Official Panasonic VT60/VT65 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 522 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Display Devices > Plasma Flat Panel Displays > Official Panasonic VT60/VT65 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk]

Plasma Flat Panel Displays

sterlingjewel
07:01 PM Liked: 56
post #15631 of 15656
12-12-2014 | Posts: 228
Joined: Oct 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by ace54 View Post
please save yourself a lot of headache and buy a LED/LCD T.V we don't want anymore complaints about people having IR because of video games
It's pretty moot anyway since plasma is in its twilight...
ace54's Avatar ace54
08:45 AM Liked: 12
post #15632 of 15656
12-13-2014 | Posts: 88
Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Codeman00 View Post
I'm not sure you have the option to buy a VT60...they don't make them anymore. A F8500 would be your only option. If I was a hardcore gamer, I'd buy LED I think so I wouldn't have to worry about burn in.


VT60 are still available for sale here in Ontario, Canada brand new $2999.99 for 60" 65" for $3799.99$4499.99 for 65" ZT all other stores put them on clearance price a while ago but this stingy stores (audio video 2001)is holding on to them trying to sell them for max profit
alettiere's Avatar alettiere
02:36 PM Liked: 10
post #15633 of 15656
12-13-2014 | Posts: 251
Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ace54 View Post
so smaller TVs have better PQ then bigger TVs interesting good to know
I don't know if I fully agree with that statement. I think it's a matter of how the size of the TV exposes flaws that would otherwise not be as noticeable on a smaller set. Sometimes bigger doesn't necessarily always mean better - especially when it comes to watching poorly sourced cable, standard definition DVDs, or streaming (cringe).

As for differences between the sizes of the VT:

I own both a 55 and 65. When I measure them with my i1 Display Pro, the 55 requires a little more oomph in the contrast to get to my desired 33ftL (62 contrast on the 55VT and 58 contrast on the 65VT). The only other difference I get that currently drives me insane is that my 65 reads a black-level of .0015ish while my 55VT reads a black-level of .002 (maybe .0019 on a good day). This difference is not noticeable to my eyes in terms of picture quality, but has always baffled me when I take measurements, as a .002 is more f8500 territory.

My 55 had to have a service call because there was a speck of dust behind the screen that they were successfully able to remove. I hope that didn't have a detrimental effect on my black-level.

Any thoughts?
alettiere's Avatar alettiere
02:45 PM Liked: 10
post #15634 of 15656
12-13-2014 | Posts: 251
Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ace54 View Post
VT60 are still available for sale here in Ontario, Canada brand new $2999.99 for 60" 65" for $3799.99$4499.99 for 65" ZT all other stores put them on clearance price a while ago but this stingy stores .(audio video 2001)is holding on to them trying to sell them for max profit
There's a local retailer here in Phoenix called Walt's TV and they hoarded a bunch of 60 and 65 inch VTs that they tried to sell from anywhere between 4K and 6K depending on the marketplace prices at that time. In my opinion, when a so-called "retailer" does this, it makes them come off less like a legitimate business and more like a second-rate peddler/scalper.

I'm starting to see the same thing happen with the f8500 sadly if you follow the prices on Amazon.

Interestingly enough, I don't recall that happening with the Kuro. Probably because they were so high priced to begin with, that it didn't matter. Plus, people didn't realize at the time that it would remain the standard for so many years to come.
eaayoung's Avatar eaayoung
05:06 PM Liked: 66
post #15635 of 15656
12-13-2014 | Posts: 515
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by alettiere View Post
Interestingly enough, I don't recall that happening with the Kuro. Probably because they were so high priced to begin with, that it didn't matter. Plus, people didn't realize at the time that it would remain the standard for so many years to come.
Plus, plasma TVs were still available from other manufacturers. Not like the current state. Get one while you can. Going the way of the dinosaur.
ianbast
08:37 AM Liked: 0
post #15636 of 15656
12-14-2014 | Posts: 15
Joined: Dec 2014
Hello,

I'm debating on whether to buy the vt60 or st60 and would like to know what brightness level you guys are using. My viewing will be in a dark room and I'm just wondering if owners of both sets use the same brightness level in the dark.
eric3316's Avatar eric3316
08:51 AM Liked: 889
post #15637 of 15656
12-14-2014 | Posts: 3,414
Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by ianbast View Post
Hello,

I'm debating on whether to buy the vt60 or st60 and would like to know what brightness level you guys are using. My viewing will be in a dark room and I'm just wondering if owners of both sets use the same brightness level in the dark.
In a dark room the brightness level of each panel will not matter as they would usually be calibrated to around 35ftl in that situation which both panels are fully capable of.
ianbast
12:53 PM Liked: 0
post #15638 of 15656
12-14-2014 | Posts: 15
Joined: Dec 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post
In a dark room the brightness level of each panel will not matter as they would usually be calibrated to around 35ftl in that situation which both panels are fully capable of.
Ok I see. Is 35ftl brightness the standard or something?
alettiere's Avatar alettiere
03:30 PM Liked: 10
post #15639 of 15656
12-14-2014 | Posts: 251
Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ianbast View Post
Ok I see. Is 35ftl brightness the standard or something?
It's what THX recommends for dim-room viewing, so it's often what people shoot for as a baseline. At least people who have colorimeters. Dark-room calibrations are often a little lower than that, but not by much. I prefer 32ish for dark room viewing. 35ftL has a little too much eye strain for me when it's night time. Others see it as too dim.

Both sets can achieve a brightness that's acceptable for dim rooms. The ST60 can achieve a pretty good brightness by keeping the panel luminance set to LOW, while the VT60 requires a panel luminance setting of MID.
chunon's Avatar chunon
03:46 PM Liked: 552
post #15640 of 15656
12-14-2014 | Posts: 5,319
Joined: Dec 2007
Disadvantage of panel brightness low is it degrades blacks almost doubling mll.
DavidHir's Avatar DavidHir
07:24 AM Liked: 466
post #15641 of 15656
12-15-2014 | Posts: 10,552
Joined: Dec 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by alettiere View Post
It's what THX recommends for dim-room viewing, so it's often what people shoot for as a baseline. At least people who have colorimeters. Dark-room calibrations are often a little lower than that, but not by much. I prefer 32ish for dark room viewing. 35ftL has a little too much eye strain for me when it's night time. Others see it as too dim.

Both sets can achieve a brightness that's acceptable for dim rooms. The ST60 can achieve a pretty good brightness by keeping the panel luminance set to LOW, while the VT60 requires a panel luminance setting of MID.
I've always preferred 32ftL for dark room viewing, as well.
DavidHir's Avatar DavidHir
07:30 AM Liked: 466
post #15642 of 15656
12-15-2014 | Posts: 10,552
Joined: Dec 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by alettiere View Post
I don't know if I fully agree with that statement. I think it's a matter of how the size of the TV exposes flaws that would otherwise not be as noticeable on a smaller set. Sometimes bigger doesn't necessarily always mean better - especially when it comes to watching poorly sourced cable, standard definition DVDs, or streaming (cringe).

As for differences between the sizes of the VT:

I own both a 55 and 65. When I measure them with my i1 Display Pro, the 55 requires a little more oomph in the contrast to get to my desired 33ftL (62 contrast on the 55VT and 58 contrast on the 65VT). The only other difference I get that currently drives me insane is that my 65 reads a black-level of .0015ish while my 55VT reads a black-level of .002 (maybe .0019 on a good day). This difference is not noticeable to my eyes in terms of picture quality, but has always baffled me when I take measurements, as a .002 is more f8500 territory.

My 55 had to have a service call because there was a speck of dust behind the screen that they were successfully able to remove. I hope that didn't have a detrimental effect on my black-level.

Any thoughts?
I know for years the Panasonic plasma larger panels were always getting better MLLs than the smaller panels. I cannot remember the reason for it though.
DonRSD's Avatar DonRSD
06:22 AM Liked: 11
post #15643 of 15656
Yesterday | Posts: 34
Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Codeman00 View Post
I personally liked the CNET settings the best after trying all that were available.
Love the CNET settings.
Found DNice daytime to be very dull/dim.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rubez View Post
Hi, I have this TV.

Can anyone give me rough settings for the contrast/brightness etc.

I have it at 73 contrast and 0 brightness. Had it for a year.

It is fine for TV, but with the PS4 I typically need to boost the gamma settings in-game, since it is too dark. Though there is one game that doesn't have this option and is annoyingly dark.

No need to get complicated "everyone is different, depends on environment etc". What do you have yours at?

Cheers.

PS doesnt look like I can have independent setting on TV and HDMI which is a shame, is this true?
CNET settings is what I use.
Only thing I do different is use GAME MODE on my HDMI 1 input for my Xbox One & Wii U.

DonRSD's Avatar DonRSD
06:23 AM Liked: 11
post #15644 of 15656
Yesterday | Posts: 34
Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonRSD View Post
Watching TV yesterday and my June 2013 65" VT60 went out. Now 8 blinking red lights.

Oh Lord. Still under my Panasonic warranty until January, then external warranty.

Any advice / suggestions?
65VT60 / VT60
12/16/2014 UPDATE:

Called Panasonic and they guided me to a local TV repair shop. Of course this was all covered under my 1 year manufacture warranty.
Call to Panasonic took bout 30-35 minutes. Bunch of dumb troubleshooting. Had to cut the rep off and let them know the TV doesn't work and lets get the show on the road. 8 blinking lights.
Panasonic provided the contact info for a local repair shop and a ticket number.

Immediately called the local repair shop after getting off the phone with Panasonic and provided my ticket info. Thank God I did. The local repair shop said that Panasonic told them, via email, that I had "10 blinks", not 8 blinks.
Shop ordered the correct part the same day. Had to call Panasonic and verify the issue. Took about a week to get down here to South Florida.

Local TV shop came by and installed the new board within about 25 minutes. My board, when looking at the back of the TV, with the panel off, was on the right side. Very seamless and easy. If another board ever goes out, the blinking lights tell which it is / what the problem is.
Spoke with the repair guy the entire time. Hardest part was taking out the 25+ screws that hold the back of the panel to the TV lol.

TV worked instantly when the panel was attached and TV plugged into the wall.

Not a problem since. Color / picture look the exact same.

Hopefully someone finds this info useful or comes from Google search and knows this is an easy fix

ace54's Avatar ace54
08:19 PM Liked: 12
post #15645 of 15656
Yesterday | Posts: 88
Joined: Jan 2013
which is brighter the VT60 or the ST60????


Thanks
mbroadus's Avatar mbroadus
08:26 PM Liked: 59
post #15646 of 15656
Yesterday | Posts: 1,744
Joined: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ace54 View Post
which is brighter the VT60 or the ST60????


Thanks

Was answered several pages back, the VT.
chunon's Avatar chunon
05:49 AM Liked: 552
post #15647 of 15656
Today | Posts: 5,319
Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post
Was answered several pages back, the VT.
Actually it is the other way around, the ST can get brighter but it is not a significant difference in my experience.
PolishDude's Avatar PolishDude
07:52 AM Liked: 16
post #15648 of 15656
Today | Posts: 282
Joined: Nov 2013
Hey so I finally decided to hook up my VT60 to my Denon X4000, I have it connected through the HDMI as all my stuff goes through my receiver but also have an optical connected from the VT60 to the Denon so that the Netflix and other apps from the TV play on the receiver as I hear ARC can sometimes not work properly. Is there any option that I need to turn on because right now I am getting no sound on the receiver from the TV? I just bought the Denon so I am not sure if the issue is with the TV or with the Denon. All I did was plug an optical from the TV to the Denon, did not play with any settings.
PolishDude's Avatar PolishDude
09:12 AM Liked: 16
post #15649 of 15656
Today | Posts: 282
Joined: Nov 2013
Or should I just try to figure out ARC, will that be my best option?
mbroadus's Avatar mbroadus
09:16 AM Liked: 59
post #15650 of 15656
Today | Posts: 1,744
Joined: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by PolishDude View Post
Or should I just try to figure out ARC, will that be my best option?
Use ARC...very easy to use and I've never had a problem.
PolishDude's Avatar PolishDude
09:25 AM Liked: 16
post #15651 of 15656
Today | Posts: 282
Joined: Nov 2013
Maybe I will try that, which HDMI connection is the ARC on the TV? Mine is wall mounted and I can see the connections from the side but not the labels lol
chunon's Avatar chunon
10:25 AM Liked: 552
post #15652 of 15656
Today | Posts: 5,319
Joined: Dec 2007
Under apps viera link set to home theater output . I don't use arc works great
mbroadus's Avatar mbroadus
07:00 PM Liked: 59
post #15653 of 15656
Today | Posts: 1,744
Joined: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by PolishDude View Post
Maybe I will try that, which HDMI connection is the ARC on the TV? Mine is wall mounted and I can see the connections from the side but not the labels lol

ARC is HDMI 2
PolishDude's Avatar PolishDude
07:16 PM Liked: 16
post #15654 of 15656
Today | Posts: 282
Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
Under apps viera link set to home theater output . I don't use arc works great
My viera link menu only shows is viera link control "player" as an option? what am I doing wrong, the hdmi is connected to hdmi 2 and to my x4000, i also tried connecting an optical out and switching the hdmi input and both give me the same one option?

speaker output isnt an option
mbroadus's Avatar mbroadus
08:31 PM Liked: 59
post #15655 of 15656
Today | Posts: 1,744
Joined: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by PolishDude View Post
My viera link menu only shows is viera link control "player" as an option? what am I doing wrong, the hdmi is connected to hdmi 2 and to my x4000, i also tried connecting an optical out and switching the hdmi input and both give me the same one option?

speaker output isnt an option

You have to turn Viera link on: Menu > Set Up > Viera Link Settings > On
PolishDude's Avatar PolishDude
08:48 PM Liked: 16
post #15656 of 15656
Today | Posts: 282
Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post
You have to turn Viera link on: Menu > Set Up > Viera Link Settings > On
It is on, when it is off, it shows as the feature being unavailable. I can actually open up the Viera Link app but inside it there are only two options, Viera Link Control (which only has player as an option) and Back to TV. Very frustrating lol
Tags: Panasonic Tc P65vt60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic , Panasonic Tcp65 65 Inch Vt25 3d Plasma Tv , Panasonic Tc P60vt60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P55vt60 55 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv

Gear in this thread
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3