Official Panasonic VT60/VT65 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 482 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14431 of 14862 Old 06-05-2014, 07:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sage11x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brighton, MI
Posts: 2,415
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 454
Nevermind he has both so I'm sure Vinnie isn't losing any sleep over this! biggrin.gif

"For small creatures such as we the vastness is bearable only through love."

--Carl Sagan
sage11x is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14432 of 14862 Old 06-05-2014, 07:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 400
I've not gotten to the chance to see an OLED with real content, let alone calibrated. But no doubt the contrast would weigh a lot for me and I assume I would have preferred the OLED. The results are still surprising though from that vote for what it's worth.

DavidHir is offline  
post #14433 of 14862 Old 06-05-2014, 07:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mo949's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,798
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 342
Even seeing The OLED in storefront conditions next to 4k lcds is a magnificent sight. 55inches spoils it a bit though.
mo949 is offline  
post #14434 of 14862 Old 06-05-2014, 07:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 400
Is that LG 77" 4K model still scheduled to be at the Shootout?

DavidHir is offline  
post #14435 of 14862 Old 06-05-2014, 08:07 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
There is something to be said for the motion rez/processing, especially at the greater size. Watching the beast now, I can see where the preference might align with it. It's altogether a tough call!

The shootout has now been tentatively delayed until mid July, which makes it likely one or more of the OLEDs will be appearing. Fingers crossed.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #14436 of 14862 Old 06-05-2014, 09:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sage11x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brighton, MI
Posts: 2,415
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 454
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidHir View Post

I've not gotten to the chance to see an OLED with real content, let alone calibrated. But no doubt the contrast would weigh a lot for me and I assume I would have preferred the OLED. The results are still surprising though from that vote for what it's worth.

Well you've got a product that is really in many ways the state of the art for it's respective technology and the pinnacle achievement from a company that really puts a spotlight on picture quality versus a promising technology that is really still in it's infancy from a company that is largely alone in the market and has shown more interest in features than overall quality of image. I'd say, all things considered, the OLED still did amazingly good! smile.gif

What's really damning for videophiles is the fact that none of the top 4k ultra LED LCDs received a single vote in the best picture overall category. It wasn't so long ago that we were talking about the sharp elites and how that tech might give LCD a fighting chance in the picture quality race and here we are in 2014 and there isn't one top tier LCD that can hang with a discontinued plasma and a fledgling OLED set selling at an obscene price. It looks like whatever made the elites look so good was just too expensive to pursue on a more mainstream model.

"For small creatures such as we the vastness is bearable only through love."

--Carl Sagan
sage11x is online now  
post #14437 of 14862 Old 06-05-2014, 09:50 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
^Tons of zones for one! That Vizio R is the only thing that promises to eclipse let alone match up with the zone #, and it's at a much greater risk of being vaporware than materializing, which leaves the Sony XBR-950B and its 144 or 160 zones (less than the Sharp Elite).
vinnie97 is offline  
post #14438 of 14862 Old 06-05-2014, 10:01 PM
KOF
Advanced Member
 
KOF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 731
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Panasonic should have continued their "1500 LEDs as 1500 dimming zones" technology, but I guess not. LEDs have become affordable, but not THAT affordable.
KOF is offline  
post #14439 of 14862 Old 06-05-2014, 10:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ou8thisSN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 2,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 15
why do D-Nice's/SillySally's settings set the HDMI range to standard of 16-255 instead of 0-255? I thought extended had more depth and stuff, no?
Ou8thisSN is offline  
post #14440 of 14862 Old 06-06-2014, 04:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 4,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 481
Standard is 16 to 235, that is the correct range for most devices. Sometimes PCs or gaming systems need that 0 to 255 range.

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #14441 of 14862 Old 06-06-2014, 04:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whipit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SGF
Posts: 1,426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

Standard is 16 to 235, that is the correct range for most devices. Sometimes PCs or gaming systems need that 16 to 255 range.

Typo chunon smile.gif (16-255)
whipit is offline  
post #14442 of 14862 Old 06-06-2014, 05:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 4,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by whipit View Post

Typo chunon smile.gif (16-255)

Edited thanks smile.gif

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #14443 of 14862 Old 06-06-2014, 05:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ou8thisSN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 2,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

Standard is 16 to 235, that is the correct range for most devices. Sometimes PCs or gaming systems need that 0 to 255 range.

I'd like to understand this better. Why does the PC need to be set to 0-255 while the tv is set to 16-255? I'm asking because apparently Intel video drivers do not have an "HDMI fix" and only does 16-255 which a lot of people are upset about. Are you saying that if you have a PC source, you need to go back into the settings and set it to 0-255?
Ou8thisSN is offline  
post #14444 of 14862 Old 06-06-2014, 05:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 4,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 481
I can speak about the Standard 16 to 235, that is all I have ever used. The other setting is 0 to 255(Non-standard). I believe it depends on your video card and what it outputs. There are alot of folks here that can speak to that better than me. I didn't realize you were referring to PC settings. Since you referred to Dnice and Sally settings I assumed you were referring to normal video content which is what those setting are for.

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #14445 of 14862 Old 06-06-2014, 07:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 3,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

Umm what? I posted the dang results in the ZT thread a few days ago, not like this is a revelation. tongue.gif The W comes down to 1) Motion (known weakness of 1st gen LG OLED) and 2) a larger size giving a more cinematic feel. That grayscale uniformity problem is only a bug to those who look at slides/patterns. The vote would've been even more lopsided if more folks felt the decreased motion resolution (and subsequent blur) was a major inhibitor to display enjoyment (which it isn't for me when factoring in an infinite contrast ratio...YMMV wink.gif).

If OLED ever becomes both large and affordable the tech will be the TV of choice. Start here - http://www.avsforum.com/t/1493578/lg-55ea9800-55-oled-owners-thread#post_23906669

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is offline  
post #14446 of 14862 Old 06-06-2014, 07:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 4,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzard767 View Post

If OLED ever becomes both large and affordable the tech will be the TV of choice. Start here - http://www.avsforum.com/t/1493578/lg-55ea9800-55-oled-owners-thread#post_23906669

Affordable being the key word smile.gif

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #14447 of 14862 Old 06-06-2014, 12:31 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,761
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 459
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzard767 View Post

If OLED ever becomes both large and affordable the tech will be the TV of choice. Start here - http://www.avsforum.com/t/1493578/lg-55ea9800-55-oled-owners-thread#post_23906669

Affordable being the key word smile.gif
Reliable wouldn't be a bad word either. wink.gif
htwaits is offline  
post #14448 of 14862 Old 06-06-2014, 12:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 4,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 481
Good point smile.gif

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #14449 of 14862 Old 06-06-2014, 09:29 PM
Member
 
gosas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys what is the option hdmi content do? when I put it to auto and then I choose in the nvidia panel the option for hdmi content to movie the tv pops a window that says hdmi content detected or something like that I think it kinda changes the colos of the TV also it makes the picture mode " home cinema" active with the tv, should I turn that on or off ?

also I have set in mpc-hc under madvr settings in the display options that the tv expects 16-255 is that the right option for mad vr? I know that nvidia cards output 16 - 255 through hdmi there is a workaround to change it to 0 - 255, but whats the best for the vt60?

thank you guys!
gosas is offline  
post #14450 of 14862 Old 06-09-2014, 02:49 AM
Member
 
Wurlitzer-1015's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Singapore
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12

Hi Guys,

Completely off the latest discussion and apologies if this has been asked and answered before (this thread is over 482 pages:) -  A very simple question...

 

Can you have audio out on both the ARC and the optical out at the same?  If you can how do you do it?

 

I want to send Netflix audio to both at the same time, via ARC to my AVR and via the optical (via a D2A convertor) to my wireless headphone transmitter.  No matter how I try it seems to be either one or the other, if I disable ARC (on the AVR) I get audio through the optical, if I enable ARC the optical falls "silent".  Unfortunately my AVR (Yamaha RX-S600) has an audio in but only seems to output audio if the input is from an analogue input (not what you get on the HDMI ARC).

 

See, I said it was a simple question :)


55VT60, Yamaha RX-S600, Mede8er X10003D, Ryan Play-On HD2
ATV1 running XBMC, Wurlitzer OMT 1015 Vinyl, Harmony Ultimate,
Miller & Kreisel 5.1 system speakers
Wurlitzer-1015 is offline  
post #14451 of 14862 Old 06-09-2014, 03:14 AM
Newbie
 
goenie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all. Just said hello in the appropriate thread, but hello again. 😊

Have owned a 46" Panasonic plasma since 6 years, calibrated and decided it's time for something new.

Own a tx-p65vt60 nl version since two days and am very pleased with it, but I do have a question. I used the recommended settings from one of the other threads on here.

I searched the forums but couldn't find an answer....
When I put screen on 'auto(matic)' scaling, I can see that the screen is not 100% filled. There's like a 5mm spacing between active screen and black border around the screen.When I select ZOOM , I can clearly see that just a tiny bit more of the screen is being filled. We talk about mm's, but it's there. Especially vertically. This also happens when I use 'juist' setting, which I guess translates to 'just' or 'correct' in non-nl tv's.
When using 'just', the ratio seems a bit of and people seem to be stretched a bit. Turning back to auto makes it not fill the whole screen again. Same as with 16:9.
Is this something on others experienced well?
I would like to avoid a non completely filled screen for the first few hundred hours..
P.s. am I right by saying that it seems that the 'active' screen does not seem to sit flush next to black border around the screen? (sorry, don't know how else to explain) vertically there's some none used screen as well as horizontally.

Thanks all for your answers!
goenie is offline  
post #14452 of 14862 Old 06-09-2014, 06:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sage11x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brighton, MI
Posts: 2,415
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 454
'Just' is not what you think it is-- it's meddling wth the image. Even cnet recommends 'just' which casts some doubt on the settings they recommend. What you want is 'Full'. 'Just' will trim the edges of the screen and adds a subtle sort of fish-eye lens effect to the image.

I think the confusion is because many makes have a 'just scan' aspect ratio which places the image on the screen unmolested. Why panasonic has to be different here is beyond explanation.

"For small creatures such as we the vastness is bearable only through love."

--Carl Sagan
sage11x is online now  
post #14453 of 14862 Old 06-09-2014, 03:31 PM
Member
 
Dabois09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I'm an associate at a big box store - we've had this set basically hiding in the warehouse for months open boxed. The stand got a little dinged up whilst back there. I was a proud owner of a 50" ST60 that was in great shape, however, always wished the GT was released here (NA).

So, after months of inquiry, I finally found out that the TV was actually available! Put my ST up on Craigslist - got a bit within an hour. Guy settled for $850 with a 5 year extended attached (had TV priced at $1,000).

Needed $440 to make up the difference, got it, boom. 65" VT60 with only 80 hours on it for the meager price of $1,300 dollars!!! At 22 years of age - this is my TV in my bedroom! The biggest TV in my house!

Watched Star Wars on Blu-ray yesterday, man oh man, I'm in the cantina with Chewie and Han.

TV was discounted for "id" from the ID channel being "burned in" in the bottom right hand corner. Ran pixel flipper of Disney WOW and ran lots of content - gone within a few days. Been gaming on it at around 55 contrast and it looks great - no IR at all. My ST was an IR magnet - plus the lower input lag on the VT is definitely noticeable. The added picture quality (big leap in size and panel quality) is just a bonus.

So stoked right now - couldn't have imagined this would've happened a week ago.
mo949 likes this.
Dabois09 is online now  
post #14454 of 14862 Old 06-09-2014, 03:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
EscapeVelocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Nice. Wish you would have sold me the 50' ST60. Im in the market for one.
Dabois09 likes this.

Vizio VP322 Plasma / Vizio GV42LF LCD / Denon 2200 Silicon Image DVD / Panasonic S97 Faroudja Genesis DVD / Oppo 970HD Mediatek DVD / Oppo 983H Anchor Bay DVD / Panasonic LX-600 Laserdisc / Aiwa MX100 Multi-region VCR / JVC S7600 S-VHS / PS2 / Sega Genesis / Nintendo SNES / Roku 2 XS & HD-XR / Realistic STA-90 Reciever / Realistic Minimus 7 / Antennacraft G1483 Hoverman / Belden 7915A RG6 / Channel Master 7777 Titan 2 UHF/VHF / Panasonic AX-200u / Optoma Graywolf 92" / Draper Luma 92"
EscapeVelocity is offline  
post #14455 of 14862 Old 06-09-2014, 05:12 PM
Member
 
Codeman00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dabois09 View Post

I'm an associate at a big box store - we've had this set basically hiding in the warehouse for months open boxed. The stand got a little dinged up whilst back there. I was a proud owner of a 50" ST60 that was in great shape, however, always wished the GT was released here (NA).

So, after months of inquiry, I finally found out that the TV was actually available! Put my ST up on Craigslist - got a bit within an hour. Guy settled for $850 with a 5 year extended attached (had TV priced at $1,000).

Needed $440 to make up the difference, got it, boom. 65" VT60 with only 80 hours on it for the meager price of $1,300 dollars!!! At 22 years of age - this is my TV in my bedroom! The biggest TV in my house!

Watched Star Wars on Blu-ray yesterday, man oh man, I'm in the cantina with Chewie and Han.

TV was discounted for "id" from the ID channel being "burned in" in the bottom right hand corner. Ran pixel flipper of Disney WOW and ran lots of content - gone within a few days. Been gaming on it at around 55 contrast and it looks great - no IR at all. My ST was an IR magnet - plus the lower input lag on the VT is definitely noticeable. The added picture quality (big leap in size and panel quality) is just a bonus.

So stoked right now - couldn't have imagined this would've happened a week ago.

Awesome deal !! Congrats!
Dabois09 likes this.
Codeman00 is offline  
post #14456 of 14862 Old 06-10-2014, 07:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2,712
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 614
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dabois09 View Post

I'm an associate at a big box store - we've had this set basically hiding in the warehouse for months open boxed. The stand got a little dinged up whilst back there. I was a proud owner of a 50" ST60 that was in great shape, however, always wished the GT was released here (NA).

So, after months of inquiry, I finally found out that the TV was actually available! Put my ST up on Craigslist - got a bit within an hour. Guy settled for $850 with a 5 year extended attached (had TV priced at $1,000).

Needed $440 to make up the difference, got it, boom. 65" VT60 with only 80 hours on it for the meager price of $1,300 dollars!!! At 22 years of age - this is my TV in my bedroom! The biggest TV in my house!

Watched Star Wars on Blu-ray yesterday, man oh man, I'm in the cantina with Chewie and Han.

TV was discounted for "id" from the ID channel being "burned in" in the bottom right hand corner. Ran pixel flipper of Disney WOW and ran lots of content - gone within a few days. Been gaming on it at around 55 contrast and it looks great - no IR at all. My ST was an IR magnet - plus the lower input lag on the VT is definitely noticeable. The added picture quality (big leap in size and panel quality) is just a bonus.

So stoked right now - couldn't have imagined this would've happened a week ago.
Nice, I owned an ST60 and currently own a VT60 and I agree that the VT60 seems to handle IR better. I will admit I was crazy with my ST60 and returned it at 150 hours when it was getting IR so I am not sure how it would have been over the long haul but my VT60 has about 1000 hours on it and it performs like a champ. I have no worries leaving a channel on with a logo for hours at a time.
eric3316 is offline  
post #14457 of 14862 Old 06-10-2014, 08:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 4,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post

Nice, I owned an ST60 and currently own a VT60 and I agree that the VT60 seems to handle IR better. I will admit I was crazy with my ST60 and returned it at 150 hours when it was getting IR so I am not sure how it would have been over the long haul but my VT60 has about 1000 hours on it and it performs like a champ. I have no worries leaving a channel on with a logo for hours at a time.

Apparently you don't watch Fox Sports smile.gif That one is problematic on both my ST and VT

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #14458 of 14862 Old 06-10-2014, 08:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2,712
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 614
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

Apparently you don't watch Fox Sports smile.gif That one is problematic on both my ST and VT
I do, it was the reason I returned the ST60. You can even see my pictures in the ST60 thread way back when the ST60 was first released. I posted a couple them there. I don't mind getting IR if I do get, but after watching like 30 minutes of it on the ST60 the IR was still there the next day. To me, 30 minutes of watching something should not equal more then a day of IR.

No problems with it on my VT60. It has been performing like a champ. I do keep the orbiter on which I cannot remember if I did with my ST60. Back then I probably didn't because everyone said it was a waste and did nothing but I don't buy that so much anymore. The only thing that sucks about wanted to keep it on is losing the ability to use the THX modes since they grey the option out and have it defaulted on off.
eric3316 is offline  
post #14459 of 14862 Old 06-10-2014, 08:46 AM
Member
 
ericksonts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have owned a 60" VT60 since last September. Yesterday I noticed that I am getting a surprising dust buildup on the fans. I'm a bit worried that in, say, 2 years or so the fans will not be moving air so well and might be noisier. (Right now they are not audible when I am playing content.) Anyone else notice a premature dust buildup?

Some early posts on excessive fan noise mentioned Silverstone 140mm fan filters that magnetically attach to the outside of the case. For those of you who have tried these, are they doing a good job of keeping dust out?

I find it strange that I am getting dust on the visible part of exhaust fans.

I keep the room clean as possible. I have a gaming pc on the floor that has less dust buildup on a case fan located on top of its case.

Thanks in advance for any comments!
ericksonts is offline  
post #14460 of 14862 Old 06-10-2014, 09:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 4,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post

I do, it was the reason I returned the ST60. You can even see my pictures in the ST60 thread way back when the ST60 was first released. I posted a couple them there. I don't mind getting IR if I do get, but after watching like 30 minutes of it on the ST60 the IR was still there the next day. To me, 30 minutes of watching something should not equal more then a day of IR.

No problems with it on my VT60. It has been performing like a champ. I do keep the orbiter on which I cannot remember if I did with my ST60. Back then I probably didn't because everyone said it was a waste and did nothing but I don't buy that so much anymore. The only thing that sucks about wanted to keep it on is losing the ability to use the THX modes since they grey the option out and have it defaulted on off.

Darn that panel variance, I use the pixel orbiter and watch alot of Reds baseball, it is there plain as day if I look for it. Yes the THX modes suffer because of that. On my VT50 you could go to the non full mode for aspect ratio and enable it not sure if that works on the VT60 tho.

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P65vt60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic , Panasonic Tcp65 65 Inch Vt25 3d Plasma Tv , Panasonic Tc P60vt60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P55vt60 55 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off