LG 50PA6500 Vertical White Band Problem - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 04-14-2013, 02:56 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Core Memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought an LG PA6500UG "refurb" which works well, other than when a Vertical White Band appearing sometimes during programming, particularly during some light background commercials, and always when I use the Colour Wash and sometimes when I turn the TV on or off. It occurs regardless of the selected screen aspect ratio or other settings. I haven't seen it while watching regular programming (yet?). I have been able to reproduce the vertical white band from recorded video when the problematic portion is played back. I updated the firmware to the most recent version but it didn't remedy the problem.

What is the cause of this problem? Is it fixable by the end user, such as through a service menu? I can return it for exchange but not a refund within 1 year of purchase.

Also, is there a service menu and, if there is, how is it accessed on the PA6500UG?
Is there anywhere I can get previous firmware versions?

Here are pictures:
















50PM6700
60PM6700
Core Memory is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 04-14-2013, 03:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Can you take a picture and show us?
I think I have seen this before. It is a common fault on some older LG and Panasonic plasmas. Usually turns out to be a loose connector (inside the unit; on the C-driver boards.)
tom669 is online now  
post #3 of 11 Old 04-14-2013, 03:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Core Memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom669 View Post

Can you take a picture and show us?
I think I have seen this before. It is a common fault on some older LG and Panasonic plasmas. Usually turns out to be a loose connector (inside the unit; on the C-driver boards.)

I don't think it is a loose connector because the vertical white band doesn't occur with regular program material but does with some light background commercials and always with the screen wash. The odd behavioour of the line is that when I select screen wash, and the pattern is static, there's no line until I press "OK" on the remote and the pattern starts to move. To me, it seems to be that there's a problem with something that detects the signal that controls that vertical strip of the display.

I videod the problem. I'll try to grab a frame from it and post it.

50PM6700
60PM6700
Core Memory is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 04-14-2013, 03:41 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Core Memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I added pictures to my OP.

50PM6700
60PM6700
Core Memory is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 04-14-2013, 03:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 87
The drivers that drive the panel get hot (60V per channel; typically 384 channels per IC for a 1080p plasma, data rate in excess of 30MHz); they have heatsinks and the connectors can fail. The drivers are bonded to the panel on thin plastic strips.

You will need to remove the cover and reseat the connector which connects the plastic strip to the C board inside the TV.

It is absolutely vital that power is off if you fiddle with the connector. Fiddling with it on can lead to a burned driver, which requires a new plasma panel to fix. Not Cheap.
tom669 is online now  
post #6 of 11 Old 04-14-2013, 05:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Core Memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am not going to disassemble the TV because it is still under warranty.

50PM6700
60PM6700
Core Memory is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 04-14-2013, 08:30 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Core Memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I added more pictures in sequence. The program image has no problem. The settings menu is selected for screen wash and the vertical bar shows up only when the screen wash is active. Is this really due to a loose connector or bad X buffer board? Why is it not showing up in the program and, when it does, very intermittently? Is it something about the signal that's causing the problem?

50PM6700
60PM6700
Core Memory is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 04-15-2013, 07:20 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Core Memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a service manual somewhere on the net?

50PM6700
60PM6700
Core Memory is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 04-15-2013, 09:02 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Core Memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've repacked the TV and returning it for exchange. I hope the replacement won't have any problems.

50PM6700
60PM6700
Core Memory is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 04-15-2013, 10:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 87
If it's still under warranty definitely send it back (LG's problem to fix it!), but my advice still applies for anyone else who may not have a warranty.
tom669 is online now  
post #11 of 11 Old 04-15-2013, 03:57 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Core Memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I took the 50PA6500 back to where I purchased it. There was one more in stock but, when we took it out of its box and I inspected it, there was a scratch near the top right of the screen. To make a long story short, I wound up with a 50PM6700 (3D, Smart TV, internet, THX, etc.) for $100 more, including tax, than I paid for the 50PA6500 which I am very pleased about. I attached the stand and turned it on and voila! a very very nice picture, even better than the 50PA6500 which I was satisfied with except for the intermittent vertical white bar problem (always present in scrubber mode). It has a year warranty from the place where I purchased it which I am hoping never has to be used.

50PM6700
60PM6700
Core Memory is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg 50pa6500 Plasma Hdtv , Lg 50 Inch Plasma Tv 50pa6500
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off