F8500 Recommended Settings Thread..... - Page 116 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #3451 of 3472 Old Yesterday, 10:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dsskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,946
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue Rain View Post
The picture of that windbag does look good.

Just enough color saturation. I don't like high color saturation.
lol

ISF Calibrator
Samsung PN64F8500
Pioneer Kuro Elite Pro-111FD
Pioneer Kuro BDP-320
Displays are like 100% cotton t-shirts. Always buy a size larger than you think you'll need, as they tend to shrink over time.
dsskid is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3452 of 3472 Old Yesterday, 04:18 PM
Member
 
JL-F1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by JL-F1 View Post
I'm getting some, I want to call it banding (not sure), where in color gradients it is not a smooth transition from one to the next.

Do I turn down brightness or contrast to help that? I did the WOW disk.

or am I just going to need a full cal to fix or have to deal with it?
??
JL-F1 is offline  
post #3453 of 3472 Old Yesterday, 06:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
WPWoodJr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Villanova, PA
Posts: 781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
The default color setting of 50 for this display seems to work well for transfer curves that average 2.2 or a little lower (using APL patterns). For gamma closer to 2.4 (and BT.1886) 55-58 has yielded the best overall averages for large test sets.
My calibration has Color at 59 and Flesh Tone at 10. Average dE: 1.19, max: 2.92[5B], worst 10%: 2.20. Average Gamma 2.32

Are these considered good figures? I was surprised at how increasing Flesh Tone so much improved things.

Samsung PN60F8500, TiVo Roamio, ASRock Vision 3D HTPC, Chromecast
WPWoodJr is offline  
post #3454 of 3472 Old Yesterday, 06:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
WPWoodJr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Villanova, PA
Posts: 781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JL-F1 View Post
??
Post a picture of the banding

Samsung PN60F8500, TiVo Roamio, ASRock Vision 3D HTPC, Chromecast
WPWoodJr is offline  
post #3455 of 3472 Old Yesterday, 07:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,038
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 451 Post(s)
Liked: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by WPWoodJr View Post
My calibration has Color at 59 and Flesh Tone at 10. Average dE: 1.19, max: 2.92[5B], worst 10%: 2.20. Average Gamma 2.32

Are these considered good figures? I was surprised at how increasing Flesh Tone so much improved things.
yes, those are good figures. The CCSG set contains a large concentration of colors in typical flesh tones.
zoyd is offline  
post #3456 of 3472 Old Yesterday, 08:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Flesh tones to such an extreme is a good thing? Seems odd.
AMartin56 is online now  
post #3457 of 3472 Old Today, 12:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,847
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 992 Post(s)
Liked: 1056
I actually cranked my up a couple days ago too, but I haven't busted out the meter to see what it actually changes. it looked like the shadows on ppl's faces had a green tint to them. turning up flesh tone helped remove this. I actually thought it looked good maxed out, but I'm so skeptical of adjusting it 'by eye' so I left it at 10. which still seems really high for a setting I'm not sure what it's doing, haha.

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1018AH, 5.1 audio
Sources: HTPC(Mediabrowser), PS3, XBOX360, Wii, Sony DVP-CX995V
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is online now  
post #3458 of 3472 Old Today, 12:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 250
From the owners manual about Flesh Tone Setting: Adjusts the amount of red in skin-color tones

So by increasing Flesh Tone, you are adding more red to anything with a skin color.
wxman is online now  
post #3459 of 3472 Old Today, 02:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 204
You do realize that its adding red to everything with red in it. It doesn't know skin tone from firetruck.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, VideoForge HDMI II, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
post #3460 of 3472 Old Today, 07:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,038
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 451 Post(s)
Liked: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by fierce_gt View Post
I actually cranked my up a couple days ago too, but I haven't busted out the meter to see what it actually changes. it looked like the shadows on ppl's faces had a green tint to them. turning up flesh tone helped remove this. I actually thought it looked good maxed out, but I'm so skeptical of adjusting it 'by eye' so I left it at 10. which still seems really high for a setting I'm not sure what it's doing, haha.
What I found useful for setting this control was to increment it in steps of 2 and run the 24 pt. skin tone patches in HCFR to evaluate. The setting that produced the minimum error for that series also produced the minimum error for the larger CCSG series.
chunon and fierce_gt like this.
zoyd is offline  
post #3461 of 3472 Unread Today, 09:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
WPWoodJr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Villanova, PA
Posts: 781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
What I found useful for setting this control was to increment it in steps of 2 and run the 24 pt. skin tone patches in HCFR to evaluate. The setting that produced the minimum error for that series also produced the minimum error for the larger CCSG series.
That's basically what I did

Samsung PN60F8500, TiVo Roamio, ASRock Vision 3D HTPC, Chromecast
WPWoodJr is offline  
post #3462 of 3472 Unread Today, 09:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
WPWoodJr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Villanova, PA
Posts: 781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post
You do realize that its adding red to everything with red in it. It doesn't know skin tone from firetruck.
I'm not sure about that. Should be easy to test. As I remember it mainly affects the skin tone patches.

Samsung PN60F8500, TiVo Roamio, ASRock Vision 3D HTPC, Chromecast
WPWoodJr is offline  
post #3463 of 3472 Unread Today, 11:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by WPWoodJr View Post
I'm not sure about that. Should be easy to test. As I remember it mainly affects the skin tone patches.
Just seems odd to mess with that control...especially hard over like that when my errors are already within a reasonable range without it.
AMartin56 is online now  
post #3464 of 3472 Unread Today, 11:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by JL-F1 View Post
I'm getting some, I want to call it banding (not sure), where in color gradients it is not a smooth transition from one to the next.

Do I turn down brightness or contrast to help that? I did the WOW disk.

or am I just going to need a full cal to fix or have to deal with it?
The banding is probably inherent to the source. Even some of the best Blu-rays exhibit color banding in some scenes.
Michael Scrutchin is offline  
post #3465 of 3472 Unread Today, 11:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,847
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 992 Post(s)
Liked: 1056
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
From the owners manual about Flesh Tone Setting: Adjusts the amount of red in skin-color tones

So by increasing Flesh Tone, you are adding more red to anything with a skin color.
i can clearly see the difference(adding red) to faces. what i meant was, i don't know what it's doing to everything else. red was one color that never seemed to line up well for me. this could be helping i guess.

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1018AH, 5.1 audio
Sources: HTPC(Mediabrowser), PS3, XBOX360, Wii, Sony DVP-CX995V
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is online now  
post #3466 of 3472 Unread Today, 01:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,847
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 992 Post(s)
Liked: 1056
for anybody curious about input lag times relative to the picture modes, i did a new test and posted my results here: Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Owners Thread (No Street Price Talk)

long story short, it appears that game mode and pc are basically the same for input lag now, and still a SIGNIFICANT improvement over 'movie' mode.

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1018AH, 5.1 audio
Sources: HTPC(Mediabrowser), PS3, XBOX360, Wii, Sony DVP-CX995V
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is online now  
post #3467 of 3472 Unread Today, 03:52 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey I was wondering if you could post directly all the settings not a link but a direct reply of your settings for your Samsung PNF8500 Plasma, I can't find your updated one, I am noob but could not find it under the link posted way back when and the link in sig is not something I am familiar with or did I see. I was looking for standard viewing settings for like tv day movies etc and then night dark room settings.
CynosureKane is offline  
post #3468 of 3472 Unread Today, 09:55 PM
Member
 
SteveWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the Factory Service Remote which is not be confused with the Factory TV remote. I use to be able to press info and then factory and the extended service menu would come up, but now nothing happens. Any ideas why it quit working?

Thanks,
Steve
SteveWK is online now  
post #3469 of 3472 Unread Today, 10:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveWK View Post
I have the Factory Service Remote which is not be confused with the Factory TV remote. I use to be able to press info and then factory and the extended service menu would come up, but now nothing happens. Any ideas why it quit working?

Thanks,
Steve
Have you done any FW updates since the last time you used it?
wxman is online now  
post #3470 of 3472 Unread Today, 10:46 PM
Member
 
SteveWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
Have you done any FW updates since the last time you used it?
Yes and not sure I did update it recently hoping that would fix the problem and there was an update that I installed not to long before the most recent. What I can't remember with certainty is if it worked with the previous update or not. I really would like to roll the firmware back several versions, but don't know how to do that.

Edit: I guess my first explanation could be confusing. Pretend there are three firmware versions, A, B, and C with C being the most recent. I know it worked with A, but can't remember if it quit working with B after I installed or if it worked for a period of time and then quit. It never worked with C.

Last edited by SteveWK; Today at 10:57 PM.
SteveWK is online now  
post #3471 of 3472 Unread Today, 11:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveWK View Post
Yes and not sure I did update it recently hoping that would fix the problem and there was an update that I installed not to long before the most recent. What I can't remember with certainty is if it worked with the previous update or not. I really would like to roll the firmware back several versions, but don't know how to do that.

Edit: I guess my first explanation could be confusing. Pretend there are three firmware versions, A, B, and C with C being the most recent. I know it worked with A, but can't remember if it quit working with B after I installed or if it worked for a period of time and then quit. It never worked with C.
What are the benefits of having a service remote on the F8500? And what is the remote model number?
AMartin56 is online now  
post #3472 of 3472 Unread Today, 11:15 PM
Member
 
SteveWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMartin56 View Post
What are the benefits of having a service remote on the F8500? And what is the remote model number?
The model number is AA81-00243A. With the service remote I can press two buttons and access the enhanced service menu. The enhanced service menu has an advanced sub menu and by highlighting that and pressing "0 0 0 0" I could access it. The advanced menu would let me change the default service menu picture mode from Dynamic to Movie among other settings that I don't remember off the top of my head. Plus the service remote is much smaller and the buttons make it easier to navigate the service menu. I'm sure there are many other functions that I don't know about.

Why do I want to dig around in the service menu? I'm an engineer and I just can't help it.

Steve
SteveWK is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off