F8500 Recommended Settings Thread..... - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 2203 Old 05-19-2013, 08:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 3,563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by pieandchips View Post

How do you know if they don't? biggrin.gif

First calibrate the Movie mode. Input those numbers into CAL-DAY & Night. If there are issues they'll show themselves.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Syllogistic View Post

Can I ask, for those who've calibrated the F8500, what type of pattern are you using?

The calibrators at the Shootout recommended Windows APL patterns for the F8500. They didn't say why.

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 2203 Old 05-19-2013, 09:33 AM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzard767 View Post

The calibrators at the Shootout recommended Windows APL patterns for the F8500. They didn't say why.

Less ABL?
I used Windows APL.
pieandchips is offline  
post #363 of 2203 Old 05-19-2013, 09:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 3,563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by pieandchips View Post

Less ABL?
I used Windows APL.

Yes, less ABL, but they liked APL patterns for the F8500 and 10-18% Windows on Black for the V & ZT.

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is offline  
post #364 of 2203 Old 05-19-2013, 12:52 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
^ Interesting, as the bigger the window is I would expect more ABL kicking in. Perhaps the size/light intensity is just below where ABL activity begins on these sets.

One thing I did notice was whenever the menu system is displayed (i.e. always when adjusting things), the meter picks that up (must be the diffused light bouncing around inside the filters) and the readings changed slightly.
Therefore I made all the readings with menu/slider up as opposed to half and half so as to balance the readings with the same spurious data.
-Correct way to go?
pieandchips is offline  
post #365 of 2203 Old 05-19-2013, 01:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 3,563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 328
If the menu is affecting the readings, do a run with the menu off, make the approximate adjustments, turn the menu off, do another run. Iterate until you are satisfied.

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is offline  
post #366 of 2203 Old 05-19-2013, 01:53 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Yeah maybe sometime soon. It would increase the calibration time by a heck of a lot, especially having to drill down into the over spanned menu areas. I recall a comment from D-Nice saying the menu sliders affected readings slightly.

I wish this TV had Autocal and/or a method of altering the settings via IP.

That would be nice. Hopefully by the time the K9000 OLED comes out tongue.gif
pieandchips is offline  
post #367 of 2203 Old 05-19-2013, 07:20 PM
Newbie
 
123BigRed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pieandchips

Two questions:

1. Black optimizer is off and greyed out, how do I change this
2. Same issue for white balance (10 pts)

Any suggestions?
123BigRed is offline  
post #368 of 2203 Old 05-19-2013, 07:28 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
^ What is your source?
pieandchips is offline  
post #369 of 2203 Old 05-19-2013, 07:41 PM
Newbie
 
123BigRed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Blu-ray
123BigRed is offline  
post #370 of 2203 Old 05-19-2013, 07:48 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Change your Picture mode to Movie. I think you may be in another mode.
You should get all options playing a blu ray.
pieandchips is offline  
post #371 of 2203 Old 05-20-2013, 06:53 AM
Senior Member
 
3dprojector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any limitation that you should not go beyond when tweaking your TV's picture to avoid damaging your TV,and which sub-menu exactly that you have to practice more caution when adjusting?
thanks
3dprojector is offline  
post #372 of 2203 Old 05-20-2013, 07:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,335
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3dprojector View Post

Is there any limitation that you should not go beyond when tweaking your TV's picture to avoid damaging your TV,and which sub-menu exactly that you have to practice more caution when adjusting?
thanks

Not sure what you are refering to as you should be able to adjust any of the standard modes (normal menu) without "damaging" your TV. If you go into the service menu however, you can cause some real damage and unless you know exactly what you are doing stay out as any changes made there will not be covered by warranty)......
Ph8te is online now  
post #373 of 2203 Old 05-20-2013, 08:04 AM
Senior Member
 
3dprojector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post

Not sure what you are refering to as you should be able to adjust any of the standard modes (normal menu) without "damaging" your TV. If you go into the service menu however, you can cause some real damage and unless you know exactly what you are doing stay out as any changes made there will not be covered by warranty)......

thanks,I'll be more specific,e.g. here it say's
Code:
Cell Light -16 (Adjust level to taste - cell 16 = 45fL/Average Bright)
to your taste,does that mean I can go all the way down,let's say to 3-4?

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1467675/f8500-recommended-settings-thread/150#post_23308141
3dprojector is offline  
post #374 of 2203 Old 05-20-2013, 08:04 AM
Senior Member
 
3dprojector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post

Not sure what you are refering to as you should be able to adjust any of the standard modes (normal menu) without "damaging" your TV. If you go into the service menu however, you can cause some real damage and unless you know exactly what you are doing stay out as any changes made there will not be covered by warranty)......

thanks,I'll be more specific,e.g. here it say's
Code:
Cell Light -16 (Adjust level to taste - cell 16 = 45fL/Average Bright)
to your taste,does that mean I can go all the way down,let's say to 3-4?

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1467675/f8500-recommended-settings-thread/150#post_23308141
3dprojector is offline  
post #375 of 2203 Old 05-20-2013, 08:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,335
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3dprojector View Post

thanks,I'll be more specific,e.g. here it say's
Code:
Cell Light -16 (Adjust level to taste - cell 16 = 45fL/Average Bright)
to your taste,does that mean I can go all the way down,let's say to 3-4?

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1467675/f8500-recommended-settings-thread/150#post_23308141

you could if you want, but at 3-4 the set would almost be off wink.gif Remember the settings are just a starting point, adjust to your tastes so that you'll be happy with the picture smile.gif
Ph8te is online now  
post #376 of 2203 Old 05-20-2013, 08:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Slickman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I see at the shootout that the gamma seems to have been set to 2.4. I also see people on here calibrating to a higher gamma also, why is this? I thought 2.22 was the standard? Do you have to calibrate to a higher gamma if you're going with a higher ftl? I'm getting the 60" soon and I'm just wondering what gamma I should get mine calibrated to, I like about 50 ftl. I'm guessing Cell 18 would be about 50 ftl?
Slickman is offline  
post #377 of 2203 Old 05-20-2013, 09:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
hungro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by pieandchips View Post

^ Interesting, as the bigger the window is I would expect more ABL kicking in. Perhaps the size/light intensity is just below where ABL activity begins on these sets.

One thing I did notice was whenever the menu system is displayed (i.e. always when adjusting things), the meter picks that up (must be the diffused light bouncing around inside the filters) and the readings changed slightly.
Therefore I made all the readings with menu/slider up as opposed to half and half so as to balance the readings with the same spurious data.
-Correct way to go?

It takes much longer to do it with the menu off then , making a change and then take the menu off again , and so on. I just changed and did it with the menu off and then measured a full run with menu off and then adjusted again with the menu on and finally a run with menu off. The changes are very minor with the menu on but yes it does affect the readings though minor.
hungro is offline  
post #378 of 2203 Old 05-20-2013, 09:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
hungro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3dprojector View Post

Is there any limitation that you should not go beyond when tweaking your TV's picture to avoid damaging your TV,and which sub-menu exactly that you have to practice more caution when adjusting?
thanks

I wouldn't enter the service menu, this is where you could possibly brick your tv. There is no limitation in the user menu the only thing is if you don't' have a meter I would just use a free disk or a set up disk and do a basic picture set up. Copying someone elses calibrated settings don't appy to your tv set. Basic picture control set up includes , Contrast, Brightness, Color/Tint, Sharpness and turning off any enhancements. Do not adjust white balance without a meter.
hungro is offline  
post #379 of 2203 Old 05-20-2013, 09:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
hungro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slickman View Post

I see at the shootout that the gamma seems to have been set to 2.24. I also see people on here calibrating to a higher gamma also, why is this? I thought 2.22 was the standard? Do you have to calibrate to a higher gamma if you're going with a higher ftl? I'm getting the 60" soon and I'm just wondering what gamma I should get mine calibrated to, I like about 50 ftl. I'm guessing Cell 18 would be about 50 ftl?

Higher gamma is usually dependent on the light in the enviroment, a dark room is a higher gamma ex: 2.4. The shoot out calibrated it to 2.4 in a dark room setting i don't think it was 2.24. Not all movies are calibrated to 2.22 , actually there is really no standard in the sense that one studio doing the mastering has it set to a specific value it's kind of all over the place. But a good aim is for 2.25, some calibrators say between 2.22 and 2.35.
hungro is offline  
post #380 of 2203 Old 05-20-2013, 11:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 394
I think this was vaguely discussed previously, but has anyone done measurements between the cell light and contrast to determine the best combination to minimize ABL? I know the F8500 has less noticeable ABL in general, but just trying to get some kind of indication as far as interaction (to optimize) and such particularly below 40fl. I was going to ask Chad to explore this on my set when he eventually comes out, but in the meantime just looking for an indication.

DavidHir is offline  
post #381 of 2203 Old 05-20-2013, 11:25 AM
Senior Member
 
3dprojector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hungro View Post

I wouldn't enter the service menu, this is where you could possibly brick your tv. There is no limitation in the user menu the only thing is if you don't' have a meter I would just use a free disk or a set up disk and do a basic picture set up. Copying someone elses calibrated settings don't appy to your tv set. Basic picture control set up includes , Contrast, Brightness, Color/Tint, Sharpness and turning off any enhancements. Do not adjust white balance without a meter.
thanks hungro,Neither do I
all I'm asking is about picture menu/sub-menu?
3dprojector is offline  
post #382 of 2203 Old 05-20-2013, 11:19 PM
Member
 
Issuj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Finlandia
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody else has problems with setting calibration values in their F8500 due to slow menu? About every time I try to play with the calibration menu it practically crashes after a while (takes minute or two to respond to remote) and is making it impossible to dive e.g. color settings where you have to set several different values in the submenu. Rebooting the TV does not seem to help.
Issuj is offline  
post #383 of 2203 Old 05-21-2013, 05:18 AM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
^Yes I had that before a couple of times. The fix was to pull the plug for 10 seconds and make the TV do a cold boot.
The menu should return to normal fluid operation after that.
Issuj likes this.
pieandchips is offline  
post #384 of 2203 Old 05-23-2013, 03:40 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Updated calibration to revision 3.1
Very slight tweaks to colorspace and 10p control.
Added a calibration report.
pieandchips is offline  
post #385 of 2203 Old 05-24-2013, 06:59 AM
Senior Member
 
3dprojector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^^
thanks,I thought this thread died,will try it later.
3dprojector is offline  
post #386 of 2203 Old 05-24-2013, 12:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Halimali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by pieandchips View Post

Updated calibration to revision 3.1
Very slight tweaks to colorspace and 10p control.
Added a calibration report.

Hey pie where is your new calibration? Would like to try it on my set

As of June 2013:
2,712 Bluray movies
1,593 DVD movies
356 bluray+DVD series
1,322 bluray+DVD Anime
Halimali is offline  
post #387 of 2203 Old 05-24-2013, 12:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
airgas1998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 42degsN 92degsW
Posts: 2,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Halimali View Post

Hey pie where is your new calibration? Would like to try it on my set

check the link in his sig.

Habit Forming....Wallet Burning Hobby....

64" Samsung F8500 Plasma
55" Samsung B8500 Full Array Lcd
Channel Master Dvr
Onkyo 818
Crown xls-2000
Sony Blu-Ray 790
Svs Ultra Towers/Center, Energy Rc-50 Surround
Svs Pb-13 Ultra Sub
airgas1998 is offline  
post #388 of 2203 Old 05-24-2013, 01:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
Halimali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Thank u Airgas

As of June 2013:
2,712 Bluray movies
1,593 DVD movies
356 bluray+DVD series
1,322 bluray+DVD Anime
Halimali is offline  
post #389 of 2203 Old 05-24-2013, 01:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Halimali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Pie
THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU.
Your calibration is so good to my set. Very happy with the result.
The blacks are inkier now, love the colors too
Great job my friend

As of June 2013:
2,712 Bluray movies
1,593 DVD movies
356 bluray+DVD series
1,322 bluray+DVD Anime
Halimali is offline  
post #390 of 2203 Old 05-24-2013, 01:58 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
smile.gif

Good good glad it's helping.
pieandchips is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off