F8500 Recommended Settings Thread..... - Page 97 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 323Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-07-2014, 10:19 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 30,925
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1827 Post(s)
Liked: 1493
Quote:
Originally Posted by fierce_gt View Post
i'm a 'don't fix what isn't broken' kind of guy. before I bother going into the service menu, which resets my calibration, I want to know it's going to be worth it.
I wasn't aware of this, does accessing the hours of use display/readout constitute going into the service menu? It doesn't appear to have reset anything on my display by doing so.

Last edited by Keenan; 11-07-2014 at 05:42 PM. Reason: spelling
Keenan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-07-2014, 10:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 6,268
Mentioned: 84 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1287 Post(s)
Liked: 1028
zoyd is offline  
Old 11-07-2014, 10:36 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 30,925
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1827 Post(s)
Liked: 1493
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
My settings are preserved after I enter/exit the service menu, just have to change from dynamic back to movie after exiting.
If my settings had been reset I would have lost the CAL-DAY and CAL-NIGHT modes in the "Picture Mode' menu correct?

I seem to recall there is a procedure for exited the SM in a manner that does not reset everything, maybe that's what's tripping up those who have had it reset?
Keenan is online now  
Old 11-07-2014, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,462
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 744 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by fierce_gt View Post
the f8500 was the first display I calibrated with a meter, I definitely fell into this trap!

after calibrating some 'lesser' displays, I very quickly learned to accept dE's 0.9 as great, instead of something that needed fixing, haha. gamma even more so. using a display that doesn't have 10pt controls teaches you a lot of 'acceptance' haha.
Agreed. My 'main' TV is a 60 inch Sony NX720. Side lit LED but the local dimming is pretty effective and for the most part eliminates flash lighting (although you do get some light bleed around the edges so uniformity is not ideal). No 10 pt adjustments so I don't spend much time with it and the meter.

I received that TV as a 'don't sue us' concession from Sony for $1500 back in early 2012. At the time I considered a plasma but the room is bright and the F8500 didn't exist yet. But I'm grateful for that TV because I only use the F8500 for movies and use the Sony for video games or content heavy with logos etc. It's the best of both worlds...cable quality is garbage and I don't notice inaccurate colors etc on games. Besides even though the F8500 seems very resistant to IR so far old paranoia is hard to break!
AMartin56 is offline  
Old 11-07-2014, 10:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,462
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 744 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
If my settings had been reset I would have lost the CAL-DAY and CAL-NIGHT modes in the "Picture Mode' menu correct?

I seem to recall there is a procedure for exited the SM in a manner that does not reset everything, maybe that's what's tripping up those who have had it reset?
I check the panel time and temp quite a bit and never lose any settings. But then again I also keep a spread sheet with all of them after calibrating. LOL

I DO see some odd behavior when copying settings from input to input or reseting a mode but I can't quite put my finger on it so take that with a grain of salt.

All in all I much prefer this TV to the 50ST60 I had but I do like how Panasonic made it easier to move settings around. Their method was close to ideal IMO.
AMartin56 is offline  
Old 11-07-2014, 11:41 AM
Member
 
JL-F1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I think I read here somewhere it is thought that you no longer have to do the PC naming trick with the newest firmware, true?
JL-F1 is offline  
Old 11-07-2014, 02:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 3
How come my custom calibration settings don't apply to all the HDMI inputs?

Video: Samsung PN50C550 & PN64F8500
Audio: Infinity Kappa 8.1's powered by a Yamaha HTR-5590
wfarrell4 is offline  
Old 11-07-2014, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,462
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 744 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Here is a 2.2 gamma target at 40 ftL calibration. 50 inch model.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Settings.png
Views:	81
Size:	48.5 KB
ID:	353689   Click image for larger version

Name:	Measures.png
Views:	53
Size:	304.5 KB
ID:	353729   Click image for larger version

Name:	Gamma.png
Views:	45
Size:	6.5 KB
ID:	353737   Click image for larger version

Name:	RGB Levels.png
Views:	42
Size:	7.6 KB
ID:	353745   Click image for larger version

Name:	Temperature.png
Views:	45
Size:	6.4 KB
ID:	353753  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Luminance.png
Views:	41
Size:	10.2 KB
ID:	353761   Click image for larger version

Name:	CIE.png
Views:	53
Size:	164.5 KB
ID:	353769  
AMartin56 is offline  
Old 11-07-2014, 03:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dsskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 3,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Which do you prefer. Personally, unless it is a really dark room, I prefer 2.2 gamma.

ISF Calibrator
Samsung PN64F8500
Pioneer Kuro Elite Pro-111FD
Pioneer Kuro BDP-320
Displays are like 100% cotton t-shirts. Always buy a size larger than you think you'll need, as they tend to shrink over time.
dsskid is offline  
Old 11-07-2014, 04:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,896
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1505 Post(s)
Liked: 1446
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
I wasn't aware of this, does accessing the hours of use display/readout constitute going into the service menu? I doesn't appear to have reset anything on my display by doing so.
no
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
My settings are preserved after I enter/exit the service menu, just have to change from dynamic back to movie after exiting.
maybe I heard wrong. obviously I haven't been in the service menu myself.

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1130K, 7.1/5.1.2 audio
Sources: HTPC(Enby), PS3, XBOX360, Wii
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is offline  
Old 11-07-2014, 04:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,896
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1505 Post(s)
Liked: 1446
Quote:
Originally Posted by JL-F1 View Post
I think I read here somewhere it is thought that you no longer have to do the PC naming trick with the newest firmware, true?
depends on what you mean by this. there is definitely still a difference between game mode and pc mode.

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1130K, 7.1/5.1.2 audio
Sources: HTPC(Enby), PS3, XBOX360, Wii
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is offline  
Old 11-07-2014, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,896
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1505 Post(s)
Liked: 1446
Quote:
Originally Posted by wfarrell4 View Post
How come my custom calibration settings don't apply to all the HDMI inputs?
there's a setting you need to select 'apply to all'. it's found near the bottom of the first video settings menu

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1130K, 7.1/5.1.2 audio
Sources: HTPC(Enby), PS3, XBOX360, Wii
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is offline  
Old 11-07-2014, 04:52 PM
Member
 
JL-F1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by fierce_gt View Post
depends on what you mean by this. there is definitely still a difference between game mode and pc mode.
The way to get the least input lag for gaming, is still PC rename input?
JL-F1 is offline  
Old 11-07-2014, 04:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,462
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 744 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsskid View Post
Which do you prefer. Personally, unless it is a really dark room, I prefer 2.2 gamma.
The TV is in our guest room (we have a small house and with a newborn around it was nice to be able to hide in there sometimes) and it's never very bright in there and can be made pitch black.

So in limited action today I thought the 2.4 held its own even with a little sunlight. No idea yet if I'll like it more or not.
AMartin56 is offline  
Old 11-07-2014, 06:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dsskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 3,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Motion de judder should be set to off for Fios or cable, right?

ISF Calibrator
Samsung PN64F8500
Pioneer Kuro Elite Pro-111FD
Pioneer Kuro BDP-320
Displays are like 100% cotton t-shirts. Always buy a size larger than you think you'll need, as they tend to shrink over time.
dsskid is offline  
Old 11-07-2014, 08:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,462
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 744 Post(s)
Liked: 297
This might be my best work yet. 51 inch panel. 2.4 gamma target. 30ish ftL. Now that I have a day and night mode I'm out unless the panel drifts.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Settings.png
Views:	79
Size:	49.8 KB
ID:	354073   Click image for larger version

Name:	Measures.png
Views:	56
Size:	300.9 KB
ID:	354081   Click image for larger version

Name:	RGB Levels.png
Views:	57
Size:	7.3 KB
ID:	354089   Click image for larger version

Name:	Gamma.png
Views:	45
Size:	6.6 KB
ID:	354097   Click image for larger version

Name:	CIE.png
Views:	43
Size:	164.7 KB
ID:	354105  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Luminance.png
Views:	42
Size:	10.0 KB
ID:	354113   Click image for larger version

Name:	Temperature.png
Views:	41
Size:	6.2 KB
ID:	354121  
AMartin56 is offline  
Old 11-07-2014, 08:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,896
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1505 Post(s)
Liked: 1446
Quote:
Originally Posted by JL-F1 View Post
The way to get the least input lag for gaming, is still PC rename input?
yes, if game mode isn't fast enough, pc mode still has less lag.

this is not a bad thing by any means though. pc mode disables a LOT of useful processing, so it's nice to still have game mode as an option, with better picture quality and only slightly more lag.

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1130K, 7.1/5.1.2 audio
Sources: HTPC(Enby), PS3, XBOX360, Wii
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is offline  
Old 11-07-2014, 08:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,896
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1505 Post(s)
Liked: 1446
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMartin56 View Post
This might be my best work yet. 51 inch panel. 2.4 gamma target. 30ish ftL. Now that I have a day and night mode I'm out unless the panel drifts.
if you get bored, you could always try a bt1886 gamma next

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1130K, 7.1/5.1.2 audio
Sources: HTPC(Enby), PS3, XBOX360, Wii
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is offline  
Old 11-07-2014, 08:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,462
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 744 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by fierce_gt View Post
if you get bored, you could always try a bt1886 gamma next
I'm pretty sure that is all I was allowed to use with Calman Tutorial and my old C3 meter so technically I already have.
AMartin56 is offline  
Old 11-07-2014, 09:20 PM
ADU
AVS Special Member
 
ADU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 7,891
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 278 Post(s)
Liked: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMartin56 View Post
This might be my best work yet. 51 inch panel. 2.4 gamma target. 30ish ftL. Now that I have a day and night mode I'm out unless the panel drifts.
Tks for sharin. 100% Saturation looks good. But what about 50% and 75% (if your software allows)?

ADU
ADU is online now  
Old 11-07-2014, 09:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,462
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 744 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADU View Post
Tks for sharin. 100% Saturation looks good. But what about 50% and 75% (if your software allows)?
I have the test patterns and the software supports it but I haven't run those yet.
AMartin56 is offline  
Old 11-07-2014, 09:37 PM
Member
 
charles dodgen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMartin56 View Post
This might be my best work yet. 51 inch panel. 2.4 gamma target. 30ish ftL. Now that I have a day and night mode I'm out unless the panel drifts.
Looks great! If you get a chance or feel like it, I'd be curious to know what black level you get with the GCD apl pattern. It's going to be high, but I have a 51 inch and was wondering how much the level varies from set to set.
Thanks!
charles dodgen is online now  
Old 11-07-2014, 09:45 PM
ADU
AVS Special Member
 
ADU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 7,891
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 278 Post(s)
Liked: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMartin56 View Post
I have the test patterns and the software supports it but I haven't run those yet.
Might be worth a try. 100% saturated content isn't all that common, so aiming a bit lower may give better results on "average/typical" content (depending on what you watch). You may have to oversaturate 100% a bit in the Color Space controls to get the 50% and 75% colors to track better. That's the way it seems to work on the F5300s anyway. Not sure why.

What Eco Solution/Energy Saving setting are you using btw?

ADU

Last edited by ADU; 11-07-2014 at 09:50 PM.
ADU is online now  
Old 11-08-2014, 02:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,896
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1505 Post(s)
Liked: 1446
can anybody confirm that we now have access to 10pt white balance in 'pc mode'?


I was goofing around a bit, and I turned off my pc mode on hdmi2(my gaming input), went to hdmi1 and selected the 'apply settings to all' option, then back to 'this input only'. I wanted to copy my good calibration over t hdmi2. when I went back to hdmi2 and renamed it to pc again, I had lost my previous pc settings. so I brought out my meter to do a quick re-cal, and noticed that 10pt controls were not greyed out! sure enough I was able to turn them to on, and use them. I'm 99% sure this has never been the case before, how could I have missed it?


the 'goofy' features like dynamic contrast, mpeg filter, etc were still all greyed out. black optimizer was greyed out. and all settings to do with color were greyed out. moving my cursor around on the screen was definitely better than the regular mode, but I'm not sure if it isn't slightly laggy still. still very good, but I feel like maybe it was better in pc mode before, not sure.


anyway, I went through and did the greyscale/gamma calibration, and it's fantastic, as good as I've ever gotten in movie mode. but color... green was always an issue in pc mode before. see the CIE chart below:



compare that to what I got today(I only ran primaries since there's nothing I can adjust anyway):



so, I'm curious if this is something new, or I somehow stumbled onto a glitch that's actually good? at this point I don't want to touch anything, the results in my PC mode right now are so good, I can hardly tell the difference between it and my 'movie' mode calibration, aside from not having black optimizer and it being 10ftl brighter. I mean, I was even able to dial in a near perfect bt1886 gamma!



if this is new, I wonder if 10pt controls are available in game mode now too? if so, that might be a big deal, as game mode I believe allows BO, which means you should be able to get pretty much the same results in game mode as you do in movie, but with half the lag

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1130K, 7.1/5.1.2 audio
Sources: HTPC(Enby), PS3, XBOX360, Wii
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is offline  
Old 11-08-2014, 06:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by fierce_gt View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by wfarrell4 View Post
How come my custom calibration settings don't apply to all the HDMI inputs?
there's a setting you need to select 'apply to all'. it's found near the bottom of the first video settings menu
It does not carry over custom settings i.e. 10pt white balance and custom RGB
wfarrell4 is offline  
Old 11-08-2014, 06:11 AM
Member
 
trp3383's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hey, I have a 64f8500 with 300hrs on it and plan on calibrating it using i1Display Pro and hcfr. What test patterns do you guys recommend and I should calibrate using 75/75 correct? Thanks
trp3383 is offline  
Old 11-08-2014, 06:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,462
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 744 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by charles dodgen View Post
Looks great! If you get a chance or feel like it, I'd be curious to know what black level you get with the GCD apl pattern. It's going to be high, but I have a 51 inch and was wondering how much the level varies from set to set.
Thanks!
Thanks. I'll see what I can do. On black screen with BO on Dark Room I was getting 0.004 if that helps in the meantime. I realize it's not the same thing.
AMartin56 is offline  
Old 11-08-2014, 06:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,462
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 744 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADU View Post
Might be worth a try. 100% saturated content isn't all that common, so aiming a bit lower may give better results on "average/typical" content (depending on what you watch). You may have to oversaturate 100% a bit in the Color Space controls to get the 50% and 75% colors to track better. That's the way it seems to work on the F5300s anyway. Not sure why.

What Eco Solution/Energy Saving setting are you using btw?
Well try that next time I get out the meter. All the eco stuff is turned off.
AMartin56 is offline  
Old 11-08-2014, 06:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,462
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 744 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by trp3383 View Post
Hey, I have a 64f8500 with 300hrs on it and plan on calibrating it using i1Display Pro and hcfr. What test patterns do you guys recommend and I should calibrate using 75/75 correct? Thanks
Ive been using the HCFR Windows on this disc.

http://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-display-calibration/948496-avs-hd-709-blu-ray-mp4-calibration.html

They may not be IDEAL but they are easy to use and fit my current skill level.
AMartin56 is offline  
Old 11-08-2014, 06:33 AM
Member
 
charles dodgen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMartin56 View Post
Thanks. I'll see what I can do. On black screen with BO on Dark Room I was getting 0.004 if that helps in the meantime. I realize it's not the same thing.
Thanks! Yeah, .004fL is right where mine is for a full black screen or very low luminance content. That seems pretty consistent for the 51 inch F8500's. With the GCD apl patterns, I've measured a rise in black level from around .09cd/m^2 to .13cd/m^2 and have been trying to figure out what's going on there.
charles dodgen is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off