F8500 Recommended Settings Thread..... - Page 147 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 352Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4381 of 4407 Old 03-26-2017, 07:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by muffinmcfluffin View Post
Well, I tried the update through USB. I figured what the hell, if life is trying to tell me to get a new 4K set, bricking it via firmware would be the way to go.

All told though, the update went smoothly and I reset all of my settings. So it's safe to say this update is for this PDP.

To the naked eye, I see no difference. I always like to pretend that things are sharper and blacks are deeper than before, but that is likely just placebo kicking in. No visual change, for better or worse, that I can see from an immediate look at things. Of course, I should have really looked at some significant shots of a film before and after to make that official judgment. I don't have equipment to measure with, is all.

If I'm lucky, it helped with brightness pops in 3D and with input lag in Game/PC mode. Maybe it did, maybe it didn't. I don't play with apps so I couldn't tell you if they added/removed/changed anything on that front.

And maybe I'm high or something, but I noticed that when you change aspect ratios, you can move the screen in Screen Fit. Could you always do this? I thought this was only an option in Wide Fit. If Screen Fit always allowed this, then just ignore me heh.

MJC still kicks in if you turn off CS, by the way.

So... I think it's a safe update. I just don't know if it's a worthy one. Maybe other guinea pigs can test it now that you know it's okay to do.
How did you get the usb update to work? I have put both the zip and extracted update on two different fat32 formatted usb devices and the tv doesn't see the upgrade on either of them.
Michael Vincent Praino is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4382 of 4407 Old 03-26-2017, 09:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
muffinmcfluffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Bruno, California
Posts: 1,662
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Vincent Praino View Post
How did you get the usb update to work? I have put both the zip and extracted update on two different fat32 formatted usb devices and the tv doesn't see the upgrade on either of them.
I used 7zip to extract the entire folder into a FAT32 USB stick, and inserted it into the bottommost port on the TV. Up popped a menu to search my drive for music, photos, or video.

I exited out of that menu, went to the television's main menu and to Support --> Software Update. When I press "Update Now," an prompt pops up that asks "Do you want to search the connected USB device for update files?"

The other day, when I selected "Yes," it would show me that I was able to update. Now when I try, it says: "No valid update files found., Please check your USB device and try again." This is because my TV is now as updated as possible.

My guess is if you are already on 1215, it won't be able to update for you. My current version says 1215, not 1215.2. I don't know if there is a difference between the two, but like I said, I came from 1209 to this one, so mine was definitely an update at the time. from 1215 to 1215.2 though, I can't guarantee that it will try and do the update.

Hope this helps.

Living Room: Samsung PN60F8500 PDP / Anthem MRX 720 / Klipsch RC-62 II / Klipsch RF-82 II (x2) / SVS PC13-Ultra / Sony MDR-7506 Professional / Sony PS3 / DirecTV HR44-500 / DarbeeVision DVP-5000 Darblet / Panamax M5400-PM / miniDSP UMIK‑1 USB
Bedroom: Samsung PN59D7000 PDP / Energy Power Bar Elite Soundbar & SW / Astro A50 / Sony PS4 / DirecTV C41W-500 / DarbeeVision DVP-5000 Darblet / Hauppauge HD PVR 2
Classroom: SMART Board X800 / Yamaha RX-V667 / Insignia NS-B2111 (x2) / SVS SB-2000
muffinmcfluffin is online now  
post #4383 of 4407 Old 03-26-2017, 01:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
9179mhb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Another participant ("p5brown?") said he was able to download/install firmware version: 1215.2 from the Internet, but I don't know what prior FW level he was using at the time. My PDP has FW ver. 1215 installed and reports no new updates are available when running the update utility against Samsung's web portal.

From what you're saying it appears for those of us @ ver. 1215 the USB image won't work to update, the PDP's firmware version, to 1215.2 either.

Last edited by 9179mhb; 03-26-2017 at 01:55 PM.
9179mhb is offline  
 
post #4384 of 4407 Old 03-26-2017, 09:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 8,780
Mentioned: 190 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3133 Post(s)
Liked: 2447
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9179mhb View Post
Another participant ("p5brown?") said he was able to download/install firmware version: 1215.2 from the Internet, but I don't know what prior FW level he was using at the time. My PDP has FW ver. 1215 installed and reports no new updates are available when running the update utility against Samsung's web portal.

From what you're saying it appears for those of us @ ver. 1215 the USB image won't work to update, the PDP's firmware version, to 1215.2 either.
1212 (or was it 1213?) on the set, then when I checked for FW update, not really expecting to see one, it said there was a new FW update 1215, and down loaded. No USB drive involved. (The URL was only for those looking for it.)

UN65HU9000 with SEK-3500U in JS Mod Mode + Input at 1080P 60HZ 444. 4K separate input- Mine
UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U / UN32EH5300 (On floor and up for sale) / 2 X LG 55LHXs - wife's ! New addition UN40J5200AF
PN64F8500 still up for sale
p5browne is online now  
post #4385 of 4407 Old 03-27-2017, 07:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
9179mhb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
1212 (or was it 1213?) on the set, then when I checked for FW update, not really expecting to see one, it said there was a new FW update 1215, and down loaded. No USB drive involved. (The URL was only for those looking for it.)
Thanks. The speculation is if already at 1215 then 1215.2 is not available. Not sure why? Either the difference is so small it's not needed or perhaps Samsung's firmware update utility does not compare prior/current versions past the least significant digit to the left of the decimal point.
9179mhb is offline  
post #4386 of 4407 Old 03-27-2017, 07:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 8,780
Mentioned: 190 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3133 Post(s)
Liked: 2447
I used the whole numbers since I couldn't remember what came after the period. So, 1215.2 is probably what it is. Samsung does not firmware update anything except the next whole number up, or several whole numbers up.

UN65HU9000 with SEK-3500U in JS Mod Mode + Input at 1080P 60HZ 444. 4K separate input- Mine
UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U / UN32EH5300 (On floor and up for sale) / 2 X LG 55LHXs - wife's ! New addition UN40J5200AF
PN64F8500 still up for sale
p5browne is online now  
post #4387 of 4407 Old 03-30-2017, 05:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,134
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1587 Post(s)
Liked: 338
When you use the f8500 stand that comes with it does it just snap into place when you remove the rear plastic tabs or do they need screws?
I've had mine on the wall and might place it now on a tv stand.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
asere is online now  
post #4388 of 4407 Old 03-30-2017, 08:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,454
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1772 Post(s)
Liked: 1689
Quote:
Originally Posted by asere View Post
When you use the f8500 stand that comes with it does it just snap into place when you remove the rear plastic tabs or do they need screws?
I've had mine on the wall and might place it now on a tv stand.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
there are screws

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1130K, 7.1/5.1.2 audio
Sources: HTPC(Enby), PS3, XBOX360, Wii
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is online now  
post #4389 of 4407 Old 03-30-2017, 08:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,134
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1587 Post(s)
Liked: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by fierce_gt View Post
there are screws
Are the screws already on or inside the plastic tabs on the tv when you remove it?

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
asere is online now  
post #4390 of 4407 Old 04-23-2017, 11:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rickardl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 2,144
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Is anyone using MadTPG as pattern generator for calibration of the 64" with good results?
Any recommendations for the settings (window size, background, APL, etc) for MadTPG?
rickardl is offline  
post #4391 of 4407 Old 04-24-2017, 09:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 8,780
Mentioned: 190 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3133 Post(s)
Liked: 2447
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickardl View Post
Is anyone using MadTPG as pattern generator for calibration of the 64" with good results?
Any recommendations for the settings (window size, background, APL, etc) for MadTPG?
Windows size 18% max. some are using 10% windows.
DO NOT LEAVE patterns of the upper IREs on for any period of time. Best to do a sweep, adjust, then sweep again.
rickardl likes this.

UN65HU9000 with SEK-3500U in JS Mod Mode + Input at 1080P 60HZ 444. 4K separate input- Mine
UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U / UN32EH5300 (On floor and up for sale) / 2 X LG 55LHXs - wife's ! New addition UN40J5200AF
PN64F8500 still up for sale
p5browne is online now  
post #4392 of 4407 Old 07-31-2017, 07:53 AM
Senior Member
 
jayraysaiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 49
When calibrating (a little late to the game ha ha) there is a white balance and a 10 point. I am curious if the white balance is for the high end i.e. 100% white. Is this correct?

EDIT:

I totally missed there were gains and offsets in the menu. Gains 2pt high, offsets 2pt low.

LGOLED65B6P/77G7P
Onkyo Tx NR3030;HDBaseT
Klipsch 7.1.4
R-3800-W II Fronts ; R-5502-W II Center
RS-42 II Surrounds ; CDT-3800-C II Heights, R-112SW Sub

Last edited by jayraysaiz; 07-31-2017 at 08:07 AM.
jayraysaiz is offline  
post #4393 of 4407 Old 08-06-2017, 05:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 8,780
Mentioned: 190 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3133 Post(s)
Liked: 2447
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayraysaiz View Post
When calibrating (a little late to the game ha ha) there is a white balance and a 10 point. I am curious if the white balance is for the high end i.e. 100% white. Is this correct?

EDIT:

I totally missed there were gains and offsets in the menu. Gains 2pt high, offsets 2pt low.
Gains - 100% Offsets - 30%
jayraysaiz likes this.

UN65HU9000 with SEK-3500U in JS Mod Mode + Input at 1080P 60HZ 444. 4K separate input- Mine
UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U / UN32EH5300 (On floor and up for sale) / 2 X LG 55LHXs - wife's ! New addition UN40J5200AF
PN64F8500 still up for sale
p5browne is online now  
post #4394 of 4407 Old 10-01-2017, 11:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 8,780
Mentioned: 190 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3133 Post(s)
Liked: 2447
FW # 1217.0 downloadable on the set. Not available on any Samsung website that I was able to find. All still showing 1215.2.

UN65HU9000 with SEK-3500U in JS Mod Mode + Input at 1080P 60HZ 444. 4K separate input- Mine
UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U / UN32EH5300 (On floor and up for sale) / 2 X LG 55LHXs - wife's ! New addition UN40J5200AF
PN64F8500 still up for sale

Last edited by p5browne; 10-01-2017 at 12:11 PM.
p5browne is online now  
post #4395 of 4407 Old 10-03-2017, 07:52 AM
Senior Member
 
jayraysaiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
FW # 1217.0 downloadable on the set. Not available on any Samsung website that I was able to find. All still showing 1215.2.


Did the update say what it is adding/modifying?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

LGOLED65B6P/77G7P
Onkyo Tx NR3030;HDBaseT
Klipsch 7.1.4
R-3800-W II Fronts ; R-5502-W II Center
RS-42 II Surrounds ; CDT-3800-C II Heights, R-112SW Sub
jayraysaiz is offline  
post #4396 of 4407 Old 10-03-2017, 08:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,134
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1587 Post(s)
Liked: 338
Anyone here using standard mode vs movie mode because movie move is too dark?
Movie move for me is too dark regardless of what setting I've used.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
asere is online now  
post #4397 of 4407 Old 10-04-2017, 10:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,454
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1772 Post(s)
Liked: 1689
Quote:
Originally Posted by asere View Post
Anyone here using standard mode vs movie mode because movie move is too dark?
Movie move for me is too dark regardless of what setting I've used.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
no, but standard mode can still be calibrated to a good image. I did that with my 'game mode' settings. it will be brighter, but not by as much as you might want. I found most of the extra brightness in standard mode is achieved through boosting blue and incorrect gamma. once you 'calibrate' those things, my brightness was reduced from over 60ftl, to closer to 45ftl(my movie mode topped out around 40ftl, but i reduced it through voltage tweaks to around 32ish, which i find more comfortable)
sickkent likes this.

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1130K, 7.1/5.1.2 audio
Sources: HTPC(Enby), PS3, XBOX360, Wii
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is online now  
post #4398 of 4407 Old 10-05-2017, 08:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 8,780
Mentioned: 190 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3133 Post(s)
Liked: 2447
Quote:
Originally Posted by fierce_gt View Post
no, but standard mode can still be calibrated to a good image. I did that with my 'game mode' settings. it will be brighter, but not by as much as you might want. I found most of the extra brightness in standard mode is achieved through boosting blue and incorrect gamma. once you 'calibrate' those things, my brightness was reduced from over 60ftl, to closer to 45ftl(my movie mode topped out around 40ftl, but i reduced it through voltage tweaks to around 32ish, which i find more comfortable)
From extensive tests I've done - in just about all cases, Movie Mode is the best mode for precise calibrations. Standard, despite the limited calibrations, is not on the mark! Certain things seem to be augmented!

UN65HU9000 with SEK-3500U in JS Mod Mode + Input at 1080P 60HZ 444. 4K separate input- Mine
UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U / UN32EH5300 (On floor and up for sale) / 2 X LG 55LHXs - wife's ! New addition UN40J5200AF
PN64F8500 still up for sale
p5browne is online now  
post #4399 of 4407 Old 10-06-2017, 10:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,454
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1772 Post(s)
Liked: 1689
no doubt movie mode is more accurate, but i did not find standard mode 'offensive' in any way. i believe i was able to get dE's around 3 and under with all calibrations. i do not recall noticing anything 'artificial' looking like extra processing, but it was also game mode so maybe there's a difference between standard in game mode, and standard not in game mode.

this is actually in 'pc' mode which is even more limited...










certainly not the 'near perfect' results you can get in movie mode, but better than your average tv's 'out of the box' presets

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1130K, 7.1/5.1.2 audio
Sources: HTPC(Enby), PS3, XBOX360, Wii
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is online now  
post #4400 of 4407 Old 10-07-2017, 07:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 8,780
Mentioned: 190 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3133 Post(s)
Liked: 2447
Why the 10% drop off? Are you meaning .3, which I calibrate to, or 3 which is OK for the average joe, but not AVS Members

Appears many of the CMS markers are outside their respective boxes.

UN65HU9000 with SEK-3500U in JS Mod Mode + Input at 1080P 60HZ 444. 4K separate input- Mine
UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U / UN32EH5300 (On floor and up for sale) / 2 X LG 55LHXs - wife's ! New addition UN40J5200AF
PN64F8500 still up for sale
p5browne is online now  
post #4401 of 4407 Old 10-07-2017, 01:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,134
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1587 Post(s)
Liked: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by fierce_gt View Post
no doubt movie mode is more accurate, but i did not find standard mode 'offensive' in any way. i believe i was able to get dE's around 3 and under with all calibrations. i do not recall noticing anything 'artificial' looking like extra processing, but it was also game mode so maybe there's a difference between standard in game mode, and standard not in game mode.

this is actually in 'pc' mode which is even more limited...










certainly not the 'near perfect' results you can get in movie mode, but better than your average tv's 'out of the box' presets
Thx. What cell and contrast are you using for movie mode?

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
asere is online now  
post #4402 of 4407 Old 10-07-2017, 07:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 8,780
Mentioned: 190 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3133 Post(s)
Liked: 2447
Only info I have.

It's re the amount of time set needs to be on before calibrating. (4 hours) Plus an earlier note.
Would turn set on and check current settings, but it's been put away until the next 3 to 4 month roll out.
Attached Files
File Type: txt F8500_Feb6_2015_Test.txt (766 Bytes, 3 views)
File Type: txt PN64F8500_May28_2014.txt (459 Bytes, 3 views)

UN65HU9000 with SEK-3500U in JS Mod Mode + Input at 1080P 60HZ 444. 4K separate input- Mine
UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U / UN32EH5300 (On floor and up for sale) / 2 X LG 55LHXs - wife's ! New addition UN40J5200AF
PN64F8500 still up for sale
p5browne is online now  
post #4403 of 4407 Old 10-07-2017, 07:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,454
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1772 Post(s)
Liked: 1689
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
Why the 10% drop off? Are you meaning .3, which I calibrate to, or 3 which is OK for the average joe, but not AVS Members

Appears many of the CMS markers are outside their respective boxes.
have you seen the calibration options in pc mode? haha. you basically have contrast and brightness, there are zero CMS controls. the standard mode outside of 'pc' is much better, but even the results i got in pc mode look pretty darn good. i used this for my gaming mode, but when i forgot to switch it, i didn't always notice right away(kinda depended on the content, and it was usually the fact i had the brightness set a couple notches too high to help me see what was hiding in the shadows while gaming)

i did mean 3, which is what i was told it about the limit of average human perception. if i calibrated my 10pt controls that tight, then ran a 20pt measurement, it's WAY worse average dE's. that was how i tried at first, and it never looked right. when i loosened up, and accepted dE's more around 1-2, i was able to keep the average dE under 1 on a 20pt run

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1130K, 7.1/5.1.2 audio
Sources: HTPC(Enby), PS3, XBOX360, Wii
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is online now  
post #4404 of 4407 Old 10-07-2017, 07:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,454
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1772 Post(s)
Liked: 1689
Quote:
Originally Posted by asere View Post
Thx. What cell and contrast are you using for movie mode?

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
i was learning how to calibrate when i bought the f8500, so i went through a LOT of different settings before i ended up on my current ones. keep in mind, i did some voltage tweaks to lower my MLL, which also lowered peak brightness.

my current cell is 20 and contrast is 95. people who understand samsung tv's a lot more than me, seem to know that reducing cell light actually messes with ABL so you don't want to that, and lowering contrast shifts the 10pt controls making it difficult to calibrate(this i can confirm). before learning this, i had the cell at 12. after learning it, but before the voltage tweaks, i had cell at 20, contrast at 100 and turn eco mode to low(i actually swear this just turned the abl on permanently. i never noticed any abl behaviour when i did this, but since doing the voltage tweak, it's too dark to turn eco on now)

anyway, for kicks and giggles, here are some of the first measurements i got with movie mode(certainly better numbers, and noticeable improvements in practice, but not drastic)







after playing with CMS: red never tracked really well on my set




and i opted to try a 1886 gamma curve. I've stuck with it since, i like it.


i actually have no idea what this is from, but i'm guessing it's from my later efforts since it's a 20pt measurement
Stereodude and asere like this.

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1130K, 7.1/5.1.2 audio
Sources: HTPC(Enby), PS3, XBOX360, Wii
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is online now  
post #4405 of 4407 Old 10-10-2017, 09:43 AM
Senior Member
 
schwock5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Certain picture settings carrying over

Not sure if this is because of any recent updates, but i used to have 2 modes calibrated...Movie and Standard. Movie was for 99% of viewing and i calibrated standard just for watching sports because on that i engaged the motion settings for smoothness. I did this because there's no remote control setting or easy way to simply turn on/off the motion settings, but by having 2 modes, you can easily switch between modes.
However, recently I noticed when engaging "standard" and going back to "movie" that it's keeping the motion settings in-tact, and not going to the settings i had on movie mode of "off". anyone else notice this?
schwock5 is offline  
post #4406 of 4407 Old 10-17-2017, 06:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,134
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1587 Post(s)
Liked: 338
Can someone please tell me what the green stripe that's across the tv at the bottom is?
I only see it on some channels that are non HD.http://cloud.tapatalk.com/s/59e6b153...017_203830.mp4

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
asere is online now  
post #4407 of 4407 Old 10-17-2017, 07:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,454
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1772 Post(s)
Liked: 1689
Quote:
Originally Posted by asere View Post
Can someone please tell me what the green stripe that's across the tv at the bottom is?
I only see it on some channels that are non HD.http://cloud.tapatalk.com/s/59e6b153...017_203830.mp4

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
if this is with 'screen fit', it could be an issue with the provider. there are still some channels that think it's 1998 and include some kind of 'border'. back in the day, crt's overscanned(zoomed in) and stations hid extra info in the borders.

while not the best solution, if you switch to "16:9" it should zoom in enough to hide the stripe.

PS, i didn't download the video or watch it, so if i'm way off, my apologies.

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1130K, 7.1/5.1.2 audio
Sources: HTPC(Enby), PS3, XBOX360, Wii
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off