like little nuances. I have been using The Avengers from Netflix. There are some really good dark scenes in there. Of course a blu-ray would be even better.

I wouldn't use any Netflix or streamed content. The (extra) compression adds artifacts.

Use Blu-ray content, but use content that has been masterfully graded (which is hard to guess on an uncalibrated screen biggrin.gif) or use specific calibration discs that have dedicated calibration test footage.

There's a recent Gravity version comparison to showcase why it's important to use Blu-Ray movies for calibration evaluation and not streamed content were the picture quality standards are broken.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
Old 03-21-2014, 06:56 PM
Member
 
Rtem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi guys-

 

I'm still thinking of getting this set.  It is priced rather high for a floor model that has been there for over a year, so it has not yet sold.  I'm still debating buying it.

 

Took the Blu Ray to the store (Lord of the Rings, I don't own a Blu Ray, so I had a limited selection of what I could borrow from someone else), and the set worked fine EXCEPT when there was movement between two high contrast images, there was noticeable pixelation around the movement.  For example, if there was a child in a white shirt running across a green field (scene in the movie) there was some pixelation around the child. 

 

OR if Gandalf was riding a horse through a dark forest, there would be some pixelation around Gandalf.  

 

Now, get this, the pixelation did not always occur, only sometimes.  Salesperson at store said I was one of the most sensitive customers to this that he's ever seen. 

 

Is this something that can be fixed, or is it something that is inherent in this screen technology (I have a CRT and NEVER have seen this on the CRT - laugh all you want about the size and resolution, but the picture is crystal clear always).  I'm thinking that there may be some screen settings that could get rid of this, but perhaps there are mode changes that can be made to fix this (of course, there is no remote because it is a floor sample, so navigating the menus is a ridiculous hassle).   

 

I thought that this type of motion pixelation only occurred on LCDs.  As always, would appreciate your input and advice.

 

Thanks.

Rtem is offline  
Old 03-21-2014, 07:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
XBR11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 811
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 252 Post(s)
Liked: 153
I have been having a problem when using our VT60 to stream internet content. The tv image often freezes after maybe 30 minutes of working fine and no amount of refreshing the page quickly brings it back. VT60 is hard wired to the cable modem /router. It isn't the cable or the modem/router because we use our laptop to watch the same thing and it doesn't freeze and it is wirelessly connected to the cable modem /router. Also the laptop is maybe 10 seconds ahead of the tv content (and the laptop only has wifi, no 4G).

Anyone else have such a problem and were able to fix it? How?

I hope it isn't just that the VT60 has crummy browsing capabilities.

_______________________________________________
[Hey, what does that Acronym mean?! Click here to learn.]
XBR11 is offline  
Old 03-21-2014, 09:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
eaayoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rtem View Post

Hi guys-

Took the Blu Ray to the store (Lord of the Rings, I don't own a Blu Ray, so I had a limited selection of what I could borrow from someone else), and the set worked fine EXCEPT when there was movement between two high contrast images, there was noticeable pixelation around the movement.  For example, if there was a child in a white shirt running across a green field (scene in the movie) there was some pixelation around the child. 

Is this something that can be fixed, or is it something that is inherent in this screen technology (I have a CRT and NEVER have seen this on the CRT - laugh all you want about the size and resolution, but the picture is crystal clear always).  I'm thinking that there may be some screen settings that could get rid of this, but perhaps there are mode changes that can be made to fix this (of course, there is no remote because it is a floor sample, so navigating the menus is a ridiculous hassle).   

Thanks.

I'm wondering if it could be the source or cables that's causing the pixelation. I have a ZT with no pixelation issues. The VT shouldn't be any different. Try viewing with the set and the scenes that have pixilation in THX mode.
eaayoung is offline  
Old 03-22-2014, 04:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,546
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 778 Post(s)
Liked: 956
Quote:
Originally Posted by eaayoung View Post

I'm wondering if it could be the source or cables that's causing the pixelation. I have a ZT with no pixelation issues. The VT shouldn't be any different. Try viewing with the set and the scenes that have pixilation in THX mode.
I do not have any pixelation on my VT60 unless you are seeing something else but calling it that. Maybe you are seeing phosphor trailing otherwise known as the rainbow effect?
eric3316 is offline  
Old 03-22-2014, 06:27 AM
Member
 
Rtem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post


I do not have any pixelation on my VT60 unless you are seeing something else but calling it that. Maybe you are seeing phosphor trailing otherwise known as the rainbow effect?


I guess it may be the rainbow effect.  It looks like a slight cloudiness around fast moving objects.  The times that I noticed it the most was when there were a fast moving light object against a significantly darker background.   

 

The troubling thing is that it is not around all moving objects and it does not happen all the time.  It just happens sometimes, like once every 15 minutes or so.  It looks like pixelation to me up close, from a distance, it looked like a little fuzziness.  

 

I'm just wondering that if I buy the TV whether it would bother me all the time to see this.   

 

Here are a couple of thoughts. 

I

1. This floor sample has 3K hours on it and is nowhere close to being calibrated.  Used standard Cinema mode, maybe Cinema Bright Room.  Did not use THX Cinema. 

 

2. I was watching it on a crappy LG floor model Blu Ray player.

 

3. Cheapest HDMI cables available (but according to C/Net that's what I should use anyway)

 

No remote or papers, so hard to use the TV's menus or inputs. 

 

 

 

My concern is that I will see this during football games or movies (which is when I anticipate watching TV the most) and I will find it annoying. 

 

I'm hoping that this is something that can be resolved by adjustments on the TV itself.  Would love your thoughts on this.

 

Thanks.

Rtem is offline  
Old 03-22-2014, 08:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rtem View Post


I guess it may be the rainbow effect.  It looks like a slight cloudiness around fast moving objects.  The times that I noticed it the most was when there were a fast moving light object against a significantly darker background.   

The troubling thing is that it is not around all moving objects and it does not happen all the time.  It just happens sometimes, like once every 15 minutes or so.  It looks like pixelation to me up close, from a distance, it looked like a little fuzziness.  

I'm just wondering that if I buy the TV whether it would bother me all the time to see this.   

Here are a couple of thoughts. 
I
1. This floor sample has 3K hours on it and is nowhere close to being calibrated.  Used standard Cinema mode, maybe Cinema Bright Room.  Did not use THX Cinema. 

2. I was watching it on a crappy LG floor model Blu Ray player.

3. Cheapest HDMI cables available (but according to C/Net that's what I should use anyway)

No remote or papers, so hard to use the TV's menus or inputs. 



My concern is that I will see this during football games or movies (which is when I anticipate watching TV the most) and I will find it annoying. 

I'm hoping that this is something that can be resolved by adjustments on the TV itself.  Would love your thoughts on this.

Thanks.

We just had this situation with someone else. I was in the minority (or the only one) when I said: don't buy it. You can look up my rationale if interested.
Scott

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5005 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 15" Sub
TiVO Roamo OTA
Scott Oakley is offline  
Old 03-22-2014, 09:02 AM
Member
 
Rtem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your post, after reading all the superb praise for the VT60, I thought it would be better than this- and don't get me wrong, when the picture was clear, the TV's image was spectacular.

But coming from a flawless high end SONY CRT (non-HD), I'm liking the CRT's picture a lot better because it doesn't have that distracting stuff / motion artifacts / rainbow effects.

Is this something that all VT60s have or is it just this model? And is it something that can be fixed? I had gone to buy it when I went to the store, but now I am not so sure.
Rtem is offline  
Old 03-22-2014, 09:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rtem View Post

Thanks for your post, after reading all the superb praise for the VT60, I thought it would be better than this- and don't get me wrong, when the picture was clear, the TV's image was spectacular.

But coming from a flawless high end SONY CRT (non-HD), I'm liking the CRT's picture a lot better because it doesn't have that distracting stuff / motion artifacts / rainbow effects.

Is this something that all VT60s have or is it just this model? And is it something that can be fixed? I had gone to buy it when I went to the store, but now I am not so sure.

Most people on here are A LOT more knowledgable than me; my knowledge comes only from owning one and doing a lot of reading on here. So, you will probably get a lot of technical input but not from me. My experience is that the VT60 beats the hell out of LEDs I tried (two high end Samsungs) which had terrible fading during off-center viewing. However, the VT60 is not the be-all and end-all of TVs despite what you will read on here. So, keep things in perspective. I can't speak to the specific set you are considering - I'll leave that to others more knowledgable.

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5005 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 15" Sub
TiVO Roamo OTA
Scott Oakley is offline  
Old 03-22-2014, 10:03 AM
Member
 
Ken54321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Was out of town for a couple of days. Come home to find all my settings gone. Does anyone know what causes this? Was it just a simple loss of power? Even if it was, shouldn't the tv retain the settings?
Ken54321 is offline  
Old 03-22-2014, 01:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wkearney99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,859
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 297 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Is there a way to save and reload various configuration sets for the VT60? I'm wondering how to best automate making various changes. Being able to save and reload different calibration or other setting data would be interesting. I'd worry though about what impact something like that might have on the NVRAM within the TV.
wkearney99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Panasonic Tc P65vt60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic , Panasonic Tcp65 65 Inch Vt25 3d Plasma Tv , Panasonic Tc P60vt60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P55vt60 55 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off