Official Panasonic VT60/VT65 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 504 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15091 of 15106 Old Yesterday, 07:50 AM
Member
 
SpacedDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
I would check the screw lengths etc make sure they are the same.
Or do yourself a favor if you have the room for it an mount it on the wall.

I used tv's on a stand for years and mounted my first one about 6 years ago. I'd never go back to a TV stand again. I'd rather use that space for my video game consoles and a nice sized center speaker.

Not picking on you for wanting the stand just saying if you can spend the little bit and mount it. If you're not comfortable doing it just pay someone to do it. Well worth the money.
SpacedDuck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15092 of 15106 Old Yesterday, 08:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 501
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpacedDuck View Post
Or do yourself a favor if you have the room for it an mount it on the wall.

I used tv's on a stand for years and mounted my first one about 6 years ago. I'd never go back to a TV stand again. I'd rather use that space for my video game consoles and a nice sized center speaker.

Not picking on you for wanting the stand just saying if you can spend the little bit and mount it. If you're not comfortable doing it just pay someone to do it. Well worth the money.
Have to agree there mine is wall mounted and I definitely prefer that

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #15093 of 15106 Old Yesterday, 09:16 AM
Member
 
B T C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Lansing, MI via Kentucky, Georgia & Tennessee
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 24
The Disney WOW Pixel flipper will kick in the ABL. You can run it in Vivid mode, but the image will not stay "Vivid". If there is some way to over ride this, I would love to hear it. I have not tried custom settings etc.


I'm also not a fan of wall mounted televisions, so opinions clearly vary. Perhaps it has more to do with my house, and the houses I've visited with wall mounted TV's.
B T C is offline  
post #15094 of 15106 Old Yesterday, 09:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 501
Quote:
Originally Posted by B T C View Post
The Disney WOW Pixel flipper will kick in the ABL. You can run it in Vivid mode, but the image will not stay "Vivid". If there is some way to over ride this, I would love to hear it. I have not tried custom settings etc.


I'm also not a fan of wall mounted televisions, so opinions clearly vary. Perhaps it has more to do with my house, and the houses I've visited with wall mounted TV's.
That recommendation is more about the color temperature in vivid vs the abl limitation I believe. I do agree it depends on how the tv is mounted and what the room aesthetics are.

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #15095 of 15106 Old Yesterday, 11:37 AM
Member
 
SpacedDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
That recommendation is more about the color temperature in vivid vs the abl limitation I believe. I do agree it depends on how the tv is mounted and what the room aesthetics are.
Forgive my noob self but what does kick in the ABL mean? I'm confused.
SpacedDuck is offline  
post #15096 of 15106 Old Yesterday, 12:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 501
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpacedDuck View Post
Forgive my noob self but what does kick in the ABL mean? I'm confused.
ABL=Auto Brightness Limiter all plasmas have it to some degree, it protects the power supply from being over taxed. You have seen it on a full white screen when it dims. Vivid mode will cause ABL to activate to some extent when you run the pixel flipper.

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #15097 of 15106 Old Yesterday, 12:43 PM
Member
 
SpacedDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
ABL=Auto Brightness Limiter all plasmas have it to some degree, it protects the power supply from being over taxed. You have seen it on a full white screen when it dims. Vivid mode will cause ABL to activate to some extent when you run the pixel flipper.
So I'll want to turn this off when running this pixel flipper?

I'm not sure I've ever seen this setting.
SpacedDuck is offline  
post #15098 of 15106 Old Yesterday, 12:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 501
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpacedDuck View Post
So I'll want to turn this off when running this pixel flipper?

I'm not sure I've ever seen this setting.
That's because there is no setting, it is not configurable. Just run the pixel flipper as suggested

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #15099 of 15106 Old Yesterday, 01:00 PM
Member
 
SpacedDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
That's because there is no setting, it is not configurable. Just run the pixel flipper as suggested
Okay will do. It suggests running it for an hour. I'm assuming like you said before it's okay to run it for longer? I don't want to do any damage from running it all night or something.

You'd mentioned as long as its not overheating we're good so hopefully that's the case.
SpacedDuck is offline  
post #15100 of 15106 Old Yesterday, 01:18 PM
Member
 
B T C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Lansing, MI via Kentucky, Georgia & Tennessee
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Me run WOW Pixel Flipper long time.
B T C is offline  
post #15101 of 15106 Old Yesterday, 01:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 501
^^^^lol

You should be fine just make sure screen saver is disabled on blu ray player. Do a test run of a couple of hours if that works without incident your good
chunon is offline  
post #15102 of 15106 Old Yesterday, 01:48 PM
Member
 
SpacedDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
^^^^lol

You should be fine just make sure screen saver is disabled on blu ray player. Do a test run of a couple of hours if that works without incident your good
Sounds good, really hoping this method is a bit more intense at fixing IR than the tv's built in side scrolling thing.

Don't want to replace this TV as I love it. Firing up some of the movies on this WOW disc it really shows off the TV's power. Something HDTV doesn't do very much. It looked incredible.
SpacedDuck is offline  
post #15103 of 15106 Old Yesterday, 01:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 501
You may have to invest some time to make a dent in it .
chunon is offline  
post #15104 of 15106 Old Yesterday, 02:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
caloyzki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Philippines
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Hi. I know there is a built in cam. How to pop out the cam? Is it automatic to pop out if u 7se it or you can pop it out by pushing? And the camera wont pop out anymore if you press it down.

Ps. Its also a display model and when i checked it using tthe slides there is a lot of logos. Lol mostlt all over the screen. Is tha logos are the IR or burn in? Is there any way they will ve gone and back to no logos at all? And the hours i checked tv has 3150 hour's on it. And it comes only with tv. No stand no remote and everytging. Is it okay to buy it? How much u guys think will be tge cost? They offer me 1350 after taxes including 5yrs warranty. If something happned to the tv they will replace it. Need help here ty.

Last edited by caloyzki; Yesterday at 02:22 PM.
caloyzki is offline  
post #15105 of 15106 Old Yesterday, 02:41 PM
Member
 
B T C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Lansing, MI via Kentucky, Georgia & Tennessee
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by caloyzki View Post
Hi. I know there is a built in cam. How to pop out the cam? Is it automatic to pop out if u 7se it or you can pop it out by pushing? And the camera wont pop out anymore if you press it down.

Ps. Its also a display model and when i checked it using tthe slides there is a lot of logos. Lol mostlt all over the screen. Is tha logos are the IR or burn in? Is there any way they will ve gone and back to no logos at all? And the hours i checked tv has 3150 hour's on it. And it comes only with tv. No stand no remote and everytging. Is it okay to buy it? How much u guys think will be tge cost? They offer me 1350 after taxes including 5yrs warranty. If something happned to the tv they will replace it. Need help here ty.
Yeah, the logos, and other artifacts you are seeing, are Image Retention. There is really no way to know if it's permanent, in which case it would be considered Burn In. Given the number of hours on the set, I would say the likelihood that everything you are seeing will completely disappear with time is slim.

If their warranty covers burn in, you can always return the set if it does not go away. Otherwise, I'm not sure I would buy it. On the other hand, a lot of IR is rarely visible under normal viewing conditions. If I were still interested in the set, I would try to negotiate a lower price and see what happens.

I believe the camera pops up automatically when you activate the Skype application, but I have actually never tried it on my own VT60's.
B T C is offline  
post #15106 of 15106 Old Yesterday, 03:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
caloyzki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Philippines
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by B T C View Post
Yeah, the logos, and other artifacts you are seeing, are Image Retention. There is really no way to know if it's permanent, in which case it would be considered Burn In. Given the number of hours on the set, I would say the likelihood that everything you are seeing will completely disappear with time is slim.

If their warranty covers burn in, you can always return the set if it does not go away. Otherwise, I'm not sure I would buy it. On the other hand, a lot of IR is rarely visible under normal viewing conditions. If I were still interested in the set, I would try to negotiate a lower price and see what happens.

I believe the camera pops up automatically when you activate the Skype application, but I have actually never tried it on my own VT60's.
Thanks. I alrwady left the store wothout the tv. Very risky to spend 1350 with those kind of problems. And all risky to ke to go back and forth to the store to return i dont have a car. I troed to haggle but they said thats the price that they can give me. So decided not to pushed anymore. Maybe its really not for me.
caloyzki is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P65vt60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic , Panasonic Tcp65 65 Inch Vt25 3d Plasma Tv , Panasonic Tc P60vt60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P55vt60 55 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off