F8500 Recommended Settings Thread..... - Page 145 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 324Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4321 of 4333 Old 08-13-2016, 08:13 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quick question about input resolution. I have had my old Xfinity X1 box set to output 1080i and had the tv's Film Mode set to Auto1 for years. Well my stb died and the new box has an output setting of 1080p. It looks great but I just realized that Film Mode is now greyed out on the tv. I have to assume the X1 is not doing any 3:2 pulldown before it upconverts, would I be better off using the 1080i output on the box and getting back those settings in the tv or am I just overthinking this.

Opinions please....
Chris N. is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4322 of 4333 Old 08-14-2016, 06:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 13,664
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2950 Post(s)
Liked: 2112
Yes, 1080i is probably a better option for you if the X1 box doesn't have inverse telecine capability.
Stereodude is online now  
post #4323 of 4333 Old 08-15-2016, 10:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris N. View Post
Quick question about input resolution. I have had my old Xfinity X1 box set to output 1080i and had the tv's Film Mode set to Auto1 for years. Well my stb died and the new box has an output setting of 1080p. It looks great but I just realized that Film Mode is now greyed out on the tv. I have to assume the X1 is not doing any 3:2 pulldown before it upconverts, would I be better off using the 1080i output on the box and getting back those settings in the tv or am I just overthinking this.

Opinions please....
If the STB has a signal pass-through mode (auto mode) I would use that and let the TV do the processing. If not, then I would leave it on 1080i (assuming the sources is 1080i). Basically, you want it to match your source material and feed that directly to the tv.
Michael Vincent Praino is offline  
post #4324 of 4333 Old 08-29-2016, 12:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I've noticed that the contrast setting can affect banding on a greyscale ramp pattern. Is it worth finding a contrast setting that shows less banding (ie. 92 instead of 95) or is this an unreliable test? Not sure how the grayscale ramp would be affected at different APLs, etc.
Michael Vincent Praino is offline  
post #4325 of 4333 Old 08-30-2016, 10:30 PM
Member
 
birish21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is there any way to turn off black optimization when there are no inputs connected to the TV? No matter what I do the option is grayed out. When using smart hub and watching dark scenes I am getting screen mirroring on the bottom and the only way I have heard to fix it is to turn off BO but I can't.
birish21 is offline  
post #4326 of 4333 Old 08-31-2016, 10:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,059
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1590 Post(s)
Liked: 1517
Quote:
Originally Posted by birish21 View Post
Is there any way to turn off black optimization when there are no inputs connected to the TV? No matter what I do the option is grayed out. When using smart hub and watching dark scenes I am getting screen mirroring on the bottom and the only way I have heard to fix it is to turn off BO but I can't.
if it's greyed out it means isn't disabled, and there's no way to turn it on.

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1130K, 7.1/5.1.2 audio
Sources: HTPC(Enby), PS3, XBOX360, Wii
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is offline  
post #4327 of 4333 Old 08-31-2016, 11:32 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by birish21 View Post
Is there any way to turn off black optimization when there are no inputs connected to the TV? No matter what I do the option is grayed out. When using smart hub and watching dark scenes I am getting screen mirroring on the bottom and the only way I have heard to fix it is to turn off BO but I can't.
you can actually turn it off by enabling cal-day and cal-night in the service menu. I am not sure the exact way to enable these modes but I know it has been posted in this thread before and you can probably search for it. It is weird but enabling those modes turns off Black optimizer for the built in apps. after you enable the modes, it will still be grayed out but it will say "off"
Michael Vincent Praino is offline  
post #4328 of 4333 Old 08-31-2016, 09:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,059
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1590 Post(s)
Liked: 1517
i just double checked, and the BO is greyed out at whatever setting i have it set to with my regular inputs. i still believe that it being greyed out is the same as it being off, but if you really want it to say off, then just plug something into one of the inputs, change the BO to off, and then go back to what you're doing now.

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1130K, 7.1/5.1.2 audio
Sources: HTPC(Enby), PS3, XBOX360, Wii
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is offline  
post #4329 of 4333 Old 09-01-2016, 02:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 17,550
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1224 Post(s)
Liked: 538
Why would someone want black optomizer left off?
JimP is offline  
post #4330 of 4333 Old 09-14-2016, 05:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 38
For white/color clipping, should both run all the way up through 255? Right now I don't have any white clipping but my red channel clips around 245.
Michael Vincent Praino is offline  
post #4331 of 4333 Old 09-14-2016, 05:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 13,664
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2950 Post(s)
Liked: 2112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Vincent Praino View Post
For white/color clipping, should both run all the way up through 255? Right now I don't have any white clipping but my red channel clips around 245.
That depends on what signal you're sending the TV (RGB or YCrCb) and what your expectations are. For video content that's not really a problem since the levels are supposed to max out at 235.
Stereodude is online now  
post #4332 of 4333 Old 09-14-2016, 05:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post
That depends on what signal you're sending the TV (RGB or YCrCb) and what your expectations are. For video content that's not really a problem since the levels are supposed to max out at 235.
I mainly watch content over my Chromecast (ie. Netflix, HBO GO, etc).
Michael Vincent Praino is offline  
post #4333 of 4333 Old 09-14-2016, 08:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,728
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1290 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Nice blacks don't you think?

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
asere is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off