Samsung hp-r4252 screen problem - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 05-08-2013, 08:38 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
niceace2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Samsung hp-r4252 plasma hdtv and I am getting lines all over the screen I am capable of fixing electronics but I just would like to get an opinion on which board or boards I need to replace. Thanks for any help
niceace2000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 05-08-2013, 10:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 89
The Y-buffer is bad, replacement of the Y-buffer is necessary to fix this. Easy enough to do yourself. You will need to open the set up and take pictures and we can help you locate where the Y-buffer is.
tom669 is online now  
post #3 of 21 Old 05-08-2013, 04:36 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
niceace2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you so much. Do I replace the lower, upper, or both
niceace2000 is offline  
post #4 of 21 Old 05-09-2013, 12:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 89
In this case, replacement of both is necessary. Before you do this, verify the voltages on the panel sticker. If you need help with this, you will need to post a picture of the Y-main board; this is the board which the Y-buffers connect to
tom669 is online now  
post #5 of 21 Old 05-19-2013, 08:40 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
niceace2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry for the delay I finally had a chance to take the back off the tv today. Hope this picture helps Thank you
niceace2000 is offline  
post #6 of 21 Old 05-19-2013, 11:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 89
You have two Y-buffers; they are the left hand boards in that picture with the orange ribbons exiting them.
Part number LJ9x-xxxxxxA (A=any letter) will be written on the boards somewhere.
tom669 is online now  
post #7 of 21 Old 05-19-2013, 11:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 89
As for panel voltages, there should be a sticker with Vs, Va, Vsc, etc. written on it e.g. 205 Vs, 65 Va, -195 Vsc...
And can you also provide a picture of the overall TV chassis?
tom669 is online now  
post #8 of 21 Old 05-19-2013, 01:18 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
niceace2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10


upper
lower
Here you go I think I got everything. out of curiosity why do I need to know the voltages? thanks
niceace2000 is offline  
post #9 of 21 Old 05-19-2013, 01:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 89
We need to check the voltages which will go to the new buffer board are not out of range and that they will not damage the board again and cause the same symptom.

There is a board which connects to the power supply under the right mount bracket, there should be some points marked Vs, Vset and Vsc on there, do you see them?
tom669 is online now  
post #10 of 21 Old 05-19-2013, 02:16 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
niceace2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This it ?
niceace2000 is offline  
post #11 of 21 Old 05-19-2013, 04:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Yep... Looks like on yours Vsc = Vscan.

You have a digital multimeter?

Set meter on the highest DC volt scale, put the black probe on the chassis of the TV and the red probe on the Vscan, then the Vset pad. Note the voltage in both conditions. Careful not to slip the probe. Vs can be tested later.
tom669 is online now  
post #12 of 21 Old 05-19-2013, 04:25 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
niceace2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok vset is 196 and vscan is 190
niceace2000 is offline  
post #13 of 21 Old 05-19-2013, 04:25 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
niceace2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok vset is 196 and vscan is -190
niceace2000 is offline  
post #14 of 21 Old 05-20-2013, 12:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 89
OK, they are both good. There is also Vs. There should be a test point marked Vs on either the sub board or the main power board. Be careful when probing Vs, unlike the other rails, it has a lot of energy behind it. If Vs, Vsc and Vset are all good, a new buffer should be all you need.
tom669 is online now  
post #15 of 21 Old 05-20-2013, 04:30 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
niceace2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Code:
i found a probe marked vs-tp and that was 202
niceace2000 is offline  
post #16 of 21 Old 05-20-2013, 11:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 89
A little low, but not going to cause any problems.

Part number LJ9x-xxxxxxA (A=any letter) will be written on the buffer boards somewhere. That is the code you need to order by.

Places to order: ShopJimmy, eBay, other parts shops.
tom669 is online now  
post #17 of 21 Old 05-20-2013, 03:20 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
niceace2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you so much for your help. I found a few refurbished sets on ebay with 3 month Warranty for $110 . One last question I have is is it possible for the y main board to be bad also?
niceace2000 is offline  
post #18 of 21 Old 05-20-2013, 03:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Since you have a picture, even if it is distorted, the Y-main is good.

$110 is pretty steep, but it appears to be a common issue so I guess the parts are rare.

Out of interest what is the LJ9x part #? I will see if I can find some cheaper for you.
tom669 is online now  
post #19 of 21 Old 05-20-2013, 03:57 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
niceace2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
upper LJ92-01202A and lower LJ92-01203A thank you
niceace2000 is offline  
post #20 of 21 Old 05-20-2013, 05:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 89
$104 total
http://www.replacementvparts.com/en/home/414-samsung-lj92-01203a-lower-y-scan.html
http://www.replacementvparts.com/en/home/413-samsung-lj92-01202a-upper-y-board.html
(not sure on shipping though)

$85 plus shipping (???)
http://www.ebay.com/itm/BUFFER-KIT-LJ41-02760A-LJ41-02761A-or-LJ92-01202A-LJ92-01203A-upper-and-lower-/221141495118?pt=US_TV_Boards_Parts_Components&hash=item337d0f6d4e

In general seems to be quite pricey. Perhaps check local Craiglist etc for any of these models with smashed screens... I've been able to get them for free before, plus you get a spare set of boards in case something else is at fault.

(according to ShopJimmy)

DELL W4201CHD
ELECTROGRAPH DTS4225A
NORCENT PT-4291HD
PHILIPS 42PF5321D
PHILIPS 42PF5321D/37
PHILIPS 42PF5321P/37
PHILIPS 42PF7220A/37
PHILIPS 42PF7320A
PHILIPS 42PF7320A/37
PHILIPS 42PF7321D/37
PHILIPS 42PF9630A
POLAROID PLA-4240
SAMSUNG HPR4252X/XAA
SAMSUNG HPR4262X/XAA
SAMSUNG PPM42M5HB
SANYO DP42746
tom669 is online now  
post #21 of 21 Old 12-04-2013, 05:34 PM
Newbie
 
itsjuggalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

[IMG]http://i42.tinypic.com/23uc6cg.jpg[/IMG

I didnt know if I shouldve made a new thread for this but I dont know if this is considered the same problem,

its the 4252xaa please help me, either message me here or at itsjuggalo@gmail.com

THANK YOU VERY MUCH

itsjuggalo is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Hpr4252 42 Inch Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off