Official Panasonic VT60/VT65 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 556 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 238Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #16651 of 16698 Old 08-02-2016, 02:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Superman23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Pinckney, Michigan
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Esteban Medaglia View Post
How is everybody's streaming features working overall after the latest update?

80% of my movie watching is via Blu-ray and DVD. For streaming, I only use the TV's built-in apps via wif-fi on my 65VT60. During the last few days, I have noticed that Nextflix seems to stream flawlessly and loads a little quicker, too. I get full 1080 quality with no issues at all using my home's wi-fi (20 mb/s U-Verse), whereas Amazon seems to have gotten consistently worse. Lots of signal drops, slow to load, highly compressed image, etc. Netflix looks sharp and crisp, with great contrast. Amazon tends to look overly compressed, with macro-blocking and sometimes even a "washed-out" look... Again, this is using the built-in apps. Anybody else experiencing this?

May have to buy a Roku or similar device, since it seems the built-in apps are simply not keeping up...
Yeah Net Flix & Amazon will run better through a bluray player or roku anyways.

Panasonic Viera TC-P65ZT60 (Calibrated by Chad B)
Panasonic Viera TC-P65VT30
PlayStation 4 - PlayStation 3 - Nintendo WiiU
Superman23 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16652 of 16698 Old 08-04-2016, 06:36 PM
Senior Member
 
RNaval's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Melville, NY, USA
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just picked up a 55VT60, is there an official VT60 owner's thread with suggested calibration settings?
RNaval is offline  
post #16653 of 16698 Old 08-05-2016, 05:33 AM
Member
 
Steve Kuester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by RNaval View Post
Just picked up a 55VT60, is there an official VT60 owner's thread with suggested calibration settings?


I picked up a VT60 about 6 months ago. I decided to have it professionally calibrated by Chad B. First time in my life I paid for a calibration. Highly recommended.


I used to use calibration discs, blue filters, etc. It is laughable when I revert back to look at my old settings vs a professional calibration.


Just something to think about, anyway.
Chad B, whipit and Superman23 like this.

I turn the sharpness on my TV all the way up, because that's how I like my picture... real sharp.
Steve Kuester is offline  
post #16654 of 16698 Old 08-06-2016, 04:04 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Stevetd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Western, NC
Posts: 787
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by RNaval View Post
Just picked up a 55VT60, is there an official VT60 owner's thread with suggested calibration settings?
Here.

Steve
Stevetd is offline  
post #16655 of 16698 Old 08-06-2016, 09:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 2,812
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1630 Post(s)
Liked: 1339
The blue filter is a disaster as far as achieving anything close to accuracy and should never be used. Default settings are in all likelihood more accurate on most TVs.
mo949 likes this.
video_analysis is online now  
post #16656 of 16698 Old 08-09-2016, 09:16 PM
Member
 
Edward Schatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My VT60 60" has burn in at 120 hours. Fighting with Panasonic to get the panel replaced. They can't even tell me if panels are available. Ugh.
Edward Schatz is offline  
post #16657 of 16698 Old 08-10-2016, 01:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 2,812
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1630 Post(s)
Liked: 1339
They aren't, haven't been for years.
video_analysis is online now  
post #16658 of 16698 Old 08-10-2016, 08:37 AM
Senior Member
 
B T C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Lansing, MI via Kentucky, Georgia & Tennessee
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Schatz View Post
My VT60 60" has burn in at 120 hours. Fighting with Panasonic to get the panel replaced. They can't even tell me if panels are available. Ugh.
At 120 hours, there may be hope that it's simply persistent image retention and may disappear with appropriate viewing habits. IR on the 60 series plasmas is very common, unfortunately.
B T C is offline  
post #16659 of 16698 Old 08-10-2016, 10:11 AM
Member
 
Steve Kuester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by B T C View Post
At 120 hours, there may be hope that it's simply persistent image retention and may disappear with appropriate viewing habits. IR on the 60 series plasmas is very common, unfortunately.

This is interesting to hear. I have had a VT60 for about 6 months now, and I feel the IR on this set is just so minimal compared to the V10 plasma it replaced.

I turn the sharpness on my TV all the way up, because that's how I like my picture... real sharp.
Steve Kuester is offline  
post #16660 of 16698 Old 08-10-2016, 10:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pdawg17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cali
Posts: 1,824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I plan on calibrating my VT60 myself so I installed the Panasonic app on my phone to make the adjustments... Does it only work on the "custom" setting? I can't figure out how to choose others...

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
pdawg17 is offline  
post #16661 of 16698 Old 08-10-2016, 08:34 PM
Member
 
busbeepbeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Did anyone else have the VT60 forced into a firmware update recently? My Viera Link won't work since doing it. It was working fine before. Now I get the dreaded 'please check settings and connections on hdmi devices' message
busbeepbeep is offline  
post #16662 of 16698 Old 08-10-2016, 08:40 PM
Member
 
cockatiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdawg17 View Post
I plan on calibrating my VT60 myself so I installed the Panasonic app on my phone to make the adjustments... Does it only work on the "custom" setting? I can't figure out how to choose others...

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
From what I remember, I used it to calibrate Custom, then copied the results to the isf modes in the appropriate menu on the tv itself. After readjusting constrast only, it looked the same to me (you can easily check by switching from one mode to the other).

The best option remains buying a copy of ControlCal, if that's still available.
cockatiel is online now  
post #16663 of 16698 Old 08-16-2016, 05:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BigCoolJesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,854
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 561 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Weird issue:

I just re-calibrated my VT60 two days ago (had already done a full calibration months ago on Professional 1) and after unplugging the TV today to rearrange some wiring, my completely new Professional 2 calibration was wiped (Pro 2 was on default settings) and my Pro 1 re-calibrated settings had reverted to the settings from my calibration a few months ago.

Any ideas why?
BigCoolJesus is online now  
post #16664 of 16698 Old 08-16-2016, 05:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCoolJesus View Post
Weird issue:

I just re-calibrated my VT60 two days ago (had already done a full calibration months ago on Professional 1) and after unplugging the TV today to rearrange some wiring, my completely new Professional 2 calibration was wiped (Pro 2 was on default settings) and my Pro 1 re-calibrated settings had reverted to the settings from my calibration a few months ago.

Any ideas why?
Maybe you changed to other input?

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
parekoy is online now  
post #16665 of 16698 Old 08-16-2016, 06:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BigCoolJesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,854
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 561 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by parekoy View Post
Maybe you changed to other input?

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
I figured it out. Feel pretty dumb now.

I had run a second HDMI input to my TV to have Day and Night settings. During the rewiring I got all crossed and realized I didn't properly apply the correct picture mode settings across inputs. All good now.
BigCoolJesus is online now  
post #16666 of 16698 Old 08-17-2016, 08:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pdawg17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cali
Posts: 1,824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Plan on using HCFR to calibrate my VT60 for the first time with my i1display pro...any advice on setting up HCFR for this TV (settings in preferences etc)?
pdawg17 is offline  
post #16667 of 16698 Old 08-19-2016, 06:45 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Today I was told I would need to replace my VT60. It's a dark day.
It has burn in and loud wobbly fan noise which I dealt with for awhile and now an issue where horizontal lines or boxes will streak outside of their image across the rest of the TV.

I use to install and calibrate AV systems and did some home automation so I like to think that I can appreciate a good picture. I've been out of that game for almost 5 years and no longer have access to calibration software. However those capabilities/metrics are important to me in a new TV.
I've not been given any comparable models yet and do not know anything about what is available now. I need help choosing the best TV for the replacement. Here are the details:

My VT60 is mounted on a wall between two martin logans that has an available width of 62" for the new TV before I have to rerun the wires and patch holes to move them up to a max of 82" apart.
I sit about 13 feet away in a recliner that looks up about 5 degree angle (maybe less). Behind me to the southeast are 5 windows but I mostly only watch it at night.
I mostly watch TV or Movies on my Kodi Media center or youtube/netflix. I have charter cable that I think I will cancel (again) and sometimes play xbox 360 or PC games (much less than I used to). I don't have or own a Blu ray player and probably never will.
I have a pioneer elite VSX-51 that everything feeds through and an MX1200 to control it.
I like the Panasonic discretes I was able to use on the remote.
only about 75% of the content I watch is 1080. My media center uses a nvidia GTX 560 TI.
The rest of the family mostly watches netflix from a chrome browser or cartoons and they often forget to turn it off.
I've used Skype on the TV a handful of times but otherwise do not care about any apps or features besides picture quality.
I don't care about 3D.
I don't care much about phone apps and would rarely use any form of mobile device mirroring.
I don't care much about 4k.
I don't care for light sensors, deep color xvycc or anything that would cause an inaccurate unpure picture than it already is.

I do care about:
SD to HD scaling nicely
color temp accuracy across all IRE levels.
0 under over scan issues
decent gamma adjustments for a nice day and night mode
decent black level settings without glowing, snow/noise, halo's, while being able to see dark scene detail.
proper frame rate while moving
motion jitter or blur being as clean as it can but without fancy settings that make other things worse.
things that I don't know or understand that would make the TV "better" that are out now.

I'm on a budget an won't be able to purchase more TV than the warranty exchange allows.
I really hope they don't throw a box at me worth $500 bucks and say "this one is 1080p; it will do!"

What TV would you Recommend
dantheavman is offline  
post #16668 of 16698 Old 08-19-2016, 07:15 AM
Senior Member
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boston'ish
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by dantheavman View Post
What TV would you Recommend
LG OLED, last years (now selling out) or this years.. best decision I ever made since I never saw an LCD that could replace the VT60
dianebrat is offline  
post #16669 of 16698 Old 08-19-2016, 07:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Superman23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Pinckney, Michigan
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Yep LG OLED for sure! It's the only superior replacement for plasma. You're not gonna be happy with and LCD/LED so don't even consider it.

Panasonic Viera TC-P65ZT60 (Calibrated by Chad B)
Panasonic Viera TC-P65VT30
PlayStation 4 - PlayStation 3 - Nintendo WiiU
Superman23 is offline  
post #16670 of 16698 Old 08-19-2016, 07:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 6,924
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1381 Post(s)
Liked: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by B T C View Post
At 120 hours, there may be hope that it's simply persistent image retention and may disappear with appropriate viewing habits. IR on the 60 series plasmas is very common, unfortunately.
The IR on my 60ST50 is worse than the IR on my 65VT60. In fact, I don't think I have ever seen IR on my VT60.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #16671 of 16698 Old 08-19-2016, 09:09 AM
Senior Member
 
B T C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Lansing, MI via Kentucky, Georgia & Tennessee
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Kuester View Post
This is interesting to hear. I have had a VT60 for about 6 months now, and I feel the IR on this set is just so minimal compared to the V10 plasma it replaced.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post
The IR on my 60ST50 is worse than the IR on my 65VT60. In fact, I don't think I have ever seen IR on my VT60.
That is interesting. My perception, which is meaningless I suppose, and is based upon the experience I've had with both of my VT60s, things I've read etc., is that you guys are very lucky and probably in the minority.

IR on both my 55" & 65", which were manufactured in July 2013 and October 2013 respectively, sets in within minutes of any kind of bright, opaque, static logo being displayed. It's manageable if you stay on top of it, but it becomes very frustrating, particularly during sporting events where static logos seem to be very prevalent.

I've heard the IR issue is worse on ZT60s, but I actually have trouble believing it could be any worse than what I have experienced.
B T C is offline  
post #16672 of 16698 Old 08-19-2016, 09:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 6,924
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1381 Post(s)
Liked: 427
We even play video games on both sets. On the ST50, for example, when we play Golf Club on PS4, the golfer's pants will cause IR in just a few minutes. This occurs whether I set the player's pants to black or white, or a color, which I thing is weird. I thought that changing it to black would stop the problem. But on the VT60, I only see IR when I first turn it on, the Viera logo will stay visible for a minute or so until the panel warms up, then no more IR.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #16673 of 16698 Old 08-19-2016, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bimmerfreak0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post
We even play video games on both sets. On the ST50, for example, when we play Golf Club on PS4, the golfer's pants will cause IR in just a few minutes. This occurs whether I set the player's pants to black or white, or a color, which I thing is weird. I thought that changing it to black would stop the problem. But on the VT60, I only see IR when I first turn it on, the Viera logo will stay visible for a minute or so until the panel warms up, then no more IR.
Man my ST60 never does that. This comes from a true gamer, with LOTS of static images (Forza 6 tachometer for ex, gun gauge on Battlefield). Luck of the draw?
bimmerfreak0 is offline  
post #16674 of 16698 Old 08-19-2016, 09:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 6,924
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1381 Post(s)
Liked: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by bimmerfreak0 View Post
Man my ST60 never does that. This comes from a true gamer, with LOTS of static images (Forza 6 tachometer for ex, gun gauge on Battlefield). Luck of the draw?
It seems to only have started doing it recently. It could be something different from the ST50 vs. ST60.

I'm surprised to hear you game on the ST60. I was told the lag on them is really bad.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #16675 of 16698 Old 08-19-2016, 09:20 AM
Senior Member
 
B T C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Lansing, MI via Kentucky, Georgia & Tennessee
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Just out of curiosity, have you guys run color slides to confirm you aren't getting any IR? Most of the time it's not clearly visible when viewing normal content unless a bright image is being displayed. The only negative with my sets is their susceptibility to IR. As far as picture quality goes, I think they are great.
B T C is offline  
post #16676 of 16698 Old 08-19-2016, 09:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Superman23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Pinckney, Michigan
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by B T C View Post
Just out of curiosity, have you guys run color slides to confirm you aren't getting any IR? Most of the time it's not clearly visible when viewing normal content unless a bright image is being displayed. The only negative with my sets is their susceptibility to IR. As far as picture quality goes, I think they are great.
That's a good point! How do you go about running color slides? That's one thing that I haven't done yet. I agree............I love my VT30 and my ZT60 as they picture quality is amazing.

Panasonic Viera TC-P65ZT60 (Calibrated by Chad B)
Panasonic Viera TC-P65VT30
PlayStation 4 - PlayStation 3 - Nintendo WiiU
Superman23 is offline  
post #16677 of 16698 Old 08-19-2016, 09:39 AM
Senior Member
 
B T C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Lansing, MI via Kentucky, Georgia & Tennessee
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman23 View Post
That's a good point! How do you go about running color slides? That's one thing that I haven't done yet. I agree............I love my VT30 and my ZT60 as they picture quality is amazing.
I'm not sure where I found my slides, but perhaps on this site. There may be threads in this forum regarding plasma "break in" that contain slides that have been uploaded by users.

I suspect if you google 16x9 color slides, or plasma break in slides, you'll find some.

Wherever I found them, I downloaded them to my computer, copied them to a USB stick, plugged it into my televisions and accessed/displayed the slides via one of the apps.
B T C is offline  
post #16678 of 16698 Old 08-19-2016, 09:56 AM
Member
 
gossamer88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 38
The word on the street was that 3D plasma panels were most susceptible to IR. My previous (non-3D) plasma from 2007 never had IR the six years I owned it.

My VT60 did. And aren't OLED's susceptible as well?

Panasonic TC-P60VT60 Plasma • Oppo BDP-103 Blu-ray Player • Apple TV 4 • Yamaha RX‑A1050 AVR • Paradigm Cinema 110 Speaker System
gossamer88 is offline  
post #16679 of 16698 Old 08-19-2016, 09:58 AM
Senior Member
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boston'ish
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by gossamer88 View Post
The word on the street was that 3D plasma panels were most susceptible to IR. My previous (non-3D) plasma from 2007 never had IR the six years I owned it.

My VT60 did. And aren't OLED's susceptible as well?
In theory they're at risk, but so far the only reported instances are from pretty serious burn-in type behavior, none of the IR generating issues that caused it in the plasma world have done it in an OLED.
dianebrat is offline  
post #16680 of 16698 Old 08-19-2016, 10:15 AM
Senior Member
 
B T C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Lansing, MI via Kentucky, Georgia & Tennessee
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 75
I have a 2010 Panasonic S2 series plasma. I never took any precautions with that thing because I just assumed that burn-in/IR was a thing of the past. I don't believe it has any IR, or burn-in, but I haven't run slides to check. I've only checked via the built in screen wipe, which is not as easy to use for that purpose as a solid color screen.
B T C is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P65vt60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic , Panasonic Tcp65 65 Inch Vt25 3d Plasma Tv , Panasonic Tc P60vt60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P55vt60 55 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off