Official Panasonic VT60/VT65 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 499 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14941 of 15854 Old 09-08-2014, 10:10 AM
Member
 
lionorion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
ARC, which means Audio Return Channel, implies that the end user has an ARC HDMI input on their receiver and they want to extract the audio signal, which by the way is only two channel.

As far as universal remotes go, one should always have a well programmed UR to replace the plethora of remotes on your coffee table regardless of using ARC or not.
lionorion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14942 of 15854 Old 09-08-2014, 11:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wkearney99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by lionorion View Post
ARC, which means Audio Return Channel, implies that the end user has an ARC HDMI input on their receiver and they want to extract the audio signal, which by the way is only two channel.

As far as universal remotes go, one should always have a well programmed UR to replace the plethora of remotes on your coffee table regardless of using ARC or not.
Not sure where you get the ARC being only two channel, iirc it'll pass whatever the app or content is providing.

With HDMI-CEC it's possible to avoid having to use a universal remote, at least for most folks. I've got a Tivo connected to a Denon AVR-X3000 and the VT60. The VT60 is set to pass commands via CEC. I then have my Tivo remote configured to send the VT60 IR volume commands. These are passed to the X3000. This allows retaining use of the Tivo remote (arguably MUCH better than any UR out there) with really no complications at all. Likewise, I can use the Panasonic remote for any on-TV apps in a similar manner. This is kind of important as few universal remotes cover the same range of functionality when using TV apps or the Tivo. Yeah, some can come 'close enough' but then they usually have a terrible button layout (at least compared to the factory remotes).

But then I don't use any of the apps as they're pretty much terrible compared to solutions on the Tivo, Chromecast, Roku or AppleTV units also connected to the X3000.

I'm not arguing against using a universal remote, just offering that they're not as necessary as they might have been in the past if you're using a modern TV, AVR and connected devices.
wkearney99 is offline  
post #14943 of 15854 Old 09-08-2014, 04:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whipit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SGF
Posts: 1,495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 72
I think he meant from external sources you only get two channels.
whipit is offline  
post #14944 of 15854 Old 09-10-2014, 10:31 AM
Newbie
 
Tennie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi!

I just bought a 65vt60 (one of the last ones here in The Netherlands i think), the image is just great. But when I'm watching movies (also full Blu rays), i'm having these gradient banding when an image goes from bright to dark (gradiently? :P). This was also on the vt50 i owned very shortly. I'm using purely my HTPC as a source.

Could it mean it's the source, or is this normal? (Because my old crappy 50 inch LG plasma did not even have it this bad.

Last edited by Tennie; 09-10-2014 at 10:35 AM.
Tennie is offline  
post #14945 of 15854 Old 09-10-2014, 12:36 PM
Senior Member
 
fluxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 76
@Tennie

The posterisation type banding you describe could possibly be reduced by tweaking settings. However, a certain amount is pretty normal for these sets.
fluxo is offline  
post #14946 of 15854 Old 09-10-2014, 02:35 PM
Newbie
 
Tennie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks!

Ok, then i will let it go(after some tweaking), i only wondered if it was a bad thing. Once you see the effects, you can't stop seeing it .

What tweaks could you recommend? i've tried a lot, but nothing seems to help. Setting the HDMI source to 'Photo' seems to help a bit, but then again, everything will become brighter.
Tennie is offline  
post #14947 of 15854 Old 09-10-2014, 05:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
xvfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Usually torch lights, right? Tron Legacy shows it up badly with some parts and when the woman's finger lights up before they kit him out.

Yet Iron Man's repulsors are smooth. As are car lights.
xvfx is offline  
post #14948 of 15854 Old 09-10-2014, 06:12 PM
Newbie
 
Tennie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by xvfx View Post
Usually torch lights, right? Tron Legacy shows it up badly with some parts and when the woman's finger lights up before they kit him out.

Yet Iron Man's repulsors are smooth. As are car lights.
Indeed! It's in cases where some light source relative quickly goes from full bright to full dark (but gradually).
Tennie is offline  
post #14949 of 15854 Old 09-10-2014, 08:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
xvfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 101
http://www.avforums.com/threads/what...izing.1598890/

Quote:
Originally Posted by VierraFan
Also, it's much more likely that blue color will exhibit DFC, because response time of blue phosphor is very short. Green and red are much slower, so they are producing light between subfields also (as I recorded in dithering thread). Unfortunately, they are leaving yellow trails for the same reason. Quicker the phosphor = less yellow trailing but higher possibility of DFC
I guess thats why I see it badly with Tron and certain torches.
xvfx is offline  
post #14950 of 15854 Old 09-12-2014, 05:16 PM
Member
 
BldyBg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Did any of the latest firmware updates fix the issue regarding the battery-powered 3D glasses draining? They stayed on even after switching from a 3D signal to 2D. The only way to prevent this was to manually turn off the glasses or the TV. It seems it's been fixed, I think the TV sends a power-off command to all the connected glasses after a period of time of no 3D, I just wanted to be sure.
BldyBg is offline  
post #14951 of 15854 Old 09-14-2014, 08:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,500
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 752 Post(s)
Liked: 929
I am contemplating selling my 65VT60. Since getting my front projector setup in my master bedroom sitting room about 5 or so months ago that has been my go to for viewing every single night.

My VT60 is used during the day and mostly for cartoons and kids movies. Really thinking about picking up a 64H5000. I almost feel like my VT60 is being underused for it's purpose and my initial reason for buying it which was for the great black levels and night time viewing which right now is getting non of that.

I posted an add a few weeks ago to see the interest in the TV and was offered $2,400 for it. Also got another message recently from someone that was interested. Not sure what I should do.

I keep questioning if I will regret getting rid of my VT60 but then on the other hand I can still get what I consider a decent TV and walk away with some extra money on top of it.

Decisions, decisions.
eric3316 is offline  
post #14952 of 15854 Old 09-14-2014, 05:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Jason626's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: illinois
Posts: 422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post
I am contemplating selling my 65VT60. Since getting my front projector setup in my master bedroom sitting room about 5 or so months ago that has been my go to for viewing every single night.

My VT60 is used during the day and mostly for cartoons and kids movies. Really thinking about picking up a 64H5000. I almost feel like my VT60 is being underused for it's purpose and my initial reason for buying it which was for the great black levels and night time viewing which right now is getting non of that.

I posted an add a few weeks ago to see the interest in the TV and was offered $2,400 for it. Also got another message recently from someone that was interested. Not sure what I should do.

I keep questioning if I will regret getting rid of my VT60 but then on the other hand I can still get what I consider a decent TV and walk away with some extra money on top of it.

Decisions, decisions.
That's a pretty good price. I would be tempted. OLED coming down in price too. Vinnie said he's selling his zt with 3000 hours on it for $2000.
Jason626 is online now  
post #14953 of 15854 Old 09-14-2014, 09:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,500
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 752 Post(s)
Liked: 929
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason626 View Post
That's a pretty good price. I would be tempted. OLED coming down in price too. Vinnie said he's selling his zt with 3000 hours on it for $2000.
Wow, Vinnie is selling his ZT60? What is he replacing it with? Hopefully not another 55" OLED.
eric3316 is offline  
post #14954 of 15854 Old 09-14-2014, 09:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Jason626's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: illinois
Posts: 422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post
Wow, Vinnie is selling his ZT60? What is he replacing it with? Hopefully not another 55" OLED.
I think Vinnie wants the 77" big dog. But I'm not sure if he will settle for 65" due to price.
Jason626 is online now  
post #14955 of 15854 Old 09-15-2014, 01:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Tony1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post
I am contemplating selling my 65VT60. Since getting my front projector setup in my master bedroom sitting room about 5 or so months ago that has been my go to for viewing every single night.

My VT60 is used during the day and mostly for cartoons and kids movies. Really thinking about picking up a 64H5000. I almost feel like my VT60 is being underused for it's purpose and my initial reason for buying it which was for the great black levels and night time viewing which right now is getting non of that.

I posted an add a few weeks ago to see the interest in the TV and was offered $2,400 for it. Also got another message recently from someone that was interested. Not sure what I should do.

I keep questioning if I will regret getting rid of my VT60 but then on the other hand I can still get what I consider a decent TV and walk away with some extra money on top of it.

Decisions, decisions.
If it is only used for the kids, you probably should just sell it and replace it with a Vizio Led. The kids will probably like the over exaggerated colors of an Led, plus it will use much less power, and you really won't have to worry about IR/Burn in much..

Panasonic GT50 55"
Pansaonic VT60 60"
Tony1 is offline  
post #14956 of 15854 Old 09-15-2014, 08:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,500
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 752 Post(s)
Liked: 929
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony1 View Post
If it is only used for the kids, you probably should just sell it and replace it with a Vizio Led. The kids will probably like the over exaggerated colors of an Led, plus it will use much less power, and you really won't have to worry about IR/Burn in much..
I cannot do the LED thing. I tried to many times and kept coming back to plasma's. Also, side angle viewing is important to me for this room as my couches are setup on the sides of the TV and not dead center. This TV is also viewed from my dining room table which is a room over from the TV.

I think if it wasn't for the terrible viewing angles I might be able to suck it up with a Vizio full array or something but that just really kills it besides all the other things I hate about the tech.

Also, I do not worry about IR or burn in with my VT60. It has been great so far and my worries with that are non existent and Samsung plasma are usually even better with IR. Haven't seen a H5000 in person yet but right now I think that would be my front runner if I were to sell my VT60.

Getting rid of my VT60 is a tough decision to make though. I keep going back and forth in my head!

Last edited by eric3316; 09-15-2014 at 08:43 AM.
eric3316 is offline  
post #14957 of 15854 Old 09-16-2014, 07:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 2,061
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Having the inside of the new house painted this week and will finally be able to mount my 60VT60 on the wall, anyone have a recommendation for a sturdy low profile mount? Also, what's the recommended mounting height if I sit back 13-14 ft. from the display with a viewing height of 42 inches?
mbroadus is online now  
post #14958 of 15854 Old 09-16-2014, 08:37 AM
Member
 
marcelo19lp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Vt 60 zt60

Hello, I reside in NorthEast Jersey, have been on all kinds of websites. I'm looking for a used 65 inch VT60 or ZT60. I have gone back to the stores, and for me 4K tv is not cutting it jejejeje. Anybody have a used good condition TV. I still love plasma over LED!
marcelo19lp is offline  
post #14959 of 15854 Old 09-16-2014, 08:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 2,061
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcelo19lp View Post
Hello, I reside in NorthEast Jersey, have been on all kinds of websites. I'm looking for a used 65 inch VT60 or ZT60. I have gone back to the stores, and for me 4K tv is not cutting it jejejeje. Anybody have a used good condition TV. I still love plasma over LED!
I would ask in the plasma classified section - plasma classifieds
mbroadus is online now  
post #14960 of 15854 Old 09-16-2014, 08:50 AM
Member
 
marcelo19lp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Unhappy I have HELP!

I did. Have like 70 views, not one reply ! ! !
marcelo19lp is offline  
post #14961 of 15854 Old 09-16-2014, 08:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 2,061
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcelo19lp View Post
I did. Have like 70 views, not one reply ! ! !
No one wants to get rid of theirs since they're no longer made...I would keep checking Amazon.
mbroadus is online now  
post #14962 of 15854 Old 09-16-2014, 05:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
eaayoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 77
On 9/14, eric3316 mentioned he was thinking about selling his VT. If I was looking, I would send him a PM.
eaayoung is offline  
post #14963 of 15854 Old 09-16-2014, 05:09 PM
Newbie
 
digidesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello guys, please help me to understand what I need to do to see PIP and record to HDD and see a channel at the same time. Right now I get the cable TV signal in and have a service providers card in one of the Common Interface slots.

Looking at one channel at a time is no problem, but as soon as I try to see two channels in PIP mode or want to record a TV program to HDD I will see Encrypted channel message either on one of the PIP screens, or while in recording on the screen. Recorded material plays back fine.

Service provider was unable to help :/
digidesigner is offline  
post #14964 of 15854 Old 09-16-2014, 09:00 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,871
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcelo19lp View Post
I did. Have like 70 views, not one reply ! ! !
Unless you're very lucky, it's going to take time to find what you want.
htwaits is offline  
post #14965 of 15854 Old 09-17-2014, 04:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Famouss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 48
My vt60 has minor DSE, well in my opinion at least. It's not visible on most typical panning shots, but you can make it out if you stare enough on all white panning scenes like the screen wiper for instance. Is my case of DSE average for the vt60 or do most of them have none at all? My Kuro definitely has more noticeable DSE when I compared the two.

Panasonic TC-P65VT60
Sony BDP-S5100
Elite PRO-101FD
Famouss is offline  
post #14966 of 15854 Old 09-17-2014, 05:18 AM
Newbie
 
Tennie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have some DSE too, but it's not really bad. All my plasma's had it in some degree (also my LG).

What i noticed about the 65VT60 so far(80 hours on it), is the redish halo on full white screens. I've read whole threads about it, and hope it cleans after the 200 hours mark. (i can make it disappear, if i fiddle with red gain, but then the image looks poop).

What I also noticed was that the blacks are mostly nice black, but when the room is totally dark, i can still see the panels illumination. What i see are very thin horizontal lines (a bout 1 or 2 millimeters apart from each other), going from the bottom to the top. I've tried searching anything about it, but it was never addressed, for as far as i could look. Is this interference like effect normal? Because it seems the screen is illuminating only from these lines (only noticeable in totally dark rooms).
(i've tried every setting and i have the TV properly grounded) My 55VT50 had this effect too.
Tennie is offline  
post #14967 of 15854 Old 09-17-2014, 05:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Iron Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tennie View Post
What i see are very thin horizontal lines (a bout 1 or 2 millimeters apart from each other), going from the bottom to the top. I've tried searching anything about it, but it was never addressed, for as far as i could look. Is this interference like effect normal?
the VT's have a "sweet spot" which is a certain brightness/contrast setting combination... within that "sweet spot" the panel performs best and you won't see the "interference" like effect within the shadows / black region...

so, set brightness accurately (using a dedicated brt pattern) and then set contrast accurately... note that after a certain value, the luminance output does NOT increase so there is no reason to further up the contrast value (and possibly distort the image)... set it to the last constrast value that increased luminance output...

- M

calibration & profiling solutions: Lightspace, Spaceman, Calman, Argyll, ColorNavigator, basICColor
profiling & calibration workflow tools: Display Calibration Tools
meter: CR-250, Klein K-10 A, i1Pro, i1D3
AVS thread: Lightspace & Custom Color Patch Set & Gamma Calibration on Panasonic 65VT60
Iron Mike is offline  
post #14968 of 15854 Old 09-17-2014, 05:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 371 Post(s)
Liked: 583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Mike View Post
the VT's have a "sweet spot" which is a certain brightness/contrast setting combination... within that "sweet spot" the panel performs best and you won't see the "interference" like effect within the shadows / black region...

so, set brightness accurately (using a dedicated brt pattern) and then set contrast accurately... note that after a certain value, the luminance output does NOT increase so there is no reason to further up the contrast value (and possibly distort the image)... set it to the last constrast value that increased luminance output...

- M
Mike,

In your experience is that in the low to mid 60's for contrast ?

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Harmony 650
Darbee DVP5000
Sony XT1 Soundbase
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
chunon is offline  
post #14969 of 15854 Old 09-17-2014, 05:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
Iron Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
Mike,

In your experience is that in the low to mid 60's for contrast ?
yes, IIRC low/mid 60s was the contrast range...

brt value depended on the Gamma setting...

- M

calibration & profiling solutions: Lightspace, Spaceman, Calman, Argyll, ColorNavigator, basICColor
profiling & calibration workflow tools: Display Calibration Tools
meter: CR-250, Klein K-10 A, i1Pro, i1D3
AVS thread: Lightspace & Custom Color Patch Set & Gamma Calibration on Panasonic 65VT60

Last edited by Iron Mike; 09-17-2014 at 02:45 PM.
Iron Mike is offline  
post #14970 of 15854 Old 09-17-2014, 06:05 AM
Newbie
 
Tennie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Mike View Post
yes, IIRC very high 50's to low/mid 60s was the brt range depending on the Gamma setting...

- M
Okay, thanks! I will try this later, because the room is too bright now, even with the blinds closed :P
Tennie is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P65vt60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic , Panasonic Tcp65 65 Inch Vt25 3d Plasma Tv , Panasonic Tc P60vt60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P55vt60 55 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off