F8500 Recommended Settings Thread..... - Page 100 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2971 of 4096 Old 11-11-2014, 07:26 PM
Member
 
Deltron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Shawnee Mission, Ks.
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nipalikewalnuts View Post
Does Samsung document this as part of a procedure to reset the TV?
The tech at Amazon had me do this. I was very surprised when I called them. It seemed the technician was quite familiar with this set. I think their system routes callbacks based on the item you purchased so it goes to the correct technicians.

I've never called Amazon support before but if today's experience is any indication then Amazon deserves some Kudos.
Deltron is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2972 of 4096 Old 11-11-2014, 08:58 PM
Member
 
loboblast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WantsNWarrants View Post
I hope this helps, though I'm far from knowledgeable.

I recommend that you download AVCHD rather than HDMV unless you have a blu-ray burner. The file is AVCHD-2d.iso, meaning it is intended that you burn to DVD. The files are in blu-ray format. There is software such as Deamon Tools that can mount the .iso. My Linux VLC displays the content but navigation is a PAIN. My PS3 plays the DVD, but my Windows 7 PC won't - requiring software I don't want to buy. Your iDEER should work for both the AVCHD and WOW isos.

The WOW disk has 2 calibration modes; stick with the basic if you use WOW. I can't understand why one would pay for WOW unless the content is of interest, which it is not to me.
Ok, thanks. I'll check out AVCHD. The problem I'm having (I'm using Win 8.1 pro 64bi) is that VLC doesn't play the WOW.iso at all. iDear does but I can't navigate to do any optimization. I can only play, pause, f. foward, etc. All it does is play the video.

I'm under the impression these optimization disks have the ability for you to set the video settings manually. Is that how those disks work, correct?

Samsung 60 PN60F8500
Harman Kardon AVR1600
Mirage Unitheater soundbar
Definitive Technology StudioMonitor 450'S
Dayton Audio SUB-1200 12"
Sennheiser HDR 170
loboblast is offline  
post #2973 of 4096 Old 11-12-2014, 04:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,501
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 752 Post(s)
Liked: 930
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deltron View Post
The tech at Amazon had me do this. I was very surprised when I called them. It seemed the technician was quite familiar with this set. I think their system routes callbacks based on the item you purchased so it goes to the correct technicians.

I've never called Amazon support before but if today's experience is any indication then Amazon deserves some Kudos.
I actually thought you made a mistake saying the Amazon tech instead of the Samsung tech. Seems weird that Amazon would have a tech that trouble shoots Sasmung products. Sounds like they know more then actually Samsung techs you would speak to. Strange.
eric3316 is online now  
post #2974 of 4096 Old 11-12-2014, 05:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 328 Post(s)
Liked: 120
So here is my masterpiece. Clips white SLIGHTY and the saturation runs aren't ideal but I'm not convinced that I would be able to improve them that much. I think and expert with better equipment could do better but this is probably the limit of my capabilities.


51F8500 40 ftL 2.4 Gamma. I intend to use this as is with lights on and use a bias light in the dark. Otherwise I believe it would cause eyestrain.

Color Space: Custom Red 48,4,7 Green 31,53,7 Blue 3,0,56 Yellow 51,51,10 Cyan 31,52,50 Magenta 48,5,55
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Settings.png
Views:	126
Size:	47.4 KB
ID:	363034   Click image for larger version

Name:	M Gray.png
Views:	79
Size:	308.1 KB
ID:	363042   Click image for larger version

Name:	M Colors.png
Views:	62
Size:	298.9 KB
ID:	363050   Click image for larger version

Name:	Gamma.png
Views:	58
Size:	6.4 KB
ID:	363058   Click image for larger version

Name:	CIE.png
Views:	66
Size:	163.1 KB
ID:	363066  

Click image for larger version

Name:	RGB.png
Views:	55
Size:	7.1 KB
ID:	363074   Click image for larger version

Name:	Contrast.png
Views:	60
Size:	266.8 KB
ID:	363082   Click image for larger version

Name:	Red Sat.png
Views:	58
Size:	290.2 KB
ID:	363090   Click image for larger version

Name:	Green Sat.png
Views:	50
Size:	289.6 KB
ID:	363098   Click image for larger version

Name:	Blue Sat.png
Views:	41
Size:	289.3 KB
ID:	363106  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Yellow Sat.png
Views:	45
Size:	289.1 KB
ID:	363114   Click image for larger version

Name:	Cyan Sat.png
Views:	39
Size:	289.7 KB
ID:	363122   Click image for larger version

Name:	Mag Sat.png
Views:	39
Size:	289.9 KB
ID:	363130   Click image for larger version

Name:	Temp.png
Views:	49
Size:	6.3 KB
ID:	363138   Click image for larger version

Name:	Near Black.png
Views:	38
Size:	5.3 KB
ID:	363146  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Near White.png
Views:	39
Size:	7.0 KB
ID:	363154   Click image for larger version

Name:	Lum.png
Views:	40
Size:	9.9 KB
ID:	363162  

Last edited by AMartin56; 11-12-2014 at 07:59 AM. Reason: Added full color space.
AMartin56 is offline  
post #2975 of 4096 Old 11-12-2014, 05:29 AM
Member
 
pamploner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please help me improve the skin tone color. I have the 60" for about month now and I've tried many different settings as suggested in this thread. I have not found a setting that, for my subjective eyes, has a realistic skin tone -- they are either too reddish or too dull. I have a older Panasonic plasma, THX certified and the skin tone color is excellent, close to realistic. My "reference" are live TV news broadcast; I assume that studio lights are well controlled with minimum image processing. From my Panasonic, the color of the newscasters are excellent. My current setting in my F8500 is
this, from post#2074
and it is somewhat too grayish.

BTW, I cannot afford a calibrator. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.
pamploner is offline  
post #2976 of 4096 Old 11-12-2014, 05:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 384 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMartin56 View Post
So here is my masterpiece. Clips white SLIGHTY and the saturation runs aren't ideal but I'm not convinced that I would be able to improve them that much. I think and expert with better equipment could do better but this is probably the limit of my capabilities.


51F8500 40 ftL 2.4 Gamma. I intend to use this as is with lights on and use a bias light in the dark. Otherwise I believe it would cause eyestrain.
Nice work

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Harmony 650
Darbee DVP5000
Sony XT1 Soundbase
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
chunon is offline  
post #2977 of 4096 Old 11-12-2014, 05:56 AM
Member
 
Deltron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Shawnee Mission, Ks.
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post
I actually thought you made a mistake saying the Amazon tech instead of the Samsung tech. Seems weird that Amazon would have a tech that trouble shoots Sasmung products. Sounds like they know more then actually Samsung techs you would speak to. Strange.
I own a small telephone installation company. If my experience with Samsung's techs on the telecommunications side is any indication then I won't ever call their TV support.
Deltron is offline  
post #2978 of 4096 Old 11-12-2014, 06:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,501
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 752 Post(s)
Liked: 930
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deltron View Post
I own a small telephone installation company. If my experience with Samsung's techs on the telecommunications side is any indication then I won't ever call their TV support.
Maybe call Amazon for telecommunications support? LOL
eric3316 is online now  
post #2979 of 4096 Old 11-12-2014, 07:03 AM
 
nipalikewalnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMartin56 View Post
So here is my masterpiece. Clips white SLIGHTY and the saturation runs aren't ideal but I'm not convinced that I would be able to improve them that much. I think and expert with better equipment could do better but this is probably the limit of my capabilities.


51F8500 40 ftL 2.4 Gamma. I intend to use this as is with lights on and use a bias light in the dark. Otherwise I believe it would cause eyestrain.

Looks great. Whilst playing did you ever consider a 2.25 Gamma / 40fL / medium lit room?
It seems to give me the best pop and contrast ratio between black and white.
nipalikewalnuts is offline  
post #2980 of 4096 Old 11-12-2014, 07:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 328 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by nipalikewalnuts View Post
Looks great. Whilst playing did you ever consider a 2.25 Gamma / 40fL / medium lit room?
It seems to give me the best pop and contrast ratio between black and white.
I've messed with a few different gamma settings....just settled on 2.4 because it looks the best to me. Just a preference thing really. I don't really feel like it needs to be lighter in a small room with a table lamp on.

I was up way too late last night working on this so my memory might fail me but if anyone is curious I seem to remember the white clipping at about 234. So not a big deal. It really was slight.

And it looks great. Watching Transformers 4 on Blu-ray...not a GREAT movie but good eye candy. Plus they filmed it in my home town and if you look closely you can see two of my pinball machines in the barn scenes. Paramount rented them for a month. A friend of a friend does set design.
AMartin56 is offline  
post #2981 of 4096 Old 11-12-2014, 07:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMartin56 View Post
So here is my masterpiece.
Your custom color space in your "settings" file is missing the Cyan and Magenta settings.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #2982 of 4096 Old 11-12-2014, 07:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 328 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
Your custom color space in your "settings" file is missing the Cyan and Magenta settings.
Sorry. Added it to the original post.
AMartin56 is offline  
post #2983 of 4096 Old 11-12-2014, 08:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMartin56 View Post
Sorry. Added it to the original post.

So, I guess the 8500 doesn't allow individual color space settings to be stored for different picture modes (i.e. Standard and Movie)? When I entered your color space values into my Movie Mode, the tv overwrote the color space values stored in my Standard Mode.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #2984 of 4096 Old 11-12-2014, 08:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 328 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
So, I guess the 8500 doesn't allow individual color space settings to be stored for different picture modes (i.e. Standard and Movie)? When I entered your color space values into my Movie Mode, the tv overwrote the color space values stored in my Standard Mode.
That seems to be the case with mine as well. When it does that I just use the latest one. All of mine have been pretty similar anyways. My meter seems pretty consistent. But I'm not expereinced enough to understand why it changes slightly each time. Maybe placement on the screen? I pretty much put the meter in the same general location each time but it DOES vary slighty.
AMartin56 is offline  
post #2985 of 4096 Old 11-12-2014, 08:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dsskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,972
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Charts look great AMartin. Great job.

ISF Calibrator
Samsung PN64F8500
Pioneer Kuro Elite Pro-111FD
Pioneer Kuro BDP-320
Displays are like 100% cotton t-shirts. Always buy a size larger than you think you'll need, as they tend to shrink over time.
dsskid is offline  
post #2986 of 4096 Old 11-12-2014, 08:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 328 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsskid View Post
Charts look great AMartin. Great job.
Thank you! Do I get to actually watch it now? Test patterns are cool but the pacing is a bit slow and the plots generally suck...
AMartin56 is offline  
post #2987 of 4096 Old 11-12-2014, 08:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dsskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,972
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Absolutely. Sometimes in the pursuit of perfection, we forget....that it's only TV.

ISF Calibrator
Samsung PN64F8500
Pioneer Kuro Elite Pro-111FD
Pioneer Kuro BDP-320
Displays are like 100% cotton t-shirts. Always buy a size larger than you think you'll need, as they tend to shrink over time.
dsskid is offline  
post #2988 of 4096 Old 11-12-2014, 09:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10,899
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1629 Post(s)
Liked: 770
F8500 Recommended Settings Thread.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMartin56 View Post
Thank you! Do I get to actually watch it now? Test patterns are cool but the pacing is a bit slow and the plots generally suck...

Don't you know, you are forever supposed to calibrate and look at slides for issues. No one ever just watches their TV [emoji6]


Sent from an system/360
Ph8te is online now  
post #2989 of 4096 Old 11-12-2014, 09:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,283
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1218 Post(s)
Liked: 1224
^^no way, man! I always watch movies, I just never get to finish them, cause half way through I see something that doesn't look right, and then I need to check my calibration to see if it's my settings or something funky with the transfer of the movie...

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1018AH, 5.1 audio
Sources: HTPC(Mediabrowser), PS3, XBOX360, Wii, Sony DVP-CX995V
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is online now  
post #2990 of 4096 Old 11-12-2014, 10:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10,899
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1629 Post(s)
Liked: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by fierce_gt View Post
^^no way, man! I always watch movies, I just never get to finish them, cause half way through I see something that doesn't look right, and then I need to check my calibration to see if it's my settings or something funky with the transfer of the movie...

Blasphemy!!!!! [emoji12]


Sent from an system/360
Ph8te is online now  
post #2991 of 4096 Old 11-12-2014, 10:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,283
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1218 Post(s)
Liked: 1224
in all seriousness, calibrating has just made me infinitely more picky. I've got some 'issue' that I can't nail down, and it's been driving me nuts. starting to look like it may be interference over my hdmi cables, which means I need to move my UPS power supplies again... guess i'll find out this weekend

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1018AH, 5.1 audio
Sources: HTPC(Mediabrowser), PS3, XBOX360, Wii, Sony DVP-CX995V
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is online now  
post #2992 of 4096 Old 11-12-2014, 11:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 328 Post(s)
Liked: 120
I first got into adjusting my XBR CRT about 16-17 years ago using a Video Essentials DVD.

I got pretty good results but it always bothered me that everything ultimately relied on my Mark I Eyeball and you know what they say about our lying eyes..

I love the meter because it takes all that away and allows you to accurately follow the principles that result in a good picture.

Not to say there aren't still preference decisions to be made, but it certainly narrows them down. At that point I can enjoy the TV knowing it's at its best.
AMartin56 is offline  
post #2993 of 4096 Old 11-12-2014, 01:02 PM
Member
 
WantsNWarrants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Woodland Hills CA
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by loboblast View Post
The problem I'm having (I'm using Win 8.1 pro 64bi) is that VLC doesn't play the WOW.iso at all. iDear does but I can't navigate to do any optimization.
As I see it, you have 3 choices.

1) I'm certain that VLC will display one slide at a time if you mount the iso and then MEDIA -> OPEN FILE and set VLC to loop, but finding the correct slide in the AVCHD subdirectories is just a horrible experience. Really, there are only 2 slides worth a damn for eyeball calibration - brightness and sharpness. The contrast is useless, and color calibration by eye is nonsense; the correct green is so yellow you'll be misled.

2) Burn the iso to a DVD and rent, buy or borrow a blu-ray player.

3) I'm pretty sure that Samsung will calibrate your set if requested. My recommendation is to have Samsung calibrate remotely, then compare your settings to those posted in this thread (for your screen size) to see if your calibrated numbers are reasonable based on other's experience.

I paid D-Nice ($330) to calibrate Movie mode because my set had a blue push that I couldn't figure out how to get rid of. When he was done, I was amazed at how many more blacks I could distinguish. But cell, contrast, brightness, sharpness, color and tint were the same after as I had set them before.

Quote:
Originally Posted by loboblast View Post
I'm under the impression these optimization disks have the ability for you to set the video settings manually. Is that how those disks work, correct?
Correct.
WantsNWarrants is online now  
post #2994 of 4096 Old 11-12-2014, 02:35 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,801
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 393 Post(s)
Liked: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by pamploner View Post
Please help me improve the skin tone color. I have the 60" for about month now and I've tried many different settings as suggested in this thread. I have not found a setting that, for my subjective eyes, has a realistic skin tone -- they are either too reddish or too dull. I have a older Panasonic plasma, THX certified and the skin tone color is excellent, close to realistic. My "reference" are live TV news broadcast; I assume that studio lights are well controlled with minimum image processing. From my Panasonic, the color of the newscasters are excellent. My current setting in my F8500 is
this, from post#2074
and it is somewhat too grayish.

BTW, I cannot afford a calibrator. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.
Where do you live?

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, VideoForge HDMI II, Klein K10, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #2995 of 4096 Old 11-12-2014, 02:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 328 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by pamploner View Post
Please help me improve the skin tone color. I have the 60" for about month now and I've tried many different settings as suggested in this thread. I have not found a setting that, for my subjective eyes, has a realistic skin tone -- they are either too reddish or too dull. I have a older Panasonic plasma, THX certified and the skin tone color is excellent, close to realistic. My "reference" are live TV news broadcast; I assume that studio lights are well controlled with minimum image processing. From my Panasonic, the color of the newscasters are excellent. My current setting in my F8500 is
this, from post#2074
and it is somewhat too grayish.

BTW, I cannot afford a calibrator. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.
The settings you provided are for a 51 inch. They might not translate well to your larger set.

His/her 2 pt white balance adjustments are also quite a bit different from mine a few post above so if you are willing to try another set of 51 inch settings you might do that. I feel like my 2pts have followed a pattern for the most part and may work better on your set.

If they do look better you might try my ten points to dial it in further but those seem the least likely to carry over to a different TV.

I'd also be curious if default Movie looks better or worse. You may have just picked settings that don't go well with your set!
AMartin56 is offline  
post #2996 of 4096 Old 11-13-2014, 04:57 PM
Member
 
loboblast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I called the Best Buy where I bought my pn60f8500. Their tech's are ISF certified and they charge $250 to calibrate. What do you guys think? Do I go this route or buy a BD player and uses WOW? Then return the player. I have no use for it. All my media is on my HTPC.

Samsung 60 PN60F8500
Harman Kardon AVR1600
Mirage Unitheater soundbar
Definitive Technology StudioMonitor 450'S
Dayton Audio SUB-1200 12"
Sennheiser HDR 170
loboblast is offline  
post #2997 of 4096 Old 11-13-2014, 05:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,501
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 752 Post(s)
Liked: 930
Quote:
Originally Posted by loboblast View Post
I called the Best Buy where I bought my pn60f8500. Their tech's are ISF certified and they charge $250 to calibrate. What do you guys think? Do I go this route or buy a BD player and uses WOW? Then return the player. I have no use for it. All my media is on my HTPC.
Buy an i1 Dispaly Pro meter and learn how to calibrate yourself or pay more money for a pro that will spend 4-5 hours and do your calibration correctly.

If you have the passion, time and patience I say get the meter and do it yourself. It will be something you will then be able to do in with your future TVs as well.
eric3316 is online now  
post #2998 of 4096 Old 11-13-2014, 05:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 328 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post
Buy an i1 Dispaly Pro meter and learn how to calibrate yourself or pay more money for a pro that will spend 4-5 hours and do your calibration correctly.

If you have the passion, time and patience I say get the meter and do it yourself. It will be something you will then be able to do in with your future TVs as well.

Another vote for this. If you apply yourself you'll do a better job than Best Buy would do. And would be able to do it again when needed. I didn't know how to use HCFR about a week ago and now I feel pretty comfortable with it.
AMartin56 is offline  
post #2999 of 4096 Old 11-13-2014, 06:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
pochoboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by loboblast View Post
I called the Best Buy where I bought my pn60f8500. Their tech's are ISF certified and they charge $250 to calibrate. What do you guys think? Do I go this route or buy a BD player and uses WOW? Then return the player. I have no use for it. All my media is on my HTPC.
If you do go the WoW route to self calibrate shouldn't you be running the WoW Blu-ray or Dvd disk via your htpc? I'm still a bit confused here. Wouldn't your htpc have it's own software player via your graphics card to your recv'r/f8500. I wonder if there's anomalies between different Stand Alone Blu-Ray players and htpc softwares/video card outputs. I don't know if I'm confusing myself here

Last edited by pochoboy; 11-13-2014 at 07:02 PM.
pochoboy is offline  
post #3000 of 4096 Old 11-14-2014, 04:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 384 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by loboblast View Post
I called the Best Buy where I bought my pn60f8500. Their tech's are ISF certified and they charge $250 to calibrate. What do you guys think? Do I go this route or buy a BD player and uses WOW? Then return the player. I have no use for it. All my media is on my HTPC.
I agree with the previous comments you are better off doing DIY than spending money on a Best Buy calibration. If you must go the professional route then hire a "real" professional with a reference spectro. The right equipment will leave no doubt as to whether your set is the best if can be.

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Harmony 650
Darbee DVP5000
Sony XT1 Soundbase
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
chunon is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off