PNxxF5500 owners thread - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 771 Old 10-23-2013, 10:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 6,912
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 361
Quote:
Originally Posted by RicFlair View Post

Have and they tend to cater to the videophile who loves a dark TV aka Panny's.


Most experts recommend PDP's for the best PQ and value. The top rated sets by CNET, Review.Com, Home Theater, Sound & Vision (before the merger with HT) among others, were the Samsung 8500 and Panasonic ST/VT/ZT series. All plasmas. If you read the CNET review of the 5500, although they claimed it's a pretty good set in terms of over all PQ, it didn't get very high marks in panel brightness or color accuracy.


Ian

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others

mailiang is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 771 Old 10-27-2013, 02:04 PM
Member
 
dzrbenson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is anyone able to help me out with some good settings, very new to changing the settings apart from the stock 3,

I have a PS64F5500, not sure if the N is american and S australian?
dzrbenson is offline  
post #363 of 771 Old 10-27-2013, 03:05 PM
Member
 
dzrbenson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Also a tip for others to check hours

1. Switch on the power to the TV and let it be in the standby mode. Do not turn on the TV.

2. Pick up the remote control, and quickly press the following buttons in sequence:

Info -> Menu -> Mute -> Power.

3. You must be fast enough to press the magic sequence to enter the technical calibration menu screen, or else you will just end up switching on to the normal TV channel.

4. I think its 3rd or 4th option from the bottom, Select it (can confirm option tonight if needed)

5. Hours will be shown

6. Turn TV off so no changes are made etc
dzrbenson is offline  
post #364 of 771 Old 10-27-2013, 04:53 PM
Member
 
weedchill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dzrbenson View Post

Also a tip for others to check hours

1. Switch on the power to the TV and let it be in the standby mode. Do not turn on the TV.

2. Pick up the remote control, and quickly press the following buttons in sequence:

Info -> Menu -> Mute -> Power.

3. You must be fast enough to press the magic sequence to enter the technical calibration menu screen, or else you will just end up switching on to the normal TV channel.

4. I think its 3rd or 4th option from the bottom, Select it (can confirm option tonight if needed)

5. Hours will be shown

6. Turn TV off so no changes are made etc

There's no info and mute on the touch remote!
weedchill is offline  
post #365 of 771 Old 10-27-2013, 07:04 PM
Newbie
 
Nick S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The mute button is on the left side of the touch remote, or at least it is on mine.

Still trying to figure out how to find the total hours though.
Nick S is offline  
post #366 of 771 Old 10-27-2013, 07:50 PM
Member
 
dzrbenson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
hmm, I got 2 remotes with mine,

Will clarify the exact options but its 3rd or 4th from bottom I think, once in Service Menu
dzrbenson is offline  
post #367 of 771 Old 10-28-2013, 08:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
superleo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX - USA
Posts: 2,177
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 233
My tv came only with the touch remote. I programmed a universal remote for testing. Briefly tested this sequence, and others, none of them worked.

@ dzrbenson, can you tell what the remote's model number is?

Also, I've tried finding the "service manual" with no avail. I even requested one directly from one of the online manual places and according to them they can't locate one either. Anyone have one?

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."
Screening Room - The Dream House
RPCRT-TV Overscan Reduction
Reference Blu-Ray Demo Disc

Reference 2: Blu-Ray Demo Disc

The Best of the Demo Discs Demo Disc

superleo is online now  
post #368 of 771 Old 10-28-2013, 09:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
RicFlair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Have any of you 60 inch owners noticed the Pentile display being a problem ?

Panny 55St60
Panny 55St50(gaming)
Sony 55 NX720
Samsung 42 Hpt(Plasma)
Panny 32Viera LCD (TX)
Klipsch surround
Denon HDMI Receiver
Bose Solo
Playstation4(BF4,Madden,Ghosts,NFS,KZ,FIFA)
XBox360
Ipad 1 & 2
Iphone 5S
RicFlair is offline  
post #369 of 771 Old 10-28-2013, 03:58 PM
dzrbenson is offline  
post #370 of 771 Old 10-29-2013, 03:07 PM
Member
 
EchoOne30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by RicFlair View Post

Have any of you 60 inch owners noticed the Pentile display being a problem ?

I've had this for about a week. My answer: nope

 

 

I love this TV, and I say this as a techno-enthusaist who was paranoid about the pentile thing. Anyways, here is what I posted in another thread:

 

 

"I bought this recently, started researching it, and became very concerned that the pentile display would ruin it. I even went back to the store to examine it. I was prepared to cancel my order and go with the ST60. I decided not to though. At the store I thought maybe I could notice it at what I thought would be normal viewing distance. However in a display wall it's impossible to get a feel for the real display. Nothing immediately jumped out at me so I shrugged and let the order stay.

 

It arrived late last week, I've now watched TV content on it, xbox games, and blu rays. This TV is magnificent. We came from a 720p mid-tier LG, so maybe I don't know what good plasma actually is, but this is just amazing to my eyes. So sharp and incredibly crisp. The colours are so rich, and there is no pentile grid effect. I'll repeat for emphasis; there is zero noticeable grid effect. We sit about 8-10' away, and every colour in the spectrum is as solid as ever.

 

However, I do notice that solid white colours aren't quite as bright as I would prefer. However I'm not sure if this is a pentile problem or just the way it is. Now, solid white still looks clean and bright enough, just not quite as bright as I think would be perfectly ideal.

 

Aside from that, I am loving this television, and am glad I went with it. No regrets on my part whatsoever. And you cannot beat the price. We paid about $1100 CAD.

 

And now I learn that had I gone for the ST60, input lag would've been greater for playing xbox. So that's a bonus with staying with the F5500.

 

Anyways, just my two cents."

EchoOne30 is offline  
post #371 of 771 Old 10-30-2013, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
superleo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX - USA
Posts: 2,177
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by RicFlair View Post

Have any of you 60 inch owners noticed the Pentile display being a problem ?

I don't believe is a problem but being truthful it is noticeable from a short distance and under very even patterns (material). I would say at 1 feet and under non regular viewing material, otherwise PQ is impressive.

I have discover some things that might not be noticeable to everyone, but having some OCD nature, I see it. Would rather not discussed these yet until I do a full calibration of the display. Nevertheless overall its a great TV.

Also, firmware 1115 was just installed -- I see not changes on PQ.
EchoOne30 likes this.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."
Screening Room - The Dream House
RPCRT-TV Overscan Reduction
Reference Blu-Ray Demo Disc

Reference 2: Blu-Ray Demo Disc

The Best of the Demo Discs Demo Disc

superleo is online now  
post #372 of 771 Old 10-30-2013, 09:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
newsposter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
since none of these stock ill ask here. can you compare the 'glare screen' of my 57 inch hitachi RPTV to the glare on the f5500 (64 inch). i have a single lite that is next to the sofa but the light itself isnt really visible in my current tv but yea you can see your reflection when it's a dark screen

edit: this is my 1st time getting any more recent technology and i know this isnt the 100% best tv out there but for the price it seems ok. my room is north facing and even though i have a 13 ft window, the blinds are never 'facing' the tv. i can definitely deal with the lighting i have in the living room relating to the hitachi, so if its better or the same, i think i'd be happy.

also if you have any other warnings about the old tv vs this new id be all ears

57 inch Hitachi 57F710S
Tivo Premiere w/DB8 antenna which gets in VHF 6
Sony T60 2-160 drives unsubbed
Panasonic E80 Dvd recorder
newsposter is offline  
post #373 of 771 Old 11-01-2013, 04:00 AM
Newbie
 
Mike Barry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey fellas, how about icehockey issues on last fm updates? Waiting for deliver and very nerves about that cuz watch hockey every day.
Mike Barry is offline  
post #374 of 771 Old 11-01-2013, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
superleo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX - USA
Posts: 2,177
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 233
^^^

I'll try tuning a game to check it out.

FYI -- new frimware 1116.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."
Screening Room - The Dream House
RPCRT-TV Overscan Reduction
Reference Blu-Ray Demo Disc

Reference 2: Blu-Ray Demo Disc

The Best of the Demo Discs Demo Disc

superleo is online now  
post #375 of 771 Old 11-02-2013, 10:06 AM
Newbie
 
Mike Barry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A ny news for me?smile.gif thanks for help anyway
Mike Barry is offline  
post #376 of 771 Old 11-04-2013, 12:34 PM
Senior Member
 
rmalbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Does anyone know if there are discrete IR codes for the PIP functions? It is a royal pain going thru the menus to turn PIP on and off and PIP channel changes.
rmalbers is offline  
post #377 of 771 Old 11-04-2013, 12:54 PM
Member
 
EchoOne30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31

Does anyone know how to disengage the remote from controlling the satellite box? I set it up, but realized now that when you turn the TV off, it also turns off the cable box. Not what I want as it won't DVR my shows if it's off.

 

I tried unplugging the IR extender, still works.

I tried re-running "setup", and told it my cable box wasn't listed. However it still works.

 

Any ideas?

EchoOne30 is offline  
post #378 of 771 Old 11-04-2013, 03:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
superleo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX - USA
Posts: 2,177
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 233
^^^

I remember reading how to do it on the F8500 thread, I had the same problem when the HDMI lost connectivity the announcement for HDMI connectivity came up, drive me crazy. There is a way to getting rid of that announcement. I briefly looked for it but could not find it. I'm certain is on one of the F8500 threads. I'll look for it when I have more time and post it here for reference.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."
Screening Room - The Dream House
RPCRT-TV Overscan Reduction
Reference Blu-Ray Demo Disc

Reference 2: Blu-Ray Demo Disc

The Best of the Demo Discs Demo Disc

superleo is online now  
post #379 of 771 Old 11-04-2013, 08:22 PM
Newbie
 
mishkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Arlington, MA
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
In trying to play a video file from a USB thumb drive, I think I'm finding that the TV can't play video files >2GB in size, at least in the video format I'm using. When I split the file into <2GB chunks the chunks play fine. Anyone else seeing this? Is it true in all video formats?
mishkin is offline  
post #380 of 771 Old 11-05-2013, 08:58 AM
Member
 
EchoOne30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by superleo View Post

^^^

I remember reading how to do it on the F8500 thread, I had the same problem when the HDMI lost connectivity the announcement for HDMI connectivity came up, drive me crazy. There is a way to getting rid of that announcement. I briefly looked for it but could not find it. I'm certain is on one of the F8500 threads. I'll look for it when I have more time and post it here for reference.

 

Sweet thank you my friend. Please let me know if you find it.

EchoOne30 is offline  
post #381 of 771 Old 11-05-2013, 09:00 AM
Member
 
EchoOne30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by mishkin View Post

In trying to play a video file from a USB thumb drive, I think I'm finding that the TV can't play video files >2GB in size, at least in the video format I'm using. When I split the file into <2GB chunks the chunks play fine. Anyone else seeing this? Is it true in all video formats?

 

I'll be honest I forgot all about that it can handle USB video. I haven't tried it myself, but will try tonight. I don't have any under 2gb, so I'll only be able to try bigger ones.

EchoOne30 is offline  
post #382 of 771 Old 11-05-2013, 09:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
superleo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX - USA
Posts: 2,177
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 233
@ mishkin
Are you using the same thumb drive for the testing? or you're using a different drive with the files split. The reason I ask is because if you are using different drives might not be the issue with the size of the files but with the formatting used for the drives. Usually the drives need to be FAT32, otherwise the device won't read it.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."
Screening Room - The Dream House
RPCRT-TV Overscan Reduction
Reference Blu-Ray Demo Disc

Reference 2: Blu-Ray Demo Disc

The Best of the Demo Discs Demo Disc

superleo is online now  
post #383 of 771 Old 11-05-2013, 09:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
superleo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX - USA
Posts: 2,177
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Carollo View Post

Is there any way to get rid of the error that pops up when you lose HDMI signal briefly? Having to switch my Harmony over to TV mode to just hit OK and make it go away is really annoying.


Quote:
You can also go -- Screen Menu > System > Device Manager > Universal Remote Setup

Highlight the STB press enter/ok and then just pick delete.

After you do, nothing on the TV remote related to the cable box will work any more but you have the Harmony. For me it was well worth the trade-off.

PS -- This fix was discoved by someone else on here I jsut can't remember who it credit.


Original link -- http://www.avsforum.com/t/1463454/official-samsung-pnxxf8500-series-discussion-thread-no-street-price-talk/9210#post_23875756
sixtoo likes this.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."
Screening Room - The Dream House
RPCRT-TV Overscan Reduction
Reference Blu-Ray Demo Disc

Reference 2: Blu-Ray Demo Disc

The Best of the Demo Discs Demo Disc

superleo is online now  
post #384 of 771 Old 11-05-2013, 10:00 AM
Member
 
EchoOne30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31

^ Amazing, many many thanks. Gonna try this tonight.

 

-edit-

 

This worked perfectly. I can't thank you enough. No more cable box shutting off when I power down the TV!

EchoOne30 is offline  
post #385 of 771 Old 11-05-2013, 03:50 PM
Senior Member
 
SMO5007's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Have a 64" f5500 for sale upstate NY area
Upgraded to bigger screen only reason for selling. Only 3 months old. If interested please PM me.
Priced to sell
SMO5007 is offline  
post #386 of 771 Old 11-06-2013, 07:58 AM
Member
 
EchoOne30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by mishkin View Post

In trying to play a video file from a USB thumb drive, I think I'm finding that the TV can't play video files >2GB in size, at least in the video format I'm using. When I split the file into <2GB chunks the chunks play fine. Anyone else seeing this? Is it true in all video formats?

 

Ok I tried this last night. I have a 16gb drive formatted as NTFS, and my TV both read the USB, and played two xvid's just fine.

 

HOWEVER, one of them it was playing it out of sync (meanwhile it plays just fine in VLC), but the other worked perfectly. Both were under 4gb (-edit-, there were about 3GB each). This weekend I imagine I'll be trying larger file sizes, different types, etc. But I have a feeling it doesn't support MKV's.

EchoOne30 is offline  
post #387 of 771 Old 11-06-2013, 10:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
superleo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX - USA
Posts: 2,177
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Barry View Post

A ny news for me?smile.gif for help anyway

I haven't have the chance to tune in some hockey since we don't watch it. I've try for my son to at least watch some, but no interest. However, we were watching basketball last night -- San Antonio @ Denver. The Nuggets arena has a light colored floor, and guess what was happening. I've never noticed it with anything else before, but last night it was very noticeable. The dreaded hockey contrast flash. The way I can described it is a sudden changed in contrast (lower) level, then when it pans to closeups or somewhere other than full court view it would go to normal.

I went into the setting and turned off everything that had to do with black levels etc. I think it actually helped but did not go away. It would do it less but still had the behavior. Never seen this before.

After last night I can see where it can be extremely annoying, for hockey -- although no one of my family members mentioned anything. But yes, its there when the overall background its to bright.

Please Samsung fix this!!! To me should be simple turn off the code that does this!!! PLEASE!!! mad.gif

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."
Screening Room - The Dream House
RPCRT-TV Overscan Reduction
Reference Blu-Ray Demo Disc

Reference 2: Blu-Ray Demo Disc

The Best of the Demo Discs Demo Disc

superleo is online now  
post #388 of 771 Old 11-06-2013, 05:00 PM
Newbie
 
mishkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Arlington, MA
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by superleo View Post

@ mishkin
Are you using the same thumb drive for the testing? or you're using a different drive with the files split. The reason I ask is because if you are using different drives might not be the issue with the size of the files but with the formatting used for the drives. Usually the drives need to be FAT32, otherwise the device won't read it.
Yes, same thumb drive. And it's formatted as NTFS (because FAT32 doesn't support single files of a size >2GB).
mishkin is offline  
post #389 of 771 Old 11-06-2013, 06:03 PM
Newbie
 
mishkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Arlington, MA
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by EchoOne30 View Post

Ok I tried this last night. I have a 16gb drive formatted as NTFS, and my TV both read the USB, and played two xvid's just fine.

HOWEVER, one of them it was playing it out of sync (meanwhile it plays just fine in VLC), but the other worked perfectly. Both were under 4gb (-edit-, there were about 3GB each). This weekend I imagine I'll be trying larger file sizes, different types, etc. But I have a feeling it doesn't support MKV's.

Thanks for running the experiment. Here's a bit more background on my situation: The media started off life as a .wtv file produced by Windows Media Center. It appears that the TV doesn't support this format so I converted it to a .mpg file using, um, a tool (a Java .jar file actually) I found on the Internet (remuxTool). I split the file using VideoReDo into multiple smaller (<2GB) .mpg files. All these files play find on my PC, of course. I copied the full .mpg file and the smaller .mpg files to the USB thumb drive. Only the smaller ones play.

When you say "played two xvid's just fine", do you mean files in the format described at xvid.org? I'm a bit hazy on the whole container/content format thing but I take it that xvid is (produces) a particular MPEG-4 format. My .mpg files are presumably MPEG-2 format, right? I guess I could try to transcode them to xvid but I assume that'd be slow and not something I'd want to have to do all the time. Any thoughts on all this?
mishkin is offline  
post #390 of 771 Old 11-07-2013, 09:52 AM
Member
 
EchoOne30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by mishkin View Post


Thanks for running the experiment. Here's a bit more background on my situation: The media started off life as a .wtv file produced by Windows Media Center. It appears that the TV doesn't support this format so I converted it to a .mpg file using, um, a tool (a Java .jar file actually) I found on the Internet (remuxTool). I split the file using VideoReDo into multiple smaller (<2GB) .mpg files. All these files play find on my PC, of course. I copied the full .mpg file and the smaller .mpg files to the USB thumb drive. Only the smaller ones play.

When you say "played two xvid's just fine", do you mean files in the format described at xvid.org? I'm a bit hazy on the whole container/content format thing but I take it that xvid is (produces) a particular MPEG-4 format. My .mpg files are presumably MPEG-2 format, right? I guess I could try to transcode them to xvid but I assume that'd be slow and not something I'd want to have to do all the time. Any thoughts on all this?

 

Eesh, yeah the whole container trip confuses me too. But I think the ones I used were XviD's, contained as an mp4? If that makes sense?

 

I know the mkv's I mentioned that I'll be trying are some type of H.264... whatever that means...

EchoOne30 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn60f5500 60 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Un46f6300 46 Inch Slim Smart Led Hdtv , Samsung Un46f6400 46 Inch 3d Slim Smart Led Hdtv , Samsung Un55f6800 55 Class 1080p Smart Tv 3d Slim Led Hdtv With 3d Glasses , Samsung Pn60e8000 60 Inch Ultra Slim Plasma 3d Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off