Official Panasonic VT60/VT65 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 564 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 263Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #16891 of 16959 Old 06-11-2017, 04:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
tpaxadpom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I've fired Skype on my moms vt60 and got message that Skype will be ended June 30th. What gives... Last year sammy disabled Skype on their TVs equipped with camera and now pany....

Anyone knows the name of the app where you can jog and show google street map view? It was mentione by the store in HDTV shootout 2013 I believe. I wasn't able to find it.
tpaxadpom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16892 of 16959 Old 06-16-2017, 07:19 PM
Member
 
Vegeta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ll Viper ll View Post
That's not bad. You didn't do terribly or anything. My vt60 was $200 less but has double the hours and probably was used a little less gently (family with little children).


I don't regret it or anything but have started to wonder how quickly Pannies dim in general. Having owned 2 Pioneers, I know they take a LOT more time to dim considerably than the ~7000 hours on my VT60 so it may just come down to panel variance.


It was noticeably dimmer than the 60gt50 I picked up and subsequently sold that had close to 4k hours. I'd always heard conflicting reports on the brightness of the 2012s vs 2013s but figured the truth was that the VT60 was only marginally, if any, brighter than its predecessor and the st and gt lines were brighter because of the less aggressive filter. It's going over a mantle in the new apartment and vertical viewing angle dims it further so I'm not unsure it was the best choice (as much as I personally love the PQ in a dim/dark room...guests may think it looks dim)


My 65ST50 is significantly more brighter than the 55VT65 I had. My ST50 is as bright as my Pioneer LX5090 in normal picture mode. I've also seen a 65VT50 which also looked a fair bit dimmer than my ST50. The ST50's were quite bright!
Vegeta is offline  
post #16893 of 16959 Old 06-18-2017, 08:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sgooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Space Coast, FL
Posts: 1,079
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by tpaxadpom View Post
I've fired Skype on my moms vt60 and got message that Skype will be ended June 30th. What gives... Last year sammy disabled Skype on their TVs equipped with camera and now pany....
Does anyone know if the Panny's popup camera can be used for video conferencing with anything other than Skype? Would be nice to be able to use the popup camera thru my HTPC with Google Hangouts.

Please enter password to view this signature.
Sgooter is offline  
 
post #16894 of 16959 Old 06-21-2017, 08:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
tpaxadpom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgooter View Post
Does anyone know if the Panny's popup camera can be used for video conferencing with anything other than Skype? Would be nice to be able to use the popup camera thru my HTPC with Google Hangouts.
I am not aware of any apps for Panasonic or for that matter any other competitive brand that can utilize built in camera for chat other than Skype.
tpaxadpom is offline  
post #16895 of 16959 Old 06-21-2017, 02:13 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Anyone else still prefer 1080p Panasonic plasma over 4k LCD?
karmanfamily is offline  
post #16896 of 16959 Old 06-21-2017, 03:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dabois09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by karmanfamily View Post
Anyone else still prefer 1080p Panasonic plasma over 4k LCD?
Maybe over LCD but certainly not 4k.OLED
Dabois09 is offline  
post #16897 of 16959 Old 06-21-2017, 03:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Panic 66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dabois09 View Post
Maybe over LCD but certainly not 4k.OLED
Or even 1080p OLED. I have a 55" Panasonic ST30 and a 55" LG EG9100. They are very close in picture quality but I would have to give a slight edge to the OLED.
Dabois09 likes this.
Panic 66 is offline  
post #16898 of 16959 Old 06-21-2017, 06:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
tpaxadpom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by karmanfamily View Post
Anyone else still prefer 1080p Panasonic plasma over 4k LCD?
Yes, when it comes down to motion or viewing from the side. Neither LCD nor OLED do it for me. The only way not to loose resolution on LCD/OLED is to use interpolation or insert black frames. Basically you have to deal with soap opera effect or loose brightness. I have Kuro in the kitchen and 78" js9500 samsung in living room. I bought VT60 Panasonic for my mom and it is an excellent set. They all have advantages it simply comes down to personal choice what is available at TV screen size vs your budget. I feel Samsung LCDs offer the most detailed picture without visible artifacts. Though all LCDs with VA panel are bad when it comes down watching anything off center. If you have FALD set you will also notice blooming. OLEDs are great and are getting better but they don't offer anything even semi affordable in screen sizes over 65". The size of the screen is a quality metric of its own.
tpaxadpom is offline  
post #16899 of 16959 Old 06-25-2017, 09:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
eaayoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 799
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by karmanfamily View Post
Anyone else still prefer 1080p Panasonic plasma over 4k LCD?
Yes! And considering price for LG's flat OLED, not ready to jump.
eaayoung is offline  
post #16900 of 16959 Old 06-26-2017, 10:04 AM
Senior Member
 
gossamer88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by eaayoung View Post
Yes! And considering price for LG's flat OLED, not ready to jump.
There was an incredible deal for the 65" C7 this weekend at Buydig's eBay store. Was $2599 shipped (no tax for NYC)!

My wife talked me out of it. I know, I know. But in hindsight, I do most of my watching on cable and rent from iTunes (which is not 4K and not going to be for the foreseeable future). I can't even remember the last BD I bought. I've been buying media codes (that are 1080p) lately.

4K will certainly open the floodgates for a UHD player and upping my Netflix to include 4K. And any movie I already own I am not going to re-buy on UHD. I prefer to buy only new titles or movies I don't already own.

So for now, I'm going to wait. My 60" VT60 still looks incredible.

Panasonic TC-P60VT60 Plasma • Oppo BDP-103 Blu-ray Player • Apple TV 4 • Yamaha RX‑A1050 AVR • Paradigm Cinema 110 Speaker System
gossamer88 is offline  
post #16901 of 16959 Old 06-26-2017, 06:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by gossamer88 View Post
There was an incredible deal for the 65" C7 this weekend at Buydig's eBay store. Was $2599 shipped (no tax for NYC)!

My wife talked me out of it. I know, I know. But in hindsight, I do most of my watching on cable and rent from iTunes (which is not 4K and not going to be for the foreseeable future). I can't even remember the last BD I bought. I've been buying media codes (that are 1080p) lately.

4K will certainly open the floodgates for a UHD player and upping my Netflix to include 4K. And any movie I already own I am not going to re-buy on UHD. I prefer to buy only new titles or movies I don't already own.

So for now, I'm going to wait. My 60" VT60 still looks incredible.
Wait till Black Friday and it will be $2250 I predict on Ebay.
Test Ickles is offline  
post #16902 of 16959 Old 07-13-2017, 04:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
fluxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 419 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Do you think, perhaps, that it's a mistake to touch the main colour control (the one simply named "colour")?
fluxo is offline  
post #16903 of 16959 Old 07-13-2017, 06:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by fluxo View Post
Do you think, perhaps, that it's a mistake to touch the main colour control (the one simply named "colour")?
There is only one correct color setting. When you calibrate a TV your software will tell you when the primary color red is set properly when you get the lowest possible delta error. Adjust the main color control to set red. On the VT60 I believe I set it at 50.
Test Ickles is offline  
post #16904 of 16959 Old 07-13-2017, 07:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
fluxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 419 Post(s)
Liked: 265
I notice a lot of people have been opting for 47/48, but I'm wondering if that is the cause of some periodic colour errors I've noticed on gradients with that setting. I suspect with some of these controls they really only work properly at their default values and there is some sort of miscalculation if set otherwise.

Also, may I ask: is it to be expected that large-ish changes to the 10 pt gamma controls can cause readily perceptible colour shifts and contouring? If I move the gamma/60 control ten clicks either way, say, I can introduce green or magenta tinting in some areas of people's faces. I'm wondering if that is a necessary consequence or an implementation quirk.
fluxo is offline  
post #16905 of 16959 Old 07-13-2017, 08:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by fluxo View Post
I notice a lot of people have been opting for 47/48, but I'm wondering if that is the cause of some periodic colour errors I've noticed on gradients with that setting. I suspect with some of these controls they really only work properly at their default values and there is some sort of miscalculation if set otherwise.

Also, may I ask: is it to be expected that large-ish changes to the 10 pt gamma controls can cause readily perceptible colour shifts and contouring? If I move the gamma/60 control ten clicks either way, say, I can introduce green or magenta tinting in some areas of people's faces. I'm wondering if that is a necessary consequence or an implementation quirk.
I prefer a BT 1886 gamma where the gamma starts out at around 2.1 at 10 IRE and ends around 2.35 at 100 IRE. This way you get excellent shadow detail at the low end but plenty of pop in the middle to high end. Gamma should not effect color unless it is way off. When you calibrate a TV set in this order.
1. Contrast
2. Brightness
3. Greyscale (the most important part)
4. Color
5. Gamma
6. Re check everything starting with greyscale then color again.

Without a meter I would just set it at 2.4 gamma and use Sound and Visions settings. I've found there's to be pretty accurate.
fluxo likes this.
Test Ickles is offline  
post #16906 of 16959 Old 07-25-2017, 05:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Buy or not buy?

VT60 65 inch in my local craigslist for $875.

I went to visit the guy selling the plasma. Seller is (sadly) not a avsforum lurker and doesn't seem to know much about this display. He also claims his display has low panel hours (but i checked it and it's around 3900 hrs). To my horror i noticed that the picture mode is in VIVID mode (guy also watches terrestrial tv in VIVID mode). As for dead pixel or subpixles, I did not notice any. I'm really hoping it's not a burn-in but I did notice some vertical bars image retention on the far right of the screen (looks like some bars from PS4 game or console user interface, btw the owner owns a PS4 and is connected to this plasma display). I really wish I took a picture of the vertical bar image retention on the far right of the screen so I can show it to you guys and ask whether or not it can be fixed or significantly reduce the amount of that image retentionafter I buy it (IF I buy it at all)
34-hfx-83 is offline  
post #16907 of 16959 Old 07-25-2017, 06:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by 34-hfx-83 View Post
Buy or not buy?



VT60 65 inch in my local craigslist for $875.



I went to visit the guy selling the plasma. Seller is (sadly) not a avsforum lurker and doesn't seem to know much about this display. He also claims his display has low panel hours (but i checked it and it's around 3900 hrs). To my horror i noticed that the picture mode is in VIVID mode (guy also watches terrestrial tv in VIVID mode). As for dead pixel or subpixles, I did not notice any. I'm really hoping it's not a burn-in but I did notice some vertical bars image retention on the far right of the screen (looks like some bars from PS4 game or console user interface, btw the owner owns a PS4 and is connected to this plasma display). I really wish I took a picture of the vertical bar image retention on the far right of the screen so I can show it to you guys and ask whether or not it can be fixed or significantly reduce the amount of that image retentionafter I buy it (IF I buy it at all)


What's your current display(s)? The price doesn't seem bad to me and 3900 isn't bad for a 4-year old TV. I mean, without knowing what you currently have, that's one of the best of the old guard (SDR). So unless you want to spend ~$2k on an OLED and all the infrastructure upgrades to take advantage of HDR, I think that's a good get in the VT60.


Envoyé de mon iPhone en utilisant Tapatalk

Samsung 64F8500| OPPO 93| Amazon Fire TV
Samsung 51F8500| OPPO 93| WiiU
Samsung 51F8500| Sony BDP-S360| Xbox One
sickkent is online now  
post #16908 of 16959 Old 07-25-2017, 07:46 PM
Newbie
 
Brettmckinney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've found my VT65 starting to drift from it's initial calibration - skin tone looking a little yellow. I was going to get the guy back again however before doing so I was wondering what your thoughts were about calibrating to panel lum high? I can't deny I get a little sad when I leave my Kuro 5080 in my bedroom and go watch the Panny and see how dim it is in comparison!
Brettmckinney is offline  
post #16909 of 16959 Old 07-25-2017, 09:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by sickkent View Post
What's your current display(s)?
Elite 111FD in living room, service menu tuned to eliminate ABL abd red tint blacks

Elite 101FD in bed room, service menu tuned to reduce black levels.

Panasonic ST60 in bed room.


The panasonic ST60 is at the crossroads. I'm thinking if I should sell and replace it with the VT60, or just get a 3DLUT box and hire a calibrator like chadb to calibrate my st60.

The only saving grace with my ST60 and the VT60 i found on craigslist is that the Pixels are solid, no dead or intermittend subpixels. The Elites I have on the other hand have intermittent subpixel issues (101fd) or dead (111fd) pixel

Last edited by 34-hfx-83; 07-25-2017 at 09:28 PM.
34-hfx-83 is offline  
post #16910 of 16959 Old 07-26-2017, 05:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 783
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by 34-hfx-83 View Post
Buy or not buy?

VT60 65 inch in my local craigslist for $875.

I went to visit the guy selling the plasma. Seller is (sadly) not a avsforum lurker and doesn't seem to know much about this display. He also claims his display has low panel hours (but i checked it and it's around 3900 hrs). To my horror i noticed that the picture mode is in VIVID mode (guy also watches terrestrial tv in VIVID mode). As for dead pixel or subpixles, I did not notice any. I'm really hoping it's not a burn-in but I did notice some vertical bars image retention on the far right of the screen (looks like some bars from PS4 game or console user interface, btw the owner owns a PS4 and is connected to this plasma display). I really wish I took a picture of the vertical bar image retention on the far right of the screen so I can show it to you guys and ask whether or not it can be fixed or significantly reduce the amount of that image retentionafter I buy it (IF I buy it at all)
Short answer: Pass.
Long answer: I disagree about the hours. To me at least, 3900 hours is a fair amount, and especially if they've mostly be in VIVID mode. And those bars would concern me greatly....With all that plus your current setup, which is pretty damn good, I'd save my pennies and buy an OLED.

Scott

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5012 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 10" Sub
TiVO Premiere
Scott Oakley is offline  
post #16911 of 16959 Old 07-26-2017, 06:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Oakley View Post
Short answer: Pass.
Long answer: I disagree about the hours. To me at least, 3900 hours is a fair amount, and especially if they've mostly be in VIVID mode. And those bars would concern me greatly....With all that plus your current setup, which is pretty damn good, I'd save my pennies and buy an OLED.

Scott
+1 pass on it. He's ruined that panel with vivid mode. It's most likely burn in. The hours are good though at 3900. Price is to too high for a vivid tainted panel.
Test Ickles is offline  
post #16912 of 16959 Old 07-26-2017, 10:16 PM
Member
 
capsmvp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by 34-hfx-83 View Post
Buy or not buy?

VT60 65 inch in my local craigslist for $875.

I went to visit the guy selling the plasma. Seller is (sadly) not a avsforum lurker and doesn't seem to know much about this display. He also claims his display has low panel hours (but i checked it and it's around 3900 hrs). To my horror i noticed that the picture mode is in VIVID mode (guy also watches terrestrial tv in VIVID mode). As for dead pixel or subpixles, I did not notice any. I'm really hoping it's not a burn-in but I did notice some vertical bars image retention on the far right of the screen (looks like some bars from PS4 game or console user interface, btw the owner owns a PS4 and is connected to this plasma display). I really wish I took a picture of the vertical bar image retention on the far right of the screen so I can show it to you guys and ask whether or not it can be fixed or significantly reduce the amount of that image retentionafter I buy it (IF I buy it at all)

Are you by chance in Las Vegas? If so, I've been looking at this seller's ad on craigslist as well. He just lowered his price to $800.
capsmvp is offline  
post #16913 of 16959 Old 07-28-2017, 11:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DLCPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 1,605
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 917 Post(s)
Liked: 270
I bought a 65" VT60 June 2012, and it has been excellent!

I was just watching and for the first time saw a thin (probably 1 pixel or so wide) vertical line, top to bottom, a little ways from the middle toward the right hand side. The color depends on the color of what's being shown - can be red, can be green, etc., and sometimes isn't noticeable at all.

I unplugged the TV to reset it, but nothing changed.

I imagine this is not something that is user-repairable, and being out of warranty, it would likely not be cost-effective to fix.

Any thoughts or suggestions?

Thanks.

Don

JVC RS400, Marantz SR7010, Screen Innovations 160" 2.35:1 Screen
Front L/R: Duntech Sovereigns, each powered by a bridged Adcom GFA-555; Center JBL LSR-308
Dolby Bed (4): Wharfedale Diamond II's, Atmos (4): Ascend Acoustics CBM-170 SE
Subwoofer: DIY 8' sub with 4 18" SI Drivers, powered by iNuke 6000
DLC Photography
DLCPhoto is offline  
post #16914 of 16959 Old 07-29-2017, 10:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by DLCPhoto View Post
I bought a 65" VT60 June 2012, and it has been excellent!

I was just watching and for the first time saw a thin (probably 1 pixel or so wide) vertical line, top to bottom, a little ways from the middle toward the right hand side. The color depends on the color of what's being shown - can be red, can be green, etc., and sometimes isn't noticeable at all.

I unplugged the TV to reset it, but nothing changed.

I imagine this is not something that is user-repairable, and being out of warranty, it would likely not be cost-effective to fix.

Any thoughts or suggestions?

Thanks.

Don
It could be very cost-effective actually. Most likely free. You will need to do this:
1. Take the back of the TV off with the TV unplugged.
2. Unlatch the ribbon cable that is directly below the line. Gently pull it out.
3. Blow on it and carefully reinsert it strait and all the way back in.
4. Plug it back in and turn it on. See if it's gone. It might take a couple tries.
5. Do not run the TV with the ribbon cable unplugged.
Test Ickles is offline  
post #16915 of 16959 Old 07-29-2017, 11:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DLCPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 1,605
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 917 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Test Ickles View Post
It could be very cost-effective actually. Most likely free. You will need to do this:
1. Take the back of the TV off with the TV unplugged.
2. Unlatch the ribbon cable that is directly below the line. Gently pull it out.
3. Blow on it and carefully reinsert it strait and all the way back in.
4. Plug it back in and turn it on. See if it's gone. It might take a couple tries.
5. Do not run the TV with the ribbon cable unplugged.
Interesting...Will have to give this a try.

Does this have a high percentage chance of resolving this, or is it a 'shot in the dark'?

Thanks for the reply, regardless of the outcome!

JVC RS400, Marantz SR7010, Screen Innovations 160" 2.35:1 Screen
Front L/R: Duntech Sovereigns, each powered by a bridged Adcom GFA-555; Center JBL LSR-308
Dolby Bed (4): Wharfedale Diamond II's, Atmos (4): Ascend Acoustics CBM-170 SE
Subwoofer: DIY 8' sub with 4 18" SI Drivers, powered by iNuke 6000
DLC Photography
DLCPhoto is offline  
post #16916 of 16959 Old 07-29-2017, 11:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Very high percent.
DLCPhoto likes this.
Test Ickles is offline  
post #16917 of 16959 Old 07-30-2017, 03:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DLCPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 1,605
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 917 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Test Ickles View Post
It could be very cost-effective actually. Most likely free. You will need to do this:
1. Take the back of the TV off with the TV unplugged.
2. Unlatch the ribbon cable that is directly below the line. Gently pull it out.
3. Blow on it and carefully reinsert it strait and all the way back in.
4. Plug it back in and turn it on. See if it's gone. It might take a couple tries.
5. Do not run the TV with the ribbon cable unplugged.
I may be able to try this in the next day or so. A few follow-up questions.

1. Will I have to remove the stand to do this (it is not wall mounted)? If I can leave the stand on, I won't have to lay it down, which would simplify things a bit.

2. Is it obvious which screws need to be removed, and are there some that shouldn't be removed?

3. Once open, do other components need to be removed (I watched some videos of other models, where speakers, or other internal parts, needed to be removed to get to the ribbon connector)?

4. Is there a single ribbon cable, and will it be obvious which one I need to reseat?

5. Any photos/videos available showing this process? I like to be prepared as best I can before-hand!

Thanks.

Don

JVC RS400, Marantz SR7010, Screen Innovations 160" 2.35:1 Screen
Front L/R: Duntech Sovereigns, each powered by a bridged Adcom GFA-555; Center JBL LSR-308
Dolby Bed (4): Wharfedale Diamond II's, Atmos (4): Ascend Acoustics CBM-170 SE
Subwoofer: DIY 8' sub with 4 18" SI Drivers, powered by iNuke 6000
DLC Photography
DLCPhoto is offline  
post #16918 of 16959 Old 07-30-2017, 12:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
fluxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 419 Post(s)
Liked: 265
This is a little bit unexpected, but the line bleed phenomenon here has almost gone. After years with the VT60 and a few thousand hours on the clock, I wasn't anticipating any significant changes. But something has changed quite recently (last few weeks or so). Where previously line bleed used to be slightly visible, it has gone. Where it had been prominent it is now much diminished. This has been checked against test content. I have to say I'm very surprised and somewhat delighted by this development.
fluxo is offline  
post #16919 of 16959 Old 07-30-2017, 04:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by DLCPhoto View Post
I may be able to try this in the next day or so. A few follow-up questions.

1. Will I have to remove the stand to do this (it is not wall mounted)? If I can leave the stand on, I won't have to lay it down, which would simplify things a bit.
Most likely you will. Laying it down on a table or bed won't hurt anything.
2. Is it obvious which screws need to be removed, and are there some that shouldn't be removed?
Obvious. They'll be alot. Maybe 25 or 30.
3. Once open, do other components need to be removed (I watched some videos of other models, where speakers, or other internal parts, needed to be removed to get to the ribbon connector)?
Will have to possibly remove a part or two. I did a GT30 where I had to get some stuff out of the way.
4. Is there a single ribbon cable, and will it be obvious which one I need to reseat?
Put a piece of tape on the top of the TV directly above and below the line. Then you'll be able to see which ribbon cable is directly below the line.
5. Any photos/videos available showing this process? I like to be prepared as best I can before-hand!
Once you see how it come out you'll be able to tell when you've got back in correctly. Some people struggle with this but I've never had a problem. Always got it back in first try.
Thanks.

Don
You can do it!
Test Ickles is offline  
post #16920 of 16959 Old 07-30-2017, 04:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DLCPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 1,605
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 917 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Test Ickles View Post
You can do it!
Many thanks!

I and a friend repaired my old Mitsubishi 65" Rear Projection behemoth, that had stopped working (blinking green light). A *lot* of disassembly!! Stuff laying all over the floor! And the new part had to be soldered in - let my friend do that, as that stuff is in his job-related wheelhouse! Put it back together, and it actually worked.

But there, I had nothing to lose, since it wasn't working at all; here it's a bit different...

And when that Mitsubishi failed again, that's what led to my buying the Panasonic Plasma.

But I'll probably give this a shot, when I have a clear window of time to deal with any of the usual unanticipated glitches one always runs into with this type of project!

Don

JVC RS400, Marantz SR7010, Screen Innovations 160" 2.35:1 Screen
Front L/R: Duntech Sovereigns, each powered by a bridged Adcom GFA-555; Center JBL LSR-308
Dolby Bed (4): Wharfedale Diamond II's, Atmos (4): Ascend Acoustics CBM-170 SE
Subwoofer: DIY 8' sub with 4 18" SI Drivers, powered by iNuke 6000
DLC Photography
DLCPhoto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P65vt60 65 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic , Panasonic Tcp65 65 Inch Vt25 3d Plasma Tv , Panasonic Tc P60vt60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P55vt60 55 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off