F8500 Recommended Settings Thread..... - Page 76 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2251 of 2544 Old 08-04-2014, 03:18 PM
Member
 
ParityBit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Do you guys use yr movie settings for cable and sports too?
ParityBit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2252 of 2544 Old 08-04-2014, 03:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by ParityBit View Post
Do you guys use yr movie settings for cable and sports too?
I use the same settings. I copied the movie settings into day cal. The only difference is during movies cell light is 16. For sports and regular tv, I crank it up to 20.
wxman is offline  
post #2253 of 2544 Old 08-04-2014, 04:04 PM
Senior Member
 
9179mhb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Annoid View Post
Did you ever get a reply to this? I've got a PN60F8500 and I'm in the same boat. I do not know if I've changed this or not. It's currently set to P-W-D-85, but that may have been changed.

Does anyone know, or can anyone check please?

Thanks!
The font color for my 64F8500 is set to: P-W-D-85. I received a PM from another forum participant who verified this is the proper setting. My PDP has rendered a nice image since my post regarding this issue so I guess it must be correct.
9179mhb is offline  
post #2254 of 2544 Old 08-04-2014, 06:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Gradius2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Iquique, Chile
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
The only setting that stands out like a sore thumb is your Sharpness. Normal sharpness for Samsung tv's is 0. Some like to bump it up to 5 or 6, but 50 is about 50 times too much sharpness.
This model is a PL64F8500, Samsung changed that as it can go from 0 until 100.

So 50 is @ middle, and it's his default settings too.

[]s,
Fernando
Gradius2 is offline  
post #2255 of 2544 Old 08-04-2014, 06:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9,454
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 883 Post(s)
Liked: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gradius2 View Post
This model is a PL64F8500, Samsung changed that as it can go from 0 until 100.

So 50 is @ middle, and it's his default settings too.

Just because you CAN go that high doesn't mean you SHOULD go that high. Even 50 seems excessive. Really it should be 25 or below. The higher the sharpness the more likely you are to introduce artifacts into what you are watching.
Ph8te is online now  
post #2256 of 2544 Old 08-04-2014, 06:44 PM
Newbie
 
Annoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9179mhb View Post
The font color for my 64F8500 is set to: P-W-D-85. I received a PM from another forum participant who verified this is the proper setting. My PDP has rendered a nice image since my post regarding this issue so I guess it must be correct.
Thank you.
Mine works well also, so I guess it's right. Sorta had a brain cramp while I was playing with the service menu, clicked the button a few times without consciously watching the screen. When I realized, I just clicked the back arrow the same # of times, leaving it where it was, hopefully.
Annoid is offline  
post #2257 of 2544 Old 08-04-2014, 07:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Gradius2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Iquique, Chile
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
Just because you CAN go that high doesn't mean you SHOULD go that high. Even 50 seems excessive. Really it should be 25 or below. The higher the sharpness the more likely you are to introduce artifacts into what you are watching.
I perfectly know that. Been calibrating my TVs since 2006. 50 is the DEFAULT value, not something I changed because I never did.

Checking the manual from PN and it looks like 50 is the same as default too. Too weird Samsung choose 50 as default as it appears to be too much.

[]s,
Fernando
Gradius2 is offline  
post #2258 of 2544 Old 08-04-2014, 07:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 168
F8500 Recommended Settings Thread.....

^ I've been on this forum and the 8500 Owners forum since April/2013, and I have not seen anyone set sharpness on their plasma tv that high. Most calibrations I've seen for this tv have sharpness at 0, and a few have bumped it up to between 5-15. 50 is excessively high!! Ask the Expert calibrators for this tv on this and the Owner's forum....
Ph8te likes this.
DanF8500 is online now  
post #2259 of 2544 Old 08-04-2014, 07:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9,454
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 883 Post(s)
Liked: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gradius2 View Post
I perfectly know that. Been calibrating my TVs since 2006. 50 is the DEFAULT value, not something I changed because I never did.

Checking the manual from PN and it looks like 50 is the same as default too. Too weird Samsung choose 50 as default as it appears to be too much.

Defaults are usually set wrong unfortunately. If you calibrate your set with a meter you'll find out how off they are. The sharpness should be lowered to something below 25. It's not weird at manufacturers often set settings to appeal on showroom floors not be accurate.
Ph8te is online now  
post #2260 of 2544 Old 08-04-2014, 08:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Gradius2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Iquique, Chile
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
Defaults are usually set wrong unfortunately. If you calibrate your set with a meter you'll find out how off they are. The sharpness should be lowered to something below 25. It's not weird at manufacturers often set settings to appeal on showroom floors not be accurate.
I know, but 50 was too much.

[]s,
Fernando
Gradius2 is offline  
post #2261 of 2544 Old 08-04-2014, 08:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Gradius2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Iquique, Chile
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
^ I've been on this forum and the 8500 Owners forum since April/2013, and I have not seen anyone set sharpness on their plasma tv that high. Most calibrations I've seen for this tv have sharpness at 0, and a few have bumped it up to between 5-15. 50 is excessively high!! Ask the Expert calibrators for this tv on this and the Owner's forum....
50 is the default value, if you check the manual you'll see a pic where it shows 50 for it too.

[]s,
Fernando
Gradius2 is offline  
post #2262 of 2544 Old 08-04-2014, 08:41 PM
Member
 
cjpk248's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Are there any settings that would affect this issue I'm having in 3D?

The color temperature flashes back and forth between warm and cool in scenes from Alice in Wonderland and Avatar. I've isolated the issue to the TV's processing from many trials with different cables, players, and TV's.
cjpk248 is offline  
post #2263 of 2544 Old 08-04-2014, 08:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9,454
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 883 Post(s)
Liked: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gradius2 View Post
50 is the default value, if you check the manual you'll see a pic where it shows 50 for it too.

I think there may be some miscommunication going on. We are not doubting that the default is 50, what we are saying is that the settings you said you calibrated to (with a meter) were "off" since the sharpness was left at 50. I haven't seen anyone go that high after using a meter.
Ph8te is online now  
post #2264 of 2544 Old 08-04-2014, 09:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gradius2 View Post
50 is the default value, if you check the manual you'll see a pic where it shows 50 for it too.
Sharpness can be useful for non HD material. However, in general, HD material, especially blu ray, do not need sharpness enhancement, and should be set as close to zero as possible. My Pioneer Kuro defaults sharpness at zero, but in reality you lower sharpness to -15 to remove any sharpness enhancement for HD material.
wxman is offline  
post #2265 of 2544 Old 08-04-2014, 09:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjpk248 View Post
Are there any settings that would affect this issue I'm having in 3D?

The color temperature flashes back and forth between warm and cool in scenes from Alice in Wonderland and Avatar. I've isolated the issue to the TV's processing from many trials with different cables, players, and TV's.
Have you tried different 3D glasses?

I've not heard of any settings.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
post #2266 of 2544 Old 08-05-2014, 05:37 AM
Newbie
 
Annoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've noted that the default sharpness settings vary for the different viewing modes; Standard is 50, Movie is 20, for example.
I run mine at about 30, having picked that point as anywhere higher than that, you can see effects from it.. white outlines on screen logos, etc.
Annoid is offline  
post #2267 of 2544 Old 08-05-2014, 02:49 PM
Senior Member
 
9179mhb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Annoid View Post
Sorta had a brain cramp while I was playing with the service menu, clicked the button a few times without consciously watching the screen.
Yup, that is an all-too familiar experience I am accustomed to also.
9179mhb is offline  
post #2268 of 2544 Old 08-05-2014, 03:57 PM
Newbie
 
karting19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just received my 60F8500. Can someone give me break in settings ? I will run color slides for the first 100-200 hours.

thanks

Last edited by karting19; 08-05-2014 at 04:17 PM.
karting19 is offline  
post #2269 of 2544 Old 08-09-2014, 05:43 PM
Senior Member
 
MegaByte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maui Hawaii
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just brought a 60F8500 from VE. They recommend 150hrs.
MegaByte is offline  
post #2270 of 2544 Old 08-17-2014, 06:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Gradius2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Iquique, Chile
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I'm having hard time to get gamma @ 2.2

Any tips?

[]s,
Fernando
Gradius2 is offline  
post #2271 of 2544 Old 08-18-2014, 02:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
SiGGy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lenexa, Kansas
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gradius2 View Post
I'm having hard time to get gamma @ 2.2

Any tips?
What type/size pattern are you using? And which meter?

If you are trying to reproduce someone else's gamma curve you must use the same size/type pattern they did or you will have different results, even if you hit the curve correctly. This is because of the ABL, if you change the size of the pattern it effects the ABL differently. In other words if you calibrate with one pattern then go try and read it with a different size/type of pattern it will not read the same.

Gamma calibration on a plasma is a compromise, it can really only be calibrated for a small range of APL. Some (most) calibrators use patterns which represent an APL range which you will watch most often.

-SiGGy

Last edited by SiGGy; 08-18-2014 at 02:12 PM.
SiGGy is offline  
post #2272 of 2544 Old 08-18-2014, 04:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Gradius2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Iquique, Chile
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by SiGGy View Post
What type/size pattern are you using? And which meter?

If you are trying to reproduce someone else's gamma curve you must use the same size/type pattern they did or you will have different results, even if you hit the curve correctly. This is because of the ABL, if you change the size of the pattern it effects the ABL differently. In other words if you calibrate with one pattern then go try and read it with a different size/type of pattern it will not read the same.

Gamma calibration on a plasma is a compromise, it can really only be calibrated for a small range of APL. Some (most) calibrators use patterns which represent an APL range which you will watch most often.
Software: ChromaPure v2.5.3
Hardware/Generator: RadianceMini-3D (with last update installed)
Sensor: Display3 PRO

Using Windows size.

[]s,
Fernando
Gradius2 is offline  
post #2273 of 2544 Old 08-18-2014, 06:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
SiGGy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lenexa, Kansas
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gradius2 View Post
Software: ChromaPure v2.5.3
Hardware/Generator: RadianceMini-3D (with last update installed)
Sensor: Display3 PRO

Using Windows size.
Do you know what size windows?

What do you have the gamma control set at?

-SiGGy
SiGGy is offline  
post #2274 of 2544 Old 08-19-2014, 02:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Gradius2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Iquique, Chile
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by SiGGy View Post
Do you know what size windows?

What do you have the gamma control set at?
Normal windows size.

Gamma set at 0, trying with +1 now.

[]s,
Fernando
Gradius2 is offline  
post #2275 of 2544 Old 08-19-2014, 04:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
SiGGy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lenexa, Kansas
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gradius2 View Post
Normal windows size.

Gamma set at 0, trying with +1 now.

I'm not sure what size "normal" is. Try small windows, or small apl windows. When I get time I'll look up what size "normal" is for that generator.

Whatever size/type windows you use for gamma use the same size/type to adjust color.

The Gamma control might seem counter intuitive.

If you read a gamma of 2.0 and want 2.2 you would lower the gamma control.

If you read a gamma of 2.2 and you want 2.0 you would raise the gamma control.

Be sure to do a full 10 point reading very time you adjust the gamma control.

Once you get close with the gamma control you use the 10 point white balance to get you the rest of the way.

-SiGGy

Last edited by SiGGy; 08-19-2014 at 04:33 PM.
SiGGy is offline  
post #2276 of 2544 Old 08-19-2014, 04:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gradius2 View Post
Normal windows size.

Gamma set at 0, trying with +1 now.
Mine was calibrated with gamma at +1. It was the most accurate for my tv. OOTB it was almost dead perfect.
wxman is offline  
post #2277 of 2544 Old 08-19-2014, 08:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
Mine was calibrated with gamma at +1. It was the most accurate for my tv. OOTB it was almost dead perfect.
A +1 gamma on the 64F8500 (or at least on mine) will give you a gamma very close to 2.2 (or 2.23)......which to my eye is more pleasing for most content than the default at 0 gamma which works out to 2.34. Shadows at 2.34 are just a bit too dark.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
post #2278 of 2544 Old 08-20-2014, 05:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
SiGGy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lenexa, Kansas
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post
A +1 gamma on the 64F8500 (or at least on mine) will give you a gamma very close to 2.2 (or 2.23)......which to my eye is more pleasing for most content than the default at 0 gamma which works out to 2.34. Shadows at 2.34 are just a bit too dark.
If your feeling up for it. Try a bt.1886 gamma. It will be around 2.0 near black and 2.4 at full white. Excellent shadow detail. Content is graded against a CRT gamma curve which is anything but flat. So using a flat gamma doesn't make much sense to me. Bt.1886 gets you much closer to "accurate" than a flat gamma does. Also experiment with different size patterns. You will end up with different visual results... I always preferred small APL on samsung displays.

Just remember to redo your color with the same pattern after you have done gamma.

-SiGGy

Last edited by SiGGy; 08-20-2014 at 06:11 AM.
SiGGy is offline  
post #2279 of 2544 Old 08-20-2014, 08:48 PM
Newbie
 
CarbonFiberGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had my 64F8500 for almost a year now , and I'm very happy with the settings ,but one thing I keep going back and forth on is Cinemasmooth . I remember reading the cnet review stating it should be left off because of higher black levels . What is the general consensus for CinemaSmooth now ? Has anything changed with firmware ? I only watch blurays on this tv and just want what is considered the best picture, please let me know if you guys turn it on for 2D and 3D . I pop into this thread every couple weeks or so and usually get distracted reading something else looking for opinions on this , so I have searched . Let me know what your preferences are , thanks guys ...
CarbonFiberGuy is offline  
post #2280 of 2544 Old 08-20-2014, 09:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by SiGGy View Post
If your feeling up for it. Try a bt.1886 gamma. It will be around 2.0 near black and 2.4 at full white. Excellent shadow detail. Content is graded against a CRT gamma curve which is anything but flat. So using a flat gamma doesn't make much sense to me. Bt.1886 gets you much closer to "accurate" than a flat gamma does. Also experiment with different size patterns. You will end up with different visual results... I always preferred small APL on samsung displays.

Just remember to redo your color with the same pattern after you have done gamma.
Been there, done that.

Bottom line is some content looks better with a 2.2 gamma and other looks best with BT1886. I was under the impression that BT1886 was the defacto gamma but I find more content looking correct with 2.2.

By the way, with BT1886, don't you find the whites sometimes just a bit too hot? That's to be expected with 2.4 at the top end but just checking to see if you have the same experience.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread - Pn51f8500 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off