F8500 Recommended Settings Thread..... - Page 100 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > Display Devices > Plasma Flat Panel Displays > F8500 Recommended Settings Thread.....

Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Deltron's Avatar Deltron
08:26 PM Liked: 11
post #2971 of 4073
11-11-2014 | Posts: 119
Joined: Jul 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by nipalikewalnuts View Post
Does Samsung document this as part of a procedure to reset the TV?
The tech at Amazon had me do this. I was very surprised when I called them. It seemed the technician was quite familiar with this set. I think their system routes callbacks based on the item you purchased so it goes to the correct technicians.

I've never called Amazon support before but if today's experience is any indication then Amazon deserves some Kudos.
loboblast's Avatar loboblast
09:58 PM Liked: 10
post #2972 of 4073
11-11-2014 | Posts: 43
Joined: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by WantsNWarrants View Post
I hope this helps, though I'm far from knowledgeable.

I recommend that you download AVCHD rather than HDMV unless you have a blu-ray burner. The file is AVCHD-2d.iso, meaning it is intended that you burn to DVD. The files are in blu-ray format. There is software such as Deamon Tools that can mount the .iso. My Linux VLC displays the content but navigation is a PAIN. My PS3 plays the DVD, but my Windows 7 PC won't - requiring software I don't want to buy. Your iDEER should work for both the AVCHD and WOW isos.

The WOW disk has 2 calibration modes; stick with the basic if you use WOW. I can't understand why one would pay for WOW unless the content is of interest, which it is not to me.
Ok, thanks. I'll check out AVCHD. The problem I'm having (I'm using Win 8.1 pro 64bi) is that VLC doesn't play the WOW.iso at all. iDear does but I can't navigate to do any optimization. I can only play, pause, f. foward, etc. All it does is play the video.

I'm under the impression these optimization disks have the ability for you to set the video settings manually. Is that how those disks work, correct?
eric3316's Avatar eric3316
05:26 AM Liked: 929
post #2973 of 4073
11-12-2014 | Posts: 3,500
Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deltron View Post
The tech at Amazon had me do this. I was very surprised when I called them. It seemed the technician was quite familiar with this set. I think their system routes callbacks based on the item you purchased so it goes to the correct technicians.

I've never called Amazon support before but if today's experience is any indication then Amazon deserves some Kudos.
I actually thought you made a mistake saying the Amazon tech instead of the Samsung tech. Seems weird that Amazon would have a tech that trouble shoots Sasmung products. Sounds like they know more then actually Samsung techs you would speak to. Strange.
AMartin56's Avatar AMartin56
06:25 AM Liked: 113
post #2974 of 4073
11-12-2014 | Posts: 1,432
Joined: Aug 2005
So here is my masterpiece. Clips white SLIGHTY and the saturation runs aren't ideal but I'm not convinced that I would be able to improve them that much. I think and expert with better equipment could do better but this is probably the limit of my capabilities.


51F8500 40 ftL 2.4 Gamma. I intend to use this as is with lights on and use a bias light in the dark. Otherwise I believe it would cause eyestrain.

Color Space: Custom Red 48,4,7 Green 31,53,7 Blue 3,0,56 Yellow 51,51,10 Cyan 31,52,50 Magenta 48,5,55
Attached: Settings.png (47.4 KB)  M Gray.png (308.1 KB)  M Colors.png (298.9 KB)  Gamma.png (6.4 KB)  CIE.png (163.1 KB)  RGB.png (7.1 KB)  Contrast.png (266.8 KB)  Red Sat.png (290.2 KB)  Green Sat.png (289.6 KB)  Blue Sat.png (289.3 KB)  Yellow Sat.png (289.1 KB)  Cyan Sat.png (289.7 KB)  Mag Sat.png (289.9 KB)  Temp.png (6.3 KB)  Near Black.png (5.3 KB)  Near White.png (7.0 KB)  Lum.png (9.9 KB) 
pamploner's Avatar pamploner
06:29 AM Liked: 10
post #2975 of 4073
11-12-2014 | Posts: 62
Joined: Jan 2005
Please help me improve the skin tone color. I have the 60" for about month now and I've tried many different settings as suggested in this thread. I have not found a setting that, for my subjective eyes, has a realistic skin tone -- they are either too reddish or too dull. I have a older Panasonic plasma, THX certified and the skin tone color is excellent, close to realistic. My "reference" are live TV news broadcast; I assume that studio lights are well controlled with minimum image processing. From my Panasonic, the color of the newscasters are excellent. My current setting in my F8500 is
this, from post#2074
and it is somewhat too grayish.

BTW, I cannot afford a calibrator. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.
chunon's Avatar chunon
06:32 AM Liked: 583
post #2976 of 4073
11-12-2014 | Posts: 5,439
Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMartin56 View Post
So here is my masterpiece. Clips white SLIGHTY and the saturation runs aren't ideal but I'm not convinced that I would be able to improve them that much. I think and expert with better equipment could do better but this is probably the limit of my capabilities.


51F8500 40 ftL 2.4 Gamma. I intend to use this as is with lights on and use a bias light in the dark. Otherwise I believe it would cause eyestrain.
Nice work
Deltron's Avatar Deltron
06:56 AM Liked: 11
post #2977 of 4073
11-12-2014 | Posts: 119
Joined: Jul 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post
I actually thought you made a mistake saying the Amazon tech instead of the Samsung tech. Seems weird that Amazon would have a tech that trouble shoots Sasmung products. Sounds like they know more then actually Samsung techs you would speak to. Strange.
I own a small telephone installation company. If my experience with Samsung's techs on the telecommunications side is any indication then I won't ever call their TV support.
eric3316's Avatar eric3316
07:25 AM Liked: 929
post #2978 of 4073
11-12-2014 | Posts: 3,500
Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deltron View Post
I own a small telephone installation company. If my experience with Samsung's techs on the telecommunications side is any indication then I won't ever call their TV support.
Maybe call Amazon for telecommunications support? LOL
nipalikewalnuts's Avatar nipalikewalnuts
08:03 AM Liked: 16
post #2979 of 4073
11-12-2014 | Posts: 107
Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMartin56 View Post
So here is my masterpiece. Clips white SLIGHTY and the saturation runs aren't ideal but I'm not convinced that I would be able to improve them that much. I think and expert with better equipment could do better but this is probably the limit of my capabilities.


51F8500 40 ftL 2.4 Gamma. I intend to use this as is with lights on and use a bias light in the dark. Otherwise I believe it would cause eyestrain.

Looks great. Whilst playing did you ever consider a 2.25 Gamma / 40fL / medium lit room?
It seems to give me the best pop and contrast ratio between black and white.
AMartin56's Avatar AMartin56
08:50 AM Liked: 113
post #2980 of 4073
11-12-2014 | Posts: 1,432
Joined: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by nipalikewalnuts View Post
Looks great. Whilst playing did you ever consider a 2.25 Gamma / 40fL / medium lit room?
It seems to give me the best pop and contrast ratio between black and white.
I've messed with a few different gamma settings....just settled on 2.4 because it looks the best to me. Just a preference thing really. I don't really feel like it needs to be lighter in a small room with a table lamp on.

I was up way too late last night working on this so my memory might fail me but if anyone is curious I seem to remember the white clipping at about 234. So not a big deal. It really was slight.

And it looks great. Watching Transformers 4 on Blu-ray...not a GREAT movie but good eye candy. Plus they filmed it in my home town and if you look closely you can see two of my pinball machines in the barn scenes. Paramount rented them for a month. A friend of a friend does set design.
DanF8500's Avatar DanF8500
08:55 AM Liked: 232
post #2981 of 4073
11-12-2014 | Posts: 1,466
Joined: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMartin56 View Post
So here is my masterpiece.
Your custom color space in your "settings" file is missing the Cyan and Magenta settings.
AMartin56's Avatar AMartin56
08:59 AM Liked: 113
post #2982 of 4073
11-12-2014 | Posts: 1,432
Joined: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
Your custom color space in your "settings" file is missing the Cyan and Magenta settings.
Sorry. Added it to the original post.
DanF8500's Avatar DanF8500
09:11 AM Liked: 232
post #2983 of 4073
11-12-2014 | Posts: 1,466
Joined: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMartin56 View Post
Sorry. Added it to the original post.

So, I guess the 8500 doesn't allow individual color space settings to be stored for different picture modes (i.e. Standard and Movie)? When I entered your color space values into my Movie Mode, the tv overwrote the color space values stored in my Standard Mode.
AMartin56's Avatar AMartin56
09:20 AM Liked: 113
post #2984 of 4073
11-12-2014 | Posts: 1,432
Joined: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
So, I guess the 8500 doesn't allow individual color space settings to be stored for different picture modes (i.e. Standard and Movie)? When I entered your color space values into my Movie Mode, the tv overwrote the color space values stored in my Standard Mode.
That seems to be the case with mine as well. When it does that I just use the latest one. All of mine have been pretty similar anyways. My meter seems pretty consistent. But I'm not expereinced enough to understand why it changes slightly each time. Maybe placement on the screen? I pretty much put the meter in the same general location each time but it DOES vary slighty.
dsskid's Avatar dsskid
09:23 AM Liked: 197
post #2985 of 4073
11-12-2014 | Posts: 2,967
Joined: Nov 2002
Charts look great AMartin. Great job.
AMartin56's Avatar AMartin56
09:31 AM Liked: 113
post #2986 of 4073
11-12-2014 | Posts: 1,432
Joined: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsskid View Post
Charts look great AMartin. Great job.
Thank you! Do I get to actually watch it now? Test patterns are cool but the pacing is a bit slow and the plots generally suck...
dsskid's Avatar dsskid
09:37 AM Liked: 197
post #2987 of 4073
11-12-2014 | Posts: 2,967
Joined: Nov 2002
Absolutely. Sometimes in the pursuit of perfection, we forget....that it's only TV.
Ph8te's Avatar Ph8te
10:18 AM Liked: 740
post #2988 of 4073
11-12-2014 | Posts: 10,736
Joined: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMartin56 View Post
Thank you! Do I get to actually watch it now? Test patterns are cool but the pacing is a bit slow and the plots generally suck...

Don't you know, you are forever supposed to calibrate and look at slides for issues. No one ever just watches their TV [emoji6]


Sent from an system/360
fierce_gt's Avatar fierce_gt
10:50 AM Liked: 1205
post #2989 of 4073
11-12-2014 | Posts: 5,227
Joined: Sep 2008
^^no way, man! I always watch movies, I just never get to finish them, cause half way through I see something that doesn't look right, and then I need to check my calibration to see if it's my settings or something funky with the transfer of the movie...
Ph8te's Avatar Ph8te
11:21 AM Liked: 740
post #2990 of 4073
11-12-2014 | Posts: 10,736
Joined: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by fierce_gt View Post
^^no way, man! I always watch movies, I just never get to finish them, cause half way through I see something that doesn't look right, and then I need to check my calibration to see if it's my settings or something funky with the transfer of the movie...

Blasphemy!!!!! [emoji12]


Sent from an system/360
fierce_gt's Avatar fierce_gt
11:43 AM Liked: 1205
post #2991 of 4073
11-12-2014 | Posts: 5,227
Joined: Sep 2008
in all seriousness, calibrating has just made me infinitely more picky. I've got some 'issue' that I can't nail down, and it's been driving me nuts. starting to look like it may be interference over my hdmi cables, which means I need to move my UPS power supplies again... guess i'll find out this weekend
AMartin56's Avatar AMartin56
12:04 PM Liked: 113
post #2992 of 4073
11-12-2014 | Posts: 1,432
Joined: Aug 2005
I first got into adjusting my XBR CRT about 16-17 years ago using a Video Essentials DVD.

I got pretty good results but it always bothered me that everything ultimately relied on my Mark I Eyeball and you know what they say about our lying eyes..

I love the meter because it takes all that away and allows you to accurately follow the principles that result in a good picture.

Not to say there aren't still preference decisions to be made, but it certainly narrows them down. At that point I can enjoy the TV knowing it's at its best.
WantsNWarrants's Avatar WantsNWarrants
02:02 PM Liked: 40
post #2993 of 4073
11-12-2014 | Posts: 172
Joined: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by loboblast View Post
The problem I'm having (I'm using Win 8.1 pro 64bi) is that VLC doesn't play the WOW.iso at all. iDear does but I can't navigate to do any optimization.
As I see it, you have 3 choices.

1) I'm certain that VLC will display one slide at a time if you mount the iso and then MEDIA -> OPEN FILE and set VLC to loop, but finding the correct slide in the AVCHD subdirectories is just a horrible experience. Really, there are only 2 slides worth a damn for eyeball calibration - brightness and sharpness. The contrast is useless, and color calibration by eye is nonsense; the correct green is so yellow you'll be misled.

2) Burn the iso to a DVD and rent, buy or borrow a blu-ray player.

3) I'm pretty sure that Samsung will calibrate your set if requested. My recommendation is to have Samsung calibrate remotely, then compare your settings to those posted in this thread (for your screen size) to see if your calibrated numbers are reasonable based on other's experience.

I paid D-Nice ($330) to calibrate Movie mode because my set had a blue push that I couldn't figure out how to get rid of. When he was done, I was amazed at how many more blacks I could distinguish. But cell, contrast, brightness, sharpness, color and tint were the same after as I had set them before.

Quote:
Originally Posted by loboblast View Post
I'm under the impression these optimization disks have the ability for you to set the video settings manually. Is that how those disks work, correct?
Correct.
JimP
03:35 PM Liked: 253
post #2994 of 4073
11-12-2014 | Posts: 15,751
Joined: Sep 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by pamploner View Post
Please help me improve the skin tone color. I have the 60" for about month now and I've tried many different settings as suggested in this thread. I have not found a setting that, for my subjective eyes, has a realistic skin tone -- they are either too reddish or too dull. I have a older Panasonic plasma, THX certified and the skin tone color is excellent, close to realistic. My "reference" are live TV news broadcast; I assume that studio lights are well controlled with minimum image processing. From my Panasonic, the color of the newscasters are excellent. My current setting in my F8500 is
this, from post#2074
and it is somewhat too grayish.

BTW, I cannot afford a calibrator. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.
Where do you live?
AMartin56's Avatar AMartin56
03:47 PM Liked: 113
post #2995 of 4073
11-12-2014 | Posts: 1,432
Joined: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by pamploner View Post
Please help me improve the skin tone color. I have the 60" for about month now and I've tried many different settings as suggested in this thread. I have not found a setting that, for my subjective eyes, has a realistic skin tone -- they are either too reddish or too dull. I have a older Panasonic plasma, THX certified and the skin tone color is excellent, close to realistic. My "reference" are live TV news broadcast; I assume that studio lights are well controlled with minimum image processing. From my Panasonic, the color of the newscasters are excellent. My current setting in my F8500 is
this, from post#2074
and it is somewhat too grayish.

BTW, I cannot afford a calibrator. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.
The settings you provided are for a 51 inch. They might not translate well to your larger set.

His/her 2 pt white balance adjustments are also quite a bit different from mine a few post above so if you are willing to try another set of 51 inch settings you might do that. I feel like my 2pts have followed a pattern for the most part and may work better on your set.

If they do look better you might try my ten points to dial it in further but those seem the least likely to carry over to a different TV.

I'd also be curious if default Movie looks better or worse. You may have just picked settings that don't go well with your set!
loboblast's Avatar loboblast
05:57 PM Liked: 10
post #2996 of 4073
11-13-2014 | Posts: 43
Joined: Jul 2011
I called the Best Buy where I bought my pn60f8500. Their tech's are ISF certified and they charge $250 to calibrate. What do you guys think? Do I go this route or buy a BD player and uses WOW? Then return the player. I have no use for it. All my media is on my HTPC.
eric3316's Avatar eric3316
06:38 PM Liked: 929
post #2997 of 4073
11-13-2014 | Posts: 3,500
Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by loboblast View Post
I called the Best Buy where I bought my pn60f8500. Their tech's are ISF certified and they charge $250 to calibrate. What do you guys think? Do I go this route or buy a BD player and uses WOW? Then return the player. I have no use for it. All my media is on my HTPC.
Buy an i1 Dispaly Pro meter and learn how to calibrate yourself or pay more money for a pro that will spend 4-5 hours and do your calibration correctly.

If you have the passion, time and patience I say get the meter and do it yourself. It will be something you will then be able to do in with your future TVs as well.
AMartin56's Avatar AMartin56
06:58 PM Liked: 113
post #2998 of 4073
11-13-2014 | Posts: 1,432
Joined: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post
Buy an i1 Dispaly Pro meter and learn how to calibrate yourself or pay more money for a pro that will spend 4-5 hours and do your calibration correctly.

If you have the passion, time and patience I say get the meter and do it yourself. It will be something you will then be able to do in with your future TVs as well.

Another vote for this. If you apply yourself you'll do a better job than Best Buy would do. And would be able to do it again when needed. I didn't know how to use HCFR about a week ago and now I feel pretty comfortable with it.
pochoboy's Avatar pochoboy
07:17 PM Liked: 13
post #2999 of 4073
11-13-2014 | Posts: 845
Joined: May 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by loboblast View Post
I called the Best Buy where I bought my pn60f8500. Their tech's are ISF certified and they charge $250 to calibrate. What do you guys think? Do I go this route or buy a BD player and uses WOW? Then return the player. I have no use for it. All my media is on my HTPC.
If you do go the WoW route to self calibrate shouldn't you be running the WoW Blu-ray or Dvd disk via your htpc? I'm still a bit confused here. Wouldn't your htpc have it's own software player via your graphics card to your recv'r/f8500. I wonder if there's anomalies between different Stand Alone Blu-Ray players and htpc softwares/video card outputs. I don't know if I'm confusing myself here
chunon's Avatar chunon
05:04 AM Liked: 583
post #3000 of 4073
11-14-2014 | Posts: 5,439
Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by loboblast View Post
I called the Best Buy where I bought my pn60f8500. Their tech's are ISF certified and they charge $250 to calibrate. What do you guys think? Do I go this route or buy a BD player and uses WOW? Then return the player. I have no use for it. All my media is on my HTPC.
I agree with the previous comments you are better off doing DIY than spending money on a Best Buy calibration. If you must go the professional route then hire a "real" professional with a reference spectro. The right equipment will leave no doubt as to whether your set is the best if can be.
Tags: Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv

Gear in this thread
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3