F8500 Recommended Settings Thread..... - Page 145 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 324Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4321 of 4326 Old 08-10-2016, 11:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 7,118
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1187 Post(s)
Liked: 1187
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilipsPhanatic View Post
The "Soap Opera Effect" is just that videotape look that film and other sources get when you have a setting set to ON, right ?
yes correct everything has that live camera feel to it

55EG9100 calibrated by Chad_B
55ST60
Time Warner Cable/Oppo 103d/ Sony XT1 Soundbase/Harmony 650
Calman Enthusiast/Chromapure Standard with Auto Cal
My JS9500 Calibration review(CHADB)http://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post36534866
chunon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4322 of 4326 Old 08-13-2016, 07:13 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quick question about input resolution. I have had my old Xfinity X1 box set to output 1080i and had the tv's Film Mode set to Auto1 for years. Well my stb died and the new box has an output setting of 1080p. It looks great but I just realized that Film Mode is now greyed out on the tv. I have to assume the X1 is not doing any 3:2 pulldown before it upconverts, would I be better off using the 1080i output on the box and getting back those settings in the tv or am I just overthinking this.

Opinions please....
Chris N. is offline  
post #4323 of 4326 Old 08-14-2016, 05:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 13,454
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2789 Post(s)
Liked: 1954
Yes, 1080i is probably a better option for you if the X1 box doesn't have inverse telecine capability.
Stereodude is offline  
post #4324 of 4326 Old 08-15-2016, 09:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 210 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris N. View Post
Quick question about input resolution. I have had my old Xfinity X1 box set to output 1080i and had the tv's Film Mode set to Auto1 for years. Well my stb died and the new box has an output setting of 1080p. It looks great but I just realized that Film Mode is now greyed out on the tv. I have to assume the X1 is not doing any 3:2 pulldown before it upconverts, would I be better off using the 1080i output on the box and getting back those settings in the tv or am I just overthinking this.

Opinions please....
If the STB has a signal pass-through mode (auto mode) I would use that and let the TV do the processing. If not, then I would leave it on 1080i (assuming the sources is 1080i). Basically, you want it to match your source material and feed that directly to the tv.
Michael Vincent Praino is offline  
post #4325 of 4326 Old Yesterday, 11:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 210 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I've noticed that the contrast setting can affect banding on a greyscale ramp pattern. Is it worth finding a contrast setting that shows less banding (ie. 92 instead of 95) or is this an unreliable test? Not sure how the grayscale ramp would be affected at different APLs, etc.
Michael Vincent Praino is offline  
post #4326 of 4326 Old Today, 09:30 PM
Member
 
birish21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is there any way to turn off black optimization when there are no inputs connected to the TV? No matter what I do the option is grayed out. When using smart hub and watching dark scenes I am getting screen mirroring on the bottom and the only way I have heard to fix it is to turn off BO but I can't.
birish21 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off