Official Panasonic VT60/VT65 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 478 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 246Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14311 of 16778 Old 05-26-2014, 11:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sage11x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brighton, MI
Posts: 3,203
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 736 Post(s)
Liked: 808
I can wait. My VT60 still amazes me and and that should help to tide me over until (hopefully) a large, flat OLED is available at a reasonable price.

What to do if you find yourself stuck with no hope of rescue:
Consider yourself lucky that life has been good to you so far. Alternatively, if life hasn't been good to you so far, which given your present circumstances seems to be more likely, consider yourself lucky that it won't be troubling you much longer...

-- Excerpt from the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy.
sage11x is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14312 of 16778 Old 05-27-2014, 12:44 AM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1014
I'm not trying to be a salesperson, but I was summoned. Absolute black is a joy, and I have been rewatching my collection on the OLED (something I had planned to do with the ZT60 but got preempted by the price drops and an evil impulse). A thing to keep in mind is these guys are more susceptible to uneven wear than our hallowed Kuros and Vieras, so here's hoping for generational improvement in that regard (since cinema encompasses a whole lot more than just 1.85:1).
vinnie97 is offline  
post #14313 of 16778 Old 05-27-2014, 01:27 AM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 26,988
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 923 Post(s)
Liked: 2032
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

I'm not trying to be a salesperson, but I was summoned. Absolute black is a joy, and I have been rewatching my collection on the OLED (something I had planned to do with the ZT60 but got preempted by the price drops and an evil impulse). A thing to keep in mind is these guys are more susceptible to uneven wear than our hallowed Kuros and Vieras, so here's hoping for generational improvement in that regard (since cinema encompasses a whole lot more than just 1.85:1).
Even 1.78:1. smile.gif
htwaits is online now  
 
post #14314 of 16778 Old 05-27-2014, 05:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,637
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 839 Post(s)
Liked: 959
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakirk View Post

Hi guys, I now have about 121 hours on my 55VT60.

I was going to book a calibration in - should I wait longer or will this be enough 'break in'?

I haven't run slides or anything, just using it as I would any other TV. Gaming, movies, TV (SD and HD content) and even have a Macbook plugged in to it I use as a home theatre PC. Haven't had any IR at all, not even from game HUDs etc. Haven't worried about black bars on blu ray movies either - I use THX Cinema for just about all my settings.
You want at least 300 hours on your VT60 if you are going to pay for a pro calibration. If you want something sooner then later then you should just run slides to get there quicker.
chunon likes this.
eric3316 is offline  
post #14315 of 16778 Old 05-27-2014, 11:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sage11x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brighton, MI
Posts: 3,203
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 736 Post(s)
Liked: 808
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

I'm not trying to be a salesperson, but I was summoned. Absolute black is a joy, and I have been rewatching my collection on the OLED (something I had planned to do with the ZT60 but got preempted by the price drops and an evil impulse). A thing to keep in mind is these guys are more susceptible to uneven wear than our hallowed Kuros and Vieras, so here's hoping for generational improvement in that regard (since cinema encompasses a whole lot more than just 1.85:1).

Yeah, that's really what I meant. I want an OLED fiercely but realistically I can't afford one and the longevity concerns are enough to give me pause even if the prices were more reasonable.

I now avoid the display unit at my local bestbuy because all it does is lessen my VT60. Lol!
vinnie97 likes this.

What to do if you find yourself stuck with no hope of rescue:
Consider yourself lucky that life has been good to you so far. Alternatively, if life hasn't been good to you so far, which given your present circumstances seems to be more likely, consider yourself lucky that it won't be troubling you much longer...

-- Excerpt from the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy.
sage11x is offline  
post #14316 of 16778 Old 05-27-2014, 11:34 AM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1014
Rest assured that your VT60 does motion better (unless you're one of those poor souls afflicted by phosphor lag/trails...which I don't think you are biggrin.gif).
vinnie97 is offline  
post #14317 of 16778 Old 05-27-2014, 12:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mo949's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4,802
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1117
I see phosphor trails, but I don't think that's going to make me feel better about worse motion rez eek.gif
mo949 is offline  
post #14318 of 16778 Old 05-27-2014, 02:54 PM
 
ChadThunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by BldyBg View Post

Got the 55VT60 here, been a year now and I just learned that Rec. 709 applies to (16-235) only. Explains why the colors on my PC always looked washed out when gaming with PC. As soon as I set it to Native color, yay. The red is gorgeous. Now, can anyone tell me how in the world I'm supposed to calibrate for Full RGB (0-255) ? I'm assuming the usual Spears & Munsil won't do very well. I tried it and had to set Color to 55. I was a little skeptical going from 47 to 55.

Or should I just game in YCbCr 4:4:4? I'll be able to use the same calibration and leave "Pure Direct" on. Or will I still lose the (0-15,236-255)? Any help is appreciated, been confused about this for a while now. Just wanna get the best out of this beauty.

I made some checkerboard patterns to set black and white points but the ones for individual color are on another computer, black level is controlled by the brightness setting and noone has explained to me how to set the white point on Panasonic consumer models, on mine its a 64 point adjustment called 'input level'

The patterns are here, like I said I use different ones now but the checkerboard gets the job done
http://ge.tt/3CNsw2i1/v/0

For black level the idea is to reduce brightness until the checkerboard is invisible then go back up one tick, if you don't see all three colors at the low end dont worry it doesn't matter we are not particularly sensitive to color in shadows anyway, I actually crush green purposely because the on/off flicker of green really bothers me for some reason.

The white point might be set by the 'IRE' control but I have no idea, the whitelevel.gif image flickers between 255 and 254 and just like setting black level you will need to be in a dark room and the image needs to be in full screen for you to see what you are doing, when you are setting white level peripheral vision sometimes works better than looking straight at the screen

edit: also make sure HDMI is set to use full range in your graphics driver and on the display, DVI will default to 0-255 but you are still going through HDMI at the display end
ChadThunder is offline  
post #14319 of 16778 Old 05-27-2014, 03:08 PM
 
ChadThunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Is it true that the VT60 crushes white? I forgot about that
ChadThunder is offline  
post #14320 of 16778 Old 05-27-2014, 03:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in Rhode Island
Posts: 5,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChadThunder View Post

Is it true that the VT60 crushes white? I forgot about that


No. It is not true.

Please post a link that shows such erroneous data.

Thanks,
Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #14321 of 16778 Old 05-27-2014, 04:00 PM
 
ChadThunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Thats good to know, someone must have spread that rumor because I remember people talking about it a year ago
ChadThunder is offline  
post #14322 of 16778 Old 05-27-2014, 04:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sage11x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brighton, MI
Posts: 3,203
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 736 Post(s)
Liked: 808
Thank god I don't see those! smile.gif


What to do if you find yourself stuck with no hope of rescue:
Consider yourself lucky that life has been good to you so far. Alternatively, if life hasn't been good to you so far, which given your present circumstances seems to be more likely, consider yourself lucky that it won't be troubling you much longer...

-- Excerpt from the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy.
sage11x is offline  
post #14323 of 16778 Old 05-27-2014, 05:35 PM
 
Vegas oled's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1,988
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1050 Post(s)
Liked: 749
Nice deal if you live in Las Vegas
Vegas oled is offline  
post #14324 of 16778 Old 05-27-2014, 05:43 PM
 
Vegas oled's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1,988
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1050 Post(s)
Liked: 749
Is this a good deal?

Vegas oled is offline  
post #14325 of 16778 Old 05-27-2014, 05:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 993 Post(s)
Liked: 1058
They're both outstanding deals!
Schwa is offline  
post #14326 of 16778 Old 05-27-2014, 09:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Chad B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 2,553
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 496 Post(s)
Liked: 1194
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChadThunder View Post

Thats good to know, someone must have spread that rumor because I remember people talking about it a year ago
That was probably referring to panel brightness high mode in the Professional picture modes. Panel brightness mid has always been fine, and now with certain calibration techniques high can be fine up to level 237 or so.
Chad B is online now  
post #14327 of 16778 Old 05-28-2014, 12:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pdawg17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cali
Posts: 1,825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by BldyBg View Post

Got the 55VT60 here, been a year now and I just learned that Rec. 709 applies to (16-235) only. Explains why the colors on my PC always looked washed out when gaming with PC. As soon as I set it to Native color, yay. The red is gorgeous. Now, can anyone tell me how in the world I'm supposed to calibrate for Full RGB (0-255) ? I'm assuming the usual Spears & Munsil won't do very well. I tried it and had to set Color to 55. I was a little skeptical going from 47 to 55.

Or should I just game in YCbCr 4:4:4? I'll be able to use the same calibration and leave "Pure Direct" on. Or will I still lose the (0-15,236-255)? Any help is appreciated, been confused about this for a while now. Just wanna get the best out of this beauty.

Do you have a link to where you read about Rec. 709 applying to limited RGB only and should be set to "native". I've never heard of this and have had my HTPC set to Rec. 709 all this time as well...
pdawg17 is offline  
post #14328 of 16778 Old 05-28-2014, 12:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
Iron Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 887
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdawg17 View Post

Do you have a link to where you read about Rec. 709 applying to limited RGB only and should be set to "native". I've never heard of this and have had my HTPC set to Rec. 709 all this time as well...

Rec 709 is a color space, it has nothing to do with video levels, Rec 709 can be 0-255 or 16-235 or 16-255 for 8-bit content....

u can either setup the VT60 to just receive 16-235 (there is a direct setting for that), or you can set up your content source (HTPC | Disc Player | Console) to output 16-235 if you just want the content to be limited to video levels (16-235)....

What BldyBg calls "native color" is again not a video levels setting (16-235 | 0-255) but rather a gamut setting, and if he sets the gamut of the VT60 to Native then the screen will have a wider gamut than Rec 709, that's why he loves the "red" so much, as it has more saturation now... biggrin.gif

for games (PC | Video game consoles) this can be okay as they usually are not mastered to a standard (--> specific color space), but for general video content (OTA | Blu-ray | DVD) you would want to display in Rec 709 as that is the mastering format...

- M

calibration & profiling solutions: Lightspace, Spaceman, Calman, Argyll, ColorNavigator, basICColor
profiling & calibration workflow tools: Display Calibration Tools
meter: CR-250, Klein K-10 A, i1Pro, i1D3
AVS thread: Lightspace & Custom Color Patch Set & Gamma Calibration on Panasonic 65VT60
Iron Mike is offline  
post #14329 of 16778 Old 05-28-2014, 01:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
sawfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdawg17 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by BldyBg View Post

Got the 55VT60 here, been a year now and I just learned that Rec. 709 applies to (16-235) only. Explains why the colors on my PC always looked washed out when gaming with PC. As soon as I set it to Native color, yay. The red is gorgeous. Now, can anyone tell me how in the world I'm supposed to calibrate for Full RGB (0-255) ? I'm assuming the usual Spears & Munsil won't do very well. I tried it and had to set Color to 55. I was a little skeptical going from 47 to 55.

Or should I just game in YCbCr 4:4:4? I'll be able to use the same calibration and leave "Pure Direct" on. Or will I still lose the (0-15,236-255)? Any help is appreciated, been confused about this for a while now. Just wanna get the best out of this beauty.

Do you have a link to where you read about Rec. 709 applying to limited RGB only and should be set to "native". I've never heard of this and have had my HTPC set to Rec. 709 all this time as well...

The sRGB standard used for computer monitors is based on Rec.709, the difference being the gamma specified as 2.2 for sRGB. Of course, we use PC levels for monitors. If the VT60 is like the ST60, setting the gamut to Native is going to oversaturate the colors big-time. If that "fixes" anything, it's due to either a levels mismatch or misplaced expectations, and in either case, it isn't a correct fix.
sawfish is offline  
post #14330 of 16778 Old 05-28-2014, 04:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in Rhode Island
Posts: 5,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad B View Post

That was probably referring to panel brightness high mode in the Professional picture modes. Panel brightness mid has always been fine, and now with certain calibration techniques high can be fine up to level 237 or so.


Hi, Chad. Could be but a year ago I was researching the VT60 models and I do not remember any mention of white crush. I bought my 65VT60 in late June '13 and my 60VT60 in October and even then there was no talk about it of any consequence that I remember.

Like much of the stuff chatted about in these forums, if a discussion existed, it was due to the FUD factor that is irresistible to the OCD crowd. biggrin.gif


Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #14331 of 16778 Old 05-28-2014, 04:02 PM
Member
 
pafalzon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi All. I have been trying to adjust brightness and contrast levels using the Disney WOW disk on my VT60 however I noticed in Professional Modes that Contrast does not seem to change or make any noticeable difference when I adjust contrast above the 50 setting. Is this normal or is there an issue with my screen? If I change to Normal mode or Custom mode I am able to increase contrast above 50 without any problem at all.

Panasonic P55VT60, PS3, Apple TV, ReadyNAS Ultra2+, Logitech Z5500, Sennheiser RS170
pafalzon is offline  
post #14332 of 16778 Old 05-28-2014, 04:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in Rhode Island
Posts: 5,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by pafalzon View Post

Hi All. I have been trying to adjust brightness and contrast levels using the Disney WOW disk on my VT60 however I noticed in Professional Modes that Contrast does not seem to change or make any noticeable difference when I adjust contrast above the 50 setting. Is this normal or is there an issue with my screen? If I change to Normal mode or Custom mode I am able to increase contrast above 50 without any problem at all.


That behavior is normal when using the Pro modes. The output levels off with about a contrast setting of 55 to 60 and any higher setting has not much effect at all.

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #14333 of 16778 Old 05-28-2014, 04:32 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 13,415
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1706 Post(s)
Liked: 1329
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryInRI View Post

Hi, Chad. Could be but a year ago I was researching the VT60 models and I do not remember any mention of white crush. I bought my 65VT60 in late June '13 and my 60VT60 in October and even then there was no talk about it of any consequence that I remember.

Like much of the stuff chatted about in these forums, if a discussion existed, it was due to the FUD factor that is irresistible to the OCD crowd. biggrin.gif


Larry

Yup.

I think it all started at the 2013 Shootout when Ken Ross thought it was an issue because the Panasonics were not showing up to 254.
DavidHir is online now  
post #14334 of 16778 Old 05-28-2014, 04:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in Rhode Island
Posts: 5,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidHir View Post

Yup.

I think it all started at the 2013 Shootout when Ken Ross thought it was an issue because the Panasonics were not showing up to 254.

Thanks, David. That explains why I don't remember it. smile.gif

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #14335 of 16778 Old 05-28-2014, 04:39 PM
Member
 
pafalzon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryInRI View Post

That behavior is normal when using the Pro modes. The output levels off with about a contrast setting of 55 to 60 and any higher setting has not much effect at all.

Larry

Hi Larry

Thanks for the prompt reply. It would seem that Dynamic, Normal and Custom picture modes are the only modes that will allow me to adjust contrast above level 50 with any noticeable difference. Is there a reason why contrast has little to no effect above 50 in the other modes?

Paul

Panasonic P55VT60, PS3, Apple TV, ReadyNAS Ultra2+, Logitech Z5500, Sennheiser RS170
pafalzon is offline  
post #14336 of 16778 Old 05-28-2014, 05:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in Rhode Island
Posts: 5,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by pafalzon View Post

Hi Larry

Thanks for the prompt reply. It would seem that Dynamic, Normal and Custom picture modes are the only modes that will allow me to adjust contrast above level 50 with any noticeable difference. Is there a reason why contrast has little to no effect above 50 in the other modes?

Paul

Sorry, Paul, but I have no definitive answer other than it obviously was engineered to perform that way. On my 65VT60 unit, in the Pro mode I get 30 ftL with contrast at 50, 32 at 54, and 34 at 58. For my eyes, that's more than enough for nighttime viewing. If I need more brightness during casual daytime viewing, I use the Custom picture mode.

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #14337 of 16778 Old 05-28-2014, 05:26 PM
Member
 
nehmia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hey all, I've been enjoying my VT 60 for quite sometime now, and all the sudden HDMI signal cannot be picked up. Background:
I was watching TV a few hours ago and started to doze. Turned off everything, napped and was woke up by a crazy loud lightning storm. There was no power loss or flicker, few hours later turn everything back on and TV is saying "No Signal. Ensure connections... Choose source by pressing [INPUT]". So I remove AVR from connection path, remove HDMI wall plate from connection path and use a known good cable and source. I also try all three ports and killed breaker for a bit (power is behind TV). I also ran a self test which didn't do much, but it said it was fine.

The only thing I can think to do next is reset factory defaults...? I'm assuming this will wipe my picture settings... Anyway to back those up? Would a lightning storm be subtle enough to affect on the HDMI board/ports while the rest of TV functions fine?

Panasonic 60VT60 | Denon X2000 | Polk monitor 75T | Polk monitor 25C | Polk monitor 45B
nehmia is offline  
post #14338 of 16778 Old 05-28-2014, 05:55 PM
Member
 
pafalzon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Have you run a software update on the TV? I know that the latest update addressed a HDMI connection issue.

Paul

Panasonic P55VT60, PS3, Apple TV, ReadyNAS Ultra2+, Logitech Z5500, Sennheiser RS170
pafalzon is offline  
post #14339 of 16778 Old 05-28-2014, 05:57 PM
Member
 
pafalzon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just called Panasonic support. After being transferred to another support person they confirmed that Cinema modes and Pro modes are pre calibrated to provide a certain image and do not allow users to dramatically change these settings hence why I can't increase Contrast. Id be interested to know if other users are also having the same experience?

Paul

Panasonic P55VT60, PS3, Apple TV, ReadyNAS Ultra2+, Logitech Z5500, Sennheiser RS170
pafalzon is offline  
post #14340 of 16778 Old 05-28-2014, 05:58 PM
Member
 
pafalzon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nehmia View Post

Hey all, I've been enjoying my VT 60 for quite sometime now, and all the sudden HDMI signal cannot be picked up. Background:
I was watching TV a few hours ago and started to doze. Turned off everything, napped and was woke up by a crazy loud lightning storm. There was no power loss or flicker, few hours later turn everything back on and TV is saying "No Signal. Ensure connections... Choose source by pressing [INPUT]". So I remove AVR from connection path, remove HDMI wall plate from connection path and use a known good cable and source. I also try all three ports and killed breaker for a bit (power is behind TV). I also ran a self test which didn't do much, but it said it was fine.

The only thing I can think to do next is reset factory defaults...? I'm assuming this will wipe my picture settings... Anyway to back those up? Would a lightning storm be subtle enough to affect on the HDMI board/ports while the rest of TV functions fine?[/quote

Have you run a software update on the TV? I know that the latest update addressed a HDMI connection issue.

Panasonic P55VT60, PS3, Apple TV, ReadyNAS Ultra2+, Logitech Z5500, Sennheiser RS170
pafalzon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P65vt60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic , Panasonic Tcp65 65 Inch Vt25 3d Plasma Tv , Panasonic Tc P60vt60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P55vt60 55 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off