Official Panasonic VT60/VT65 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 514 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15391 of 15416 Old 10-26-2014, 05:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 1,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by sid34 View Post
Please tell me where to find these settings and how to activate them?

Do you have a remote or Panasonic app? Menu button, picture settings, motion smoother on the 2nd page.
mbroadus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15392 of 15416 Old 10-26-2014, 02:54 PM
Member
 
sid34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You mean that the option IFC / 24Smooth film need to put on the average value of the minimum?
sid34 is offline  
post #15393 of 15416 Old 10-26-2014, 03:21 PM
Member
 
B T C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Lansing, MI via Kentucky, Georgia & Tennessee
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by sid34 View Post
You mean that the option IFC / 24Smooth film need to put on the average value of the minimum?
I think what he is saying is go into Menu, Picture and there you will find a Motion Smoother option.

Menu, Picture, Motion Smoother. Menu, Picture, Motion Smoother. Menu, Picture, Motion Smoother. Menu, Picture, Motion Smoother. Menu, Picture, Motion Smoother. Menu, Picture, Motion Smoother.

Maybe that's just a North American option.
B T C is offline  
post #15394 of 15416 Old 10-26-2014, 03:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 1,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by sid34 View Post
You mean that the option IFC / 24Smooth film need to put on the average value of the minimum?

No idea what you're talking about? If you push the menu button on the tv remote, a menu will appear, select picture, then toggle down to the second page where the motion smoother is located.
mbroadus is offline  
post #15395 of 15416 Old 10-26-2014, 03:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 1,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by B T C View Post
I think what he is saying is go into Menu, Picture and there you will find a Motion Smoother option.



Menu, Picture, Motion Smoother. Menu, Picture, Motion Smoother. Menu, Picture, Motion Smoother. Menu, Picture, Motion Smoother. Menu, Picture, Motion Smoother. Menu, Picture, Motion Smoother.



Maybe that's just a North American option.

Yes, like you say, could be a North American option.
mbroadus is offline  
post #15396 of 15416 Old 10-26-2014, 07:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
caloyzki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 2,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I hate it while watching world series! Scores from lower left and logo upper right makes some IR. Ugh!

Btw what are the use of pixel orbiter?
caloyzki is offline  
post #15397 of 15416 Old 10-27-2014, 04:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,752
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by caloyzki View Post
I hate it while watching world series! Scores from lower left and logo upper right makes some IR. Ugh!

Btw what are the use of pixel orbiter?
Pixel Orbiter will keep slightly shifting the pixels. So you still will get IR but it will be less pronounced.

ss
sillysally is offline  
post #15398 of 15416 Old 10-27-2014, 06:12 PM
Newbie
 
Champ77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have the 55" and 65" VT60's. (Australian)

I am just wondering what Status 5 is.

As on my 55" it says 88088-10000 and on the 65" it says 00000-10000

Does anyone know?

Thanks.
Champ77 is offline  
post #15399 of 15416 Old 10-27-2014, 06:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
caloyzki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 2,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillysally View Post
Pixel Orbiter will keep slightly shifting the pixels. So you still will get IR but it will be less pronounced.

ss
Thanks. Which one everybody prefer? Orbiter pixel On or Auto?
caloyzki is offline  
post #15400 of 15416 Old 10-27-2014, 06:51 PM
Newbie
 
Champ77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by caloyzki View Post
Thanks. Which one everybody prefer? Orbiter pixel On or Auto?
I leave mine on.
Gov likes this.
Champ77 is offline  
post #15401 of 15416 Old 10-27-2014, 07:55 PM
Member
 
Dean333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by caloyzki View Post
lol. so how much would be the fair price?

I just paid $1,400.00 for a 60"VT60 with 116 hrs on the clock. Hope this helps.
Dean333 is offline  
post #15402 of 15416 Old 10-28-2014, 04:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,157
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 523 Post(s)
Liked: 825
Quote:
Originally Posted by caloyzki View Post
Thanks. Which one everybody prefer? Orbiter pixel On or Auto?
Definitely on for anything with a static images like cable TV. Not such a big deal for things like blu rays or Netflix but I leave mine on for everything.

It is unfortunate that if you want to use the THX modes they disable the option to turn it on. It is the reason I do not use that mode.
eric3316 is online now  
post #15403 of 15416 Old 10-28-2014, 02:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
5150zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Just a quick question for anyone regarding the 4:3 black bar setting. If I remember, it's under Advanced Settings > Screen Settings. I watch a lot of B & W film noirs in 4:3 and was wondering what the best setting is to avoid image retention? In the Help menu on the TV, I think Panasonic screwed up the definition. The settings available are Off, Low, Med, High. The literature Panasonic uses in the Help Menu states the best setting to avoid image retention is 'Brightness'. WTH does that mean?
Anyone with an explanation? It would be appreciated.
5150zx is offline  
post #15404 of 15416 Old 10-28-2014, 03:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
music_to_my_ear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dean333 View Post
I just paid $1,400.00 for a 60"VT60 with 116 hrs on the clock. Hope this helps.
I wouldn't say tthats a fair price. I would call that a really good price. Lucky you!
music_to_my_ear is offline  
post #15405 of 15416 Old 10-28-2014, 04:29 PM
Member
 
Dean333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by music_to_my_ear View Post
I wouldn't say tthats a fair price. I would call that a really good price. Lucky you!
Thank you, I am very happy with my decision to purchase this over a new LED. Now I just cant wait to calibrate it.
Dean333 is offline  
post #15406 of 15416 Old 10-29-2014, 01:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mo949's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5150zx View Post
Just a quick question for anyone regarding the 4:3 black bar setting. If I remember, it's under Advanced Settings > Screen Settings. I watch a lot of B & W film noirs in 4:3 and was wondering what the best setting is to avoid image retention? In the Help menu on the TV, I think Panasonic screwed up the definition. The settings available are Off, Low, Med, High. The literature Panasonic uses in the Help Menu states the best setting to avoid image retention is 'Brightness'. WTH does that mean?
Anyone with an explanation? It would be appreciated.

You are probably right. Those settings adjust the brightness of the black bar area. The ones that make it the lightest of grays (brightest) will avoid uneven aging. However, you'll likely find the light gray bars so annoying that you will never want to watch your 4:3 content because of them. Personally, on my VT50 I've recently said to hell with the risk, I'm watching with the bars black. I'll bet if your tv gets usage throughout the day by others then it won't be a problem.
mo949 is offline  
post #15407 of 15416 Old 10-29-2014, 03:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
5150zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by mo949 View Post
You are probably right. Those settings adjust the brightness of the black bar area. The ones that make it the lightest of grays (brightest) will avoid uneven aging. However, you'll likely find the light gray bars so annoying that you will never want to watch your 4:3 content because of them. Personally, on my VT50 I've recently said to hell with the risk, I'm watching with the bars black. I'll bet if your tv gets usage throughout the day by others then it won't be a problem.
That's the thing, it only gets watched by me, and sparingly at that. So, I may 'try' to watch some 4:3 content with the lightest of grays and see if I can tolerate it. If not, I'll do what you do and run my WOW disc pixel flipper, etc afterward. Thank you for the reply.
5150zx is offline  
post #15408 of 15416 Old 10-29-2014, 05:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 1,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5150zx View Post
That's the thing, it only gets watched by me, and sparingly at that. So, I may 'try' to watch some 4:3 content with the lightest of grays and see if I can tolerate it. If not, I'll do what you do and run my WOW disc pixel flipper, etc afterward. Thank you for the reply.

Why don't you zoom the picture so there's no side bars?
mbroadus is offline  
post #15409 of 15416 Old Yesterday, 06:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
I WANT MORE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 'Middle of Nowhere"
Posts: 1,818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post
Why don't you zoom the picture so there's no side bars?
OAR my friend. OAR.
dianebrat likes this.

Perhaps I misremembered.

I WANT MORE is offline  
post #15410 of 15416 Old Yesterday, 08:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 1,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by I WANT MORE View Post
OAR my friend. OAR.
what's OAR?
mbroadus is offline  
post #15411 of 15416 Old Yesterday, 08:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
I WANT MORE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 'Middle of Nowhere"
Posts: 1,818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 64
[QUOTE=mbroadus;28655113]what's OAR?[/QUOTE

original aspect ratio

Perhaps I misremembered.

I WANT MORE is offline  
post #15412 of 15416 Old Yesterday, 08:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
5150zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 52
[quote=I WANT MORE;28655241]
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post
what's OAR?[/QUOTE

original aspect ratio
Thank you for explaining so I didn't have to.

Black bars on the sides, or on the top are our friends. Long live OAR.
5150zx is offline  
post #15413 of 15416 Old Yesterday, 05:30 PM
Senior Member
 
RodChester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hey everyone. I wanted to post here because I noticed an issue with the image on my set last night and was hoping to get some input. I have a 65" VT60 that I have had for eleven months and last night while watching American Horror Story I noticed that during very dark scenes there was a 5" thick bar across the middle of the screen that was lighter than the rest of the image. Also some scenes showed this on the entire left third of the screen. During average to bright scenes the bar was gone and it only appeared sometimes on completely black screens.

So has anyone else seen this on their set and know what is happening? I have a Square Trade warranty so my set is covered but I'm pretty sure parts or a replacement aren't out there. Just looking for some feedback and any help. Thanks a bunch.
RodChester is online now  
post #15414 of 15416 Old Yesterday, 09:03 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,828
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 472
Quote:
Originally Posted by RodChester View Post
Hey everyone. I wanted to post here because I noticed an issue with the image on my set last night and was hoping to get some input. I have a 65" VT60 that I have had for eleven months and last night while watching American Horror Story I noticed that during very dark scenes there was a 5" thick bar across the middle of the screen that was lighter than the rest of the image. Also some scenes showed this on the entire left third of the screen. During average to bright scenes the bar was gone and it only appeared sometimes on completely black screens.

So has anyone else seen this on their set and know what is happening? I have a Square Trade warranty so my set is covered but I'm pretty sure parts or a replacement aren't out there. Just looking for some feedback and any help. Thanks a bunch.
Check to see if the same problem occurs in a good quality Blu-ray movie. If it does there is no reason to delay getting the set checked by a technician.

Good luck.
htwaits is online now  
post #15415 of 15416 Old Today, 04:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,157
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 523 Post(s)
Liked: 825
Quote:
Originally Posted by RodChester View Post
Hey everyone. I wanted to post here because I noticed an issue with the image on my set last night and was hoping to get some input. I have a 65" VT60 that I have had for eleven months and last night while watching American Horror Story I noticed that during very dark scenes there was a 5" thick bar across the middle of the screen that was lighter than the rest of the image. Also some scenes showed this on the entire left third of the screen. During average to bright scenes the bar was gone and it only appeared sometimes on completely black screens.

So has anyone else seen this on their set and know what is happening? I have a Square Trade warranty so my set is covered but I'm pretty sure parts or a replacement aren't out there. Just looking for some feedback and any help. Thanks a bunch.
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
Check to see if the same problem occurs in a good quality Blu-ray movie. If it does there is no reason to delay getting the set checked by a technician.

Good luck.
Most likely if it is a panel replacement they will not repair it and considering the F8500's are getting eaten up right now and will soon be gone, if you want another plasma and not have to go with an LED you might want to get that looked at ASAP in case you need to purchase something else.
eric3316 is online now  
post #15416 of 15416 Old Today, 06:59 PM
Senior Member
 
RodChester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Well, I watched a bit of Alien and the episode of American Horror Story again and I did not see the image problem. The only thing I can think of was that by the time I watched AHS live on Wednesday my set had been on for 12 hours. So that may have caused the issue. I plan on watching movies and live tv all day and night again on Sunday so I'll keep an eye out and see if I can see anything by the time evening rolls around.
RodChester is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P65vt60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic , Panasonic Tcp65 65 Inch Vt25 3d Plasma Tv , Panasonic Tc P60vt60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P55vt60 55 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off