Official Panasonic VT60/VT65 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 491 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14701 of 14713 Old Yesterday, 02:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wkearney99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Pfftt, the tube amp's power requirements will likely exceed the cost of a newer model AVR. That and the money spend on various adapters. Along the way with something new like a Denon E-300 you also get built-in streaming features, Airplay, network remote control and the like.

As for best sound, a new AVR with a calibration mic works wonders. Effects included in the source media (DVDs, streamed, etc) makes a much better impression when the gear's able to calibrate itself for the room. Granted, only two speakers doesn't give it much to work with. Even the addition of a simple center channel would help quite a lot.
wkearney99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14702 of 14713 Old Yesterday, 04:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ChrisFB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by wkearney99 View Post

As for best sound, a new AVR with a calibration mic works wonders. Effects included in the source media (DVDs, streamed, etc) makes a much better impression when the gear's able to calibrate itself for the room. Granted, only two speakers doesn't give it much to work with. Even the addition of a simple center channel would help quite a lot.
My calibration mic sat unused for far too long. I was truly impressed with the difference it made on my setup. I have some odd room acoustics and you could see the resulting settings trying to optimize around it.

Display:    Panasonic 65" VT60

AVR:        Marantz 6005

Speakers: Kef Q towers/rears Kef Reference center

HTPC:       Win 7 Pro with XBMC

Xbox Live: Arbitrage XXL

ChrisFB is offline  
post #14703 of 14713 Old Yesterday, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sage11x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brighton, MI
Posts: 2,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hypermole View Post
Thank you very much for the reply.


To answer your question, Yes. I do not have that much to spend. I also only have two speakers for a reason. They reproduce the best sound I've ever heard. I am thinking about picking up a used tube amp to allow the full Signe wave audio to enhance the analog sound. I have been offered a few for free.


Thanks Again
Unfortunately, digital to analog conversion isn't as simple as buying a converter plug. Digital to analog chips come in all flavors of price and quality which is why you'll see oppo sell bluray players for upwards of $1k as they have sophisticated, esoteric DA chips. To put it simply: DA conversion is the area of your signal path which has the greatest 'opportunity' for loss in fidelity. The large range of quality is why you can find outboard DA audio converters anywhere from $17 to $300 or more. If you just want something simple: Monoprice sells a model for around 25 bucks: it will probably sound as good (or bad) as the DAs in your average TV or value branded receiver.

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_id=104&cp_id=10423&cs_id=1042302&p_id=68 84&seq=1&format=2
htwaits likes this.
sage11x is online now  
post #14704 of 14713 Old Yesterday, 08:15 PM
Member
 
Hypermole's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sage11x View Post
Unfortunately, digital to analog conversion isn't as simple as buying a converter plug. Digital to analog chips come in all flavors of price and quality which is why you'll see oppo sell bluray players for upwards of $1k as they have sophisticated, esoteric DA chips. To put it simply: DA conversion is the area of your signal path which has the greatest 'opportunity' for loss in fidelity. The large range of quality is why you can find outboard DA audio converters anywhere from $17 to $300 or more. If you just want something simple: Monoprice sells a model for around 25 bucks: it will probably sound as good (or bad) as the DAs in your average TV or value branded receiver.

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...seq=1&format=2
Thanks


I understand there are many different opinions but for my needs the cost and surround or 3D just is not for me. I also have a few other awesome amps and speakers but for now I just want to connect the Plasma to my Amp for occasional use. I don't care for surround sound and until I get moved, less is better, I have used a RCA to 3.5mm cable in the past and that worked fine. Do any of the RCA connectors on this TV output sound? Maybe a HDMI to RCA?


Someday I'd like to go wireless but for now, I have other items on my radar. Like a house and new car.


I may have away to get this done without buying anything which would be great.


Thanks Again
Hypermole is online now  
post #14705 of 14713 Old Today, 05:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sage11x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brighton, MI
Posts: 2,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hypermole View Post
Thanks


I understand there are many different opinions but for my needs the cost and surround or 3D just is not for me. I also have a few other awesome amps and speakers but for now I just want to connect the Plasma to my Amp for occasional use. I don't care for surround sound and until I get moved, less is better, I have used a RCA to 3.5mm cable in the past and that worked fine. Do any of the RCA connectors on this TV output sound? Maybe a HDMI to RCA?


Someday I'd like to go wireless but for now, I have other items on my radar. Like a house and new car.


I may have away to get this done without buying anything which would be great.


Thanks Again
You quoted my post but I'm not sure if you understood. You can't simply adapt a digital connection (toslink, hdmi, etc) to an analog connection (RCA, mini plug). You need something that will 'unpack' the digital signal for you. I linked you to an affordable DA box from Monoprice-- as your VT has no analog outputs a product like this is your only solution.
sage11x is online now  
post #14706 of 14713 Old Today, 05:58 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickydenim View Post
I'll be looking for a pro-calibrator in Australia to do my VT60 in a month or so.
I'll be looking for someone in the next few months also, would appreciate it if you could let us know if you find someone good!
I have heard some good things about Avical from Whirlpool, but I haven't looked into them myself yet.
Malpractis is offline  
post #14707 of 14713 Old Today, 09:25 AM
Newbie
 
greatauror28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Guys, there's a display model of 55" VT60 in London Drugs being offered to me for only $1399 + tax. Salesman says it still includes 1-year warranty and still has everything with the box.

Do you think it would be a good buy?

I am leaning towards replacing my two year old 50" LG plasma so i'm on the market for a new (better) plasma TV.
greatauror28 is offline  
post #14708 of 14713 Old Today, 09:34 AM
Senior Member
 
ChadThunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 38
That is a bargain plain and simple, jump in as soon as you can IMHO.. I mean don't you guys pay alot more for tellies over there?
ChadThunder is offline  
post #14709 of 14713 Old Today, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whipit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SGF
Posts: 1,404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by greatauror28 View Post
Guys, there's a display model of 55" VT60 in London Drugs being offered to me for only $1399 + tax. Salesman says it still includes 1-year warranty and still has everything with the box.

Do you think it would be a good buy?

I am leaning towards replacing my two year old 50" LG plasma so i'm on the market for a new (better) plasma TV.

I'd think that's a heck of a good deal for US$, Canada even better. It would be a good idea to check for burn in with some colored slides on a USB stick or the screen wipe feature. Maybe ask that if you aren't satisfied you can return it.
whipit is offline  
post #14710 of 14713 Old Today, 10:33 AM
Newbie
 
greatauror28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChadThunder View Post
That is a bargain plain and simple, jump in as soon as you can IMHO.. I mean don't you guys pay alot more for tellies over there?
Yes, we do pay more because of the weaker CAD vs USD. I'm still gathering funds for now. Might buy it in the next couple weeks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by whipit View Post
I'd think that's a heck of a good deal for US$, Canada even better. It would be a good idea to check for burn in with some colored slides on a USB stick or the screen wipe feature. Maybe ask that if you aren't satisfied you can return it.
That's what I thought too!

Thanks for the suggestion of having colored slides off a usb drive - that will show if there's any burn in or discoloration from the TV. Thanks!
greatauror28 is offline  
post #14711 of 14713 Old Today, 04:25 PM
Member
 
Hypermole's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sage11x View Post
You quoted my post but I'm not sure if you understood. You can't simply adapt a digital connection (toslink, hdmi, etc) to an analog connection (RCA, mini plug). You need something that will 'unpack' the digital signal for you. I linked you to an affordable DA box from Monoprice-- as your VT has no analog outputs a product like this is your only solution.


Hello,


Yes I did quote your post and understand what you are telling me. I am still looking for a solution to my issue (I have many). Today I hooked up my Toshiba DVD Video & VCR Recorder (SD-V295KU) with the RCA inputs and I am able to watch VCR & DVD'S thru the TV. It also has a digital output on the back of it and will connect to my amp and play audio with the RCA outputs on it from the VCR/DVD/CD different formats. Maybe I can use it or my router (Ethernet, Wireless) or laptop (HDMI, Bluetooth and Wireless) to have a audio output to my AMP. So now I am totally confused myself .


Is anyone using headphones with this TV?
If so how are they hooking them up?


Thank You For Your Reply,
David
Hypermole is online now  
post #14712 of 14713 Old Today, 04:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 4,882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 446
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hypermole View Post
Hello,


Yes I did quote your post and understand what you are telling me. I am still looking for a solution to my issue (I have many). Today I hooked up my Toshiba DVD Video & VCR Recorder (SD-V295KU) with the RCA inputs and I am able to watch VCR & DVD'S thru the TV. It also has a digital output on the back of it and will connect to my amp and play audio with the RCA outputs on it from the VCR/DVD/CD different formats. Maybe I can use it or my router (Ethernet, Wireless) or laptop (HDMI, Bluetooth and Wireless) to have a audio output to my AMP. So now I am totally confused myself .


Is anyone using headphones with this TV?
If so how are they hooking them up?


Thank You For Your Reply,
David

I use Bluetooth headphones works great
chunon is online now  
post #14713 of 14713 Old Today, 05:02 PM
Senior Member
 
dpjb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillysally View Post
Any of these small 10 point calibration measurement test mean very little, and that includes my 10 point reports. I for one will now only show comprehensive reports, in hopes others will also.

To see what is really going on with a calibration you need at-least about a 500 point check. I don't know why so many folks including pro calibrators show such a very limited report.
imo there are only two excuses for such limited reports.
1. The guy that is running the report has very limited experience and or very limited software.
2. The guy is just afraid that a comprehensive report is just going to show a fair to poor calibration, not a good calibration as the very limited report is showing.

Below is a link to my last Calibration measurement report I did on my VT60. I used a Klein K10-A as my active meter and I profiled it with my Jeti 1211, using Klein's ChromaSurf software to make sure there was next to no error in the profile and inputted that profile into the K10's memory. I used a updated Lumagen 2041 as the reference pattern source for the profile.

http://s000.tinyupload.com/download....42864222167199
Once downloaded open file with your browser (Internet exporter, Google, ect.)

The report shows a average dE 2000 of 0.35 with a highest dE of 1.59
Page down and you will see exactly what the colors that where measured. You will also see in the charts many points in-between the 10 points (10, 20, 30, ect) that most reports only show.
In other words a report like this will show what is really going on with are VT60. And shows how good are VT60 can be calibrated.

ss
I don't doubt that a 500 point calibration is more accurate, but while it's measurably better, is it actually noticable? I have seen it stated multiple times that a dE of less than 3 is undetectable to the human eye.

And while I admit I'd probable do it if I had all the equipment, as a diy-er, I can't afford all that stuff.

An interesting experiment for those with the time and equipment. Do a meticulous calibration using only the consumer controls and no external lut box. Then test the 500 points or however many you want and see how many of them are more than +3 dE.

I don't think either of the reasons you suspect calibrators don't give a more comprehensive reports are fair to the GOOD calibrators out there who use the usual software packages.
dpjb is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P65vt60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic , Panasonic Tcp65 65 Inch Vt25 3d Plasma Tv , Panasonic Tc P60vt60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P55vt60 55 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off